Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MSI Afterburner 2.1.0 released
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default MSI Afterburner 2.1.0 released - 02-24-2011, 09:31 | posts: 21,323 | Location: Guru3D testlab

After months of Beta development, MSI and Guru3D happily announce Afterburner 2.1.0 Final version. Thanks for all the feedback from you during Beta period. The new version uncluded support for the latest graphics cards yet also introduces a new feature called Predator -- allowing you to capture video's of your games.

MSI announced today that its Afterburner V2.1.0 overclocking utility and its Kombustor V2.0.0 testing utility is now available for all gamers to download worldwide.

The new version of Afterburner not only supports the latest NVIDIA GeForce 500 and AMD Radeon HD 6000 series of graphics cards*, but also adds the Predator in-games video capture function. Gamers can now capture all of their most intense moments in their favorite games and share them with the world on sites like YouTube.

Download here




Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
mr_47
Member Guru
 
mr_47's Avatar
 
Videocard: MS GTX680 Lightning
Processor: Intel®Core i5-2500K @5ghz
Mainboard: ASRockFatal1tyZ68 ProGen3
Memory: G.Skill RipjawX 1600 2x4g
Soundcard: onboard+ Edifier
PSU: Seasonic X 660W 80+ GOLD
Default 02-24-2011, 10:17 | posts: 120 | Location: Malaysia

cool test it right away..... first notice!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 02-24-2011, 10:41 | posts: 12,135 | Location: England

Nice... will install this tonight. I was wondering when the final version would surface as I haven't had any real issues with any of the recent betas; it seemed to be very, very stable for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-24-2011, 10:51 | posts: 11,516 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Full changes list comparing to 2.1.0 beta 7 includes:

- Added core voltage control for reference design NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 SE
series graphics cards
- Added new control shared memory interface for future MSI software products
integration with MSI Afterburner. New shared memory interface allows third
party applications to program graphics card clock freqnecies, voltages and
fans via MSI Afterburner. Such shared memory interface allows developing a
lot of useful external applications, for example smartphone overclocking
client applications connected to the PC server and remotely controlling the
hardware via MSI Afterburner and so on.
The SDK included in MSI Afterburner distributive contains open source sample
demonstrating the access to new control shared memory from a third party
application
- MSI On-Screen Display Server has been upgraded to v4.0.1 containing the
following video capture related fixes:
- Multiple videos captured during single gaming session are no longer merged
into a single AVI file instead of multiple independent AVI files.
- Some screen capture requests are no longer ignored when video capture is in
progress
- Fixed issue in uP6266 voltage control codepath causing setting wrong fixed
0.920V voltage instead of desired one when "Force constant voltage" option
is enabled

Also, the image in the first post falsely declares plugins support in Afterburner. We DON'T support the plugins, it seem to be an error of marketing department preparing the image.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
blackthesoul
Member Guru
 
blackthesoul's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x MSI GTX-970's 4gb
Processor: i7 3770k @5.0ghz [De-lid]
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: 16gb TG-Xtreem LV 2400mhz
Soundcard: Nvidia 7.1 High Def
PSU: Corsair AX-860
Default 02-24-2011, 11:20 | posts: 111 | Location: Hampshire, UK

awesome!! thanx for the update Unwinder m8, brilliant as usual
i really couldnt imagine using anything else.

really appreciate the great work as always m8
thanks again , take care buddy



   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
burebista
Maha Guru
 
burebista's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin F
Processor: i5-2500K Ninja 3 fanless
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec Signature 650
Default 02-24-2011, 11:41 | posts: 1,654 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Also, the image in the first post falsely declares plugins support in Afterburner. We DON'T support the plugins, it seem to be an error of marketing department preparing the image.
Oh boy, for a moment my heart stop beating when I saw that plugin support checked. Thanks Alex for bringing me alive with your clarification.

