Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MSI Afterburner 2.1.0 Beta 7 (2011-01-31)
Old
  (#1)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default MSI Afterburner 2.1.0 Beta 7 (2011-01-31) - 01-31-2011, 16:16 | posts: 410

MSI Afterburner 2.1.0 Beta 7 is ready, changes list includes:

- the official support of GTX 560 Ti / GT 440.
- Now Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 runtime libraries are included in distributive
- Hardware database is now configured to force fan duty cycle monitoring to be performed via slower AMD ADL SDK path on AMD RADEON 4870 X2 and 5790 series cards
- Changed way of unlocking unofficial overclocking on AMD graphics cards to make overclocking newbies think harder before enabling this functionality blindly and coming to support forums with fake bugreports
- Added alternate unofficial overclocking path allowing keeping PowerPlay active on some modern ASIC families during overclocking
- Fan control settings are now being forcibly reapplied after changing the clocks via unofficial overclocking path to bypass bug in AMD driver causin the fan control settings to be reset to defaults after programming PowerPlay table

To enable unofficial overclocking in this version it is necessary to:

- Set UnofficialOverclockingEULA field to the following text: I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
- Set UnofficialOverclockingMode to 1 to keep PowerPlay active (may not work on old ASICs), 2 to traditionally disable PowerPlay or to 0 to temporary disable unofficial overclocking path

The download link of MSI Afterburner 2.1.0 Beta 7:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/Afterbur...load-2604.html

Last edited by Unwinder; 01-31-2011 at 16:32.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 01-31-2011, 16:35 | posts: 9,499 | Location: Ireland

+1 for that Eula field

Also great that fans are reapplied after changing clocks to get around ATI's crappy API issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
psolord
Newbie
 
Videocard: 570 SLI/5850CFX/460/4850
Processor: Core i7 860/Q9550/X3-720
Mainboard: BigBang/P5QDeluxe/870AUD3
Memory: 4GBDDR3/4GBDDR2/4GBDDR3
Soundcard: Onboard+Onkyo+Bose
PSU: CM1000/Nexus850/Galaxy850
Default 01-31-2011, 19:50 | posts: 27 | Location: Greece

Great stuff.

Thanks for the frequent updates.

I don't see it, so it shouldn't be there, but I was wondering, do we have any progress on adding sound to the video recording feature of MSI Afterburner?

I have the feeling it is the best gameplay video grabber out there and the only thing it misses, is audio.

Also I was wondering, my GTX 570s seem to have a lowest voltage limit of 0.925V. Do I have to enable unofficial overclocking, in order to undervolt even more or there's nothing that can be done about it?

Last edited by psolord; 01-31-2011 at 19:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
davetheshrew
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: some green some red
Processor: super secret
Mainboard: super one..SUPER m'kay
Memory: moar ramz than you
Soundcard: logitech x 540 5.1+ x-fi
PSU: seasonic x 1250 :)
Default 01-31-2011, 22:56 | posts: 4,091 | Location: where shrews live

working fantastic, nice move with powerplay
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default 02-01-2011, 01:51 | posts: 410

Quote:
Originally Posted by psolord View Post
Great stuff.

Thanks for the frequent updates.

I don't see it, so it shouldn't be there, but I was wondering, do we have any progress on adding sound to the video recording feature of MSI Afterburner?

I have the feeling it is the best gameplay video grabber out there and the only thing it misses, is audio.

Also I was wondering, my GTX 570s seem to have a lowest voltage limit of 0.925V. Do I have to enable unofficial overclocking, in order to undervolt even more or there's nothing that can be done about it?
unofficial overclocking is nothing related to voltage limit of GPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
psolord
Newbie
 
Videocard: 570 SLI/5850CFX/460/4850
Processor: Core i7 860/Q9550/X3-720
Mainboard: BigBang/P5QDeluxe/870AUD3
Memory: 4GBDDR3/4GBDDR2/4GBDDR3
Soundcard: Onboard+Onkyo+Bose
PSU: CM1000/Nexus850/Galaxy850
Default 02-01-2011, 08:17 | posts: 27 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by msi-afterburner View Post
unofficial overclocking is nothing related to voltage limit of GPU.
Ok then. Thanks!

