Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 8 (2011-10-02)
Old
  (#1)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 8 (2011-10-02) - 10-02-2011, 16:13 | posts: 414

Hi Guys, today we released the latest Afterburner 2.2.0 beta 8 and hope you will like it!

Change list:

- Improved MSI On-Screen Display server v4.2.3:
- Improved video frames timestamping approach may improve smoothness of videos captured on low framerates
- Improved RTV1 codec provides better compression ratio (significantly better under certain conditions) without affecting the image quality and encoding performance
- Added alternate RTV1 compression mode providing 1.5x - 2x better realtime compression performance at the cost of some minor image quality loss. Video quality slider is now unlocked for RTV1 format, 100% quality selects original compression mode whilst any other value selects new high performance compression mode
- Now MSI Afterburner displays captured video file time, size, per-frame compression ratio and time in the On-Screen Display next to the video capture progress indicator
- Now multithreaded video capture optimization is forcibly disabled by default on single core CPUs
- Kernel mode RTCore driver has been upgraded to v1.6. New driver introduces RivaTuner-styled experimental protected MMIO IOCTLs and removes outdated IOCTLs dedicated for some old and currently abandoned RTCore technology based applications (HIS iTurbo and RMClock)
- Now MSI Afterburner starts significantly faster than before due to optimized I2C devices scanning, cached database access and optimized GPU context switching in profile load routine
- Fixed RTV1 codec installation issue on 64-bit systems
- Now power users may unlock additional hidden video capture formats via the configuration file
- Now screenshot and video capture quality can be adjusted with precise 1% steps instead of 5% steps in the previous version
- Now video capture framerate can be adjusted in [1 FPS; 100 FPS] range with precise 1 FPS steps instead of [25 FPS; 100 FPS] range
- Added Polish localization

The download link of MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 8:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/MSI-Afte...load-2799.html
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ket´s mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 10-02-2011, 16:23 | posts: 3,808 | Location: outside the Box...

niceeee..

MSI indeed does work at teh weekend..hehe..
THX so much...

-BetA-
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
andressergio
Maha Guru
 
andressergio's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x SLI GALAXY GTX780HOF
Processor: I4770K@48HT
Mainboard: ASUS M6E
Memory: 2x8GB TeamX 2666CL11
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic P-1000
Default 10-02-2011, 16:23 | posts: 853 | Location: Montevideo-Uruguay

thanks man !!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
xacid0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Processor: Xeon E3-1230v2
Mainboard: MSI B75-G43A
Memory: G.Skill RipjawX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: BeatUpAudio
PSU: Enermax 650W 82+ Bronze
Default 10-02-2011, 16:35 | posts: 306

Thanks for the changelog!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-02-2011, 16:59 | posts: 11,550 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

I'd like to focus on is one interesting experimental thing in new release:


- Kernel mode RTCore driver has been upgraded to v1.6. New driver introduces RivaTuner-styled experimental protected MMIO IOCTLs and removes outdated IOCTLs dedicated for some old and currently abandoned RTCore technology based applications (HIS iTurbo and RMClock)


New protected MMIO IOCTLs allow MSI Afterburner to hide all low-level access to hardware much deeper into the driver, into separate kernel address space, where it cannot be accessed by unsafe user mode applications like Punkbuster. Protected MMIO can be enabled by editing configuration file and setting MMIOUserMode to 0 (it is set to 1 by default).


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Virtue
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 WF3
Processor: i5-760 NH-D14
Mainboard: Gigabyte UD3
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Soundcard: Sennheiser HD600/ODAC+O2
PSU: 600W OCZ StealthXStream 2
Default 10-02-2011, 18:11 | posts: 831 | Location: Montreal

Wow the startup time difference is huge, good job on that
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
nuno_p
Member Guru
 
nuno_p's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX660TI PE\OC
Processor: C2D E8400 @4GHZ 1.25v
Mainboard: Asus P5q se plus
Memory: G.SKILL PC2-8500 2x2Gb PI
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster SE
PSU: gigabyte odin gt 800w
Default 10-02-2011, 18:23 | posts: 84 | Location: Portugal

The startup is really fast indeed.

