Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 3 (2011-05-08)
Old
  (#1)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 3 (2011-05-08) - 05-08-2011, 15:01 | posts: 412

MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 3 is ready, this version took a bit longer because many new products are included, such as HD 6790/6770/6750. And of course, the new chip from NVIDIA this month.

Changes list includes:

- Added core voltage control for alternate revision of reference design NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 series graphics cards
- Added new compatibility option to "General" tab, allowing you to select GPU
type on some graphics card models using different GPU types (e.g. low-leakage and high-leakage Cayman GPUs on RADEON 6950 series graphics cards). The option affects default reference GPU voltage and 3D voltage control path
- Added memory and VRM temperature monitoring for custom design MSI N580GTX Lightning series graphics cards with NCT7718W thermal sensors
- Added memory and VRM temperature monitoring for custom design MSI R6970 Lightning series graphics cards with NCT7718W thermal sensors
- Updated MSI On-Screen Display server:
- Fixed resource leak in desktop video capture path, causing it to start capturing plain black frames instead of desktop after a few minutes of desktop video capture
- Fixed issue causing frames in video stream to be periodically duplicated during desktop video capture causing video stream to be longer than it is supposed tobe. This could cause audio/video de-synchronization after a few minutes of desktop video capture
- Improved OpenGL On-Screen Display coordinates calculation for framebuffer
coordinate space mode
- Added custom raster 3D fonts support to On-Screen Display in addition to the previously available vector 2D / 3D fonts. On-Screen Display 3D mode rendering mode switch has been replaced with new vector 2D / vector 3D / raster 3D rendering modes switch
- Now On-Screen Display coordinates are specified in pixels instead of zoomed units
- Now it is possible to use drag-and-drop in On-Screen Display preview window to adjust On-Screen Display position
- Now On-Screen Display supports tabulation symbols for better appearance in conjunction with variable width custom fonts
- Updated Korean localization
- Added Simplified Chinese localization
- Added Indonesian localization

The download link of MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 3:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/-MSI-Aft...load-2718.html
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
davido6
Maha Guru
 
davido6's Avatar
 
Videocard: GV-R795WF3-3GD
Processor: i5 3750k @4.9ghz 1.2v
Mainboard: asrock z77 extreme6
Memory: 16 gig corsair vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1
PSU: Adata HM 1200W
Default 05-08-2011, 15:23 | posts: 1,219 | Location: uk sheffield

sweet getting it now thanks for this



fixed it had to uninstall then reboot then install

Last edited by davido6; 05-08-2011 at 15:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Dracozirion
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Club3D 6950 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 C0
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P
Memory: DDR3 6GB
Soundcard: Logitech Z-2300
PSU: Coolermaster M520
Default 05-08-2011, 16:08 | posts: 14

What's the difference between high leakage & low leakage? Can't get the context menu to show up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 05-08-2011, 16:13 | posts: 11,866 | Location: new jersey

rushes to put my fan/heatsink back on my 580 lightning.
wow i'v been holding out asking again lol happy joy joy!!!

thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default 05-08-2011, 16:57 | posts: 412

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracozirion View Post
What's the difference between high leakage & low leakage? Can't get the context menu to show up.
reference card doesn't have such problem...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Conrad.TDI
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 460 OC 1gig
Processor: Intel i7-2600k
Mainboard: Asrock Fata1ty Z77
Memory: 16 gig Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Creative Xfi
PSU: Antec Earthwatts EA650
Default 05-08-2011, 18:35 | posts: 24

Thank you for the continuing development and advancement of this great utility!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
erm
Master Guru
 
erm's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 560 1GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus Hp ipibl-la
Memory: 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek ALC888s
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750W
Default 05-08-2011, 18:59 | posts: 373 | Location: Italia

Thanks guys ! ;D

Unwinder I've sent you the update for the Italian localization...

