Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
RAM Matched Pair Kit vs Single stick Kits
Old
  (#1)
Lord Nemesis
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Dell 2007WFP, 2 x HD6950
Processor: Core i5 2500k @ 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB CL8 GSkill Ripjaws X
Soundcard: XFi Titanium, JVC HARX900
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default RAM Matched Pair Kit vs Single stick Kits - 03-29-2011, 15:57 | posts: 48 | Location: India

Guy's, I am in the process of putting together a Sandy Bridge based system around the Asus P8P67 Deluxe Motherboard.

For Memory, I was going to get 2 sets of RipjawsX 8GB Kits each having 2 x 4GB Matched Pair for a total of 16GB of RAM. Unfortunately, every dealer out here in my country is out of stock for the 8GB Kits.

However the 1 x 4GB Single stick kits are still available. Would it be wise to simply get 4 of these for 16GB RAM? Are there going to be any problems running Dual Channel with these or running at the rated speed of 1600MHz?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 03-29-2011, 16:06 | posts: 13,339 | Location: USA

go for the individual sticks. you will be fine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Azarobi
Master Guru
 
Azarobi's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD6870
Processor: Intel Core i3 2120
Mainboard: Intel DZ68DP
Memory: Corsair XMS 6GB
Soundcard: On-board/Antec lansing5.1
PSU: CM 600Watts
Default 03-29-2011, 18:52 | posts: 469 | Location: Karachi

Same brand, same timings.....you should be fine. I'm currently running 6GB @ 1 - 2 - 1 - 2 ( slot wise) configuration. The 2x1GB sticks are rated at 1333MHz, 9.9.9.24 (Corsair) while the 2 x 2Gb sticks again are corsair but a different model. They are rated at1600MHz but same latency (9.9.9.24) and have scaled down to run with the 1333MHz sticks. No issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Svein_Skogen
Maha Guru
 
Svein_Skogen's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: KVR1333D3N9K3, 24GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: Chieftec CFT-1200G-DF
Default 03-29-2011, 20:24 | posts: 1,231 | Location: Skedsmokorset, Norway

As long as the actual specs are correct the "matched pairs" is a lot of gimmick. And unless you plan on overclocking, save the money, and get some kingston valueram instead. I've yet to have issues with kingston memory, and I've been using them since I was 16... (With some off-brand excursions when there was a lot of money to save)

//Svein
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 03-29-2011, 23:00 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

I would heavily go against Kingston ValueRAM ... they are utter **** for overclockers ... I've had so many problems having it installed for overclocking. Even if I don't OC the RAM itself, it somehow bars my system to be overclocked.

240x12.5 = 3000 MHz is how my CPU is set, and since my RAM ratio is 3:5, that means I take my BCLK of 240 * 5 / 3 = 400 MHz ... DDR that and you get 800 MHz, which is the stock speed for my RAM ... and it will be unstable.

With these G.Skill RAM, overclocking was so much easier and I didn't even need to raise my voltage and I can even tighten my timings as well.

So from personal experience, I'd really suggest you look elsewhere for RAM than KVRs. I'd only recommend them for workstations but not gamer rigs.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Lord Nemesis
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Dell 2007WFP, 2 x HD6950
Processor: Core i5 2500k @ 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB CL8 GSkill Ripjaws X
Soundcard: XFi Titanium, JVC HARX900
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 03-30-2011, 05:54 | posts: 48 | Location: India

Ok Thanks guy's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Svein_Skogen
Maha Guru
 
Svein_Skogen's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: KVR1333D3N9K3, 24GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: Chieftec CFT-1200G-DF
Default 03-30-2011, 15:40 | posts: 1,231 | Location: Skedsmokorset, Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
I would heavily go against Kingston ValueRAM ... they are utter **** for overclockers ... I've had so many problems having it installed for overclocking. Even if I don't OC the RAM itself, it somehow bars my system to be overclocked.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svein_Skogen View Post
As long as the actual specs are correct the "matched pairs" is a lot of gimmick. And unless you plan on overclocking, save the money, and get some kingston valueram instead.
As I said "unless you plan on overclocking". No conflict there.

//Svein
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.