Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Where to get AMD chipset drivers?
Old
  (#1)
syllinx
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 480GTX
Processor: Q6600 3.2ghz
Mainboard: 780i XFX
Memory: DDR2 PC 8500
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality.
PSU: 900 Watt
Default Where to get AMD chipset drivers? - 03-15-2012, 13:08 | posts: 124 | Location: Denton Tx

I'm stumped. Do the chipset drivers come in the 12.2 driver package? I have the GA-A55M-DS2 motherboard and was told by a friend i would find chipset drivers on the AMD site that would fully work. I installed the drivers from the Gigabyte site and i keep getting 95% cpu usage. If there are specific chipset drivers from amd please give me a clue where to find them lol. My cpu is the a8-3850
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
WaroDaBeast
Maha Guru
 
WaroDaBeast's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7950
Processor: Ph. II X4 965BE / NH-D14
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Memory: 8GB PC12800 CL11 1T
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2 / Z-5500
PSU: Thermaltake W0106RU 700W
Default 03-15-2012, 13:22 | posts: 1,889 | Location: Réunion

I say stick with Microsoft's drivers and you'll be fine. I'm running my hard disks in AHCI mode with those drivers and have got zero issues — that's under Windows 7 SP1.

EDIT: Here's the link anyway. http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...d_windows.aspx

Last edited by WaroDaBeast; 03-15-2012 at 13:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Still issues with Microsoft.
Old
  (#3)
syllinx
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 480GTX
Processor: Q6600 3.2ghz
Mainboard: 780i XFX
Memory: DDR2 PC 8500
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality.
PSU: 900 Watt
Default Still issues with Microsoft. - 03-15-2012, 13:30 | posts: 124 | Location: Denton Tx

I'm constantly getting 95% cpu usage to 100% when I'm doing nothing. I have uninstalled every I know of except chipset drivers. System runs 100% fine in safe mode so it must be drivers. I'm at work right now so I can't try them.

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...d_windows.aspx Found these and it says a-series.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GAMING TF 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 03-15-2012, 13:33 | posts: 5,793 | Location: 127.0.0.1

You can get your chipset drivers from the motherboard manufacturers site

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...px?pid=3998#dl
   
Reply With Quote
 
Still confused.
Old
  (#5)
syllinx
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 480GTX
Processor: Q6600 3.2ghz
Mainboard: 780i XFX
Memory: DDR2 PC 8500
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality.
PSU: 900 Watt
Default Still confused. - 03-15-2012, 13:40 | posts: 124 | Location: Denton Tx

I'm still wondering if the chipset drivers are in the Catalyst package?
The chipset listed on gigabyte site is 8.863 then vga is 8.881. Feels like I would just be installing old catalyst then putting newer over it. This is my first time with amd and i'm having nothing but trouble.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 03-15-2012, 18:13 | posts: 8,849 | Location: The Zone

Lack of chipset drivers won't cause the issue you're having. You either have malware or a corrupted Windows install. Try a fresh one.
   
Reply With Quote
Thanks.
Old
  (#7)
syllinx
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 480GTX
Processor: Q6600 3.2ghz
Mainboard: 780i XFX
Memory: DDR2 PC 8500
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality.
PSU: 900 Watt
Default Thanks. - 03-16-2012, 13:06 | posts: 124 | Location: Denton Tx

I did do the reinstall with another windows disk. The one I had installed was odd, it's only options when booting from dvd were recovery mode or windows install with ems support. Not sure where I bought that copy but its in the trash now. Installed almost every update so far and system is fine so far.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-16-2012, 14:31 | posts: 9,775 | Location: UK

For the latest firmware, drivers, betas and back catalogs, this place is great.
http://www.station-drivers.com/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 03-16-2012, 19:28 | posts: 5,837 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Here you go,
AMD Chipset Drivers at the official site.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Maximus7724
Master Guru
 
Videocard: AMD 7950 PCS+ @ 1150/1500
Processor: FX 6300 @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Sabretooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Mushkin DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 03-17-2012, 07:12 | posts: 440 | Location: UK

When running at high cpu load go to task manager/processes and find the culprit!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-17-2012, 10:18 | posts: 23,639 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by mufflore View Post
for the latest firmware, drivers, betas and back catalogs, this place is great.
http://www.station-drivers.com/
+1..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Saabjock
Master Guru
 
Saabjock's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 670 XLR8 2GB
Processor: Intel I7-3820@4GHz
Mainboard: Biostar TP-X79
Memory: Patriot Series7/16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750_XF
Default 06-13-2012, 13:21 | posts: 218 | Location: California

@OP
Not to hijack your original posting...but..
"How are your boot times with that motherboard?"
I ask, because I have one in an entertainment pc and my bootup time is incredibly slow. The system runs fine once it boots. It's built around an A6-3500 and 8GB of Crucial DDR3 with only W7-U w/SP1...nothing else.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 06-13-2012, 13:26 | posts: 23,639 | Location: NZ

Do you have an antivirus or anything else autostarting with Windows?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Saabjock
Master Guru
 
Saabjock's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 670 XLR8 2GB
Processor: Intel I7-3820@4GHz
Mainboard: Biostar TP-X79
Memory: Patriot Series7/16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750_XF
Default 06-15-2012, 17:02 | posts: 218 | Location: California

No programs are installed...just Windows 7-64 Ultimate and the drivers from the motherboard cd.
The startup list is empty under msconfig.
I don't have another FM1 processor or MB, so it's difficult to test which is causing the issue.
The memory I can and did test in another computer and it's okay.
I already updated the BIOS to see if that was the issue...no change.
It takes a while to boot with the W7 logo pulsing for about 2-3 minutes....then it boots and runs fine.
Weird.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.