Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
spoolindsm127
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 580
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1200W
Default 02-02-2012, 23:26 | posts: 9

Something is seriously wrong with this release..

I have a Zotac AMP! GTX 580. Supposed to be clocked at 815MHz @ 1.000v. Beta 12 downclocks core to 782MHz and increases voltage to 1.075v! (??)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
homefry
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 7950 Twin Frozr
Processor: 3570K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX650
Default 02-03-2012, 00:28 | posts: 82

never mind. got it working

Last edited by homefry; 02-03-2012 at 00:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-03-2012, 04:35 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoolindsm127 View Post
Something is seriously wrong with this release..

I have a Zotac AMP! GTX 580. Supposed to be clocked at 815MHz @ 1.000v. Beta 12 downclocks core to 782MHz and increases voltage to 1.075v! (??)
Something is seriously wrong with poeople who post without reading, sorry. Read the first posting, the part in bold.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
spoolindsm127
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 580
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1200W
Default 02-03-2012, 04:55 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Something is seriously wrong with poeople who post without reading, sorry. Read the first posting, the part in bold.
Something is seriously wrong with people using a convenient excuse to ignore a real problem. I read the part in bold, no need to point it out again.

The card runs stock at those clocks, so overclocking profiles have jack to do with it. The program is not reading my cards default clocks and is setting them improperly. But let me guess I'm still wrong right?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
TFL Replica
Master Guru
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 570
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Rev 3
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750w
Default 02-03-2012, 05:15 | posts: 369

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoolindsm127 View Post
Something is seriously wrong with people using a convenient excuse to ignore a real problem. I read the part in bold, no need to point it out again.

The card runs stock at those clocks, so overclocking profiles have jack to do with it. The program is not reading my cards default clocks and is setting them improperly. But let me guess I'm still wrong right?
You can't set clocks unless you apply it yourself or run a profile. Afterburner doesn't just decide to change the clocks/voltage on its own.

Something is seriously wrong with people that have PEBCAK issues and are also disrespectful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-03-2012, 05:31 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoolindsm127 View Post
Something is seriously wrong with people using a convenient excuse to ignore a real problem. I read the part in bold, no need to point it out again.

The card runs stock at those clocks, so overclocking profiles have jack to do with it. The program is not reading my cards default clocks and is setting them improperly. But let me guess I'm still wrong right?
Yes, you're still wrong. There are NO profiles applied to any card with new build due to changed format, and any card is running as is without any "defaults" applied to it. There is a fundamental black hole in your understanding, sorry.
And no need to say "I'm sorry", just enable your mind and start thinking. None of user coming here with "real problems" and _real_ bugged understanding normally say it, so I'm used to it.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-03-2012, 05:44 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hydro28 View Post
guess i will have to work my magic in vegas. lol
I left a hole in application allowing video capture module to record video as is without cropping dimensions to be multiple of 16. Edit .\Profile\MSIAfterburner.cfg (but not MSIAfterburner.cfg stored in root!) and reset bit 1 of VideoCaptureFlagsEx.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-03-2012, 05:51 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Those who cannot use unofficial overclocking with AMD 6xxx/7xxx cards in this build because of bug in PowerTune adjustment interface in AMD driver (thanks one more time to "nice" AMD driver team) can temporarily use CCC limits extension command line switch:

MSIAfterburner.exe /xcl


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
TFL Replica
Master Guru
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 570
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Rev 3
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750w
Default 02-03-2012, 05:58 | posts: 369

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
I left a hole in application allowing video capture module to record video as is without cropping dimensions to be multiple of 16. Edit .\Profile\MSIAfterburner.cfg (but not MSIAfterburner.cfg stored in root!) and reset bit 1 of VideoCaptureFlagsEx.
Like this: VideoCaptureFlagsEx=00000001h
?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-03-2012, 06:01 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFL Replica View Post
Like this: VideoCaptureFlagsEx=00000001h
?
Yes. Bit 0 is gamma corrected video capture, bit 1 is cropping flag. So if it was 00000003h for both gamma correction and cropping enabled, it must be set to 00000001h to enable gamma correction only.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#61)
TFL Replica
Master Guru
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 570
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Rev 3
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750w
Default 02-03-2012, 06:08 | posts: 369

Ok, thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
spoolindsm127
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 580
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1200W
Default 02-03-2012, 08:37 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFL Replica View Post
You can't set clocks unless you apply it yourself or run a profile. Afterburner doesn't just decide to change the clocks/voltage on its own.

