Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 03-24-2012, 14:10 | posts: 3,716

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
I don't have the clock issue others report though.
The clock issue was with the previous 8.960 marthand posted.
I can confirm there's no 'sticky clock' issue with this set.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
TheOriginalTO
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ATI 5870m
Processor: Intel Core i7 Q720
Mainboard: ASUS G73JH
Memory: 6.00
Soundcard:
PSU: Rbbx05
Default 03-24-2012, 14:37 | posts: 284

Mobility mod needed? i have a 5870m
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 03-24-2012, 15:07 | posts: 3,716

Nope, straight install.
For my 5650m, at least.
You can always check support for your card by searching for the DEV_ number of your GPU's hardware ID in the .inf file; e.g mine is 68C1.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
Cyris
Master Guru
 
Cyris's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX TITAN BLACK /SLI
Processor: Intel Xeon E5-2687w
Mainboard: ASRock X79 Extreme9
Memory: DDR3 16GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Cougar GX 1050W
Default 03-24-2012, 15:24 | posts: 212 | Location: Germany

Official Link: Changelog

Quote:
The OpenCL 1.2 beta includes the following OpenCL™ 1.2 functionality:
  • Host access flags for memory objects enable more efficient buffer handling and provide added protection. For example, a buffer that is created as “write only” cannot be read from the host.
  • Pattern based GPU buffer and image initialization can help eliminate need for certain buffer/image transfers
  • Memory objects migration supports transfer of buffers prior to need
  • New generalized image creation API
  • Enhanced image/buffer map operations
  • OpenCL 1.2 CPU device partition including partition of a CPU after addition to a context
  • Generalized 1D and 2D images, image arrays, and image<-> buffer interop
  • Libraries support including the separation of compile and link phases and the ability to compile with external symbols
  • Kernel reflection, the ability to query a kernel’s arguments
  • Support for printf as a built in function
  • OpenCL™ 1.2 support is scheduled to be included in our official AMD Catalyst™ driver releases in the coming months.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
saif
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280X DualX OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 BE
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo
Memory: G.Skill 2x4GB 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Extreme Audio PCI
PSU: Antec Ea 650W
Default 03-24-2012, 15:29 | posts: 648 | Location: Argentina - Buenos Aires

anyone tried these on linux? im going for it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 03-24-2012, 15:40 | posts: 2,865 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saif View Post
anyone tried these on linux? im going for it
I was just going to say the same thing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
saif
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280X DualX OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 BE
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo
Memory: G.Skill 2x4GB 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Extreme Audio PCI
PSU: Antec Ea 650W
Default 03-24-2012, 16:13 | posts: 648 | Location: Argentina - Buenos Aires

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikedogg View Post
I was just going to say the same thing.
Ive just installed them, seem to go fine. Hopefully it gets rid of some annoying "sometimes" freezing on load after kernel 3.0.0-17 update.

let me know if you can't get rid of the "For testing use only" ad
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 03-24-2012, 16:19 | posts: 2,865 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saif View Post
Ive just installed them, seem to go fine. Hopefully it gets rid of some annoying "sometimes" freezing on load after kernel 3.0.0-17 update.

let me know if you can't get rid of the "For testing use only" ad
What version of Linux are you running?

I have Pinguy OS which is a mixture of Debian and Ubuntu with the newer Gnome 3 desktop, and the last driver was causing texture corruption slowdowns and artifacts.

Are you experiencing any of those problems?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
saif
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280X DualX OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 BE
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo
Memory: G.Skill 2x4GB 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Extreme Audio PCI
PSU: Antec Ea 650W
Default 03-24-2012, 16:24 | posts: 648 | Location: Argentina - Buenos Aires

yeah, in flash players specially. If that is your concern, what worked for me was:

» Go to compiz configuration tool
» Composite » disable "Detect Refresh Rate" and set your refresh rate to "120"
» OpenGL » disable Sync to VBlank

I don't think these drivers fixed it by default so you may still need to do those steps I mentioned

im on ubuntu 11 btw

Last edited by saif; 03-24-2012 at 17:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 03-24-2012, 17:14 | posts: 2,865 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saif View Post
yeah, in flash players specially. If that is your concern, what worked for me was:

» Go to compiz configuration tool
» Composite » disable "Detect Refresh Rate" and set your refresh rate to "120"
» OpenGL » disable Sync to VBlank

I don't think these drivers fixed it by default so you may still need to do those steps I mentioned

im on ubuntu 11 btw
I'm still learning Linux. I take it you had to use terminal to install?