Last edited by erm; 05-08-2011 at 21:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 05-08-2011, 19:51 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Hi Alexey ,

Update for the DUTCH localization , download here : http://www65.zippyshare.com/v/81715130/file.html

+ found a typo in the english : Program Files \MSI Afterburner \ Help \ Properties \ General \ = in the file "GPU_TYPE"

Hints:
- Graphics processor type selection affects curretnly selected master GPU only, please re-open this window after changing master GPU selection to select new GPU type for it.


cheers m8.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
TFL Replica
Master Guru
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 570
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Rev 3
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750w
Default 05-08-2011, 21:39 | posts: 369

This is probably a silly question but how do raster 3D fonts compare to vector fonts in terms of performance?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-08-2011, 21:49 | posts: 11,400 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFL Replica View Post
This is probably a silly question but how do raster 3D fonts compare to vector fonts in terms of performance?
Absolutely not a silly, quite opposite - really interesting one. Raster fonts are faster (and under some conditions significally faster) than vector ones. When vector fonts are in use each character is rendered as a set of triangles (average 8-16 triangles per symbol), when raster fonts are in use each character is always a textured quad consisting of just 2 triangles. Also, raster fonts use vertex buffers and textures located in onboard videomemory, which speeds up rendering as well. However, managing those additional textures and vertex buffers addds more chances to be incompatible with some 3d engines so vector fonts are recommended for solving compstibility issues.

P.s. Osd shadow rendering is also 100% free in terms of additional performance hit when raster fonts are in use.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 05-08-2011 at 21:54.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
deathvirus
Ancient Guru
 
deathvirus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce 870M 6GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 4710HQ
Mainboard: MSI MS1772
Memory: 2*8 GB 1600 MHz LPDDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892, Bose IE2
PSU: MSI 150W Adapter
Default 05-08-2011, 22:39 | posts: 4,499 | Location: Houston, TX

Hey Unwinder, can you give some details about these 3 diff. modes in terms of performance and compatibility .. atleast how you expect them to work out ..
   
Reply With Quote
Sidebar "GPU monitor" error
Old
  (#12)
NiscoRacing
Newbie
 
NiscoRacing's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 4GB (WC)
Processor: Intel QX9970
Mainboard: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe
Memory: 8GB DDR3 PC1600
Soundcard: Asus ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default Sidebar "GPU monitor" error - 05-08-2011, 22:49 | posts: 11 | Location: Amsterdam

For the MSI Afterburner updates i get this error in sidebar, for GPU monitor tool.



Only version 2.0.0 works good. Is there any fix for this ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ketīs mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 05-08-2011, 22:49 | posts: 3,725 | Location: outside the Box...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Absolutely not a silly, quite opposite - really interesting one. Raster fonts are faster (and under some conditions significally faster) than vector ones. When vector fonts are in use each character is rendered as a set of triangles (average 8-16 triangles per symbol), when raster fonts are in use each character is always a textured quad consisting of just 2 triangles. Also, raster fonts use vertex buffers and textures located in onboard videomemory, which speeds up rendering as well. However, managing those additional textures and vertex buffers addds more chances to be incompatible with some 3d engines so vector fonts are recommended for solving compstibility issues.

P.s. Osd shadow rendering is also 100% free in terms of additional performance hit when raster fonts are in use.



wow.

thx unwinder for this very very usefull post..
this is actually a nice new option..

thanks for all ur effort in this app..

greetz Beta
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
stangowner
Master Guru
 
stangowner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Plat Fatal1ty Champ
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 05-09-2011, 00:44 | posts: 579 | Location: MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiscoRacing View Post
For the MSI Afterburner updates i get this error in sidebar, for GPU monitor tool.



Only version 2.0.0 works good. Is there any fix for this ?
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....7912&page=3#70
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
NRG_XL
Newbie
 
Videocard: R6950 tfrozr II 2GB
Processor: i5 750 @4.1
Mainboard: Asrock p55pro
Memory: 4GB Corsair
Soundcard: Esnc STX & Bdynamic770pro
PSU: Be Quiet 700w
Default 05-09-2011, 00:46 | posts: 12 | Location: Red light district ;)

Which option do i choose for the gpu processor type (high or low leakage) in the new drop down menu? I have a R6950 twin frozr II.

Thanx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
NiscoRacing
Newbie
 
NiscoRacing's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 4GB (WC)
Processor: Intel QX9970
Mainboard: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe
Memory: 8GB DDR3 PC1600
Soundcard: Asus ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Lightbulb 05-09-2011, 01:56 | posts: 11 | Location: Amsterdam

Quote:
Originally Posted by stangowner View Post
Thx it worked
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Dublin_Gunner
Ancient Guru
 
Dublin_Gunner's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7850 2GB
Processor: Athlon II x4 645 @3.7
Mainboard: CrossfireX 890GX
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 05-09-2011, 09:11 | posts: 4,632 | Location: Dublin, Ireland

