Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#376)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-17-2011, 10:23 | posts: 12,209 | Location: England

FINALLY got the game installed at 8:35am so only had ten minutes to try it. Cranked the settings to Ultra and disabled UberSampling and once the game had loaded switched the controls to Gamepad. Framerate in the opening cutscene where Geralt is running through the forest dipped to 36 fps but was otherwise smooth and once the game switched to the dungeon it was hitting 60 fps even during the dialogue scene that followed. In the Prologue, which is where you get to sample the combat/gameplay I was getting between 45 and 60 fps, which is damn impressive considering I hadn't enabled triple buffering at that point.

I have to say that even from the all-too-brief first look that I could tell this game is a complete labour of love. The graphics are incredible, both technically impressive and beautiful in terms of art design; my jaw dropped several times during the pans of the castle alone so I can't wait to see what else is in store! The voice-acting is brilliant too and I just want to soak every millisecond of the game world. As mentioned earlier I opted to play with the Xbox 360 controller and the game even shows the buttons required which is outstanding IMO considering this is currently an exclusive PC game. The controllers work a treat so far - combat feels especially good with it - so I doubt I'll ever use the mouse and keyboard.

Two things struck me about the game though. One, the graphical options outside of the game and, two, the spot on implementation of the Xbox 360 controller suggest a game that was definitely designed with future console versions in mind. Not that that would be a criticism for many, it's just that I was surprised that the Graphical Options aren't available from within the game as it makes tweaking the settings somewhat cumbersome as you can imagine. Fortunately for me the graphics look terrific on Ultra at 1920x1200 so I'll leave them as they are for now.

I'm currently at work but I cannot wait to dash home at noon and play this game properly.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#377)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 05-17-2011, 10:31 | posts: 18,601 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post

I have to say that even from the all-too-brief first look that I could tell this game is a complete labour of love. The graphics are incredible, both technically impressive and beautiful in terms of art design; my jaw dropped several times during the pans of the castle alone so I can't wait to see what else is in store! The voice-acting is brilliant too and I just want to soak every millisecond of the game world. As mentioned earlier I opted to play with the Xbox 360 controller and the game even shows the buttons required which is outstanding IMO considering this is currently an exclusive PC game. The controllers work a treat so far - combat feels especially good with it - so I doubt I'll ever use the mouse and keyboard.

Two things struck me about the game though. One, the graphical options outside of the game and, two, the spot on implementation of the Xbox 360 controller suggest a game that was definitely designed with future console versions in mind. .
YESSS!!! Thank u very much for this and wishing a good day at job mate !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#378)
Stone Gargoyle
Ancient Guru
 
Stone Gargoyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 270 Dual-X OC 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 Quad @3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: OCZ 620W
Default 05-17-2011, 10:37 | posts: 4,511

Not got much time to play W2 today but my first impressions are nothing short of gobsmacked. The sheer technical level of excellence on offer even with just one patch is rather amazing. The world in general even on just medium is truly something else. The combat obviously takes some getting used to but using signs, timing attacks, delivering kill strokes etc quickly becomes second nature once again.

In just one single village area I was able to enter pretty much 95% of the houses for orens and general loot. Every single area is just begging to be explored in full which is precisely what most of us were hoping for. Moral choices come into play very early on also and in just one single scenario I went from being a saviour to being called a bastard after I demanded money for my well timed assistance. ^_^

If I have one single criticism right now (amongst the praise) it's that having no graphic options while in the game aside from brightness is rather frustrating. There's a vast amount to play around with however, more so than any other PC game I can remember. So be sure to have the game running as you want prior to launching.

Can't wait for you guys to start playing it.

edit: If current online/mag reviews are based on outdated code lord knows what an updated version will get.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#379)
chanw4
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 670 4GB GDDR5
Processor: Intel i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V EXTREME
Memory: OCZ Platinum DDR3-1600 4G
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 600W
Default 05-17-2011, 10:43 | posts: 2,269 | Location: Hong Kong

I always thought 'ubersampling' is just another name for Super Sampling.