Keep up the good work!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
orion24
Maha Guru
 
orion24's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 680
Processor: i7 920 D0@ 3.99 (210x19)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7 v1.0
Memory: Corsair 12GB@8/8/8/24/1T
Soundcard: Onboard, Logitech Z5500
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1kW
Default 02-01-2011, 09:45 | posts: 816 | Location: Greece

The 2 issues I had with beta 6 are still here, althought I don't know if Afterburner is to blame. The one was about Logitech G19 LCD incorrect functionality of the buttons and the other one with METRO 2033 where it displays D3D11 while I'm using a D3D10 card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 02-01-2011, 12:25 | posts: 9,499 | Location: Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by orion24 View Post
The 2 issues I had with beta 6 are still here, althought I don't know if Afterburner is to blame. The one was about Logitech G19 LCD incorrect functionality of the buttons and the other one with METRO 2033 where it displays D3D11 while I'm using a D3D10 card
you do know DX11 supports DX10 cards too?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
orion24
Maha Guru
 
orion24's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 680
Processor: i7 920 D0@ 3.99 (210x19)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7 v1.0
Memory: Corsair 12GB@8/8/8/24/1T
Soundcard: Onboard, Logitech Z5500
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1kW
Default 02-01-2011, 12:30 | posts: 816 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmimmfn View Post
you do know DX11 supports DX10 cards too?
What do you mean?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
johnny87au
Maha Guru
 
johnny87au's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA 480's / Wc'd ek
Processor: 980x @ 4.6 1.34v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Ud7 Rev 1.0
Memory: Corsair dom GT hyperMGH-e
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte 7.1
PSU: Corsair ax 1200W
Default 02-01-2011, 12:35 | posts: 1,819 | Location: Only the best AU

Quote:
Originally Posted by orion24 View Post
What do you mean?
DX11 runs dx10 without having to run the game under DX10..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 02-01-2011, 13:34 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by psolord View Post
Also I was wondering, my GTX 570s seem to have a lowest voltage limit of 0.925V. Do I have to enable unofficial overclocking, in order to undervolt even more or there's nothing that can be done about it?
If you want to change the Voltage of 2D and 3D Lower clocks ,you need to edit your BIOS , the lowest FERMI can go is 0.825V.
The Voltage that you see in MSI Afterburner is the 3D Performance clocks voltage. Editing BIOS is for advanced user only !!!! http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=336117
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
civato
Maha Guru
 
civato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
Processor: core i7 940@4153MHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse SLI x58
Memory: ddr3 12GB@1800 Dominator
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme audio
PSU: 1000w Corsair
Default 02-01-2011, 13:39 | posts: 919 | Location: Look behind you , BOE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by orion24 View Post
The 2 issues I had with beta 6 are still here, althought I don't know if Afterburner is to blame. The one was about Logitech G19 LCD incorrect functionality of the buttons and the other one with METRO 2033 where it displays D3D11 while I'm using a D3D10 card
This is your answer on the DX10/11 :
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...3&postcount=15
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
orion24
Maha Guru
 
orion24's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 680
Processor: i7 920 D0@ 3.99 (210x19)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7 v1.0
Memory: Corsair 12GB@8/8/8/24/1T
Soundcard: Onboard, Logitech Z5500
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1kW
Default 02-01-2011, 13:51 | posts: 816 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by civato View Post
This is your answer on the DX10/11 :
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...3&postcount=15
OK I get it. I guessed I should haved used the search as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
psolord
Newbie
 
Videocard: 570 SLI/5850CFX/460/4850
Processor: Core i7 860/Q9550/X3-720
Mainboard: BigBang/P5QDeluxe/870AUD3
Memory: 4GBDDR3/4GBDDR2/4GBDDR3
Soundcard: Onboard+Onkyo+Bose
PSU: CM1000/Nexus850/Galaxy850
Default 02-01-2011, 14:04 | posts: 27 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by civato View Post
If you want to change the Voltage of 2D and 3D Lower clocks ,you need to edit your BIOS , the lowest FERMI can go is 0.825V.
The Voltage that you see in MSI Afterburner is the 3D Performance clocks voltage. Editing BIOS is for advanced user only !!!! http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=336117
Thanks for your input mate.

I figured these are the 3dclocks, and that's exactly what I am interested in. I found out that my Coolermaster 1000W Silent M Pro PSU was not so silent once my system's power draw went to around 450W (i7 4Ghz+570 SLI stock), but I found that by reducing the cards' clock to 600Mhz and the voltage to 0.925V, the system's power draw was reduced by a good 100W.

