Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#326)
swecarl
Master Guru
 
swecarl's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga 780ti Sli
Processor: 4790K Haswell @ 5.0ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X SOC Force
Memory: G.Skill Trident X 2900mhz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W 80+ Gold
Default 04-18-2012, 17:23 | posts: 270 | Location: Sweden

I got two gtx 680 in sli, and when i oc them i see that there is a button called "sync" in evga precision x, and its possible to clock the both cards exactly the same and its possible to clock them each on thier own so to say.

Is there any loss to clock one card higher then the other ? lets say one card can do 200+ and 500+ on the mem and the second card can to 150+ and 300+.

Shall i set it to sync and use 150/300 on both or uncheck sync and do one 200/500 and the other one 150/300 ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#327)
PR-0927
Maha Guru
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 SC+
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12GB Patriot DDR3 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Antec TPQ-850
Default 04-18-2012, 23:55 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.

Hurrah, FINALLY got around to buying a new GPU. First GPU purchase for my gaming PC since the summer of 2009. Initially had a Radeon HD 4870 X2. That card died within the warranty period and I was sent a Radeon HD 5870 as replacement (in the summer of 2011).

Was waiting anxiously for the new nVidia single-GPU flagship for some time. And then I tried to purchase it.

The availability sucks. In fact, I was going to buy the regular $499.99 version, but the only one I was able to grab my hands on was this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130771


And it went out of stock in about 1 minute after it was in stock. JUST purchased it in time within the last ten minutes.

So now the waiting game begins...I want it now!

Also, I'm a bit excited to be back on the nVidia side of things. We had a GeForce 6800 GT in an old computer, and my laptop runs on a GeForce 8600M GT, but the other two computers in our house are equipped with Radeon HD 4650 and Radeon HD 6850 GPUs.

I was getting very sick of AMD driver woes. So now I get to test out the modern generation of nVidia GPUs. Plus, although it's a gimmick, PhysX!

Very much looking forward to all games entirely maxed out (AA too!) at 1920x1200. Total War: Shogun 2, Batman: Arkham City, and Battlefield 3 were too strenuous for my Radeon HD 5870 to enable AA all the way (or at all in some cases).

- PR-0927

Last edited by PR-0927; 04-18-2012 at 23:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#328)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-18-2012, 23:58 | posts: 18,793 | Location: New Jersey, USA

congrats man
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#329)
Steve30x
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX680
Processor: Intel Core i5 760 @ 3.6gh
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus III Gene
Memory: 4gig DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: Logitec X540
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 04-19-2012, 00:04 | posts: 408 | Location: Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by PR-0927 View Post
Hurrah, FINALLY got around to buying a new GPU. First GPU purchase for my gaming PC since the summer of 2009. Initially had a Radeon HD 4870 X2. That card died within the warranty period and I was sent a Radeon HD 5870 as replacement (in the summer of 2011).

Was waiting anxiously for the new nVidia single-GPU flagship for some time. And then I tried to purchase it.

The availability sucks. In fact, I was going to buy the regular $499.99 version, but the only one I was able to grab my hands on was this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130771


And it went out of stock in about 1 minute after it was in stock. JUST purchased it in time within the last ten minutes.

So now the waiting game begins...I want it now!

Also, I'm a bit excited to be back on the nVidia side of things. We had a GeForce 6800 GT in an old computer, and my laptop runs on a GeForce 8600M GT, but the other two computers in our house are equipped with Radeon HD 4650 and Radeon HD 6850 GPUs.

I was getting very sick of AMD driver woes. So now I get to test out the modern generation of nVidia GPUs. Plus, although it's a gimmick, PhysX!

Very much looking forward to all games entirely maxed out (AA too!) at 1920x1200. Total War: Shogun 2, Batman: Arkham City, and Battlefield 3 were too strenuous for my Radeon HD 5870 to enable AA all the way (or at all in some cases).

- PR-0927
Did you seriously pay an extra $35 just for an extra 52MHz OC?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#330)
PR-0927
Maha Guru
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 SC+
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12GB Patriot DDR3 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Antec TPQ-850
Default 04-19-2012, 00:08 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve30x View Post
Did you seriously pay an extra $35 just for an extra 52MHz OC?

It also has the backplate (valued at $24.99).

Also, I was tired of not finding it anywhere. That was my price limit, however. I jumped at it when it was finally open, because I had tried and failed to order it about 10 times already from various sites where the stock appeared for no more than 2 minutes.