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#380)
bballfreak6
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Processor: Intel i7 4770K + NH-U14S
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair VP 16GB 1866Mhz
Soundcard: Creative ZxR
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 05-17-2011, 10:44 | posts: 1,292 | Location: Brisbane, Australia

you guys making me very jealous right now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#381)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-17-2011, 10:49 | posts: 12,209 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stone Gargoyle View Post
If I have one single criticism right now (amongst the praise) it's that having no graphic options while in the game aside from brightness is rather frustrating. There's a vast amount to play around with however, more so than any other PC game I can remember. So be sure to have the game running as you want prior to launching.
Yup, I said the same earlier too. It definitely doesn't make sense to put the options in the launcher as it makes it very clumsy to adjust settings. A better alternative would be to do what Codemasters do in their games and allow tweaking from an in-game Graphics menu and have the game restart if it needs to with the relevant prompts that it needs to do so to apply the settings. I'm surprised that the game doesn't do this already as the first game had both basic and advanced graphics options included WITHIN the game.

Definitely reeks a little of console-litus there I think but, before any takes that completely the wrong way, it is a minor issue overall and in no way mars the quality of the game itself. Compared with Crysis 2 I'd rather have the Graphics options in the launcher than none at all!!!

P.S. Isn't the presentation gorgeous (menus, fonts and user interface)?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#382)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 05-17-2011, 10:51 | posts: 23,563 | Location: Netherlands

cant wait either. still my guess is i wont be able to play, because the size of the download and download servers being hammered. oh well if i cant play tonight, 5am will do
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#383)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-17-2011, 10:52 | posts: 12,209 | Location: England

Also I got a bonus item code from GAME for The Witcher 2, an outfit I think, but how do I use it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#384)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 05-17-2011, 10:54 | posts: 23,563 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Also I got a bonus item code from GAME for The Witcher 2, an outfit I think, but how do I use it?
hope that doesnt mean you are running around naked now !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#385)
sAAdC
Master Guru
 
sAAdC's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX260M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9000
Mainboard: Intel P45M
Memory: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: The mains!
Default 05-17-2011, 10:55 | posts: 440 | Location: Kenya

Its a SHAME that I have to wait until July to play it because of my A2-Level exams...I've been waiting 2 whole years for this game to come out and when it does I cant play it.....sigh..... !
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#386)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-17-2011, 11:00 | posts: 12,209 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
hope that doesnt mean you are running around naked now !
Not quite. I believe Geralt is wearing the same outfit from the end of the first game as I imported the save game and used that. Dunno what you get for using the first game's save though. Anyone know?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#387)
harkinsteven
Maha Guru
 
harkinsteven's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SLI
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Memory: 32gb Kingston Beast 2400
Soundcard: SoundBlasterZxR/EdifierC6
PSU: XFX PRO 750W
Default 05-17-2011, 11:00 | posts: 2,337 | Location: Ireland

Darren here are instructions

Launch the game.
2. Select the 'Downloadable Content' tab.
3. Enter and confirm your code in the 'Pre-order Code Redemption' box.
4. Download will start automatically.
5. You will receive confirmation that the Finisher Pack is active.
6. You will now have access to your item in-game
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#388)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 05-17-2011, 11:03 | posts: 23,563 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Not quite. I believe Geralt is wearing the same outfit from the end of the first game as I imported the save game and used that. Dunno what you get for using the first game's save though. Anyone know?
hmm how much advantage will i have importing a savegame from witcher 1 into witcher 2 ?
i dont have a savegame for that anymore, is anyone able to share that with me please
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#389)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-17-2011, 11:03 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Yeah, it's the Raven armor, found my save just for it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#390)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-17-2011, 11:07 | posts: 12,209 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by harkinsteven View Post
Darren here are instructions

Launch the game.
2. Select the 'Downloadable Content' tab.
3. Enter and confirm your code in the 'Pre-order Code Redemption' box.
4. Download will start automatically.
5. You will receive confirmation that the Finisher Pack is active.
6. You will now have access to your item in-game
Thank you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#391)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 05-17-2011, 11:09 | posts: 12,209 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by sAAdC View Post
Its a SHAME that I have to wait until July to play it because of my A2-Level exams...I've been waiting 2 whole years for this game to come out and when it does I cant play it.....sigh..... !
Well you know how the saying goes: All work and no play makes sAAdC a dull boy!

