Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Catalyst 12.4 OpenCL 1.2 (8.960.0 March 15) AMD Official BETA
Old
  (#1)
gaul
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 6870
Processor: q9550 @ 4 GH
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Tx-950w
Default AMD Catalyst 12.4 OpenCL 1.2 (8.960.0 March 15) AMD Official BETA - 03-22-2012, 00:38 | posts: 76

Here :

Win 7 32/64
http://developer.amd.com/Downloads/O...ersWindows.exe

Linux 32/64
http://developer.amd.com/Downloads/O...iversLinux.tgz

Last edited by rflair; 03-22-2012 at 22:56.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Seketh
Maha Guru
 
Seketh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 5770
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T
Memory: 6GB DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 750W
Default 03-22-2012, 00:41 | posts: 1,555 | Location: Coimbra, Portugal

Are these WDDM 1.2?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ztooG
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 6950 2GB CDFC
Processor: Phenom II x4 980 BE @ 4.2
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX
Memory: G.SKILLF3-14900CL9D-8GBXL
Soundcard: Onboard + T6100
PSU: Antec HCG-900W
Default 03-22-2012, 00:46 | posts: 13

Thanks man.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Mustang104
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX HD6850 1GB
Processor: Intel C2D E7500 @3.76
Mainboard: Gigabyte G41M-Combo v1.4
Memory: DDR3-1600 2x4gb
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 700W
Default 03-22-2012, 01:48 | posts: 15 | Location: Chelmsford, UK

Just installed them on my 6850, idle clocks are still broken same as the other 8.96 drivers, rolling back to 8.95.5.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 03-22-2012, 01:58 | posts: 795 | Location: ND - US

Thanks for posting this!

Downloading now just to see if the AA bug is fixed for Skyrim (amongst others).

Also, could you elaborate a little more please, Mustang? Under-clocked? Over? Both? (?!?!?!) Sounds like a strange bug.

Last edited by dark_surge; 03-22-2012 at 02:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 03-22-2012, 02:02 | posts: 2,872 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

Jesus Christ, it's raining drivers again.

Worth downloading?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
dakon
Newbie
 
dakon's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6990 & 6970
Processor: 920 @ 4.03 Ghz
Mainboard: Foxconn Bloodrage
Memory: 12gb DDR3
Soundcard: X-Fi Prelude
PSU: ax 1200
Default 03-22-2012, 02:21 | posts: 20 | Location: Earth

Well..I literally just booted up after installing AMD Catalyst 12.x (8.950.5 February 24) AMD Official BETA, and I now see this post. Oh well, I will give these a try lmao.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 03-22-2012, 02:38 | posts: 2,872 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

Anyone know how to add mobile support?

Edit: Doesn't matter, I figured out how to add my own hardware ids to support my card.

Is "WDDM 1.2" only for windows 8 I take it.

Last edited by Mikedogg; 03-22-2012 at 15:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
NeoandGeo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 680
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @4.6
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD4B3
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 RipJaws
Soundcard: HT Omega Claro+ 7.1
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 03-22-2012, 02:53 | posts: 372

Why do these say OpenCL?

After a fresh install of Windows 7, these seem to give me the best IQ over all drivers this year on a 7970.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Mustang104
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX HD6850 1GB
Processor: Intel C2D E7500 @3.76
Mainboard: Gigabyte G41M-Combo v1.4
Memory: DDR3-1600 2x4gb
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 700W
Default 03-22-2012, 02:59 | posts: 15 | Location: Chelmsford, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by dark_surge View Post
Also, could you elaborate a little more please, Mustang? Under-clocked? Over? Both? (?!?!?!) Sounds like a strange bug.
What i'm refering to are the clock speeds when idle on the desktop, instead of idling down to say 300/300 like it should do it instead sits there at full 3D speeds (in my case 900/1000).

If you have a browse through the older 8.96 thread you'll see many testimonies of other users having the same issue

edit: it's PowerPlay related

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=359439

Last edited by Mustang104; 03-22-2012 at 16:50.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
MadelineX
Master Guru
 
MadelineX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6990 + 6970 Tri-Fire
Processor: i7 860 @ 4.1 ghz-NH D-14P
Mainboard: Asus Maximus III Formula
Memory: Gskill RipJaw 1600 16gb
Soundcard: Xonar DXS -CM SIRUS
PSU: Corsair Pro Series 1200AX
Default 03-22-2012, 03:14 | posts: 257 | Location: Seattle, WA

Downloading. Thanks for the post.

In the meantime, can someone who has these installed post a screen of the software info?

Danke.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 03-22-2012, 03:23 | posts: 795 | Location: ND - US

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang104 View Post
What i'm refering to are the clock speeds when idle on the desktop, instead of idling down to say 300/300 like it should do it instead sits there at full 3D speeds (in my case 900/1000).

If you have a browse through the older 8.96 thread you'll see many testimonies of other users having the same issue

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=359439

Thank you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
MadelineX
Master Guru
 
MadelineX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6990 + 6970 Tri-Fire
Processor: i7 860 @ 4.1 ghz-NH D-14P
Mainboard: Asus Maximus III Formula
Memory: Gskill RipJaw 1600 16gb
Soundcard: Xonar DXS -CM SIRUS
PSU: Corsair Pro Series 1200AX
Default 03-22-2012, 03:42 | posts: 257 | Location: Seattle, WA

Great for bf3, Skyrim, SWTOR. IQ is much improved. Framerates are quite solid.

