Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Catalyst Antialiasing Guide
Old
  (#1)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default Catalyst Antialiasing Guide - 09-15-2011, 13:52 | posts: 8,113 | Location: United Kingdom

Antialiasing explained

 Click to show spoiler


Catalyst antialiasing methods

The Catalyst Control Centre allows for three standard antialiasing methods or types. These are multisample antialiasing (MSAA), supersample antialiasing (SSAA) and adaptive antialiasing. Each of these methods works differently and carries a different performance penalty depending on the software application and resolution in use.

All the different methods can be controlled using the antialiasing samples drop-down menu when override application settings antialiasing mode is used. When using the other antialiasing modes, different antialiasing methods can still be applied but a predetermined antialiasing sample level is used. It should, however, be noted that when use the application settings antialiasing mode is selected, edge detect antialiasing may also need to be enabled from the filter drop-down menu before an alternative antialiasing method can be applied.

Another recently introduced non-standard method of antialiasing is called morphological antialiasing (MLAA). This method employs a shader based post-processing filter and carries a relatively small performance penalty. MLAA works with all games and in-conjunction with all the other standard antialiasing methods but it can also introduce excessive blurring.

Multisample antialiasing (MSAA)

 Click to show spoiler

Supersample antialiasing (SSAA)

 Click to show spoiler

Adaptive antialiasing

 Click to show spoiler

Morphological antialiasing (MLAA)

 Click to show spoiler


Catalyst antialiasing modes

Catalyst Control Centre based antialiasing methods can be applied using three alternative antialiasing modes. These modes allow the user to either apply further coverage samples and filters to enhance current application settings or completely override them. This distinction is particularly important for DX10 and DX11 based applications because driver based antialiasing methods for those can currently only be used in addition to application based traditional antialiasing.

1. Use application settings

 Click to show spoiler

Edge detect antialiasing

 Click to show spoiler

2. Enhance application settings

 Click to show spoiler

Enhanced quality antialiasing (EQAA)

 Click to show spoiler

3. Override application settings

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by BlackZero; 09-18-2014 at 14:05.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 09-15-2011, 13:53 | posts: 8,113 | Location: United Kingdom

Catalyst antialiasing game compatibility list

 Click to show spoiler


User feedback is welcome, as missing/non-tested games and antialiasing settings can be updated to the list. All submissions must be accompanied by at least two image comparisons and preferably with MSI afterburner OSD showing API, VRAM usage and GPU load.

Some game compatibility data was originally posted on THG.

Last edited by BlackZero; 09-18-2014 at 14:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-15-2011, 14:06 | posts: 24,536 | Location: NZ

Nice idea.

I don't suppose you could squash the first page together a bit more? It's quite a long way to scroll down...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 09-15-2011, 14:11 | posts: 8,113 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Nice idea.

I don't suppose you could squash the first page together a bit more? It's quite a long way to scroll down...
Thanks mate

I don't know if I can make the page any shorther because of the way the images, quotes and highlighted text need to be kept separate and easily distinguishable. Plus it makes it look like I did a lot of work
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 09-15-2011, 14:13 | posts: 23,631 | Location: Netherlands

spoiler tags ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 09-15-2011, 14:18 | posts: 8,113 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
spoiler tags ?
That's a good idea, I'll see if i can find some way of getting it working.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-15-2011, 15:16 | posts: 24,536 | Location: NZ

I'm glad you linked the source material, just been reading a couple of articles... pretty interesting stuff.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Raiga
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GPU
Processor: CPU
Mainboard: Chipset
Memory: RAM
Soundcard:
PSU: PSU
Default 09-15-2011, 15:44 | posts: 1,093

Excellent round up, hats off...there should be a ATI/AMD AA thread to be made stick on the ATI/AMD forums*.

(@BlackZero, is it possible to reformat the first thread and remove the extra lines or empty spaces.!)

Side Note:
As for Edge Detect, I'd dare mention that it removes the weird AA blurring on text on old pre-DX9 games.

MLAA works best on Best on Borderlands, because it removes the ultra sharp text and smoothen out the whole screen.

Last edited by Raiga; 09-15-2011 at 15:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4 2666MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Thumbs up 09-15-2011, 16:05 | posts: 9,627 | Location: UK

Great work there BlackZero, very informative
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
NiukNiuk
Maha Guru
 
NiukNiuk's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R6950 twin frozr II
Processor: Intel core 2 quad Q9450
Mainboard: MSI X48C platinum
Memory: 8Go ddr3 PC 10600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2 pci
PSU: Corsair TX 750v2
Default 09-15-2011, 16:23 | posts: 2,057 | Location: France

Great work/read, thank you !
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 09-15-2011, 18:13 | posts: 8,113 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raiga View Post
Excellent round up, hats off...there should be a ATI/AMD AA thread to be made stick on the ATI/AMD forums*.