What is the command line. Cheers
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#111)
saif
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280X DualX OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 BE
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo
Memory: G.Skill 2x4GB 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Extreme Audio PCI
PSU: Antec Ea 650W
Default 03-24-2012, 17:50 | posts: 648 | Location: Argentina - Buenos Aires

I think you can manage this from your package manager, look for compizconfig-settings-manager, and then make sure you have the packages compiz-plugins and compiz-plugins-main, but I think you should have them already if you use gnome 3.

Then it's all through gnome ui, you should be able to do the steps I mentioned before with just mouse clicks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
ScoobyDooby
Ancient Guru
 
ScoobyDooby's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX970 G1 SLI & Qnix 27"
Processor: 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ H100
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 8GB Viper Xtreme @ 1866
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire LE FW
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 03-24-2012, 17:58 | posts: 5,830 | Location: BC, Canada

Wanted to let you all know my experiences.

I installed these just cuz really, my last set of drivers were fine, but figured I'd give these a shot to test to see if Skyrim was still stuttering with these with my xfire setup.

Installed these and then ran Skyrim with window mod so it was only using one card. Plays good.. went to an area that was heavy foliage and it brought down my fps to around 40s. Then saved and quit, changed the fullscreen=1 in prefs, adjusted the crossfire to tesv profile and reloaded. to my suprise, stutter is GONE. I have suffered with this since the beginning and with multiple drivers now the problem has remained.

My stutter issue was evident in particular when I would look down at the ground, didn't matter where, or at times when inside caves or indoor places with light sources.. would get a nasty microstutter. I noticed while playing last night that at times the stutter is still there, but its been vastly decreased.. out of playing 2 hours I noticed it only once when I was by the water and there was a nirnroot close by.

Other than that, the stutter is almost completely gone and now I can finally play Skyrim using both cards!! scaling is not bad either; afterburner showed that both cards had about 80% usage during heavier areas.. very pleased and hoping for even better optimization going forward.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 03-24-2012, 18:12 | posts: 2,865 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saif View Post
I think you can manage this from your package manager, look for compizconfig-settings-manager, and then make sure you have the packages compiz-plugins and compiz-plugins-main, but I think you should have them already if you use gnome 3.

Then it's all through gnome ui, you should be able to do the steps I mentioned before with just mouse clicks
Cheers, but never mind.

Just done an install through Jockey thinking it would install a later version, but it didn't, uninstalled them and now I'm getting a black screen on login.

****ing Linux ah.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
AnotherWorld
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7750OC 1GB
Processor: Athlon II
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 420W@12V
Default 03-24-2012, 21:37 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by SolidBladez View Post
Holy crap these were horrible for me. It played fine with my single 7970 but when I added another for Crossfire I ran into BSODs (ATI driver message) and freezing anytime I opened up GPU-Z or CCC. I also tried this driver on another setup which had a 7750 and had nearly the same issue
I concur. Those drivers were really horrible for my 7750, drivers kept freezing the system or crashing, popping the message like "Your driver doesn't want to live on this planet anymore" though it originally was more specific I believe Didn't test portal2 but old good Neverwinter Nights kept crashing upon execution.

Fortunately, 28 Feb 8.960 seems stable enough, didn't encounter issues mentioned earlier.

Last edited by AnotherWorld; 03-24-2012 at 21:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 03-24-2012, 22:12 | posts: 2,865 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

I can confirm Portal 2 ain't even being recognized. Just like AMD to fix one thing only to break another.

Bravo AMD. Bravo!

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
AdamK47
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Verite V1000 & Voodoo 4MB
Processor: Pentium 166C
Mainboard: Intel 430HX
Memory: 24MB EDO SIMM
Soundcard: AWE64
PSU: Enermax 200W
Default 03-24-2012, 22:42 | posts: 194 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erizo View Post
Confirmed, Portal2.exe opens then closes by itself.
Although I have played Portal 2 in many months, I decided to try it again after seeing your post. Encountered the same crash while loading. Managed to get it working by verifying integrity of game cache through the Steam game properties. It had to download one file. Worked after that.

Last edited by AdamK47; 03-24-2012 at 22:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
cesaroco
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX AMD HD7970
Processor: Intel I7 2600K @ 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 DELUXE
Memory: 2x4 GB Gskill 1600 CL7
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX-850w
Default 03-24-2012, 22:43 | posts: 101 | Location: Portugal

These ones have the clock problem unfortunately (stays 3d until we run a 3d app).
Other than that they are great

One question, how can i know if these have MLAA 2.0 or MLAA 1.0 ?