Surely you're allowed some time off revision across the weekend perhaps to play the game? You should take breaks and do other things to take your mind off exams, or so I was told when I was at school and it didn't hurt me as I have 11 GCE 'O' levels and 2 GCE 'A' levels (I'm old by the way so it's pre-GCSEs)!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#392)
sAAdC
Master Guru
 
sAAdC's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX260M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9000
Mainboard: Intel P45M
Memory: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: The mains!
Default 05-17-2011, 11:14 | posts: 440 | Location: Kenya

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Well you know how the saying goes: All work and no play makes sAAdC a dull boy!

Surely you're allowed some time off revision across the weekend perhaps to play the game? You should take breaks and do other things to take your mind off exams, or so I was told when I was at school and it didn't hurt me as I have 11 GCE 'O' levels and 2 GCE 'A' levels (I'm old by the way so it's pre-GCSEs)!
I tried that once during one of my test months. I would revise for an hour then try and play a game for an hour.....it didnt work out as planned, ended up playing the crap out of DAO and then flunking my tests.....I think it would be better if I waited for a month, and besides I waited for 2 years, 2 YEARS, one month wont hurt....will it??

Last edited by sAAdC; 05-17-2011 at 11:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#393)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-17-2011, 11:34 | posts: 26,802 | Location: Hampshire, UK

game installed, patching
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#394)
harkinsteven
Maha Guru
 
harkinsteven's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SLI
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Memory: 32gb Kingston Beast 2400
Soundcard: SoundBlasterZxR/EdifierC6
PSU: XFX PRO 750W
Default 05-17-2011, 11:40 | posts: 2,337 | Location: Ireland

My copy still hasnt arrived
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#395)
Stone Gargoyle
Ancient Guru
 
Stone Gargoyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 270 Dual-X OC 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 Quad @3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: OCZ 620W
Default 05-17-2011, 11:41 | posts: 4,511

From the steam forums whcih was posted up late last night:

Quote:
Hello All,

I just wanted to pop in and give you a head's up on the Witcher 2 Release happening in a little bit.

We got the build of the game quite late--only a few hours ago, in fact. Currently, I'm pushing it out to over half of our content servers around the world, but the game is pretty big (around 17GB) so getting it to the servers is taking quite a while. The practical upshot of this is that downloads are going to start out really slowly, but over the next several hours it will improve greatly.

Our apologies for this. I'm afraid it can't be helped. I might delay setting it live slightly so that I can get it to more servers before flipping the switch, but I'm hoping I wont need to do that.

Best,
Chris
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#396)
brandonspikes
Maha Guru
 
brandonspikes's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 560GTX TI Twin Frozr
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8 P67
Memory: DDR3 G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolerMast Silent Pro 850
Default 05-17-2011, 11:42 | posts: 893 | Location: New York

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gembel View Post
You're joking pal 41 fps on ultra is still smooth
Nope, I mean its not just 41, it jumps around a lot, very inconsistent.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#397)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 05-17-2011, 11:45 | posts: 23,563 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stone Gargoyle View Post
From the steam forums whcih was posted up late last night:
yes they need to open more steam servers ffs! not when everything is down already.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#398)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 05-17-2011, 11:45 | posts: 3,473 | Location: UK

Still waiting for my copy to be delivered.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#399)
Stone Gargoyle
Ancient Guru
 
Stone Gargoyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 270 Dual-X OC 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 Quad @3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: OCZ 620W
Default 05-17-2011, 11:49 | posts: 4,511

Don't fret Ghosty pal. It's well worth the wait. Keep an eye out for the posty!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#400)
Stone Gargoyle
Ancient Guru
 
Stone Gargoyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 270 Dual-X OC 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 Quad @3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: OCZ 620W
Default 05-17-2011, 11:53 | posts: 4,511

http://www.bit-tech.net/gaming/pc/20...rticle+Feed%29
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.