Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#376)
Naennon
Newbie
 
Videocard: gtx 680
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: coolermaster golen 850
Default 04-13-2012, 20:18 | posts: 5

sure i can set it to 133%

but

1) reviewers had 150% on these cards (2gb) and 1350 coreclock that why i bought this card
2) i can set 133% with afterburner or precisionx > card wont go over 100% powertarget

http://h11.abload.de/img/erterterteasygkckjn.jpg


kidding me?

Last edited by Naennon; 04-13-2012 at 20:22.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#377)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-13-2012, 20:23 | posts: 19,564 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naennon View Post
sure i can set it to 133%

but

1) reviewers had 150% on these cards (2gb) and 1350 coreclock that why i bought this card
2) i can set 133% with afterburner or precisionx > crad wont go over 100% powertarget

http://h11.abload.de/img/erterterteasygkckjn.jpg


kidding me?
Overclock and do not use occtgpu or furmark. The driver picks up the power signature and downclocks the card within a defined power signature.

Give it a try with some games and see how the overclock behaves. If still not satisfied, you might want to return the card my friend.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#378)
Naennon
Newbie
 
Videocard: gtx 680
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: coolermaster golen 850
Default 04-13-2012, 20:27 | posts: 5

i WILL return it

my older 680 stock did 133% with occt well

this card does nothing and it crashes in heaven with +105 offset

no way this time...

anywayn no BIOS available to test it?

Last edited by hallryu; 04-14-2012 at 03:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#379)
chimaxi83
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus DC II GTX680
Processor: 2600K @ 4.8 1.36V
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: 8GB Samsung
Soundcard: Vengeance 1500
PSU: XFX Core 850W
Default 04-14-2012, 00:54 | posts: 4 | Location: Chicago

I don't know if someone has already mentioned it in the replies, but why are you guys writing that you're adding +100 to the voltage, when this in fact has absolutely ZERO effect on these cards? Voltage is still controlled automatically regardless of what you set in Precision or Afterburner.

Edit: I'm referring to the Gigabyte and Palit reviews, by the way, but the above is true for all of the already released cards. Twin Frozr card too.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#380)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-14-2012, 08:46 | posts: 19,564 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by chimaxi83 View Post
I don't know if someone has already mentioned it in the replies, but why are you guys writing that you're adding +100 to the voltage, when this in fact has absolutely ZERO effect on these cards? Voltage is still controlled automatically regardless of what you set in Precision or Afterburner.

Edit: I'm referring to the Gigabyte and Palit reviews, by the way, but the above is true for all of the already released cards. Twin Frozr card too.
We'll investigate, thanks.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#381)
chimaxi83
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus DC II GTX680
Processor: 2600K @ 4.8 1.36V
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: 8GB Samsung
Soundcard: Vengeance 1500
PSU: XFX Core 850W
Default 04-14-2012, 21:28 | posts: 4 | Location: Chicago

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
We'll investigate, thanks.
Thanks for the reply. Locked voltage control has been frustrating, seems these cards are leaving a lot of untapped potential on the table, especially for those of us with custom water loops.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#382)
perosmct
Banned
 
Videocard: unknown
Processor: unknown
Mainboard: unknown
Memory: unknown
Soundcard: unknown
PSU: unknown
Default 04-19-2012, 23:12 | posts: 1,072 | Location: unknown

DARE: ALL GTX680 USERS...PROVIDE BETTER RESULTS WITH ANYWAY AT THESE CLOCKS



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#383)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-19-2012, 23:21 | posts: 17,156 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Guessing the Tess slider was changed after the bench? To take the pic?

Last edited by ---TK---; 04-19-2012 at 23:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#384)
Xzibit
Banned
 
Videocard: 7970 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K/H70
Mainboard: ASUS Z77VLX
Memory: 8Gb 2,2GHz, 1.5V
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 04-19-2012, 23:47 | posts: 4,383 | Location: Europe

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Guessing the Tess slider was changed after the bench? To take the pic?
Ofcourse Sherlock
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#385)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-19-2012, 23:49 | posts: 17,156 | Location: New Jersey, USA

thanks for the conformation zxibit
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#386)
Xzibit
Banned
 
Videocard: 7970 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K/H70
Mainboard: ASUS Z77VLX
Memory: 8Gb 2,2GHz, 1.5V
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 04-19-2012, 23:50 | posts: 4,383 | Location: Europe

