Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#351)
chest_rockwell
Newbie
 
Videocard: cfire 5850 1gb
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: msi
Memory: 4gb ddr3 1600
Soundcard: asus xonar + microlab
PSU: seasonic 650
Default 04-08-2012, 05:27 | posts: 32 | Location: Turkey

before laying down graphs for me to inspect believe or not 5850 clocked to 950/1300 is faster than a 570. ok? ok.

what you didnt understand is im not saying its overkill if you want to go 3 monitors 2500 resolutions or you are gaming on a large hdtv which only has 1080p res, that definately needs AA to increase image quality.
NOW read this slowly with me please: it is overkill to use maximum AA in a 23" monitor (which I have) in first place and those benchmarks are done with fxaa - 4xaa. I simply dont care if I cant push aa to maximum. There are no visible differences between ultra and high to my tastes while playing bf3. so im getting fixed 60fps in bf3 with high overall details / no aa. and thats it for me.

What you saying is very difficult to understand also. You are acting like all apps - games demands at least BF3 ultra specs.buying a vid card to maxing single game out isnt my thing. my point of view to this is: as long as you play at 1080 with high details and fixed fps, gpu is enough.

gpu cards are nice but they are pricey and every new series since gtx400 and hd5000 are so little improved. there should be a GAP by now. ppl working 10$ for a month in plants to produce these cards and money doesnt goes to those ppl money just makes few ppl rich thats another reason why im not buying gpu every month or just to max out a single game. they are selling same card over over over again since 2009 with huge prices. hope I made myself clear.

Last edited by chest_rockwell; 04-08-2012 at 05:41.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#352)
UZ7
Ancient Guru
 
UZ7's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 - XL2720T
Processor: i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Gene
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-08-2012, 06:35 | posts: 5,263 | Location: Everyday Rain Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by chest_rockwell View Post
gpu cards are nice but they are pricey and every new series since gtx400 and hd5000 are so little improved. there should be a GAP by now. ppl working 10$ for a month in plants to produce these cards and money doesnt goes to those ppl money just makes few ppl rich thats another reason why im not buying gpu every month or just to max out a single game. they are selling same card over over over again since 2009 with huge prices. hope I made myself clear.
You do know that if they weren't outsourced/made in other countries they would cost 2x+ more
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#353)
Penal Stingray
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX 680 Tri-Sli-S27A950
Processor: i7 3930K 4.6 GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte UD3 X79
Memory: 16 GB Ripjaws 2200 MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Titanium HD
PSU: Antec HCP 1200 Watts
Default 04-08-2012, 09:56 | posts: 958 | Location: JerZe

Im Disappointed with this card if u remember nvidia claims last year that kepler is twice or more faster than than 580 well WUT THE HELL not even close.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#354)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-08-2012, 11:04 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

The fastest cards havent been released yet!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#355)
dchalf10
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX670 1293/6800
Processor: i7-870@3.84ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 1156 UD3H
Memory: 4GB 1600CL8
Soundcard: Yamaha 7.2
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 04-08-2012, 11:30 | posts: 4,035

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penal Stingray View Post
Im Disappointed with this card if u remember nvidia claims last year that kepler is twice or more faster than than 580 well WUT THE HELL not even close.
They said it was twice as powerful per watt. It is.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#356)
smashly
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 560ti / GTX 670
Processor: i7 2700k / i5 3570k
Mainboard: Asus Gene-Z / GA Z77MX
Memory: G.Skill 8GB Ripjaw / Ares
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Enermax 1000w / 1020w
Default 04-08-2012, 14:59 | posts: 989 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by chest_rockwell View Post
before laying down graphs for me to inspect believe or not 5850 clocked to 950/1300 is faster than a 570. ok? ok.

what you didnt understand is im not saying its overkill if you want to go 3 monitors 2500 resolutions or you are gaming on a large hdtv which only has 1080p res, that definately needs AA to increase image quality.
NOW read this slowly with me please: it is overkill to use maximum AA in a 23" monitor (which I have) in first place and those benchmarks are done with fxaa - 4xaa. I simply dont care if I cant push aa to maximum. There are no visible differences between ultra and high to my tastes while playing bf3. so im getting fixed 60fps in bf3 with high overall details / no aa. and thats it for me.

What you saying is very difficult to understand also. You are acting like all apps - games demands at least BF3 ultra specs.buying a vid card to maxing single game out isnt my thing. my point of view to this is: as long as you play at 1080 with high details and fixed fps, gpu is enough.

gpu cards are nice but they are pricey and every new series since gtx400 and hd5000 are so little improved. there should be a GAP by now......
+1 for that part of your comment imo.