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
nuno_p
Member Guru
 
nuno_p's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX660TI PE\OC
Processor: C2D E8400 @4GHZ 1.25v
Mainboard: Asus P5q se plus
Memory: G.SKILL PC2-8500 2x2Gb PI
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster SE
PSU: gigabyte odin gt 800w
Default 10-02-2011, 18:57 | posts: 84 | Location: Portugal

Quality diference between Fraps, and the 3 diferent methods of video recording os Afterburner(uncompressed, rtv1 100% and mjpg 100%).

Fraps:

By far the best quality with less file size than with msi AB uncompressed.

Now with MSI AB.

Uncompressed:

Too bright, quality worst than fraps.

MJPG:

Good color, good performance but not as good as RVT1.

RTV1:

Worst quality but best performance.

Last edited by nuno_p; 10-02-2011 at 19:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-02-2011, 19:10 | posts: 11,550 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Do you understand that uncompressed format stores 100% original game framebuffer contents, don't you? It physically cannot be "worse" than compressed one.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
nuno_p
Member Guru
 
nuno_p's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX660TI PE\OC
Processor: C2D E8400 @4GHZ 1.25v
Mainboard: Asus P5q se plus
Memory: G.SKILL PC2-8500 2x2Gb PI
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster SE
PSU: gigabyte odin gt 800w
Default 10-02-2011, 19:14 | posts: 84 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Do you understand that uncompressed format stores 100% original game framebuffer contents, don't you? It physically cannot be "worse" than compressed one.
Yes i know. What i said is that the AB uncompressed is worst than the fraps(dont ask me why), but better than RTV1 and MJPG of course.

Edit: the file from fraps has a size of 1.07Gb and the uncompressed from AB 3.06Gb.

Its a huge diference and worst when the quality in Fraps is better.

Last edited by nuno_p; 10-02-2011 at 19:17.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-02-2011, 19:19 | posts: 11,550 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

If compression related color space conversions look better than original image for you - that's your personal preferences


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
nuno_p
Member Guru
 
nuno_p's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX660TI PE\OC
Processor: C2D E8400 @4GHZ 1.25v
Mainboard: Asus P5q se plus
Memory: G.SKILL PC2-8500 2x2Gb PI
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster SE
PSU: gigabyte odin gt 800w
Default 10-02-2011, 19:57 | posts: 84 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
If compression related color space conversions look better than original image for you - that's your personal preferences
I took a screenshot to compare and your are right.

Sorry for the mess.

Can we use whatever codec we want?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Xzibit
Banned
 
Videocard: 7970 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K/H70
Mainboard: ASUS Z77VLX
Memory: 8Gb 2,2GHz, 1.5V
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 10-02-2011, 20:19 | posts: 4,383 | Location: Europe

With FXAA, OSD doesn't work
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-02-2011, 20:28 | posts: 11,550 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuno_p View Post
Can we use whatever codec we want?
No, we cannot, and never will. Afterbutner doesn't use external codecs architecture to avoid wasting performance in VFW/DirectShow layers and provide the most effective multithreaded realtime capture. All comptession is done entirely inside Afterburner.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-02-2011, 20:30 | posts: 11,550 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xzibit View Post
With FXAA, OSD doesn't work
FXAA utils replace DirectX runtime libraries, OSD requires original ones. It won't change, sorry.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Xzibit
Banned
 
Videocard: 7970 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K/H70
Mainboard: ASUS Z77VLX
Memory: 8Gb 2,2GHz, 1.5V
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 10-02-2011, 21:41 | posts: 4,383 | Location: Europe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
FXAA utils replace DirectX runtime libraries, OSD requires original ones. It won't change, sorry.
OK, thanks for reply
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
erm
Master Guru
 
erm's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 560 1GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus Hp ipibl-la
Memory: 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek ALC888s
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750W
Default 10-02-2011, 22:31 | posts: 386 | Location: Italia

Hello Unwinder, I sent the Italian localization updated.
I found the string refers to the compression method MPNG, will be in the future?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
elbubi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 (@1200/6600)
Processor: Core i7 2600k (@5Ghz)
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: G.Skill 2133Mhz x16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: CoolerMaster UCP 1100w
Default 10-02-2011, 22:51 | posts: 135 | Location: Rosario, Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
I'd like to focus on is one interesting experimental thing in new release:


- Kernel mode RTCore driver has been upgraded to v1.6. New driver introduces RivaTuner-styled experimental protected MMIO IOCTLs and removes outdated IOCTLs dedicated for some old and currently abandoned RTCore technology based applications (HIS iTurbo and RMClock)


New protected MMIO IOCTLs allow MSI Afterburner to hide all low-level access to hardware much deeper into the driver, into separate kernel address space, where it cannot be accessed by unsafe user mode applications like Punkbuster. Protected MMIO can be enabled by editing configuration file and setting MMIOUserMode to 0 (it is set to 1 by default).
FOA, thanks for new neta version Unwinder.

Regarding this interesting new feature (protected MMIO), there is any other advantage in using it besides avoiding conflicts with apps like PunkBuster (which is great btw)? Just out of curiosity, why did you opted to leave it disabled by default? Any possible drawbacks?

Thanks for your time and please excuse me if these are numb questions.

Btw, it's very noticeable how AB starts a lot quicker now.

Last edited by elbubi; 10-02-2011 at 22:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
elbubi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 (@1200/6600)
Processor: Core i7 2600k (@5Ghz)
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: G.Skill 2133Mhz x16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: CoolerMaster UCP 1100w
Default 10-02-2011, 22:55 | posts: 135 | Location: Rosario, Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by erm View Post
I found the string refers to the compression method MPNG, will be in the future?
"- Now power users may unlock additional hidden video capture formats via the configuration file"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
erm
Master Guru
 
erm's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 560 1GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus Hp ipibl-la
Memory: 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek ALC888s
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750W
Default 10-02-2011, 23:00 | posts: 386 | Location: Italia

thanks a lot, I did not read well ;P
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 10-02-2011, 23:10 | posts: 8,113 | Location: United Kingdom

Thanks Unwinder.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Prag
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780 TwinFrozr
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Tuniq Ensemble 1200W
Default 10-03-2011, 00:14 | posts: 253

good changes, downloading now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
TFL Replica
Master Guru
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Rev 3
Memory: 2x4GB G.Skill 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750w
Default 10-03-2011, 00:31 | posts: 374

Startup time is instant now.

Issue with Raster3D OSD becoming corrupt in Worms Reloaded (OGL) has been fixed.

The additional video capture info in the OSD is really good.

Thanks for this great release. Planning on testing and capturing lots of video with id's RAGE (OGL, id Tech 5 engine) soon after it's released on oct 4th.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
NiColaoS
Master Guru
 
NiColaoS's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX970 WindForce
Processor: i5 4670K
Mainboard: Z97 D3H
Memory: 2x4GB CL8 1,6Ghz BaliStiX
Soundcard: X-Fi FatalPro & Z5500 5.1
PSU: TPX-575M TOUGHPOWER XT
Default 10-03-2011, 00:46 | posts: 386 | Location: Macedonia, Greece

Guys, I'm new to Afterburner overclocking. I don't do extreme things. My card came pre-OCed @725 Mhz. I just turn the clock to 763Mhz due to Battlefield 3 and I play generally perfectly the game, despite the additional overclock I give it.

Only one thing I'd like to ask... Is it any dangerous to change the clock while I'm in game or better to close everything and then?

I've read in many articles about my card that the limit is @850Mhz. So, I assume the clocks I give are mostly safe.

Last edited by NiColaoS; 10-03-2011 at 00:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 10-03-2011, 00:49 | posts: 13,425 | Location: √╥˛

^
nah you can do it on the fly, alt+tab out of the game, raise freq./voltage and go back in, that's how i OC'ed in BF3 and no issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by elbubi View Post
FOA, thanks for new neta version Unwinder.

Regarding this interesting new feature (protected MMIO), there is any other advantage in using it besides avoiding conflicts with apps like PunkBuster (which is great btw)? Just out of curiosity, why did you opted to leave it disabled by default? Any possible drawbacks?

Thanks for your time and please excuse me if these are numb questions.

Btw, it's very noticeable how AB starts a lot quicker now.
+1
i would like to know the same

and tnx for for this quick Sunday release
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.