- PR-0927
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#331)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-19-2012, 00:10 | posts: 18,793 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve30x View Post
Did you seriously pay an extra $35 just for an extra 52MHz OC?
The availability sucks. In fact, I was going to buy the regular $499.99 version, but the only one I was able to grab my hands on was this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130771
this is why he bought the oc version
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#332)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 04-19-2012, 00:43 | posts: 11,997 | Location: new jersey

If they had a 550us card it would sell out even if just different sticker at least with the bp its well worth it....that is if any vga at that price is worth it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#333)
Rickyy
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX460 hawk
Processor: Q9450 @ 3.2ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P45 DS3R
Memory: OCZ titanium 4gb 800mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolermaster M620
Default 04-19-2012, 02:24 | posts: 85

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme1979 View Post
I agree about the availability. I can't believe I was able to snatch mine up for newegg on launch day. For once I actually got lucky.
Don't agree:

http://www.alternate.nl/html/product...l3=GeForce+GTX

http://afuture.nl/productview.php?productID=359212 (2 in stock)

http://www.informatique.nl/155635/ga...mb-phanto.html

And:

http://www.informatique.nl/155551/ga...80-2048mb.html (cheapest)

Order today, tomorrow in rig

Last edited by Rickyy; 04-19-2012 at 02:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#334)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-19-2012, 02:28 | posts: 18,793 | Location: New Jersey, USA

what dont you agree on?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#335)
PR-0927
Maha Guru
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 SC+
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12GB Patriot DDR3 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Antec TPQ-850
Default 04-19-2012, 02:42 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.


Yeah, you're also in the Netherlands. U.S. market isn't so availability-filled.

- PR-0927
   
Reply With Quote
 
Palit GTX 680 Jetstream
Old
  (#336)
juke
Maha Guru
 
juke's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX680 Jetstream
Processor: i5-3570k w/ TRUE120 Rev.A
Mainboard: Asrock z77 Extreme6
Memory: 2x4GB + 2x2GB G-Skill Eco
Soundcard: Logitech X-540
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default Palit GTX 680 Jetstream - 04-19-2012, 19:14 | posts: 1,274

Just got my Palit GTX 680 Jetstream today.

Here are some pics I figured not yet seen on the net. (Pardon the crappy pics, taken at night with Galaxy S)






Be extra careful if you want to remove the fan shroud, there are four plastic pegs on the shroud, one of them is next to the locking mechanism so be very careful not to break this one.




Fan power connector







Fans:






Nekkid Jetstream heatsink:






Jetstream's back, with support bracket




Void if removed, Palit doesn't want the end user to change hsf. I'm not sure if this was put by our local distro or from the manufacturer.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#337)
andressergio
Maha Guru
 
andressergio's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x SLI GALAXY GTX780HOF
Processor: I4770K@48HT
Mainboard: ASUS M6E
Memory: 2x8GB TeamX 2666CL11
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic P-1000
Default 04-20-2012, 00:51 | posts: 849 | Location: Montevideo-Uruguay

Quote:
Originally Posted by swecarl View Post
I got two gtx 680 in sli, and when i oc them i see that there is a button called "sync" in evga precision x, and its possible to clock the both cards exactly the same and its possible to clock them each on thier own so to say.

Is there any loss to clock one card higher then the other ? lets say one card can do 200+ and 500+ on the mem and the second card can to 150+ and 300+.

Shall i set it to sync and use 150/300 on both or uncheck sync and do one 200/500 and the other one 150/300 ?
better stay away from the sync button as they wont OC the same, just put the same on each card and hit apply

from my experience its the best way
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#338)
andressergio
Maha Guru
 
andressergio's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x SLI GALAXY GTX780HOF
Processor: I4770K@48HT
Mainboard: ASUS M6E
Memory: 2x8GB TeamX 2666CL11
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic P-1000
Default 04-20-2012, 00:51 | posts: 849 | Location: Montevideo-Uruguay

Quote:
Originally Posted by juke View Post
Just got my Palit GTX 680 Jetstream today.

Here are some pics I figured not yet seen on the net. (Pardon the crappy pics, taken at night with Galaxy S)

and the results ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#339)
felang
Master Guru
 
Videocard: SLI GTX 680
Processor: 3770K @4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: DDR3 2133 Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650HX
Default 04-20-2012, 01:21 | posts: 200 | Location: Honduras

Quote:
Originally Posted by juke View Post
Just got my Palit GTX 680 Jetstream today.

Here are some pics I figured not yet seen on the net. (Pardon the crappy pics, taken at night with Galaxy S)
I see it requires an 8 pin + 6 pin psu connector, does this mean you can go over 1.175V reference cards are limited too? If not I really donīt see the point...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#340)
juke
Maha Guru
 
juke's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX680 Jetstream
Processor: i5-3570k w/ TRUE120 Rev.A
Mainboard: Asrock z77 Extreme6
Memory: 2x4GB + 2x2GB G-Skill Eco
Soundcard: Logitech X-540
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 04-20-2012, 02:12 | posts: 1,274

Quote:
Originally Posted by felang View Post
I see it requires an 8 pin + 6 pin psu connector, does this mean you can go over 1.175V reference cards are limited too? If not I really donīt see the point...
Yes. I'm not sure about this, but basing from Zotac that their extreme edition chip could go up to 2GB core. So, theoretically the chip can handle up to 2GB in core.

Quote:
and the results ?
I have only tested 3DMark11, but on stock. I just tested the temps on a quick run last night. And I use my card with a custom fan setup.

Pardon, I'm lazy to do cable management. I'm not managing my cables nowadays because I frequently access many components and doesn't have enough time to tinker with them.




Temps on idle @ 34C room temp.

