Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
New VBIOS Asus R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Old
  (#1)
antdes45
Newbie
 
Videocard: R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Memory: Samsung 1600 ECC 2x4GB
Soundcard: Xonar D1 / Canton
PSU: Sea Sonic X750
Default New VBIOS Asus R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5 - 07-15-2014, 23:58 | posts: 13

Hello everyone,

new VBIOS for the Asus R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5

http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/vga..._R7260X_OC.zip
http://www.asus.com/support/Download...WenJ4EliF1/41/

Version is now 015.042.000.003.000000 from 015.039.000.003.000000

I had to change a number in my card version to get it to flash.
I unpacked the BIOS exe and renamed "113-C5820300-104" to "113-C5820300-103" in the directory and the PN.txt file. I then executed FlashBIOS.exe

I was getting constant flickering before and video corruption. I haven't tested much yet, but it seems that the 2D clock is now fixed to 1188/1750 (same as 3D) and the card runs warmer. I don't know if that's Asus' fix to the problem :/

Last edited by antdes45; 07-21-2014 at 12:25.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
JohnLai
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gainward HD4850 1GB GS
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q8200
Mainboard: DFI P45-T2RS
Memory: DDR2 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek + cheap headphone
PSU: Gigabyte Powerock 400W
Default 07-17-2014, 04:17 | posts: 21

Reason being Hynix GDDR5 memory doesn't perform well when the memory is clocking up and down in high speed resulting in those 2D flickering.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Gapil301
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 7790 with 260x bios
Processor: FX 6300
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Zalman 500w
Default 07-20-2014, 06:19 | posts: 7

Hi antdes45 ! Thanks for the information XD

Can you upload that bios for me? PLEASE! XD
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
antdes45
Newbie
 
Videocard: R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Memory: Samsung 1600 ECC 2x4GB
Soundcard: Xonar D1 / Canton
PSU: Sea Sonic X750
Default 07-21-2014, 12:22 | posts: 13

Well, after some testing, all this BIOS does is disabling PowerPlay. Your card gets stuck at 1188/1750 clocks for 2D and 3D and runs like a toaster oven (I even saw claims of overheating and crashes) so I downgraded back to the original version.

I did a few tests on two different PCs after doing the following (with Catalyst 14.7 RC):
-Install AMD's PCI bus driver from the Catalyst package. (amdkmpfd)
-Disable PCIe spread spectrum in system BIOS (would crash with any VBIOS otherwise).
Where the card is supposed to be:
Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 + Phenom X6 1100T
I get some flickering with the old VBIOS.
2nd test PC:
Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H + Phenom X3
This system with both the old and new VBIOS is rock solid.
Problems seem to be mainboard dependant. However, with spread spectrum enabled and Microsoft's stock PCI bus driver, it works like crap on any of those systems, even when matching the 2D and 3D memory clock together.

The card seems to be a lot less prone to problems if I underclock to AMD's specifications using AMD Overdrive (-6% GPU clock, RAM at 1625MHz). Right now I am leaving the 2D memory clock at 300, and it only seems to cause problems in Chrome 64-bit on the 990FX board.

I might try to set both the 2D and 3D memory clocks at the same speed eventually, but GPU Tweak doesn't work well at all with 14.7 drivers. It always seems to ignore GPU Tweak's settings after a while. I might try Afterburner or something else.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
antdes45
Newbie
 
Videocard: R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Memory: Samsung 1600 ECC 2x4GB
Soundcard: Xonar D1 / Canton
PSU: Sea Sonic X750
Default 07-21-2014, 12:29 | posts: 13

Hi Gapil301, I changed the links in the first posts but since you have a modified card, you will need GPU-Z to get your current VBIOS version ID (ie. 113-X0000000-000) and try to guess which of the 3 BIOSes included in the ASUS link are going to work with your card. The R7260X.exe file can be unpacked with 7-Zip.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Szaby59
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: AMD A8 5600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte F2A88X-D3H
Memory: 12 GB Kingston LoVo
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP Aurum S Gold 500W
Default 07-24-2014, 10:52 | posts: 17

