Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD AVT folder and kdbsync.exe
Old
  (#1)
Valagard
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus DirectCU II 7970 Top
Processor: i7 4770K 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-Pro
Memory: 16Gig Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default AMD AVT folder and kdbsync.exe - 02-14-2012, 22:30 | posts: 1,036

I got this with the newest 12.3 RC modded drivers

I know its AMD Advanced Video Transcoding technology, but I would still like to know what kdbsync.exe is exactly
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 02-15-2012, 02:01 | posts: 1,566 | Location: Toronto

is it running all the time?

related to the drag & drop encode feature?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Valagard
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus DirectCU II 7970 Top
Processor: i7 4770K 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-Pro
Memory: 16Gig Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 02-15-2012, 03:09 | posts: 1,036

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn00tcn View Post
is it running all the time?

related to the drag & drop encode feature?
I dunno what it is

And yes its running all the time
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ramik
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon HD 6450
Processor: Intel i5-2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (rev3.0)
Memory: DDR3 1600Mhz 8GB (4x2GB)
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ ModStream 520w
Default 03-18-2012, 11:24 | posts: 6 | Location: It

I updated my driver yesterday to 12.3 final, and on every boot I get an error message about kdbsync.exe:
"The program can't start because OpenCL.dll is missing from your computer. try reinstalling the program to fix this problem"
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
INSTG8R
Maha Guru
 
INSTG8R's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 OC Edition
Processor: i7 2600K@4.6/AC Kryos H20
Mainboard: ASUS P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengence 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Champion
PSU: Seasonic X-1050 80+ Gold
Default 03-18-2012, 11:29 | posts: 1,262 | Location: Lost in Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramik View Post
I updated my driver yesterday to 12.3 final, and on every boot I get an error message about kdbsync.exe:
"The program can't start because OpenCL.dll is missing from your computer. try reinstalling the program to fix this problem"
If you are using the card listed in your specs I suspect that it is that that card is not capable of OpenCL. You could check that for sure using GPU-Z
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ramik
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon HD 6450
Processor: Intel i5-2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (rev3.0)
Memory: DDR3 1600Mhz 8GB (4x2GB)
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ ModStream 520w
Default 03-18-2012, 11:31 | posts: 6 | Location: It

Quote:
Originally Posted by INSTG8R View Post
If you are using the card listed in your specs I suspect that it is that that card is not capable of OpenCL. You could check that for sure using GPU-Z
No, sorry, the signature details were for my old system, I just updated them.
I have a Sapphire Radeon HD 6450 with 1GB ddr3, monitor connected with HDMI.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Marcin89
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 680
Processor: Intel Core i5 750
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D-LE
Memory: DDR3 1600 Mhz Geil
Soundcard: High Definition Audio
PSU: Seasonic-X 650W
Default 03-18-2012, 11:35 | posts: 36 | Location: Poland

I geting same error with my 5870 vapor-X Sapphire graphic card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 03-18-2012, 15:18 | posts: 9,440 | Location: Sweden

It's from that AVD thing.
C:\Program Files (x86)\AMD AVT\bin

I know very little about that though.
(There's one for this AVD - transcoding and encoding I believe it was - and then there's a second for directshow or what else it did playback hardware support or some such.)

EDIT: Wait I'm being a idiot, you already knew that.

EDIT: AML Device Install?
(That doesn't say anything to me though.)

EDIT: If it's OpenCL could it be something along the lines of Kronos Data Base or similar?
(Unlikely, probably just relies on OpenCL for transcoding as I believe that's how it works, but what it "syncs" I still don't know.)

EDIT: Apparently does not use much resources, if it's needed for anything useful you could probably set it as "manual" in the device manager (or similar) properties and it'll boot up when needed but won't always run as soon as Windows starts up.

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 03-18-2012 at 15:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
LDJ
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 5870
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965
Mainboard: GA-990FXA-UD3 (rev. 1.0)
Memory: 16 GB CORSAIR DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermaltake 750w
Question 04-02-2012, 13:27 | posts: 1 | Location: Denmark

Hello Marcin89!

I found that if I installed the AMD Media Codec: 12-3_vista_win7_32-64_xcode,
AFTER having updated with the driver: 12-3_vista_win7_64_dd_ccc,
it solved the problem, on my system.

I know that this thread is a couple of weeks old, but I didn't experience the error until today

EDIT: After a few re-boots, the problem came back :-(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcin89 View Post
I geting same error with my 5870 vapor-X Sapphire graphic card.
Kind Regards
LDJ

Last edited by LDJ; 04-02-2012 at 18:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Dch48
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-270X Dual-x
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 04-23-2012, 21:19 | posts: 282

From everything I'm reading, this AML encoding and decoding has nothing to do with gaming performance but only with video viewing,creating,and editing. It can improve playback of HD videos but that's about all it does. Whether you want it to run automatically or not is up to you I guess but I'm leaving it on for now since it doesn't seem to have any adverse effects except for the taskbar entry on every boot up which really isn't harmful beyond maybe adding a few seconds to boot times. With 6gb of RAM, I'm not worried about resource issues either.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
DjMytza1
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI RadeonSapphireHD 3870
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: donno`
Default 04-30-2012, 20:55 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramik View Post
I updated my driver yesterday to 12.3 final, and on every boot I get an error message about kdbsync.exe:
"The program can't start because OpenCL.dll is missing from your computer. try reinstalling the program to fix this problem"
i had the same problem and i think i may found out a back-door solution
you just search in Google OpenGL.dll ... download it from a site that provides dll files and copy it in system32 folder
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
BrainDedd
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS Radeon HD5870
Processor: Intel Core i7-3770k
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V Formula
Memory: Corsair Dominator 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 04-30-2012, 23:52 | posts: 148 | Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

The AML installer has this issue if you have Intel's OpenCL driver installed. Uninstall it from control panel and the error will go away.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.