Something is seriously wrong with people that have PEBCAK issues and are also disrespectful.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Yes, you're still wrong. There are NO profiles applied to any card with new build due to changed format, and any card is running as is without any "defaults" applied to it. There is a fundamental black hole in your understanding, sorry.
And no need to say "I'm sorry", just enable your mind and start thinking. None of user coming here with "real problems" and _real_ bugged understanding normally say it, so I'm used to it.
And the sidekick joins in now to get brownie points. Plus you overused the "something is seriously wrong" line. Go find your own material cock.

I never set any overclocking profiles, only used it to monitor temps. But no one's going to believe me here, or even ask whether or not I had set any profiles.

It's okay, I know what kind of forum this is. Arrogant, pretentious mods who can disrespect whoever they like with grammatically incorrect, nonsensical statements in "english". wtF were you saying there at the end russian?

Anyways good job everyone!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-03-2012, 08:45 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Bye.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
elbubi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 (@1200/6600)
Processor: Core i7 2600k (@5Ghz)
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: G.Skill 2133Mhz x16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: CoolerMaster UCP 1100w
Default 02-03-2012, 09:46 | posts: 123 | Location: Rosario, Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Yes. Bit 0 is gamma corrected video capture, bit 1 is cropping flag. So if it was 00000003h for both gamma correction and cropping enabled, it must be set to 00000001h to enable gamma correction only.
Thanks for this much useful info!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-03-2012, 11:01 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Found rather misinformating post about ULPS and overclocking AMD cards with Afterburner at OCN. Not surprized to see guests from OCN with fundamentally wrong understanding after that. A few comments to fix understanding given with that info:


Basically, all third party softwares involving the idle states of slave GPU(s) monitoring will interfere with ULPS and will cause throttling (using Afterburner as monitoring not overclocking).


Incorrect. There is no any throttling, no any interference with ULPS, the only downside of using low-level monitoring tools like Afterburner or GPU-Z is seeing no ULPS related zero clocks on the graphs because AMD driver's ULPS activity is invisible to low-level monitoring tools. And monitoring those things through AMD driver like it is done in CCC is deadly ineffective and slow and may cause stuttering in games if using in realtime. If you absolutley want to see active ULPS on the graphs, Afterburner provides a config tweak allowing you to use only AMD API for monitoring on AMD cards, but it won't give you anything useful besides seeing zero clocks on the graphs when ULPS enabled slave idles and it may degrade performance (due to the reasons mentioned above, i.e. due to poor optimization of monitoring API provided by AMD driver).


Using Afterburner to OC and overvolt in crossfire configuration, it has to be disabled because it inteferes with ULPS, hence BSOD/crash.


Incorrect again. Overvoltage has zero relation to ULPS, the same applies to overclocking if it is performed via official AMD overclocking interface (ADL) within CCC clock limits. It can safely coexist with ULPS.
The only thing that is incompatible with ULPS is unofficial overclocking path (which is used by default in Trixx and can be optionally enabled in Afterburner). Using AMD's unofficial overclocking path will indeed result in BSOD, because AMD driver writers cannot even make their own unofficial overclocking path to be compatible with their own power saving technology.


Nothing has changed with the release of MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 12 other than the ability to use PowerTune (Power Control Settings).


Incorrect again. Beta 11 and up introduces /XCL command line switch, which allows extending CCC clock limits and acheive higher clocks while using official overclocking path.


Things might change in future with the 7900 series.


The things will never change because of AMD's stupid politics related to overclocking. For many years they seriously limit CCC clocks and force vendors to stay within really low overclocking limits. Their stupid politics is a direct reason why developers are searching holes like an unofficial overclocking to provide more overclocking freedom to overclockers.


UnofficialOverclockingMode;
1 = To keep PowerPlay (ULPS) active.
2 = To traditionally disable PowerPlay (ULPS).
0 = To temporary disable unofficial overclocking path.


