Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
Prophet
Master Guru
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel Sb@4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68V Progen3
Memory: 12 Gb Kingston
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX|Akg k701
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 03-27-2012, 08:00 | posts: 575 | Location: Heaven

"Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
Dont forget to > Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Performance Information and Tools\Advanced Tools\Clear all Windows experience Index Scores and re-rate the system after each time you change major drivers.


I seriously doubt those scores mean anything other than a reference number, and a poor one at that."


I like it when noobs speculate

1.) Evidence & hard facts: http://forums.electronicarts.co.uk/b...ce-tweaks.html

"... is also the one thing which has huge affect to drivers, if not completed & it will automatically degrade all hardware unless passed clean through"

2.) Empirical evidence. I actually tried it instead of guessing.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Faks
Member Guru
 
Faks's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 560 Ti 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8150
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: Vengeance 16GB 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Realtek HD & 2.1
PSU: Enermax Lega G 750-MAS
Default 03-27-2012, 12:31 | posts: 90 | Location: Europe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundcreepy View Post
But what setting would break that would cause a stutter issue? And why wouldn't that issue go away with a clean un-install/re-install?
mostly i new drivers are FXAA and frame limiter witch cause fps jitter and low fps bugs
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
teh_n00binator
Newbie
 
Videocard: PNY 580 GTX 1.5GB
Processor: i7 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro
Memory: VENGEANCE LP 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire
PSU: Corsair TX-750W V2
Default 03-27-2012, 12:53 | posts: 42

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
"Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
Dont forget to > Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Performance Information and Tools\Advanced Tools\Clear all Windows experience Index Scores and re-rate the system after each time you change major drivers.


I seriously doubt those scores mean anything other than a reference number, and a poor one at that."


I like it when noobs speculate

1.) Evidence & hard facts: http://forums.electronicarts.co.uk/b...ce-tweaks.html

"... is also the one thing which has huge affect to drivers, if not completed & it will automatically degrade all hardware unless passed clean through"

2.) Empirical evidence. I actually tried it instead of guessing.
Sorry but that "guide" is a load of crud, the majority of stuff listed to do on there are a waste of time and will never improve your performance as well as being more likely to help you inherit issues later on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
RavenMaster
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 780's SLI
Processor: Core i7 4960X 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVE Black Edition
Memory: 32GB DDR3 Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative SB ZXR
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200w
Default 03-27-2012, 13:33 | posts: 530 | Location: UK

I've got a GTX 680 and i can honestly say, adaptive v-sync is a crock o' $hit. Just switch it back to 'let the 3D application control v-sync.' Maybe it's coz the drivers are premature but i tested it in Crysis and the game stuttered a fair amount and still had tearing.

Steps i used to remedy the stutter and tearing:-

A) Switch OFF motion blur in game
B) Turn ON proper V-sync in game

This solved the stuttering for me. I'm now playing Crysis 1 @ 1080p 8x AA with everything turned up to VERY HIGH. My frames never seem to drop below 45 now. I was amazed that one card on its own could do this

Last edited by RavenMaster; 03-27-2012 at 13:36.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
CoreyPL
Maha Guru
 
CoreyPL's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX580 Phantom
Processor: i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D1
PSU: Seasonic X-650
Default 03-27-2012, 18:28 | posts: 915 | Location: Poland

Having in mind all the extensive software tweaks that you've tried to fix the issue, have you tried going back to basics? With that I mean hardware. Since this stuttering just started to happen without any software modifications, maybe you PC is for example overheating?

Post you temps (or screenshots) from programs like GPU-Z, HWMonitor etc. with hardware stressed by Linpack/OCCT (for CPU), MSI Kombustor/Furmark (for GPU) or with benchmark like 3D Mark Vantage/2011 or Ungine Heaven.

Overheating PC will slow itself down to prevent damage to hardware. Overheating RAM in graphic card will make more errors, so internal ECC function will kick in, degenerating performance.

You don't know how many times cleaning the PC with air compressor helped with performance issues that my friends and clients had. For me it is the simplest and fastest way to start and it never hurts to work on a clean computer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
iFRAC7UR3
Master Guru
 
iFRAC7UR3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 680 2Gb
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: Vengeance 4x4GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: On-Board SC
PSU: Corsair AX850W
Default 03-27-2012, 20:42 | posts: 359 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoreyPL View Post
Having in mind all the extensive software tweaks that you've tried to fix the issue, have you tried going back to basics? With that I mean hardware. Since this stuttering just started to happen without any software modifications, maybe you PC is for example overheating?

Post you temps (or screenshots) from programs like GPU-Z, HWMonitor etc. with hardware stressed by Linpack/OCCT (for CPU), MSI Kombustor/Furmark (for GPU) or with benchmark like 3D Mark Vantage/2011 or Ungine Heaven.