Last edited by cesaroco; 03-24-2012 at 23:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
DarkKnightDude
Maha Guru
 
DarkKnightDude's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX770 4 GB OC
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard:
Memory: 32 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: 700 Watts Corsair
Default 03-24-2012, 23:32 | posts: 971 | Location: Taipei, Taiwan

Portal 2 works here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
Ourasi
Master Guru
 
Ourasi's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7970
Processor: Ci7-2600k@4.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus SaberTooth P67
Memory: 16GB Vengeance@1600mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Mist 1000W
Default 03-24-2012, 23:32 | posts: 273 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by cesaroco View Post
These ones have the clock problem unfortunately (stays 3d until we run a 3d app).
Other than that they are great

One question, how can i know if these have MLAA 2.0 or MLAA 1.0 ?
Performance, these are as the MLAA 2.0 betas, 80-90% faster then 1.0 on earlier drivers.... So MLAA2.0 on these 12.4 betas, also no clock issues on my 7970 FYI...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
Portman87
Member Guru
 
Portman87's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 6870 DD 920/1130 1GB
Processor: PII 955 C3 4GHz NB 2.6GHz
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3
Memory: 2x2DDR3 1600 Kingston BLU
Soundcard: ALC892 SPA2602/10
PSU: FSP Group AURUM GOLD 700W
Default 03-24-2012, 23:52 | posts: 96 | Location: Bulgaria

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikedogg View Post
I can confirm Portal 2 ain't even being recognized. Just like AMD to fix one thing only to break another.

Bravo AMD. Bravo!

I have the same problem and with WHQL 12.2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 03-25-2012, 00:06 | posts: 5,711 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by SolidBladez View Post
Holy crap these were horrible for me. It played fine with my single 7970 but when I added another for Crossfire I ran into BSODs (ATI driver message) and freezing anytime I opened up GPU-Z or CCC. I also tried this driver on another setup which had a 7750 and had nearly the same issue.

Back to 8.950.5.
Ahh man, that sucks to hear. This set is darn amazing with crossfire on my end. Maybe you should try a totally fresh install. Run a driver cleanter etc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
Del_Boy
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 (2560x1600)
Processor: FX-8350 4.7ghz (water)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Memory: 8GB ddr3 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: stick in a can
PSU: OCZ 700w
Default 03-25-2012, 00:10 | posts: 457 | Location: UK

Error on page from origanal link, its not there anymore, looks like AMD have removed it because they forgot to fix skyrim for the 5 month running.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
Xzibit
Banned
 
Videocard: 7970 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K/H70
Mainboard: ASUS Z77VLX
Memory: 8Gb 2,2GHz, 1.5V
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 03-25-2012, 00:14 | posts: 4,383 | Location: Europe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Del_Boy View Post
Error on page from origanal link, its not there anymore, looks like AMD have removed it because they forgot to fix skyrim for the 5 month running.
What error? The page is live if you mean this
http://blogs.amd.com/developer/2012/...-1-2-solution/
Or you are trolling?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
wolfmenace
Newbie
 
Videocard: HIS 5970x2 2GB DDR5
Processor: Intel i7 950
Mainboard: Asus Rampage III
Memory: Muskin DDR3 1600 @2k
Soundcard: Creative Elite Pro
PSU: 1200 Golden Corsair
Default 03-25-2012, 00:44 | posts: 22 | Location: Cyprus

I have a HIS 5970x2 , so here are my comments for these drivers AMD Catalyst 12.4 OpenCL 1.2 (8.960.0 March 15)

The good thing is that all the games I Am playing are working , BF3 , WoW , Skyrim
With the previous 8.960 I couldn't launch BF3.(crashing on desktop)..

Some weird Problems......
------------------------------
1. Vertical Sync is not working with these drivers...even if I forced to use Vsync
2. At first time when I launched a game it took me straight to windows desktop , like ALT-Tab , i moved back to game and then again back to desktop , after a while it stop
3. I had to launch 3 Times BF3 , it was freezing and intro for some reason.... after three end tasks it start again without any problems.....


Anyway I am back to AMD Catalyst 12.x (8.950.5 February 24) are much better than this for me.....


Cheers......
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
Del_Boy
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 (2560x1600)
Processor: FX-8350 4.7ghz (water)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Memory: 8GB ddr3 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: stick in a can
PSU: OCZ 700w
Default 03-25-2012, 01:20 | posts: 457 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xzibit View Post
What error? The page is live if you mean this
http://blogs.amd.com/developer/2012/...-1-2-solution/
Or you are trolling?
if you bothered to click on the link in the op http://developer.amd.com/Pages/amd404.aspx you get this message > Developer Support
Home
Error - Page Not Found
We apologize, but the page you requested is unavailable. It may be temporarily offline due to maintenance, or it may not exist.

trolling ? takes one to know one.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd drivers still suck

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.