Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Overclock question GTX 560
Old
  (#1)
lespaul678
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti Fermi 2gb
Processor: Dual core E6750 3.2GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default Overclock question GTX 560 - 02-16-2012, 01:24 | posts: 3

Hello all, I'm new to the forums and I have a question about using MSI Afterburner to overclock my card. I just got a new video card - GTX 560 Ti Fermi 2GB and I love it, It performs much better than my previous GTS 450 . I did not have a problem overclocking my GTS 450.

However I am having "issues" overclocking my new GTX 560. I have found some settings that are good for the card, I input them and hit apply and everything goes as it should. However when I save the setting to one of the five profiles. I don't think it actually saves (even though it says it does) because if I resort back to my default settings and then hit one of the profiles that I saved different settings to, nothing changes. The sliders don't move or display anything different other than the "default" settings.

My question is, why is this happening? I have tried the release version of Afterburner (v2.1) and the beta (v2.2.0 beta 12) with the exact same results. I am not overclocking to ridiculous settings either. Why aren't the settings being saved to the profiles I set them too? Opening the program and manually inputting them seems like it defeats the purpose of having the profiles to begin with. I am getting no messages saying that what I'm doing is "dangerous" and it needs to "revert" back to default settings.

Any help would be appreciated.

p.s. Whenever I click the "Apply overclocking at system startup" button I have always gotten the message "RTTSH.dll::AddTask failed with error code -22!" What does that mean?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Don1376
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX670 FTW
Processor: I5 3570k@4.7/1.26v/H2O
Mainboard: Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 2x4gb 1866mhz 9-9-9-24-1
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium
PSU: Galaxy 850 watt
Default 02-18-2012, 03:16 | posts: 42 | Location: Austin, TX

The card automatically downclocks itself. Well my 560TI does. Have you went into settings and to profiles tab and set your 2D and 3D profiles? Mine doesn't show the overclocked speed until I put a load on it.

And the "RTTSH.dll::AddTask failed" is usually caused by either the RTTS service or a windows service that it depends upon being disabled. That could also be why your overclocks won't stay.

Hope it helps. good luck.

Also, if thats your current CPU I wouldn't worry too much about overclocking the card. You most likely won't see any improvment. I believe that CPU should have you pretty well bottlenecked.

Last edited by Don1376; 02-18-2012 at 03:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
XP-200
Maha Guru
 
XP-200's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 760 2GIG OC
Processor: Intel i7-4770 @ 3.40ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z87-K
Memory: Corsair XMS3 12GB 1333
Soundcard: VIA HD Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600w+80
Default 02-18-2012, 11:10 | posts: 2,709 | Location: UK

I use evga precision for overclocking my GTX 560........give that a try and see if it works.
evga.com/precision/
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.