Overheating PC will slow itself down to prevent damage to hardware. Overheating RAM in graphic card will make more errors, so internal ECC function will kick in, degenerating performance.

You don't know how many times cleaning the PC with air compressor helped with performance issues that my friends and clients had. For me it is the simplest and fastest way to start and it never hurts to work on a clean computer.
hmm, i have been monitoring all my temps, always.. i never reach critical levels.. my temps arew good through all stresstesting using intelburntest,prime, heaven etc..i will try cleaning it though, and some of the other tips and post back.. however as i am a very busy man on business days, I will dive in on the weekend.. i very much appreciate every bit of info given to me.. and will answer as soon as i have the time to..


you guru`s are the best
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
Faks
Member Guru
 
Faks's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 560 Ti 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8150
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: Vengeance 16GB 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Realtek HD & 2.1
PSU: Enermax Lega G 750-MAS
Default 03-28-2012, 23:03 | posts: 90 | Location: Europe

Try Following Nvidia Settings Should Help



This is how looks mine in Nvidia Inspector




Had shutter and fps issues in games example Counter-Strike Source i had 25-30 fps after these small changes i have stable 60 >= 250fps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
cricket bones
Master Guru
 
cricket bones's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX680-DC2T-2GD5
Processor: Intel Core i7 920@3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
Memory: Patriot Viper 3x2GB 1600
Soundcard: Prelude-OPA637/SennHD650
PSU: 860W PC Power & Cooling
Default 03-29-2012, 02:57 | posts: 500 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Holy cripes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 03-29-2012, 05:51 | posts: 9,313 | Location: Toledo

No offense Faks, but I don't recommend anyone to follow your settings. Simply because his hardware is in a different league.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Faks
Member Guru
 
Faks's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 560 Ti 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8150
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: Vengeance 16GB 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Realtek HD & 2.1
PSU: Enermax Lega G 750-MAS
Default 03-29-2012, 12:34 | posts: 90 | Location: Europe

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice445 View Post
No offense Faks, but I don't recommend anyone to follow your settings. Simply because his hardware is in a different league.
kinda true but this is my old build soon will rise my new one that one will be true Future Proof
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#36)
iFRAC7UR3
Master Guru
 
iFRAC7UR3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 680 2Gb
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: Vengeance 4x4GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: On-Board SC
PSU: Corsair AX850W
Default 04-01-2012, 23:13 | posts: 359 | Location: Norway

okey, i have formatted, reinstalled.. updated bios.. only installed google chrome and bf3 and a 285.xx driver that i KNOW worked well before.. and same thing..

i can with this conclude that it is a hardware problem right ? tested ram, and HDD.. nothing there.. so CPU or GPU right ?

haha my gpu is like 1000$ in my country.. LOL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
Soundcreepy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 660 SCOC 2gb
Processor: i5 2500K @ 3.3 Boost 3.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-H61MA-D3V
Memory: DDR3 8 GB (2x4GB)
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Antec Basiq 550w
Default 04-02-2012, 04:33 | posts: 171 | Location: Harvard IL

You should be able to RMA it, just pay for shipping, and then wammo, new card (in my experience they never "repair" your old one)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
iFRAC7UR3
Master Guru
 
iFRAC7UR3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 680 2Gb
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: Vengeance 4x4GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: On-Board SC
PSU: Corsair AX850W
Default 04-02-2012, 15:43 | posts: 359 | Location: Norway

what if it has been slighltt clocked earlier? but i am sure that the OC did not damage the card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Shadowdane
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780Ti SLI
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero
Memory: GSkill 16GB DDR3-2400
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Corsair 850HX
Default 04-02-2012, 16:32 | posts: 800 | Location: Virginia

I'm seeing quite a bit of jitter and microstutter on my GTX680 with the 301.10 driver. I'm hoping it is just the driver or the fact this is a brand new architecture.

I didn't have this issue with the GTX460SLI setup I had previously, so hoping its just a driver issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
Soundcreepy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 660 SCOC 2gb
Processor: i5 2500K @ 3.3 Boost 3.7
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-H61MA-D3V
Memory: DDR3 8 GB (2x4GB)
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Antec Basiq 550w
Default 04-02-2012, 17:33 | posts: 171 | Location: Harvard IL

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFRAC7UR3 View Post
what if it has been slighltt clocked earlier? but i am sure that the OC did not damage the card
an OC shouldn't hurt your warranty. I even modded my bios (which is supposed to void the warranty) but they still accepted the RMA anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
pokerapar88
Maha Guru
 
pokerapar88's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 7970 DD @ 1050/1500
Processor: i5 2500K @4.5Ghz CM V8
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Gskill Sniper 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + HT 5.1
PSU: CoolerMaster GX 750w
Default 04-03-2012, 02:31 | posts: 1,656 | Location: Argentina // Buenos Aires

Maybe someone already asked... but... have you checked your VGA for dust? have you dusted off since you got it? maybe the core temps is ok but mems are full of dust?