I'm impressed by the GTX 680 power consumption to performance compared to 2 generations of cards ago, but the prices are BS and always have been BS for the current gen card of the month.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#357)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 04-08-2012, 16:25 | posts: 7,243 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penal Stingray View Post
Im Disappointed with this card if u remember nvidia claims last year that kepler is twice or more faster than than 580 well WUT THE HELL not even close.
Source?

The only thing I remember is this:

http://cdn.slashgear.com/wp-content/...ap-580x326.jpg

And that's double floating point performance/watt.


Has any 680 owners have trouble coming out of S3 sleep? There is a bunch of EVGA card owners complaining over at their forums that their cards don't come out of sleep. I use sleep a lot so I'm wondering if this effects all 680 cards or just EVGA's?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#358)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 04-08-2012, 17:39 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Hey guys. After trying to live by for almost 3years with a E7300(waited a full year to buld my SB) and using my HD4770 I manage to snap one MSI GTX680 on Ebay for 480euros for my new build while all the other ones where selling for 530+ with shipping in my country.

Very satisfied with the deal but I do admit I kinda regret passing a deal on a ASUS 7970 for 400euros. I guess I'm having a bit of a buyers remorse..

I have read EVERY review I could find(in many languages) and while the majority and also our beloved Hilbert shows a significant advantage in most games over the 7970, while some other do not.

Please I would prefer unbiased replies please.

Should I sell the 680 and get that 80euros cheaper 7970?

Last edited by Koniakki; 04-08-2012 at 17:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#359)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-08-2012, 17:50 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

I'd keep it for sure.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#360)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-08-2012, 18:05 | posts: 18,916 | Location: New Jersey, USA

keep, you got the best card on the market today
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#361)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 04-08-2012, 18:16 | posts: 9,427 | Location: UK

Id also say keep the 680, no point swapping, both cards are as good as each other.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#362)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 04-08-2012, 18:18 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

I guess those 2.5 years owning an ATi affected my peace of mind of switching sides..

Well, my brother in law which I build his Rig last year(SB/GTX580) wants to sell his PNY XL8 GTX580, so if he does I will probably get that cheap 7970 and sell my 680 to him since his is an NVidia fan nonetheless.

But for me is just MIN/AVG/MAX FPS in games.. I see no brand(assuming quality is same/similar). And I do admit ATi has grown a bit on me but in heart I know the 680 is the superior card.

Thank you. Even if sometimes we do know the right path, some reassurance is always welcomed and appreciated.

Last edited by Koniakki; 04-08-2012 at 18:23. Reason: Reason:
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#363)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti+GTX750Ti+G-Sync
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 04-09-2012, 03:37 | posts: 2,137

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koniakki View Post
I guess those 2.5 years owning an ATi affected my peace of mind of switching sides..

Well, my brother in law which I build his Rig last year(SB/GTX580) wants to sell his PNY XL8 GTX580, so if he does I will probably get that cheap 7970 and sell my 680 to him since his is an NVidia fan nonetheless.

But for me is just MIN/AVG/MAX FPS in games.. I see no brand(assuming quality is same/similar). And I do admit ATi has grown a bit on me but in heart I know the 680 is the superior card.

Thank you. Even if sometimes we do know the right path, some reassurance is always welcomed and appreciated.
If you're more comfortable with AMD just make the switch with your brother in law Who knows though, by the time he sells his card, you might get used to Nv again. Either way peace of mind can make up for the performance difference.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#364)
wintermutex
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA Nvidia 680 GTX
Processor: 2500k @ 4.8ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z68-UD5-B3
Memory: G.Skill RipjawX 8gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: 866watt PPC TurboCool
Default 04-12-2012, 17:54 | posts: 27

I call shenanigans!

"We have core voltage upped another 100Mv, the Core clock was increased with another 100 MHz and the memory got 250 MHz added as well. In the upper monitoring graph you can see that happening."

Did you see the voltage go over 1.175v? This slider does nothing on afterburner 2.2.0 beta 15 and driver 301.10

Am I missing something? You don't show the voltage in the graph output either.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#365)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-12-2012, 17:59 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by wintermutex View Post
I call shenanigans!

"We have core voltage upped another 100Mv, the Core clock was increased with another 100 MHz and the memory got 250 MHz added as well. In the upper monitoring graph you can see that happening."