Full-size pic: http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q..._temp_idle.jpg



i5-760 @ stock
GTX 680 Palit Jetsream @ stock + custom fans



Temp: ~63C
Max temp: 67C with 3-4x spikes to 68C (submarine scenes)
Power Consumption (whole rig): ~360W, max of 385W
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#341)
Steve30x
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX680
Processor: Intel Core i5 760 @ 3.6gh
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus III Gene
Memory: 4gig DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: Logitec X540
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 04-20-2012, 09:27 | posts: 408 | Location: Ireland

I got a Palit GTX680 yesterday. Its just a stock GPU , but I prefer it that way. At least now all the heat is getting dumped outside my case and my GPU is quiet all the time. The GTX580 I had had a Palit dual fan on it and most of the heat got umped into my case and it was noisey as hell when gaming even though I didnt OC the card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#342)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 04-20-2012, 15:48 | posts: 11,011 | Location: Finland

Duh... EVGA just couldn't deliver cards so I was basically forced to switch. So, hopefully MSI version arrives next week (same price).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#343)
HairyUK
Master Guru
 
Videocard: KFA2 NVIDIA 680 GTX
Processor: Intel i5 750 @ 4.2
Mainboard: ASUS p7p55d EVO
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1366mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster xtreme xfi
PSU: 750w HighPower
Default 04-20-2012, 23:07 | posts: 272 | Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland

just got my KFA2 680 a few days ago and im lovin it. came from 2x5870s
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#344)
GiNaJuIcE
Master Guru
 
Videocard: TITAN SLI
Processor: i7-3770k @4.6ghz
Mainboard: EVGA z77 FTW
Memory: 16gb corsair
Soundcard: Creative ZxR/Z5500
PSU: enermax revolution87+
Default 04-21-2012, 08:46 | posts: 360 | Location: san antonio

msi gtx 680 instock here

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...scrollFullInfo
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#345)
Kooma
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gainward 680 phantom 2Gb
Processor: Intel 9650 quad core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
Memory: 8 GB Mushkin Extreme 8500
Soundcard: Creative Extreme music&Lo
PSU: Coolermaster M850
Default 04-22-2012, 02:45 | posts: 14 | Location: Filand

Quote:
Originally Posted by GiNaJuIcE View Post
I bought gainward 680 phantom 2gb..still waiting, my old 580 lightning sold.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#346)
8IronBob
Master Guru
 
8IronBob's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 2GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II x4 955
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-MA790GPT-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard thru GPU HDMI
PSU: Corsair HX620W Mod. PSU
Default 04-22-2012, 15:34 | posts: 432 | Location: Cleveland, OH, USA

Got my EVGA 680, 3D Vision 2 Kit, and 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair RAM on Friday evening, installed them, gamed a little bit on the new components yesterday to test out the graphics power, the stereoscopic 3D factor, and the increase in memory performance, and I have to say, I'm quite impressed with these upgrades! I'm gonna have to say good riddance to the old Patriot Viper solution and the HD 5850 that it replaced. Now I'm gaming on a platform that has GPU and RAM that's at least twice as good as what it replaced.

Last edited by 8IronBob; 04-22-2012 at 15:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#347)
PR-0927
Maha Guru
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 SC+
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12GB Patriot DDR3 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Antec TPQ-850
Default 04-24-2012, 02:31 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.

Finally got this bad boy and LOVING it. Completely smooth gameplay in Batman: Arkham City and Battlefield 3 with every damn thing maxed out, even 32xCSAA, FXAA, and 8xSSAA (for transparency) where they can be enabled.

Total War: Shogun 2 was not a fan of the 32xCSAA and the 8xSSAA (for transparency), however.

- PR-0927
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#348)
Shataan
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX Titan SC
Processor: FX 9590 @ 4.7 gig
Mainboard: Crosshair V Formula Z
Memory: GSkill TridentX 16Gb@2400
Soundcard: Logitech G35
PSU: Enermax 850 psu
Default 04-24-2012, 05:56 | posts: 807 | Location: Corsair H80i

My new EVGA 680 GTX SC arrived. But this time I am getting THEM to test it BEFORE I buy it. LOL Crasheeees? We don` neeed no steeeenking crasheeeees!

addendum:

new replacement 680 GTX SC installed, tested and running amazingly!!!! VERY happy with this card. And say by golly, nooooo crashes/lockups. Go figure. ;p

Last edited by Shataan; 04-27-2012 at 06:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#349)
SashaX
Master Guru
 
SashaX's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN @ 1150 MHz
Processor: i7 2600K@4.7GHz 1.38v24/7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: 1100W
Default 04-24-2012, 10:15 | posts: 205 | Location: BCN

So, wich brand of 680's is reaching more OC?
Is it Gainward a good option?

Im between Gainward, Asus or factory OC'ed EVGA GTX680 SC+ 2GB (with backplate).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#350)
MrH
Maha Guru
 
MrH's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: i5 3570K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: Corsair TX 750 v2
Default 04-26-2012, 16:49 | posts: 2,031 | Location: UK

I just joined the club, I won't be putting it together until IB is released though.

   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.