I bought my ASUS R7 260X DC2 OC - 2GB this May, the card already had a newer BIOS (015.042.000.003.000000) with PowerPlay/PowerTune disabled.
I and many others contacted ASUS about this issue (no power saving = higher temperatures and higher power consumption) but they said it's working as intended because according to them all OC cards come with disabled Power Saving features to achieve the best performance - Yes, they seriously said this not one but every time someone asked about this card...
(Note: 7790 is the same card as 260X and even the OC version comes with PowerTune Enabled...)

I already reported this issue on many ASUS forums:

rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?46791-ASUS-R7-260X-DirectCU-II-OC-Black-SC-graphical-artifacts-high-temp-no-Power-Save

(sorry can't post proper links yet)

and Support sites but no sollution yet, this Bios update still does not enable lower 2D clocks.
So I flashed my card with a Non-OC BIOS back to 015.039.000.003.000000 - with this I have lower 2D clocks, Zero Core working, no flicker/3D artifacts.

Last edited by Szaby59; 07-24-2014 at 10:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
WittyScreenName
Banned
 
Videocard: Sapphire r7 260x 2gb
Processor: Athlon II x4 635 3ghz
Mainboard: Foxxcon 2ab1
Memory: 8gb Gskill Ripjaw 1333
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolermaster 500w
Default 07-24-2014, 18:18 | posts: 42

Really? All of this and you missed the easy way out?

I wish my card had come without PowerPlay,but anyway...

Get MSI Afterburner,install,start,all that good stuff.

Set the sliders to the clock speeds you want for 3D applications(overclocked if you're comfortable),click Apply then click Save and select Profil 1 to save.
As shown

Move the core and memory sliders as low as they'll go,apply,save to profile 2

Then go into Settings and locate the "Profiles" tab,save the 2d and 3d profiles to the appropriate areas,Like this

Then,just to avoid potential conflicts,make sure PowerPlay is off.

EDIT: Direct image links arent showing for me...changing to URLs

Last edited by WittyScreenName; 07-24-2014 at 18:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Szaby59
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: AMD A8 5600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte F2A88X-D3H
Memory: 12 GB Kingston LoVo
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP Aurum S Gold 500W
Default 07-24-2014, 18:31 | posts: 17

That's not how PowerTune works...
With afterburner you can only change 2D/3D clocks, not the GPU voltage (which is the most important if you want to avoid unnecessary heat and power consumption) no additional steps.
With PowerTune enabled the GPU clock & voltages are dynamically changing according to the actual load, here is the PowerTune table for non-OC 260X:

Quote:
DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.87269 V
DPM1: GPUClock = 635 MHz, VID = 0.87885 V
DPM2: GPUClock = 770 MHz, VID = 0.96201 V
DPM3: GPUClock = 875 MHz, VID = 1.03285 V
DPM4: GPUClock = 950 MHz, VID = 1.09651 V
DPM5: GPUClock = 1015 MHz, VID = 1.15503 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 1065 MHz, VID = 1.20637 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1100 MHz, VID = 1.25770 V
The GPU temperature with PowerTune disabled is around 10-15 C higher during simple 2D tasks (idle, browsing, movies).

With OC BIOS there is only one DPM state:

DPM7: GPUClock = 1188 MHz, VID = 1.25770 V

So the card runs 24/7 at this speed no matter what you're doing and when is it really necessary.