Anyway, thanks again for your hard work, as usual it's really appreciated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PhageUK
Newbie
 
PhageUK's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 5870 CF
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory: 6Gb Patriot
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 750w
Default 02-24-2011, 11:46 | posts: 3

This maybe a dumb question....but.
I gave up using the older version of AB as I was unable to get it to start for for non Admin accounts. That is I wanted it start at Logon for the kids with the improved fan profiles for their games. However, AB required Admin level access and would not run without the relevant password.
Is there any way of getting AB to launch at logon for a normal user, and allow them to benefit from the fan profiles ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 02-24-2011, 11:53 | posts: 1,491 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

Unwinder - thank you a lot YAY
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Detection
Banned
 
Videocard: 2 x 6850 - CrossFireX
Processor: Phenom II 965 BE 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: M3A32-MVP Deluxe
Memory: 4GB Corsair 1066
Soundcard: JVC Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 02-24-2011, 12:40 | posts: 1,055

Still forcing my 6850 max OC to 850Mhz - Fail
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
collinvue
Member Guru
 
collinvue's Avatar
 
Videocard: ~ 169 GB/sec. currently
Processor: E8400 @ 3.9
Mainboard: 680i SLi Pmod
Memory: Pi Blk. 954 @ CL4
Soundcard: >
PSU: x750
Default 02-24-2011, 13:26 | posts: 48 | Location: Great Lakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Full changes list comparing to 2.1.0 beta 7 includes:

- Added core voltage control for reference design NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 SE
series graphics cards
- Added new control shared memory interface for future MSI software products
integration with MSI Afterburner. New shared memory interface allows third
party applications to program graphics card clock freqnecies, voltages and
fans via MSI Afterburner. Such shared memory interface allows developing a
lot of useful external applications, for example smartphone overclocking
client applications connected to the PC server and remotely controlling the
hardware via MSI Afterburner and so on.
The SDK included in MSI Afterburner distributive contains open source sample
demonstrating the access to new control shared memory from a third party
application
- MSI On-Screen Display Server has been upgraded to v4.0.1 containing the
following video capture related fixes:
- Multiple videos captured during single gaming session are no longer merged
into a single AVI file instead of multiple independent AVI files.
- Some screen capture requests are no longer ignored when video capture is in
progress
- Fixed issue in uP6266 voltage control codepath causing setting wrong fixed
0.920V voltage instead of desired one when "Force constant voltage" option
is enabled

Also, the image in the first post falsely declares plugins support in Afterburner. We DON'T support the plugins, it seem to be an error of marketing department preparing the image.
+

Many Thanks!!

p.s...good to see ya around..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Zaim
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 Lightning BE
Processor: Intel I7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8PZ68-V Pro Gen3
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair AX 750
Default 02-24-2011, 14:48 | posts: 32

Cool, will install this now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 02-24-2011, 16:13 | posts: 11,993 | Location: new jersey

This just broke my video card...only joke'in

thanks its nice for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
fgw
Member Guru
 
fgw's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N680GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core i7 990X
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage III Extreme
Memory: Corsair CMT6GX3M3A2000C8
Soundcard: Realtek (ASUS onboard)
PSU: Antec HCG-520
Default 02-24-2011, 16:45 | posts: 115

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
- Added new control shared memory interface for future MSI software products
integration with MSI Afterburner. New shared memory interface allows third
party applications to program graphics card clock freqnecies, voltages and
fans via MSI Afterburner. Such shared memory interface allows developing a
lot of useful external applications, for example smartphone overclocking
client applications connected to the PC server and remotely controlling the
hardware via MSI Afterburner and so on.
The SDK included in MSI Afterburner distributive contains open source sample
demonstrating the access to new control shared memory from a third party
application
hi alex,

you know i'm a big fan of rivatuner and the plugin functionalty! you might remember my voltage control plugin long time ago? i still have not given up all the hope for a new release of rivatuner sometime ...

anyway, the new shared memory feature finally might make me to look into afterburner for the time being. sounds interesting to me!

too, happy to still see you here!

thanks for all your work!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Aix
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 580 3GB SLI
Processor: Intel i7 2500k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution
Memory: 8GB G.Skill DDR3 1866MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi TitaniumHD + AHD2000
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200W
Default 02-24-2011, 17:30 | posts: 33 | Location: Toronto

Can the Predator video capture feature record sound as well, or just video?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
SlazsH
Member Guru
 
SlazsH's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280x 3GB OC
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: z87 Asrock Extreme 4
Memory: CORSAIR DDR3 8GB @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Silverstone 750w Strider+
Default 02-24-2011, 18:11 | posts: 70 | Location: Japan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aix View Post
Can the Predator video capture feature record sound as well, or just video?
Tried it with bulletstorm just now, compression is great + not so much -FPS compared to FRAPS... but sadly it only captures video - no sound.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
erm
Master Guru
 
erm's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 560 1GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus Hp ipibl-la
Memory: 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek ALC888s
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750W
Default 02-24-2011, 18:31 | posts: 383 | Location: Italia

audio support will be in the future, I think ...
gogo Unwinder, we are with you ! ;D
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 02-24-2011, 19:22 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Thanks Unwinder , running very smooth.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
bliss007
Banned
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 580
Processor: Intel Q9650 @ 4.0GHZ
Mainboard: Asus Maximus II Formula
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator C5
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Enermax Infiniti 720 watt
Default 02-24-2011, 19:57 | posts: 1,587 | Location: Glasgow

Very happy, esp when it came with Kombuster update and now it opens a nice size every time instead of randomly changing itself even if I had set certain sizes (no clue why but was same on EVGA's version)!

