Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
death_samurai
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 5970 OC edition
Processor: Core i7 2600K 5.0GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z/GE
Memory: G.SKILLRipjaws2x4GB 1866
Soundcard: Logitech x-230
PSU: Thermaltake toughpowe750w
Default 03-24-2012, 21:22 | posts: 3,512 | Location: SG

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme1979 View Post
Since, I didn't see an official owners thread I thought I would create one. Please post with pics, benches, videos, and questions / comments. Below are some of my preliminary benches. Enjoy and have fun!

Edit: Stock GPU clocks; CPU turbo'd to 4.8,4.7,4.6,4.5

3DMark 11 Performance: http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3023193

3DMark 11 Extreme: http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3023353

Heaven v3.0 All Maxed



No offence but your 680 sli score for heaven looks rather low. My 5970 with some OC scores 971 with everything set to max and the res was at 1920 x 1200.


Here's one of such a bench.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=386
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: CM Silent Pro M 850W
Default 03-24-2012, 21:30 | posts: 11,257 | Location: England

I've come across a few issues which may be related to the GTX 680 hardware and/or the v301.10 drivers. I'd appreciate it if someone could confirm them please.

They are:

1. F1 2010 under DX11 has a strange graphical artifact that appears at the bottom 1/5th of the screen, sometimes as a black block and sometimes as a black 'blob' that gradually gets bigger. I've tried different settings, including disabling AA, but nothing gets rid of it. The weird thing is that this issue doesn't appear in F1 2011 under DX11 with these drivers and wasn't there on my GTX 580 either.



2. Last time I played GTA IV it was loading fine; now it loads to the main screen but gets stuck in a loop of showing the character artwork and never finishes loading. If I bring up Task Manager then GTA IV is "not responding" and I have to force it to end manually. Same thing happens on Episodes from Liberty City too. I've done a Repair and reinstalled the last Title Updates manually again as well but the same issue occurs.

I thought it was forcing FXAA that was doing this but when I disable it the same thing still happens so it is not that. I Goggled the error and found a thread from 2009 with many people having the same issue; the developers suggested uninstalling iTunes and QuickPlayer but I've been using those for years and was still able to play GTA IV so I'm not uninstalling those just to find out they aren't the cause.

Has anyone else encountered this problem? How do you fix it (please don't tell me I have to uninstall and reinstall both games)?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-24-2012, 21:30 | posts: 17,171 | Location: New Jersey, USA

@death samurai lol thats one card and not bad for no oc on it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
crap daddy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX570 SC
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz Turbo
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 03-24-2012, 21:31 | posts: 753 | Location: close to the edge

Quote:
Originally Posted by death_samurai View Post
No offence but your 680 sli score for heaven looks rather low. My 5970 with some OC scores 971 with everything set to max and the res was at 1920 x 1200.


Here's one of such a bench.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=386
It's the score for one GTX680.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-24-2012, 21:58 | posts: 6,145 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by death_samurai View Post
No offence but your 680 sli score for heaven looks rather low. My 5970 with some OC scores 971 with everything set to max and the res was at 1920 x 1200.


Here's one of such a bench.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=386
thats one card loll.. no oc
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 03-24-2012, 23:33 | posts: 15,598 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
if you look at the 7870/50 review it is a little slower than a 580. not worth the price imo for a 7870. not worth the $349.99-$369.99 pricetag
I'm not really concerned much with graphics performance. The whole 3 games I play, my 560Ti can handle just fine at comfortably high settings. At this point, I spend around 4-6hrs per week "gaming". I'm concerned strictly about GPGPU performance, which can show extreme variations depending on implementation. In LuxMark, the HD7870 very easily beats the GTX580. In Folding@Home though, AMD has always lacked a good bit in performance (PPD). If AMD finally has everything sorted and it performs as well in Folding@Home as it does in LuxMark, it'd be well worth the cost.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
lol you always have driver problems
nVidia's drivers have caused problems with F@H since the release of the 290 "branch"... I've stayed with 285.38 for that reason.

Last edited by sykozis; 03-24-2012 at 23:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-24-2012, 23:46 | posts: 17,171 | Location: New Jersey, USA

yeah perhaps you need a switch, the amd drivers might be nicer to you
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 03-24-2012, 23:47 | posts: 15,598 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
yeah perhaps you need a switch, the amd drivers might be nicer to you
I've been using 285.38 since I got this card and 285.26 was the last driver I used with the 460. Others have reported issues with every 290 and newer driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-24-2012, 23:53 | posts: 6,145 | Location: USA

f@h seems to work just fine for me. using uh i think 297.73 quadro
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 03-25-2012, 00:00 | posts: 15,598 | Location: US East Coast

Long as I stay at stock clocks, it works just fine for me as well.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#61)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 00:02 | posts: 17,171 | Location: New Jersey, USA

you must have had an unstable oc
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 03-25-2012, 00:07 | posts: 15,598 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
you must have had an unstable oc
850mhz@1.050v results in certain WU's failing. I could successfully fold at 950mhz@1.050v until I started having issues with my UEFI freezing. Haven't been able to fold OC'd without receiving errors since. I'm sure it's a coincidence, but this board is getting replaced with an ASRock Z77 Pro4 or Z77 Extreme4 when they're released....as long as I'm not forced to do it sooner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 03-25-2012, 00:07 | posts: 11,747 | Location: new jersey