Last edited by Szaby59; 07-24-2014 at 19:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
WittyScreenName
Banned
 
Videocard: Sapphire r7 260x 2gb
Processor: Athlon II x4 635 3ghz
Mainboard: Foxxcon 2ab1
Memory: 8gb Gskill Ripjaw 1333
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolermaster 500w
Default 07-24-2014, 19:44 | posts: 42

Uhm..i thought the issue was

Quote:
Originally Posted by antdes45 View Post
but it seems that the 2D clock is now fixed to 1188/1750 (same as 3D) and the card runs warmer. I don't know if that's Asus' fix to the problem :/

Idle,2D temps with PowerTune disabled is higher because the clocks are higher, 500ish/700ish compared to 150/300 core/mem.
But with my above instructions,atleast you arent running full 3D speed 24/7.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
HerrFornit
Member Guru
 
HerrFornit's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus HD7790-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: Intel Xeon 1230v3
Mainboard: Asrock B85m-ITX
Memory: CB sport vlp 2x4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic G-series 450W
Default 07-25-2014, 17:09 | posts: 49 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by Szaby59 View Post
I bought my ASUS R7 260X DC2 OC - 2GB this
(Note: 7790 is the same card as 260X and even the OC version comes with PowerTune Enabled...)
Yes, my 7790 came with different power stages (less number than Bonaire originally). (but also with problems/AMD!)
Did upload it by GPUZ.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Szaby59
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: AMD A8 5600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte F2A88X-D3H
Memory: 12 GB Kingston LoVo
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP Aurum S Gold 500W
Default 07-25-2014, 18:23 | posts: 17

There are many other BIOS downloads for 7790 you can try a different and may solve the issues just like in my case with 260X.
Doesn't matter if it's from a different manufacturer just check the RAM (Elpida, Hynix ?) on your card and download a bios with same memory support.
In fact there are even tutorials how to mod 7790 to 260X with BIOS flash.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
HerrFornit
Member Guru
 
HerrFornit's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus HD7790-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: Intel Xeon 1230v3
Mainboard: Asrock B85m-ITX
Memory: CB sport vlp 2x4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic G-series 450W
Default 07-25-2014, 21:55 | posts: 49 | Location: Germany

I dont dare to flash a uploaded VBIOS, yet.
Salut you!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
JohnLai
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gainward HD4850 1GB GS
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q8200
Mainboard: DFI P45-T2RS
Memory: DDR2 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek + cheap headphone
PSU: Gigabyte Powerock 400W
Default 07-26-2014, 07:36 | posts: 21

-.- It just that ASUS is not willing to deal with the RMA cost.
The fact is, certain batch of Hynix GDDR5 memory has defect and doesn't function properly. The latter batch seem to correct the defect. So, early birds get to eat the ****. We paid more for earlier access to the GPU and this is how GPU OEM treat us back.....

Imagine how much it will cost if these gpu partners (asus, sapphire etc) to deal with these issue.

Last time, nvidia totally brushed off the allegation G80 fabrication material choice led to product defect, it took community two years just to make it to the news and brought a lawsuit.

Same case here, except this time, Hynix is responsible. How will ASUS, Sapphire etc deal with this issue? They totally trying to get pass this issue and play it down with VBIOS 'modification' that disable the power saving function aka increasing the memory clocks and make it static.

I am tired of these flickering issue. Not to mention our high end cards drain a lot of power if we manually set the memory clock static at high frequency.

I would like to know AMD position in this matter, however, AMD outright refuse to reply and comment. Anyone can bring this matter up to some reputable journalist at popular review site such as anandtech,techreport or arstechnica?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
d2kx
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-10-2014, 15:59 | posts: 30

https://www.dropbox.com/s/n18jpyop1u...3-020sa%29.zip

Updated VBIOS from Sapphire. Fixes Black Screen and still has PowerPlay enabled. It works on ASUS and Sapphire boards. I expect it to work on other 260X too, but I can't confirm it as I don't have the hardware.

It does not come with UEFI GOP, but other than that, it's the best 260X VBIOS ever. I am running it on an ASUS 260X OC.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Szaby59
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: AMD A8 5600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte F2A88X-D3H
Memory: 12 GB Kingston LoVo
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP Aurum S Gold 500W
Default 08-11-2014, 09:59 | posts: 17

So far this BIOS is GREAT!