Cleaning it won't hurt ^^
If this and a clean reinstall didn't work, something ion the hardware side is hurting :S
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
kindred
Member Guru
 
kindred's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 770 OC 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V LX
Memory: GSKILL 8 GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-FI Champ
PSU: Corsair 800W
Default 04-05-2012, 23:17 | posts: 71 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFRAC7UR3 View Post
is adaptive vsync automatically on or do i have to do something to enable it ?
is there any other tips i can try ?

plus please understand here, try talking to me as if im a noob.. because i have only been doing this for a couple of months now and still trying to learn.. you guys have been the greatest
Are you running any other utilities in the background like ASUS Suite, Fraps, Evga precision etc? Also try shutting everything down including any browsers you might have running in the background and see if the jittering has gone.

I sometimes get jittering when I have Avant browser or Firefox running in the background and Kaspersky can also cause jittering. So if you have those try shutting them down before gaming.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
samtroy
Newbie
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX 780 Ti 3GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3rd Gen.
Mainboard: Asus Z87-Pro
Memory: 32GB DDR3-RAM
Soundcard: 5.1PCM> HDMI> AV-Receiver
PSU: be quiet! SP-E9 600W
Default 04-06-2012, 09:10 | posts: 27

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowdane View Post
I'm seeing quite a bit of jitter and microstutter on my GTX680 with the 301.10 driver. I'm hoping it is just the driver or the fact this is a brand new architecture.

I didn't have this issue with the GTX460SLI setup I had previously, so hoping its just a driver issue.
I had the same problems on Assassin's Creed: Revelations! Same card, same driver.

I fixed it with the 300.83 driver ! Yes!! Thanks to some guys over at the NVidia forums. Seems like NVidia broke something in the 301 driver...

Source: http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=226227
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
tyRant.594
Master Guru
 
tyRant.594's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280x
Processor: i5 4570
Mainboard: Asus Z87 K
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 04-06-2012, 09:22 | posts: 458 | Location: San Jose Ca

so the 300 driver is better to use than the 301? I get the weird stuttering without vsync on bf3.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
samtroy
Newbie
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX 780 Ti 3GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3rd Gen.
Mainboard: Asus Z87-Pro
Memory: 32GB DDR3-RAM
Soundcard: 5.1PCM> HDMI> AV-Receiver
PSU: be quiet! SP-E9 600W
Default 04-06-2012, 09:27 | posts: 27

Yes, the 300.83 is much better. No more weird stuttering.

Just check out the thread I posted.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Shadowdane
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780Ti SLI
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero
Memory: GSkill 16GB DDR3-2400
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Corsair 850HX
Default 04-06-2012, 17:27 | posts: 800 | Location: Virginia

Cool I'll have to give the 300.83 driver a try, the stuttering and jitter in a few games on 301.10 was driving me nuts!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
tyRant.594
Master Guru
 
tyRant.594's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280x
Processor: i5 4570
Mainboard: Asus Z87 K
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 04-06-2012, 17:56 | posts: 458 | Location: San Jose Ca

wow, the 300 driver is better in every game I tried. Bf3, Crysis 2, darkness 2. I have no more stuttering or jitters, thank god!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Netherwind
Maha Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 4GB SLI 1500MHz
Processor: Intel i5 3570K 4400MHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 1600MHz
Soundcard: Onboard Audio
PSU: Corsair 850W HX
Default 04-10-2012, 16:18 | posts: 1,590 | Location: Sweden

Am I the only one who does not experience stuttering using 301.10 while Vsync enabled?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 04-10-2012, 17:34 | posts: 12,225 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netherwind View Post
Am I the only one who does not experience stuttering using 301.10 while Vsync enabled?
No, I've never noticed any stutter in any of the games I've been playing (Alan Wake, Jurassic Park, Batman: Arkham City, Skyrim, Mass Effect 3, Ridge Racer Unbounded, etc.) with any of the 30x.xx drivers I've tried so far and I can't stand tearing so I always have v-sync enabled (and triple buffering too using D3DOverrider).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
Frohman0905
Maha Guru
 
Frohman0905's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX680 2GB OC @ 1202/7000
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Default 04-10-2012, 18:11 | posts: 976 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
No, I've never noticed any stutter in any of the games I've been playing (Alan Wake, Jurassic Park, Batman: Arkham City, Skyrim, Mass Effect 3, Ridge Racer Unbounded, etc.) with any of the 30x.xx drivers I've tried so far and I can't stand tearing so I always have v-sync enabled (and triple buffering too using D3DOverrider).
Same here!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.