Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Help! Blu-Ray Stuttering - Hardware Acceleration Not Working?
Old
  (#1)
PR-0927
Maha Guru
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 SC+
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12GB Patriot DDR3 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Antec TPQ-850
Default Help! Blu-Ray Stuttering - Hardware Acceleration Not Working? - 09-18-2011, 23:37 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.

Hey guys, I have an HTPC with a Core2Quad Q9400, 4GB DDR3 1333 RAM, a Radeon HD 6850, and a 1.5TB 7200RPM HDD.

Facing a problem now. I just bought the Star Wars Blu-Rays (all six). Was going through them just to check 'em out, and I came across some absurd video craziness (lots of random colors and SQUARES!). Weird stuttering too, like lagging. Often audio stuttering too.

It was happening in cut-scenes between menus and sub-menus in the bonus discs, and in the actual movies on the movie discs.

I was using PowerDVD 11 (yuck!), as MakeMKV doesn't have support for the newest Blu-Ray protection, nor would it (or any other free/open-source program) help in going through menus/extra features, to my knowledge.

So I checked my hardware acceleration options - all checked in PowerDVD. I couldn't get the problems to stop. I tried reinstalling drivers. Nothing.

So I tried TMT5. Ensured that hardware acceleration was enabled in the options. Same problems, exactly. I know the discs don't have problems, because the stuttering happens are random places, and has happened on different Blu-Ray discs.

I checked the activity of my GPU in CCC (under AMD Overdrive) and it was sitting at 0% - every RARE once in a while it'd hit 2%, but I think that was due to something else entirely unrelated.

Hoping to fix this issue - I'm about to just purchase a standalone Blu-Ray player, because of Sony's nonsense. Trying to approach this legally, using commercial programs, and this crap still happens. No wonder so many resort to piracy!

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

- PR-0927

Last edited by PR-0927; 09-18-2011 at 23:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
David369
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX GTX260(216) 896mb
Processor: AMD6000+X2@3.0Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Memory: DDR2 800 4x1gig Dual
Soundcard: Onboard card, Logitec 2.1
PSU: OCZGameExtreme600watt
Default 10-09-2011, 09:19 | posts: 29 | Location: Maryland, US

I had a bray stuttering problem for months that was driving me crazy, finally fixed it by plugging the bray drive into a different sata slot on the motherboard. Now I have my HD on slot 1 and the bluray on slot 3, works just fine now. May not be your problem but worth a try
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
N0sferatU
Maha Guru
 
N0sferatU's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 5570
Processor: Intel Core i5 (3.5Ghz)
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4GB G.Skill DDR3 2060
Soundcard: X-Meridian/ Denon AHD7000
PSU: Corsiar TX-7000
Default 10-10-2011, 07:42 | posts: 1,467 | Location: United States

what refresh rate are you running the screen at and into what type of TV? Is it one doing frame interpolation (e.g. 120Hz etc.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
dcx_badass
Ancient Guru
 
dcx_badass's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
Processor: I5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: 600w OCZ StealthXstream
Default 10-10-2011, 08:03 | posts: 9,844 | Location: Yorkshire [UK]

Can you install the trial of AnydvdHD. Try play them then and see what happens (after enabling the settings to remove the protection). Help eliminate some things.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
PR-0927
Maha Guru
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 SC+
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12GB Patriot DDR3 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Antec TPQ-850
Default 10-16-2011, 03:48 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.

My bad - problem was solved. Posted this thread in a different area since no one responded here:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=351087


- PR-0927
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.