Some info:

Quote:
BIOS version: 015.042.000.003.000000
Date: 2013.12.18.
GPU: 1150 MHz
VRAM: 1650@6600 MHz

GPU PowerTune States:
DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.87269 V
DPM1: GPUClock = 635 MHz, VID = 0.87885 V
DPM2: GPUClock = 804 MHz, VID = 0.96201 V
DPM3: GPUClock = 914 MHz, VID = 1.03285 V
DPM4: GPUClock = 992 MHz, VID = 1.09651 V
DPM5: GPUClock = 1060 MHz, VID = 1.15503 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 1112 MHz, VID = 1.20637 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1150 MHz, VID = 1.25770 V
I hope ASUS will release a new BIOS update with Power Saving enabled but indeed - currently this is the BEST vBIOS for R7 260X 2GB

Last edited by Szaby59; 08-12-2014 at 21:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
JohnLai
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gainward HD4850 1GB GS
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q8200
Mainboard: DFI P45-T2RS
Memory: DDR2 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek + cheap headphone
PSU: Gigabyte Powerock 400W
Default 08-11-2014, 12:01 | posts: 21

Quote:
Originally Posted by d2kx View Post
https://www.dropbox.com/s/n18jpyop1u...3-020sa%29.zip

Updated VBIOS from Sapphire. Fixes Black Screen and still has PowerPlay enabled. It works on ASUS and Sapphire boards. I expect it to work on other 260X too, but I can't confirm it as I don't have the hardware.

It does not come with UEFI GOP, but other than that, it's the best 260X VBIOS ever. I am running it on an ASUS 260X OC.

May I know where do you get this VBIOS? Cause I can't seem to find it at sapphire website.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Szaby59
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: AMD A8 5600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte F2A88X-D3H
Memory: 12 GB Kingston LoVo
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP Aurum S Gold 500W
Default 08-11-2014, 16:42 | posts: 17

I guess he got it from Sapphire Support.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
d2kx
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-11-2014, 21:11 | posts: 30

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnLai View Post
May I know where do you get this VBIOS? Cause I can't seem to find it at sapphire website.
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/answer....html#13779218

Posts from 23.07.2014 onwards.

Cannot recommend it enough. While the ASUS "update" was basicly the old ****ty VBIOS just with PowerPlay removed, this one seems to have a proper fix included. No black screens yet and, to my surprise, not even artifacts in 2D/Chrome yet.

Last edited by d2kx; 08-11-2014 at 21:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Szaby59
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: AMD A8 5600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte F2A88X-D3H
Memory: 12 GB Kingston LoVo
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP Aurum S Gold 500W
Default 08-11-2014, 21:27 | posts: 17

Still not perfect, the card doesn't wake up after the monitor turns off don't know if this is a driver/bios bug, but I'm sure it's related to ZeroCore.

Last edited by Szaby59; 08-11-2014 at 21:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
razorbackdb
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 6570 1024MB
Processor: AMD Phenom II
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Generic 520w
Default 08-11-2014, 21:41 | posts: 6

i think that's a driver issue, other cards have it as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Szaby59
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R7260X-DC2OC-2GD5
Processor: AMD A8 5600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte F2A88X-D3H
Memory: 12 GB Kingston LoVo
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP Aurum S Gold 500W
Default 08-11-2014, 21:48 | posts: 17

It's a rare issue, happened 3-4 times in 4 months. (With 14.4 and 14.7RC)

But I still think the Sapphire BIOS is the best

Edit:

I was able to enable PowerTune/PowerSaving in the latest (015.42) ASUS bios.