All it needs is a Artifact Scanner like EVGA's and it will be even sweeter !

Keep up the good work Unwinder !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Fair Warning
Newbie
 
Fair Warning's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N470GTX
Processor: Core i7 870 ES
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D-E PRO
Memory: 8GB RipJaws 1600 CL7
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: CM Real Power M850
Default 02-24-2011, 21:40 | posts: 12

Quote:
Fixed typo in hardware database causing regular MSI N470GTX and MSI N470GTX Twin Frozr II graphics cards to be detected as MSI N470GTX Twin Frozr II Power Edition series and causing voltage control to be locked
my gtx470 is still listed in the program interface as a tf2.



   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Arctucas
Maha Guru
 
Arctucas's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI nVIDIA 560Ti
Processor: i7 950 @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: eVGA 141-GT-E770-A1
Memory: Mushkin998966 Radioactive
Soundcard: X-Meridian 7.1 2G/ Z-5500
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 02-24-2011, 21:44 | posts: 1,870

How do I get Kombustor to use both cards?

Last edited by Arctucas; 02-24-2011 at 21:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
bliss007
Banned
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 580
Processor: Intel Q9650 @ 4.0GHZ
Mainboard: Asus Maximus II Formula
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator C5
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Enermax Infiniti 720 watt
Default 02-24-2011, 22:03 | posts: 1,587 | Location: Glasgow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arctucas View Post
How do I get Kombustor to use both cards?
From start menu, though I guess you want it to open correct instance using AB's interface !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Arctucas
Maha Guru
 
Arctucas's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI nVIDIA 560Ti
Processor: i7 950 @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: eVGA 141-GT-E770-A1
Memory: Mushkin998966 Radioactive
Soundcard: X-Meridian 7.1 2G/ Z-5500
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 02-24-2011, 23:31 | posts: 1,870

Quote:
Originally Posted by bliss007 View Post
From start menu, though I guess you want it to open correct instance using AB's interface !
I do not have a start menu shortcut, nor do I have the Afterburner interface.
I run it directly from the Kombustor folder.

There was an option to use SLI, called etqw.exe, in previous versions. I do not have that in the 2.0 version.

Last edited by Arctucas; 02-24-2011 at 23:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
bliss007
Banned
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 580
Processor: Intel Q9650 @ 4.0GHZ
Mainboard: Asus Maximus II Formula
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator C5
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Enermax Infiniti 720 watt
Default 02-24-2011, 23:42 | posts: 1,587 | Location: Glasgow

You are saying you do not have this ? :





You have a DX11 GPU, what is your OS ?

Last edited by bliss007; 02-24-2011 at 23:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Arctucas
Maha Guru
 
Arctucas's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI nVIDIA 560Ti
Processor: i7 950 @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: eVGA 141-GT-E770-A1
Memory: Mushkin998966 Radioactive
Soundcard: X-Meridian 7.1 2G/ Z-5500
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 02-24-2011, 23:47 | posts: 1,870

No.

I never install the Start Menu shortcuts, I prefer not to clutter it up when I can always go to the application folder and open it from there.

I am using Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
bliss007
Banned
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 580
Processor: Intel Q9650 @ 4.0GHZ
Mainboard: Asus Maximus II Formula
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator C5
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Enermax Infiniti 720 watt
Default 02-24-2011, 23:50 | posts: 1,587 | Location: Glasgow

Do not see clutter after all they expand/contract and that is what its for !

At end of the day mines works !

My advise :

1) Install it and let it make all shortcut's inc desktop (not quick launch).

2) Do same for all your Bench/Stress Apps !

3) Make a folder with a name like "Bench/Stress Apps" or whatever in your DOCUMENTS Folder and give it a nice picture so it stands out and at glance you know what it is !

4) Move all the Bench/Stress Apps shortcut's to that folder so you can run them without messing about browsing C:

Last edited by bliss007; 02-24-2011 at 23:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.