Did you see the voltage go over 1.175v? This slider does nothing on afterburner 2.2.0 beta 15 and driver 301.10

Am I missing something? You don't show the voltage in the graph output either.
Who are you quoting?
It isnt anyone in this thread, I checked every page.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#366)
wintermutex
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA Nvidia 680 GTX
Processor: 2500k @ 4.8ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z68-UD5-B3
Memory: G.Skill RipjawX 8gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: 866watt PPC TurboCool
Default 04-12-2012, 18:07 | posts: 27

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Who are you quoting?
It isnt anyone in this thread, I checked every page.
The review that this thread is about:

http://www.guru3d.com/article/gigaby...tion-review/25

Sorry, I linked to this thread from the review, but it looks like there wasn't a separate thread created for that -specific- review: "Gigabyte GeForce GTX 680 OC edition review"

In any event, this review should be edited. We all would love to be able to add voltage offset, but it's not possible at the moment. The voltage offset slider has no effect on vcore at least with 301.10 drivers and AB 2.2.0 beta 15.

Last edited by wintermutex; 04-12-2012 at 18:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#367)
h0d
Master Guru
 
h0d's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7970 Cfx - EKwb En
Processor: 3930k - EK HF-Supreme
Mainboard: Rog Rampage Extreme IV
Memory: DDR3-2133 16g
Soundcard: HT | Omega - eClaro 7.1
PSU: Silverstone 1200W
Default 04-12-2012, 18:13 | posts: 188 | Location: Québec

Quote:
The fastest cards havent been released yet!
The cake is a lie.

It looks like another marketing tricky trick by Nvidia.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#368)
Enizax
Master Guru
 
Enizax's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 1075-1200/1702
Processor: i5 4.8GHz on H100i
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Csr.Vengance 16GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: CoolerMaster 1000W
Default 04-12-2012, 18:36 | posts: 220 | Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by h0d View Post
The cake is a lie.

It looks like another marketing tricky trick by Nvidia.
considering the die architechture, i don't think they pulled a 480 on us at the very least

however it doesn't scratch the possibility of redesigning hi-leak transistors to more crucial parts of the GPU, like they did with the 560ti ^^
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#369)
Naennon
Newbie
 
Videocard: gtx 680
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: coolermaster golen 850
Default 04-13-2012, 17:29 | posts: 5

Hi

Did you dumped the bios oft the GTX 680 Jetstream?

Bought the 4gb jetstream today and bios is faulty

Only 1006 core clock, only 133% powertarget

Probably this is not the same bios as the press versions had

You are my last chance!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#370)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-13-2012, 20:43 | posts: 21,532 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naennon View Post
Hi

Did you dumped the bios oft the GTX 680 Jetstream?

Bought the 4gb jetstream today and bios is faulty

Only 1006 core clock, only 133% powertarget

Probably this is not the same bios as the press versions had

You are my last chance!
Hi Naennon and welcome to Guru3D.com -- the 4GB version is running on reference clock frequencies. This has been updated in our news post as well.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#371)
Naennon
Newbie
 
Videocard: gtx 680
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: coolermaster golen 850
Default 04-13-2012, 20:52 | posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Hi Naennon and welcome to Guru3D.com -- the 4GB version is running on reference clock frequencies. This has been updated in our news post as well.
sure?

card also dont accepts any powertarget increase

so i want to try the 2GB bios on that card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#372)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-13-2012, 20:58 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Be careful, cards with higher memory may run the memory a bit slower due to extra load on the power circuits and extra heat generated.
The 2GB BIOS might run your memory too fast to operate.
Then again...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#373)
Naennon
Newbie
 
Videocard: gtx 680
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: coolermaster golen 850
Default 04-13-2012, 21:01 | posts: 5

well i bought this thing to overclock not to show my memory ffs...

they had no 2gb version so i took this one
this makes me angry

at least i want to try it with the 2gb version bios
card takes only 100% powertarget!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#374)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-13-2012, 21:10 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

I wouldnt blow a fuse just yet
Contact NVidia and see what they say, you may well have a faulty card/bios.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#375)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-13-2012, 21:12 | posts: 21,532 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naennon View Post
well i bought this thing to overclock not to show my memory ffs...

they had no 2gb version so i took this one
this makes me angry

at least i want to try it with the 2gb version bios
card takes only 100% powertarget!
Did you try the latest AfterBurner Beta ? You can set the power limitation to 133%

A quick +350 MHz on the memory was not an issue and the GPU picked up another 100 MHz easily as well.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.