Incorrect again. Alternate overclocking modes have zero relation to enabling/disabling ULPS. They control PowerPlay only.


There's another option to use Afterburner without having to turn off ULPS by disabling "Low Level Hardware Access Monitoring" in Afterburner UI settings. Unfortunately by doing so also disabling the ability to tweak voltage.


And again incorrect. This option does nothing related to ULPS compatibility.


P.S. Personal warm greetings to the main Afterburner hater from that thread, tsm106. Smart and true AMD fanatic could just create his own better overclocking AMD overclocking and overvolting tool instead of constantly attacking "limp Afterburner, Trixx and ASUS GPU Tweak" which are unable to work with perfect AMD power saving techniques. But in reality it needs much more knowledge than some forum boy actually have, isn't it?


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 02-03-2012 at 11:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
basco
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 560tfII
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard: ud4
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 300sfx-bequiet
Default 02-03-2012, 11:50 | posts: 61 | Location: austria

thanks for your work and time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
jaredpace
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 4890 975/1150
Processor: e0 e8400 4g
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 650w
Default 02-03-2012, 11:53 | posts: 60

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Found rather misinformating post about ULPS and overclocking AMD cards with Afterburner at OCN. Not surprized to see guests from OCN with fundamentally wrong understanding after that. A few comments to fix understanding given with that info:


Basically, all third party softwares involving the idle states of slave GPU(s) monitoring will interfere with ULPS and will cause throttling (using Afterburner as monitoring not overclocking).


Incorrect. There is no any throttling, no any interference with ULPS, the only "downside" of using low-level monitoring tools like Afterburner or GPU-Z is seeing no ULPS related zero clocks on the graphs because AMD driver's ULPS activity is invisible to low-level monitoring tools. And monitoring those things through AMD driver like it is done in CCC is deadly ineffective and slow and may cause stuttering in games if using in realtime. If you absolutley want to see active ULPS on the graphs, Afterburner provides a config tweak allowing you to use only driver-level things for monitoring on AMD cards, but it won't give you anything useful besides zeering 0 clocks on the graphs when ULPS enabled slave idles and it will degrade performance (due to the reasons mentioned above, i.e. due to poor optimization of monitoring API provided by AMD driver).


Using Afterburner to OC and overvolt in crossfire configuration, it has to be disabled because it inteferes with ULPS, hence BSOD/crash.


Incorrect again. Overvoltage has zero relation to ULPS, the same applies to overclocking if it is performed via official overclocking interface (ADL) within CCC clock limits. It can safely coexist with ULPS.
The only thing that is incompatible with ULPS is unofficial overclocking path (which is used by default in Trixx and can be optionally enabled in Afterburner). Using AMD's unofficial overclocking path inside Catalyst will indeed result in BSOD, because AMD driver writers cannot make their own unofficial overclocking path to be compatible with their own power saving technology.


Nothing has changed with the release of MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 12 other than the ability to use PowerTune (Power Control Settings).


Incorrect again. Beta 11 and up introduces /XCL command line switch, which allows extending CCC clock limits and acheive higher clocks while using official overclocking path.


Things might change in future with the 7900 series.


The things will never change because of AMD's stupid politics related to overclocking. For many years they seriously limit CCC clocks and force vendors to stay within really low overclocking limits. Their stupid politics is a direct reason why developers are searching holes like an unofficial overclocking to provide more overclocking freedom to overclockers.


UnofficialOverclockingMode;
1 = To keep PowerPlay (ULPS) active.
2 = To traditionally disable PowerPlay (ULPS).
0 = To temporary disable unofficial overclocking path.


Incorrect again. Alternate overclocking modes have zero relation to enabling/disabling ULPS. They control PowerPlay only.


There's another option to use Afterburner without having to turn off ULPS by disabling "Low Level Hardware Access Monitoring" in Afterburner UI settings. Unfortunately by doing so also disabling the ability to tweak voltage.


And again incorrect. This option does nothing related to ULPS compatibility.


