Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Working on Dynamic Frame Rate Control Feature
Old
  (#1)
HeLL
Member Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X OC 4Gb
Processor: Intel I5 3470@3,8ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 8Gb DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 750W
Default AMD Working on Dynamic Frame Rate Control Feature - 12-18-2014, 12:39 | posts: 57 | Location: Spain

AMD is working on a new software feature for its Radeon graphics cards, which it calls "Dynamic Frame Rate Control." Revealed informally to the web, by AMD director of PR Chris Hook, who goes by the handle "AMD_Chris" on various forums, Dynamic Frame Rate Control, or DFRC, is a frame-rate limiter, which gives you power savings when you reduce frame-rates. This probably works by reducing clock speeds to achieve the desired frame-rates.

Sounds a lot like V-Sync? Well the way AMD describes it, DFRC is a frame-rate limiter with a slider. Whereas V-Sync makes the GPU spit out frame-rates to match the monitor's refresh-rate. When a game runs, say, 100 FPS, and you enable V-Sync to bring that down to 60 FPS, your GPU is still running at 3D-performance clocks, unless the 3D load is way too low, and the driver decides to change the power state altogether. DFRC probably achieves lower frame-rates by underclocking the GPU, and increasing the clocks, whenever the scene gets more demanding, and the output FPS drops below the target. Hook describes the energy savings with DFRC as "mind blowing." This peaks our curiosity.



Source: http://www.3dcenter.org/news/amd-wir...t-treiber-anbi
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
theoneofgod
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 7950 TF3 x2
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AX860
Default 12-18-2014, 13:17 | posts: 308

I don't think it will be that complicated. It will most likely just lock the framerate to 60 and reduce usage on the GPU, not clocks, which in turn reduces power consumption.

Last edited by theoneofgod; 12-18-2014 at 13:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
HeLL
Member Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X OC 4Gb
Processor: Intel I5 3470@3,8ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 8Gb DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 750W
Default 12-18-2014, 13:54 | posts: 57 | Location: Spain

That was in RadeonPro, and now RadeonPro creator works in AMD, so I assume will work similar. I think is a very helpful feature and is not only to save energy.

Dynamic frame rate in RPRO improved my experience in some games for me in the past with my old 7870, like Assassins Creed Black Flag or Borderlands 2. Vsync disabled gave me horrible tearing, while enabling vsync reduced framerate a lot on these games. So limiting to 79fps on my 80hz monitor with Vsync off did the trick for me.

In other games like Watch Dogs there was tons of stuttering until the game got fixed, limiting the framerate smoothed the game a lot.

Last edited by HeLL; 12-18-2014 at 13:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
theoneofgod
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 7950 TF3 x2
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AX860
Default 12-18-2014, 13:58 | posts: 308

There's no mention of being able to set the FPS you want. Without that, the feature is pointless as we have RadeonPro.
RadeonPro creator works on Raptr not CCC.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
RzrTrek
Member Guru
 
RzrTrek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD6970 2GB
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard: P8P67 DELUXE
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: ALC889 7.1
PSU: HX850
Default 12-18-2014, 14:07 | posts: 91 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Will all supported AMD GPU's support this feature?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 TF 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80V2
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: Rosewill RG630-S12 630W
Default 12-18-2014, 14:15 | posts: 1,439 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Should also note that RTSS (RivaTuner Statistics Server; comes with MSI Afterburner) also has a framerate limiter (up to 200). Can set it globally or on a per-app basis.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 12-18-2014, 14:30 | posts: 4,230 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Espionage724 View Post
Should also note that RTSS (RivaTuner Statistics Server; comes with MSI Afterburner) also has a framerate limiter (up to 200). Can set it globally or on a per-app basis.
It sounds as though the AMD frame rate limiter also includes a different logic regarding the clocks etc of the cards. It should still work with overclocks etc. I suspect. Then again, it could just be a frame rate limiter, but remember this is at the driver level, not forced by third party software, so in any case it should still be a lot more effective.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
stevvie
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Vtx3D R9 280x
Processor: I5 3750K @4.3Ghz
Mainboard: ASrock Z77 Etreme 4
Memory: 2 X 8Gb G.Skill Trident F
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtream Music
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 700W
Default 12-18-2014, 15:12 | posts: 70 | Location: MK

yeah but knowing AMD it'll only be fore the 290X and not for any other cards. Look as the mess of VSR where Nvidia managed it on all cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 12-18-2014, 15:26 | posts: 5,721 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevvie View Post
yeah but knowing AMD it'll only be fore the 290X and not for any other cards. Look as the mess of VSR where Nvidia managed it on all cards.
VSR will be implemented for other cards over time, there's a reason, AMD update and make evolve their output scalers ( UVD ) at each revision, when Nvidia basically dont ( they still dont support 10bits color panels, not even on Quadro ). The R9-285 ( Tonga ) have a different scaler than the 1 1/2 years old Hawaii-290 and Hawaii have a different scaler / output of the HD7000 series ( who have 3 years now ).

So they cant implement it exactly the same way. Hence why it will come in further drivers revision.

Also, VSR work globally on the output ( at the moment the game is able to use higher resolution of 1080p or 2560x1600 in the setting panel )
DSR from Nvidia work on an apps based solution ( per game profiles ).. DSR have not been implemented directly too for 700 and 600 users, but 2 drivers later. ( this said, with VSR some correction for UI should be applied then by apps level profile )

As for the dynamic frame control, looking at the update today of initial article, could be well more interessant that it seems specially for games, API, where RP and MSI AB was not working.

Last edited by Lane; 12-18-2014 at 15:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 12-18-2014, 16:47 | posts: 2,600 | Location: USA

VSR is hardly a mess. Unlike DSR, its a hardware scaler based function, so cards prior to Hawaii don't have the necessary hardware.

They are implementing a software solution (like DSR) for older cards wich will be available in jan/feb (per Robert Hallock)

DSR was not available for older cards either on intial release, just like VSR.

Last edited by The Mac; 12-18-2014 at 16:49.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.