It seems cb came at -22c for me
I started off at +210 on core since @stock air the other card was ok for +170 i tried power from 100% to 132% in testing vantage and d311 3d03
I did not even see if this card worked,right out of the box and prepped for cold went back to 480/470 t6 screws btw. i did not want to deface the cards(yet) so maybe later i will cb mod but not now.
It was pita tbh with the cb so low i took a chance if i got it over a temp "bump" so i went -51c ,nah it did not work
got alittle wet by the time it was back down with my torch so i went back to stock air cus my 2500k was on dice too and wanted something for my efforts..heck i got some learning to do with these cards yet anyway so i need to mess around wth them more.
The boost clock novelty has worn thin already too.


drivers are alittle all over the place and feel they lack the grunt,in other words my 448 on dice put up just as good of marks in dx9
for some dx9 benches xp disk drivers 300.83 were better for some tests crap for others
i got awhole lot of nothing to show when on dice.
But i just put a good sized pice of dice covering the whole fan intake on a shop towel max temps in any bench was 44c load 10c idle
Just seeing if could keep watch of clocks in osd but idk
shtty scores my 7980 would run way better o3 160k clocked @1250 cpu 5.4

2500k 5.6 and 680 clocked i'd say they got a long way to go on drivers w7 no better.
/

in 3d 06 was faster both same 5.6


vantage 2k points slower then 7980

hwbot settings
same as my 7980 with tess


I dont know i hope they get better drivers for a few other older benches,but 03 and 06 dont sell cards like 3d11

Last edited by cowie; 03-25-2012 at 00:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: CM Silent Pro M 850W
Default 03-25-2012, 00:33 | posts: 11,257 | Location: England

Another problem I have is that F1 2010 and F1 2011 both start windowed and I have to press Alt-Enter to make them go fullscreen. Again, this didn't happen with my GTX 580. Do you think these are driver bugs and/or issues caused by the game not recognising my graphics card? Other than the visual glitch in F1 2010 only, both games play fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 03-25-2012, 00:39 | posts: 11,747 | Location: new jersey

its always going to be tough with new arc and drivers.
-
Putting a h70 on the card i had on dice now,think thats all i will need for pussy footing it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 00:47 | posts: 17,171 | Location: New Jersey, USA

how bout a 3d mark 11 p or x single sli? looks like a killer card gino. needs more mature drivers me thinks

Last edited by ---TK---; 03-25-2012 at 00:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-25-2012, 01:05 | posts: 6,145 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Long as I stay at stock clocks, it works just fine for me as well.
im talking about my massive oc though

man cowie, those 680s are memory bandwidth starved. my 580s have 230gb/s at 4800mhz.

Last edited by Agent-A01; 03-25-2012 at 01:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 03-25-2012, 01:11 | posts: 11,747 | Location: new jersey

i went p10700 on stock air just ran it once


i dont even want to bother with sli now for what? vantage and 3d11 big deal.
I will get them both in sli tommorrow on my x79 and 3930k @5.0 thats all there are good for too.
lost 10c idle with h70 and loud fan normal temp air 59f ish going to see load temps now.

Last edited by cowie; 03-25-2012 at 01:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 01:15 | posts: 17,171 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
im talking about my massive oc though

man cowie, those 680s are memory bandwidth starved. my 580s have 230gb/s at 4800mhz.
256 bit bus vs 384 bit bus thats why. they do not looked that starved to me lol

Last edited by ---TK---; 03-25-2012 at 01:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 03-25-2012, 01:19 | posts: 14,480 | Location: Glasgow

They do look memory bandwidth starved on paper, but in reality it's not like that makes much if any difference to games, or benchmarks.
Saying that i did see it hit near 500GB/s on that 1900mhz OC.

Card is looking good, notice that the 1264mhz that HH got on stock volts with the review card doesn't seem to be that common.

Last edited by Redemption80; 03-25-2012 at 01:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 01:47 | posts: 17,171 | Location: New Jersey, USA

cherry picked review samples is my guess. my 2 launch 580`s need more voltage and seem to oc less as time went by lower voltage cards and higher clocks seemed more common place. sometimes you get that being an early adopter. I need 1.113v just for 875mhz lol
EDIT the stock volts are decent 1 is 1.025v and the other 1.0v

Last edited by ---TK---; 03-25-2012 at 01:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-25-2012, 01:58 | posts: 6,145 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption80 View Post
They do look memory bandwidth starved on paper, but in reality it's not like that makes much if any difference to games, or benchmarks.
look at crysis.. huge difference from ocing memory.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 03-25-2012, 03:00 | posts: 14,480 | Location: Glasgow

Crysis is old, nothing else seems to be that sensitive to it.

If i considered it a huge thing i would of bought a 6970, or even a 6950 rather than the GTX570 as that is lower than both of them.

Last edited by Redemption80; 03-25-2012 at 03:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-25-2012, 03:09 | posts: 6,145 | Location: USA

yeah but they have significantly higher speed rated chips but 256bit. a 570 at 4400~ghz would be pretty good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 03-25-2012, 03:55 | posts: 11,747 | Location: new jersey

Smoke and mirrors speed for games thats it
good tess thuogh if you like that sorta thing.
Honestly the 7980 gave my 448 ti's in sli a better run in old guy benches.the 448's swamped this card.no dought because 5xx has been around and matured this card driver wise makes amd 's drivers look good.
I know they dont have the ram size but did seem to have the core power to push right thuo anything i threw at them.Thats 440 usd at amason for two.

Thats just mho about old guy benches thuo if it plays ss3 like a fiddle it would be nice.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.