P.S. Personal warm greetings to the main Afterburner hater from that thread, tsm106. Smart and true AMD fanatic could just create his own better overclocking AMD overclocking and overvolting tool instead of constantly attacking "limp Afterburner, Trixx and ASUS GPU Tweak" which are unable to work with perfect AMD power saving techniques. But in reality it needs much more knowledge than some forum boy actually have, isn't it?

Hi Alexy, greetings. First of all, thanks to you for your software, Rivatuner & MSI Afterburner, and EVGA Precision. Your parternship with MSI has brought everyone great things, and your work is amazing. I find it cool that you keep the software up to date, and support bug reporting and help all of us finding fixes in this forum. Of course most of us do not know what these technologies are:

Zeropower, Powertune, ULPS, Powerplay, Unofficial overclocking path, ADL Official overclocking method.

A quick recap of their definitions and what these features are would be helpful if yourself or anyone reading this could contribute. (Understand if you don't want to explain, as I see you having to painfully repeat yourself a lot on this forum) Alas, it is complicated how said features work in conjunction. Then when we bring overvolting & overclocking into the mix, it gets more complicated. Hardware modification to bypass OCP & OVP is yet another curveball thrown into it. Experiences good or bad, will help any newbie get the hang of overclocking his card. Afterburner supports both Nvidia and AMD/Ati video cards, and there seems to be a lot less said from you about Nvidia driver complications. Usually when Nvidia mucks up a driver it's something super serious like - swift death of the video card - for instance. AMD seem to have a better history of keeping a steadily sh!tty driver that's par enough to not start a mu****** IMO the whole core of low-level driver paths and CCC needs to be rebuilt from scratch by the AMD squad.

Personally, I think you should write your own software to control the AMD video cards (if something like that is possible). I'm sure this breaches an EULA or GNU Software Liscense somewhere, but it seems your knowledge of the subject is good enough to make some great drivers/software to help ATI (Like you already do with MSI Afterburner). I'm thinking of something like an "omega driver". AMD would be wise to make you a part of their team, IMO.

People complain that their card doesn't come down from high overclocks to regular idle clocks (powerplay disabled) when they choose certain settings in trixx or AB, or they get BSOD's as seen in the post you've quoted. We should not expect all these things to work together beautifully - too much is going on in the background directing how the card should operate.

Also, why does Asus's GPU clock tool allow for 1.4v VID to AMD 7970, and MSI Afterburner tool allow for 1.3v VID to AMD 7970? Is this an MSI/AMD restriction? I noticed you just lifted memory frequency limit to 180%.

I used to use to Radeon Bios Editor RBE to make my own bioses. From there i would put my voltage states, fan profiles, and clock states to where i wanted them after finding what my card was capable of by stress testing. However, with all these new power features, and the simplicity and ease of use of Afterburner profiles, it makes the old way obsolete. I haven't even been keeping up with RBE updates.

Anyways, Unwinder - thanks for you excellent creations friend! You're good work is appreciated by us all. I think MSI Afterburner is great software and want to see it have a good future with continued support. I particularly liked the frame limiter and custom fan profile in Afterburner. Afterall, It was through the use of Rivatuner that the masses figured out how to control programmable voltage regulators! Now everyone & their grandma has Precision, EVGA voltage tool, Trixx, Afterburner, AMD GPUclocktool, and GPUTweak, :p Here's to AMD making some good drivers!

Anyone want to contribute on these Power features? The forum has some learnin' to do!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Prag
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780 TwinFrozr
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Tuniq Ensemble 1200W
Default 02-03-2012, 12:16 | posts: 253

Quote:
Originally Posted by msi-afterburner View Post
Now "Enable compatibility with modified Direct3D runtime libraries" option is compatible with Direct3D9 game engines using double FPU precision (MassEffect series)
Thanks a lot
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
smut
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX560 ti @ 970/2300
Processor: Intel Quad
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX
Default 02-04-2012, 00:22 | posts: 134 | Location: USA

For some reason after one of the recent patches for Star Wars; The Old Republic MSI Afterburner OSD no longer works.

Other users are also having this issue (see here). I have tried all kinds of settings but nothing worked so just giving a heads up. Not sure if you are a MMO gamer and have this game to test. But if there is anything I Can do to help, please let me know. FRAPS does work so not sure what the developers might have screwed up during a recent patch.

