Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How to Use my Laptop's Webcam as a Security/Survellance Camera
Old
  (#1)
ViolentReaper
Master Guru
 
ViolentReaper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia PNY GTX 560 Ti
Processor: Intel Core i5-2310 2.9Ghz
Mainboard: Dell Inspiron 620
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D
PSU: Corsair CX500
Default How to Use my Laptop's Webcam as a Security/Survellance Camera - 01-16-2012, 19:11 | posts: 348 | Location: USA

Hey all,

Lately I have been dealing with petty theft that has been occurring in my apartment's room while I am gone...Usually I keep my door locked but a few weeks ago, while I was gone (just got back yesterday from break), my landlord's worker broke open my padlock to lock a window in my room, and forgot to replace the padlock on my own door. Since my door was left unlocked for a few weeks, I came to find out that someone had pilfered through food that is stored in my room and left crumbs everywhere...really strange.

This food theft happened once before about 2 months back, and I suspect that it is one of the people who live in my apartment (a few others live here). In short, I would like to convert my laptop's webcamera into a surveillance camera for when I am gone from my room and have my door unlocked. This way I can be sure of whoever it is that I suspect is doing the theft. I know that it is unwise to purposely leave my door unlocked once more so that I can get video evidence, but I am positive that this person would not steal other items from my room, as he hasn't in the past.

I have a lenovo ideapad Y550P laptop, and am wondering if there are any programs or general software that you guys would recommend for conversion of my webcam into a security cam.

Advice is appreciated.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 01-16-2012, 19:14 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

Most webcam software offer the ability for motion activated video. In other words, when someone walks by the camera it turns on and starts recording.

http://www.webcamxp.com/home.aspx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
CoreyPL
Maha Guru
 
CoreyPL's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX580 Phantom
Processor: i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D1
PSU: Seasonic X-650
Default 01-16-2012, 19:52 | posts: 915 | Location: Poland

You could use software called "SecurityCam". It's only 15 EUR and looks like it gets the job done.

Quote:
SecurityCam is a powerful video surveillance software that monitors web camera, connected to computer, and enables users to keep an eye on their properties from a local location or remote location via the Internet. The program stays out of way in system tray area, and waits for a movement at the front of the camera. Once movement is detected, SecurityCam starts either video recording or makes a snapshot of a picture. The program can optionally do some other functions like playback a warning sound.
http://www.wolfcoders.com/securitycam/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ViolentReaper
Master Guru
 
ViolentReaper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia PNY GTX 560 Ti
Processor: Intel Core i5-2310 2.9Ghz
Mainboard: Dell Inspiron 620
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D
PSU: Corsair CX500
Default 01-16-2012, 20:52 | posts: 348 | Location: USA

Thanks !
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 01-16-2012, 21:11 | posts: 5,142 | Location: England

give yawcam a go, its free and works fantastically i can do live streaming from my house on my pc webcam and media pc webcam to my phone when away
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ViolentReaper
Master Guru
 
ViolentReaper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia PNY GTX 560 Ti
Processor: Intel Core i5-2310 2.9Ghz
Mainboard: Dell Inspiron 620
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D
PSU: Corsair CX500
Default 01-16-2012, 22:57 | posts: 348 | Location: USA

A friend of mine mentioned yawcam as well. Currently I am using webcam XP 5 and so far so good. With this program, and probably with most security camera programs, for the software to be effective I would need to activate the motion detector each time I leave my room, correct ? Otherwise, while I am here I should keep it disabled I presume ?

I noticed after keeping it activated for like 30 mins my Alert folder had about 17 GB of video & pictures captured from the program each time it measured any motion, which is nearly constant when I am in front of the cam.

Am I getting this right ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 01-17-2012, 01:12 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

Make sure to choose a video compression! Uncompressed video will make gigantic files. You also don't have to record in HD, 320X240 would be enough to see what's going on.

If you can wait another day I'll help you set it up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ViolentReaper
Master Guru
 
ViolentReaper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia PNY GTX 560 Ti
Processor: Intel Core i5-2310 2.9Ghz
Mainboard: Dell Inspiron 620
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D
PSU: Corsair CX500
Default 01-17-2012, 05:05 | posts: 348 | Location: USA

Which compression type is optimal ?

Any other tips you have for me would be great.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 01-17-2012, 07:57 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViolentReaper View Post
Which compression type is optimal ?

Any other tips you have for me would be great.
That really depends on your laptops speed/power and the quality you seek.

I would suggest to experiment with a few of the compression options to find the one optimal for your needs.

Simply choose one of them, and a resolution, and set it to record. Then walk by with a book that has a picture and words on it. Do it for 60 seconds and then stop the video. Now look at the video and see if you can make out the words or picture on the book to your liking, then you can estimate the file size from the one min. of a much longer file.

Once you are satisfied, keep that compression and resolution.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
rmcd
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVIDA
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: coolmax
Default 06-05-2012, 04:08 | posts: 1

Give Camcloud a whirl... works for me. The whole thing operates through your browser so you don't need to install software or anything.

good luck,
rmcd
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.