(@BlackZero, is it possible to reformat the first thread and remove the extra lines or empty spaces.!)

Side Note:
As for Edge Detect, I'd dare mention that it removes the weird AA blurring on text on old pre-DX9 games.

MLAA works best on Best on Borderlands, because it removes the ultra sharp text and smoothen out the whole screen.

Yeah I'm trying to find a way to remove the blanks while keeping the text/quotes/images separate and easy to distinguish.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Great work there BlackZero, very informative
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiukNiuk View Post
Great work/read, thank you !


You're welcome
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
N3MBOT
Master Guru
 
N3MBOT's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 280xoc
Processor: i5 3570k @4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock extreme 4
Memory: 8 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Soundcard: REALTEK onboard sound
PSU: coolermaster 700 w
Default 09-15-2011, 21:51 | posts: 187 | Location: portugal

now this is what i call a post!! very well done and many thanks for your effort.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
sephirothrx7
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD HD6850 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 955
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ SXS2 600W
Default 09-15-2011, 22:24 | posts: 2

Nice thread, it explained a lot to me as I'm a first time radeon owner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 09-16-2011, 00:12 | posts: 1,590 | Location: Toronto

you dont need line breaks if you have title/header text

quotes already have space between them

all of
Quote:
this is on a
single line
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 09-16-2011, 05:30 | posts: 8,113 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by N3MBOT View Post
now this is what i call a post!! very well done and many thanks for your effort.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sephirothrx7 View Post
Nice thread, it explained a lot to me as I'm a first time radeon owner.
You're welcome
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Valken
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 6950 2GB CFX unlocked
Processor: Intel i7-4970k
Mainboard: Asrock Z97 OC Formula
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 09-16-2011, 05:31 | posts: 760

Excellent thread and it should be a sticky here! Might want to mention FXAA via external dll injection or developer support since it is basically a form of MLAA also.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 09-16-2011, 05:50 | posts: 8,113 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valken View Post
Excellent thread and it should be a sticky here! Might want to mention FXAA via external dll injection or developer support since it is basically a form of MLAA also.
Thanks


Well FXAA isn't really part of the catalyst control centre but I'll see if I can include it somwhere, thanks for the suggestion.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 TF 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80V2
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: Rosewill RG630-S12 630W
Default 09-20-2011, 02:26 | posts: 1,439 | Location: Charleroi, PA

This topic looks very helpful , I'll have to actually read it sometime, but even with a quick glance I learned a few things :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 09-20-2011, 04:42 | posts: 2,600 | Location: USA

ok heres a question i have yet to see answered anywhere:

Enhance application settings is supposed to enhance pre-existing AA types already supported by game engines.

what effect does it have on games with no pre-exsisting internal AA suppprt?

Last edited by The Mac; 09-20-2011 at 04:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-20-2011, 04:47 | posts: 24,536 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
ok heres a question i have yet to see answered anywhere:

Enhance application settings is supposed to enhance pre-existing AA types already supported by game engines.

what effect does it have on games with no pre-exsisting internal AA suppprt?
None.

EQAA Modes for AMD 6900 Series Graphics Cards


Last edited by Pill Monster; 09-20-2011 at 04:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 09-20-2011, 04:54 | posts: 2,600 | Location: USA

does this also include AA modes forced though CAP or driver?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-20-2011, 04:59 | posts: 24,536 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
does this also include AA modes forced though CAP or driver?
Not sure, I'm actually just having another read of the whitepapers atm.
I know MS needs to be enabled as well, but unsure whether that's thru the drivers or via the game engine...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-20-2011, 05:03 | posts: 24,536 | Location: NZ

Hmm I think maybe it does have an effect when the game has no AA support, EQAA is similar to Nvidia's CSAA so it seems the "Enhanced" doesn't mean "enhance game engine", rather it means "enhance MSAA".....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 09-20-2011, 05:09 | posts: 2,600 | Location: USA

does that mean with or without forced AA?

you say MS needs to be on; in adaptive MS is partially enabled.

I wonder if thats sufficent.

Or if in adaptive it will only peform the extra samples on the MSAA objects, and ignores the tranparent objects using SS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-20-2011, 05:16 | posts: 24,536 | Location: NZ

I'm trying to find out myself, seems there's a lack of solid info around....
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antialisaing, catalyst, radeon

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.