EDIT: I've also tried a fresh reinstall of MSI afterburner thinking my settings may be screwed up but that did not help. I am using Beta 12.

Last edited by smut; 02-04-2012 at 00:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
n2k3
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2xGTX 580 LightningXE 3GB
Processor: Core i7 2600k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe Rev 3.0
Memory: Kingston HyperX 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Creative Inspire 5100
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 02-04-2012, 11:02 | posts: 8 | Location: Netherlands

Woo nice updates to the server Props for implementing the d3d9Ex mode, where you stated only 2 games in the world use this !
I also like the longer properties panel!

I think this software is perfect and this is my attempt to make it even more perfect (these are considered small annoyances, nothing big, rather really small :p).
- When you disable the fan speed tab inside the .cfg file and you right-click on the HWmonitor panel and click 'Properties' it opens the properties with the tab On-Screen Display selected.
- When adjusting .cfg values it doesn't copy them over to the local .cfg (inside Profiles folder), meaning any changes you've made will be lost after updating Afterburner. Can be solved manually of course by copying the values over to the cfg inside the Profiles folder.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-04-2012, 13:33 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaredpace View Post
AMD would be wise to make you a part of their team, IMO.
Both NVIDIA and AMD offered join them in the past. I prefer to stay independent though and create the tools as I see them instead of following some corporate restrictions and politics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaredpace View Post
Also, why does Asus's GPU clock tool allow for 1.4v VID to AMD 7970, and MSI Afterburner tool allow for 1.3v VID to AMD 7970? Is this an MSI/AMD restriction? I noticed you just lifted memory frequency limit to 180%.
Ask ASUS Actually they limited GPU voltage to 1.25V in GPUTweak on AMD 7970 series before we launch Afterburner with 7970 support, so increasing it to 1.4 now sounds like an attempt to give some "advantages" over AB. It is not a problem to increase it even further in Afterburner, but even 1.3 is more than enough for 28nm chips. So ASUS may continue playing the game, we won't increase it just to be "the first ones".


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-04-2012, 13:34 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by smut View Post
For some reason after one of the recent patches for Star Wars; The Old Republic MSI Afterburner OSD no longer works.
I don't own this game and cannot comment which changes in the engine cause that. Cannot help with that, sorry.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-04-2012, 13:38 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by n2k3 View Post
- When you disable the fan speed tab inside the .cfg file and you right-click on the HWmonitor panel and click 'Properties' it opens the properties with the tab On-Screen Display selected.
Forcible tabs disabling functionality via .CFG is not intended for end users, sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n2k3 View Post
- When adjusting .cfg values it doesn't copy them over to the local .cfg
(inside Profiles folder), meaning any changes you've made will be lost after updating Afterburner. Can be solved manually of course by copying the values over to the cfg inside the Profiles folder.
Supposed to be this way, there will be never any copying because .cfg in the root is a template with default settings while user adjustable settings are residing into Profiles folder.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
FearFactory
Master Guru
 
FearFactory's Avatar
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD6950 2GB
Processor: PII X2 555BE (@ X4; 3.7)
Mainboard: Asus M5A99X EVO
Memory: 8GB Corsair Veng 1333 CL8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: Nox Hummer M 650W
Default 02-04-2012, 15:04 | posts: 772 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Those who cannot use unofficial overclocking with AMD 6xxx/7xxx cards in this build because of bug in PowerTune adjustment interface in AMD driver (thanks one more time to "nice" AMD driver team) can temporarily use CCC limits extension command line switch:

MSIAfterburner.exe /xcl
thanks for the info!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
OmegaRED
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr GTX 680SLI
Processor: i5 2500K@4.8ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD7 B3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000W
Default 02-04-2012, 22:15 | posts: 30 | Location: Ottawa, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
No, user defined fan curve is a global setting for all GPUs.
It would be very useful to have user defined fan curves linked to each gpu since many people use a mix of aftermarket and reference coolers on their multi-gpu setups. It's such an odd limitation given you can have separate fan speeds for each gpu why not add in the custom curve too.

Last edited by OmegaRED; 02-04-2012 at 22:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.