Super thumbs up!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
popeye
Master Guru
 
popeye's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GT 730M
Processor: i5-3230m
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Acer Laptop V3-771G-6443
Default 03-22-2012, 03:45 | posts: 454 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikedogg View Post
Anyone know how to add mobile support?
I just now installed on my switchable graphics lappy. Installed video driver only with custom install using CIM. Installed fine for me. Still have switchable and slight bump in WEI. Still checking.

Thank you gaul.

P.S. There is no Intel graphics folder so these are not switchable graphics drivers as such. You have to install the video driver only on top of already working switchable drivers. Don't install CCC or you will muck things up.

Just looked up your CPU and saw it has no integrated graphics so forget my reference to switchable graphics in your case.

Last edited by popeye; 03-22-2012 at 04:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Olvik
Master Guru
 
Olvik's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7970 CrossFire
Processor: Intel i7 3960x @4.80MHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.Skill 2133MHz.
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 1250w
Default 03-22-2012, 03:57 | posts: 154 | Location: Spain

Thank you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
vinyl
Newbie
 
Videocard: 6870 2GB/1GHZ (OC)
Processor: CORE 2 EXTREME 2200FSB
Mainboard: ASUS P5Q PRO/TURBO/RAID
Memory: 52ns DDR2 @ 1066
Soundcard:
PSU: SEASONIC 750W
Default 03-22-2012, 04:48 | posts: 34 | Location: Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakon View Post
Well..I literally just booted up after installing AMD Catalyst 12.x (8.950.5 February 24) AMD Official BETA, and I now see this post. Oh well, I will give these a try lmao.
haha, yeah about 2 hours ago here...

thanks to poster... going to upload driver info...

Last edited by vinyl; 03-22-2012 at 06:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
campcreekdude
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970 crossfire
Processor: AMD
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 8 gig DDR3 2133 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 03-22-2012, 05:10 | posts: 184

Xp version?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Samy
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI HD 5000 Mobile
Processor: Core i5
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 GB
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-22-2012, 05:39 | posts: 40

link dead
   
Reply With Quote
Wddm 1.2?
Old
  (#19)
FireFreak111
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 660 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 870
Mainboard: Intel DH55TC UEFI
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Creative Aurvana Live!
PSU: 550W Silverstone
Default Wddm 1.2? - 03-22-2012, 06:09 | posts: 21 | Location: Australia

If anyone has Windows 8 can you run dxdiag and check if the drivers say WDDM 1.2? I finally got drivers stable and safe on this machine, and don't want to screw it up without knowing there is hope in the driver. Since most others have a 100% stable install and easy install with Windows 8, please post if this reports as WDDM 1.2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
vinyl
Newbie
 
Videocard: 6870 2GB/1GHZ (OC)
Processor: CORE 2 EXTREME 2200FSB
Mainboard: ASUS P5Q PRO/TURBO/RAID
Memory: 52ns DDR2 @ 1066
Soundcard:
PSU: SEASONIC 750W
Default 03-22-2012, 06:38 | posts: 34 | Location: Florida

latest (and greatest?) They are feeling pretty solid thus far...


Last edited by vinyl; 03-22-2012 at 06:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 03-22-2012, 06:48 | posts: 3,488 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoandGeo View Post
Why do these say OpenCL?
These drivers contain beta support for OpenCL 1.2, and are released as 'developer' drivers, thats why Its still perfectly valid to use, like any other prereleased driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
erocker
Master Guru
 
erocker's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7970
Processor: Intel i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula
Memory: 8gb Patriot 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: NZXT Hale90 1000W
Default 03-22-2012, 07:06 | posts: 207

Quote:
Originally Posted by FireFreak111 View Post
If anyone has Windows 8 can you run dxdiag and check if the drivers say WDDM 1.2? I finally got drivers stable and safe on this machine, and don't want to screw it up without knowing there is hope in the driver. Since most others have a 100% stable install and easy install with Windows 8, please post if this reports as WDDM 1.2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
FireFreak111
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 660 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 870
Mainboard: Intel DH55TC UEFI
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Creative Aurvana Live!
PSU: 550W Silverstone
Default 03-22-2012, 07:16 | posts: 21 | Location: Australia

Thanks, its fully Windows 8 compliant, so I'll bother hassling installing them
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
erocker
Master Guru
 
erocker's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7970
Processor: Intel i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula
Memory: 8gb Patriot 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: NZXT Hale90 1000W
Default 03-22-2012, 07:28 | posts: 207

I cannot get 3d settings or overdrive to work.. so CCC is useless I suppose. I installed the driver through the device manager and use Afterburner to set power to 20% and the clocks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
mR Yellow
Master Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 Acel XIII
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600MHZ CL8
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 03-22-2012, 07:46 | posts: 749 | Location: South Africa

Thanx, do these have the MLAA same optimisation as 8.95.5?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd drivers still suck

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.