Recommended to flash in DOS environment using ATIFlash: [GUIDE] AMD VBIOS flashing

Modded BIOS #1
  • Power Saving features enabled
  • Stock clock speeds (GPU: 1188 MHz, VRAM: 1750 MHz@7 GHz)

DOWNLOAD: AS260XDC2OC_042F.rar


Modded BIOS #2
  • Power Saving features enabled
  • Stock clock speeds (GPU: 1188 MHz, VRAM: 1750 MHz@7 GHz)
  • Extended OverDrive limits: GPU, Memory Clock and Power limit (+/-50 %)

DOWNLOAD: AS260XDC2OC_042Fmod.rar


Modded BIOS #3
  • Power Saving features enabled
  • Slightly reduced clock speeds (GPU: 1150 MHz, VRAM: 1700 MHz@7 GHz)
  • Extended OverDrive limits: GPU, Memory Clock and Power limit (+/-50 %)
  • GDDR5 memory idle clock increased from 150 MHz to 300 MHz

    May reduce overheating issues and graphical artifacts without significant performance loss - RECOMMENDED

DOWNLOAD: AS260XDC2OC_042Fmod2.rar


Screenshots:


Last edited by Szaby59; 08-14-2014 at 21:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
lepi kokan
Newbie
 
Videocard: r7 260x
Processor: AMD FX 6300
Mainboard: Gigabyte 970a-ud3
Memory: 8gb Kingston HypX 1600cl9
Soundcard: Altec 621 on X-Fi Hotrod
PSU: Andyson 650w
Default 09-21-2014, 02:58 | posts: 4 | Location: Serbia

i suppose this can safely be flashed into 1gb card as well ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
JohnLai
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gainward HD4850 1GB GS
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q8200
Mainboard: DFI P45-T2RS
Memory: DDR2 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek + cheap headphone
PSU: Gigabyte Powerock 400W
Default 09-21-2014, 05:58 | posts: 21

Quote:
Originally Posted by lepi kokan View Post
i suppose this can safely be flashed into 1gb card as well ?
DON'T DO THAT.

You will end up with black screen the moment you reboot the system.

The VBIOS is only for 2GB variants!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
WILDMAKC
Newbie
 
WILDMAKC's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon R7 260X
Processor: AMD Athlon X4 750k@4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus FM2 Socket
Memory: DDR3 8GB@1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Chieftec GPA-450S
Default 09-21-2014, 11:11 | posts: 38 | Location: Donetsk , Ukraine

where can I find BIOS for the 1GB version ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
WILDMAKC
Newbie
 
WILDMAKC's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon R7 260X
Processor: AMD Athlon X4 750k@4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus FM2 Socket
Memory: DDR3 8GB@1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Chieftec GPA-450S
Default 09-21-2014, 12:16 | posts: 38 | Location: Donetsk , Ukraine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Szaby59 View Post
It's a rare issue, happened 3-4 times in 4 months. (With 14.4 and 14.7RC)

But I still think the Sapphire BIOS is the best

Edit:

I was able to enable PowerTune/PowerSaving in the latest (015.42) ASUS bios.

Recommended to flash in DOS environment using ATIFlash: [GUIDE] AMD VBIOS flashing

Modded BIOS #1
  • Power Saving features enabled
  • Stock clock speeds (GPU: 1188 MHz, VRAM: 1750 MHz@7 GHz)

DOWNLOAD: AS260XDC2OC_042F.rar


Modded BIOS #2
  • Power Saving features enabled
  • Stock clock speeds (GPU: 1188 MHz, VRAM: 1750 MHz@7 GHz)
  • Extended OverDrive limits: GPU, Memory Clock and Power limit (+/-50 %)

DOWNLOAD: AS260XDC2OC_042Fmod.rar


Modded BIOS #3
  • Power Saving features enabled
  • Slightly reduced clock speeds (GPU: 1150 MHz, VRAM: 1700 MHz@7 GHz)
  • Extended OverDrive limits: GPU, Memory Clock and Power limit (+/-50 %)
  • GDDR5 memory idle clock increased from 150 MHz to 300 MHz

    May reduce overheating issues and graphical artifacts without significant performance loss - RECOMMENDED

DOWNLOAD: AS260XDC2OC_042Fmod2.rar


Screenshots:

what program did you made mod?

Last edited by WILDMAKC; 09-21-2014 at 22:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.