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
thanks for the conformation zxibit
No Problem KT

perosmct Can you share that 8.970 version?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#387)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 04-19-2012, 23:53 | posts: 15,593 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Guessing the Tess slider was changed after the bench? To take the pic?
Moving the slider after the results are displayed, isn't going to affect the results screen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#388)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-20-2012, 00:05 | posts: 17,156 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Moving the slider after the results are displayed, isn't going to affect the results screen.
theres zero possibility of a 7970 hitting that score with a core clock of 1005. its a tesselation cheat. turning it off in the cat and setting it to extreme in the bench lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#389)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 04-20-2012, 05:13 | posts: 6,145 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by perosmct View Post
DARE: ALL GTX680 USERS...PROVIDE BETTER RESULTS WITH ANYWAY AT THESE CLOCKS
Nice cheats. What exactly are you trying to prove? that you know how to disable tessellation?


Msi 7970 lightning at 1070mhz core.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#390)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 04-20-2012, 07:19 | posts: 11,396 | Location: England

Dont continue to feed it. They go away if you don't.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#391)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X & 7950
Processor: 3770K & 2500K
Mainboard: GB Z77X-D3H / GB Z77-D3H
Memory: 16GB & 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Meridian 2G / xf-i fata
PSU: 1000W & 500W silverstone
Default 04-20-2012, 09:03 | posts: 3,764 | Location: Finland

more or less not disabled but used at something like 16x or so.... cause disabled would give way better score
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#392)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 04-20-2012, 10:11 | posts: 5,196 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by chimaxi83 View Post
Thanks for the reply. Locked voltage control has been frustrating, seems these cards are leaving a lot of untapped potential on the table, especially for those of us with custom water loops.

I can be wrong, but is not the voltage range is increasing by set higher tdp limit ? basically the voltage is still automatically controlled, but you give it a higher range ? If not , this is plenty stupid.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#393)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative ZxR
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 04-20-2012, 13:37 | posts: 6,626 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lane View Post
I can be wrong, but is not the voltage range is increasing by set higher tdp limit ? basically the voltage is still automatically controlled, but you give it a higher range ? If not , this is plenty stupid.
You're right but it's capped at a certain point and you can't take it any higher. It's basically the sole reason why I haven't bought a 680 yet. All these companies are selling cards with additional 8 pin connectors and stuff and it's all pointless, since the reference cards all max out anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#394)
BenchZowner
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 680
Processor: Core i7-2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200
Default 04-20-2012, 19:24 | posts: 2

Hilbert you don't have a Rampage IV Extreme to use the "VGA Hotwire" feature to control the Vgpu of the 680 DCUII and see how far the card can overclock for 24/7 usage with additional voltage ? ( I'm pretty sure that it'll be more than able to handle 1.23 - 1.25V at reasonable temperatures & sound levels for everyday gaming )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#395)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 04-20-2012, 21:33 | posts: 11,745 | Location: new jersey

I would hope so bill since my ref asus 680 handles 1.28v(+80mv) with just the hotwire and power mods.(h70 cooling)
I think any modded up pbc can just fry like any other but these "should" go 1.35v(+150mv) without fear on proper cooling.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#396)
BenchZowner
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 680
Processor: Core i7-2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200
Default 04-20-2012, 23:47 | posts: 2

Hotwire is nice, normal Vmods are ok as well ( as long as you're capable of soldering everything properly ), but I really can't figure out why they didn't go with software voltage control ( technically it can be done ).
Perhaps waiting for MSI to play their cards first, or just wanting to keep it for the Matrix / Matrix P.E.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#397)
bob slayer
Newbie
 
Videocard: gtx 680
Processor: i7 3820
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair 1200
Default 04-21-2012, 08:06 | posts: 2

so when asus say
"The GeForce GTX 680 DirectCU II builds on Nvidia’s latest GK114 graphics core," @ http://rog.asus.com/107162012/graphi...rectcu-ii-top/
they're talking out their ***?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#398)
dchalf10
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX670 1293/6800
Processor: i7-870@3.84ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 1156 UD3H
Memory: 4GB 1600CL8
Soundcard: Yamaha 7.2
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 04-21-2012, 10:13 | posts: 4,043

I would sell my left nut for one of these cards. I'm as broke as a joke though and I want to play through The Witcher 2 again at 60 frames but there are no games in my library even worth playing at the moment so I'll have to go 2 playthroughs back to back and a third when I upgrade.

Next time I'm saving in advance of a card launch, I always wait until it's too late...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#399)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-21-2012, 13:52 | posts: 9,776 | Location: UK

Someone in China might be looking for a left nut...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#400)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-21-2012, 16:29 | posts: 8,105 | Location: United Kingdom

..or at least a right nut, so maybe not be so picky?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.