Jeffro's " I'm a complete noob and need help" thread.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JEFFRO503, Jul 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JEFFRO503

JEFFRO503 Guest

GPU:
    none
    Any of you guys jumping over here from overclockers.net.....just please look at my photobucket account and see what Nick built me >> http://s1234.photobucket.com/albums/ff407/Jeffro503/

Ok guys....

I wanted to start a new thread here , and try to keep things positive , so I can just move forward. A lot of you chimed in on the previous thread , which helped a bunch. I got a bad deal , and now I'm just wanting to move forward and learn how to work on my own PC with your help. I really have nobody around here that I know that is really any good at computers ( reason why I hired the last jerkoff!)......so I'm going to start doing all the work myself and see how it goes.

I might as well start off the thread with a great first question. Ok.....I have 3 - WD 640's that are setup in a raid 5 array. Since one drive failed I am having to start over from scratch , but want to do it a different way.

I'm ordering up a WD Cav Black 1.5TB HD from Newegg ( Probably tonight , depending on what advice I get here ). What my goal is , or what I would like to do , but don't know if it's possible is this. Use my 3 - WD 640's as one drive , then use the big 1.5TB drive as my second drive....setup in a raid 0 ( << is that the right number? ) As to have them "mirror" each other in case of a HD failure.

If you take a look at my board here >>> http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1366/P6X58DE/ How would you recommend hooking the HD's up? I believe my raid 5 is setup so it reads as Drives 0 , 1 , and 3. Zero is the one that it's saying failed.