Quote:
- Added core voltage control for alternate revision of reference design NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 series graphics cards
Is there a list of which cards this supports?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default 05-09-2011, 10:15 | posts: 412

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dublin_Gunner View Post
Is there a list of which cards this supports?
The GPU is shipped randomly, so we have no idea which card or model will use different GPU type.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Dublin_Gunner
Ancient Guru
 
Dublin_Gunner's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7850 2GB
Processor: Athlon II x4 645 @3.7
Mainboard: CrossfireX 890GX
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 05-09-2011, 10:19 | posts: 4,632 | Location: Dublin, Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by msi-afterburner View Post
The GPU is shipped randomly, so we have no idea which card or model will use different GPU type.
Is there a way of identifying it? (revision codes / BIOS etc)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-09-2011, 15:14 | posts: 11,400 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by civato View Post
Hi Alexey ,

Update for the DUTCH localization , download here : http://www65.zippyshare.com/v/81715130/file.html

+ found a typo in the english : Program Files \MSI Afterburner \ Help \ Properties \ General \ = in the file "GPU_TYPE"

Hints:
- Graphics processor type selection affects curretnly selected master GPU only, please re-open this window after changing master GPU selection to select new GPU type for it.


cheers m8.
Thanks, Tom. Typo fixed and updated Dutch localization included in the distributive.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ketīs mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 05-10-2011, 17:27 | posts: 3,725 | Location: outside the Box...

Raster 3d overlay not working in hydrophobia provecy..
at first it works then i only see 3 numbers and they stuck...sry, cant make a screen right now ..but i get my camera...ill be back in a sec..

nevermind..works now..lol..dunno what happened..

sry..greetz Beta

Last edited by BetA; 05-10-2011 at 17:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Dublin_Gunner
Ancient Guru
 
Dublin_Gunner's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7850 2GB
Processor: Athlon II x4 645 @3.7
Mainboard: CrossfireX 890GX
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 05-10-2011, 20:44 | posts: 4,632 | Location: Dublin, Ireland

Wow.

It appears I can now change the voltage on my Asus GTX 570 DirectCU II!!!!

Excellent work UNwinder, as per usual!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-11-2011, 07:16 | posts: 11,400 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

A few more tips and tricks related to new raster fonts rendering mode in OSD server:

- In raster fonts mode the server is creating a texture with font on startup using TrueType fonts installed in your system. By default the server is using regular Tahoma font face, however you can edit the profile (.\Bundle\OSDServer\ProfileTemplates\Global) and change font parameters there in the following section:

[Font]
TextureSize = 1024
Height = -10
Weight = 400
Face = Tahoma
Load =
Save =

- Instead of creating font texture on startup the server can also optionally load pre-rendered font texture from 24-bit grayscale bitmap file and special map file defining rectangles for each character in ASCII encoding (4 32-bit values defining left, top, right and bottom coordinates of each of 256 characters in texture). Both .bmp and .map files should be stored in .\Bundle\OSDServer\Fonts subfolder, pre-rendered Bauhaus 93 font is provided as an example of using this feature.
This way you can create absolutely custom looking fonts, to use this mode just specify desired font name in <Load> field, for example:

Load = Bauhaus 93

Please take a note that OSD zooming is not supported for pre-rendered textures. There is also a <Save> field allowing you to save autogenerated texture with TrueType font to \Bundle\OSDServer\Fonts.
So now third party sking designers can also customize OSD appearance. If you create some good looking fonts for OSD - post them in the forum.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 05-11-2011, 08:29 | posts: 2,532 | Location: in your closet

I like using after burner, it seems it controls the fan better then the drivers do. with the drivers and using furmark I had 85c and then I started after burner and it kicked the fan higher and temp droped to 73c.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Dublin_Gunner
Ancient Guru
 
Dublin_Gunner's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7850 2GB
Processor: Athlon II x4 645 @3.7
Mainboard: CrossfireX 890GX
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 05-11-2011, 08:43 | posts: 4,632 | Location: Dublin, Ireland

Excellent stuff again Unwinder - might have a fiddle with the raster fonts this evening.

I'm highly impressed with where Afterburner has gone - I've used Rivatuner since the first versions many moons ago, and have always loved it.

And now that you've made voltage control work with my DirectCU II card, I have no need for the likes of Asus Smartdoctor.

Thanks again, and keep up the good work. I hope MSI are reimbursing you well for al your hard work - you've earned it for the years of dedication and support you've given to your software.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.