This resulted in the PSU going silent again while Crysis was still absolutely playable at ~60fps (Dx10, 4XAA, V.High, 1080P). I was just wondering if the voltage could be reduced even further so to reduce power draw even more and to be more in line with the reduced frequency. Not willing to go for BIOS fiddling around though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
LeonS.K.
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 6950 2gb CFX
Processor: i7 860 @ 3.6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ABS SL 1050w
Default 02-01-2011, 17:01 | posts: 1

I just want to say a big THANK YOU!! I love that Powerplay still works even with unofficial overclocking on my 6950. No more messing with 2D and 3D profiles. Thanks again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
erm
Master Guru
 
erm's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 560 1GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus Hp ipibl-la
Memory: 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek ALC888s
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750W
Default 02-01-2011, 17:04 | posts: 369 | Location: Italia

good job guys ! ;D
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
pokuly
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX660Ti SC
Processor: i3570k@4400MHz
Mainboard: ASRock z77 extreme6
Memory: 2x8GB GEIL Leggera 1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Music
PSU: 550W Super-Flower Gold
Default 02-01-2011, 18:30 | posts: 52 | Location: Germany

I am new to Afterburner and want to thank for this great tool first.
I got me a GTX560 and wanted to undervolt. Afterburner works fine for all my needs.
One thing that makes me wonder is how small the steps are that can be adjusted for Core Voltage. Are the voltage regulators really able or meant to discern these fine steps? Even if they do, does it make sense to have these small steps?
I like the simplicity of other tools that have fewer steps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
hanson
Member Guru
 
hanson's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX780 LIGHTNING/3G
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD80 bios V10.5
Memory: Gskill ARES 2133C9D-8GAB
Soundcard: Realtek onboard/T3030
PSU: Corsair HX750 +80Silver
Default 02-02-2011, 03:35 | posts: 54 | Location: Indonesia

Just curious is this new AB can unlock gpu core clock up to +200mv?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
johnny87au
Maha Guru
 
johnny87au's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA 480's / Wc'd ek
Processor: 980x @ 4.6 1.34v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Ud7 Rev 1.0
Memory: Corsair dom GT hyperMGH-e
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte 7.1
PSU: Corsair ax 1200W
Default 02-02-2011, 03:36 | posts: 1,819 | Location: Only the best AU

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanson View Post
Just curious is this new AB can unlock gpu core clock up to +200mv?
IIRC +100mv
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
hanson
Member Guru
 
hanson's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX780 LIGHTNING/3G
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD80 bios V10.5
Memory: Gskill ARES 2133C9D-8GAB
Soundcard: Realtek onboard/T3030
PSU: Corsair HX750 +80Silver
Default 02-02-2011, 03:49 | posts: 54 | Location: Indonesia

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny87au View Post
IIRC +100mv
Thx johnny, so untill now only AB 2.0.0 beta7 can unlock up to +200mv.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 02-02-2011, 04:27 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Please bring back the old documentation. I dont see any info on supported voltage controller's like the other versions in the readme.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
NitrousX
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 x HD5870 CF
Processor: i7 860 @ 4.0
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD80
Memory: 4GB Corsair XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 02-02-2011, 07:03 | posts: 24 | Location: U.S.

I've had this problem ever since I went Crossfire and was hoping if somebody could shed some light on this issue. Whenever I exit out of a game or when a benchmark changes scene (3DMark 11 for example), my fan speed automatically resets back to the default 22%. I am using a custom fan profile and I have it set so that both cards run at 35% constantly. Both of my cards are running the exact same bios and they are the running at the stock speeds of 900/1250 (custom bios). In the AMD control panel, both amd overdrive and manual fan control are unchecked so I am unsure as to why my fan speed of both cards constantly revert back to the 22%. Any help would be much appreciated.

Gaming : 35%
Gaming change map (ex - TF2 2fort -> badlands) : 35% -> 20%
3DMark 11 (ex - gpu test 1 -> gpu test 2) : 35% -> 20%
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
olapaulakoski
Master Guru
 
Videocard: msi hawk 5770 1 gb
Processor: phenom II x4 965 c3
Mainboard: m4a78l-m asus
Memory: Patriot 2x2 6400llk
Soundcard: realtek
PSU: corsair tx650tw
Default 02-02-2011, 14:02 | posts: 279 | Location: Sweden

Can someone explain what these unofficial overclocking modes do? What are the advantages of changing them?`I currently have 0 by default.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Dracozirion
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Club3D 6950 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 C0
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P
Memory: DDR3 6GB
Soundcard: Logitech Z-2300
PSU: Coolermaster M520
Default 02-02-2011, 14:09 | posts: 14

Thanks for this kickass new beta! I bought an ATI card a few weeks ago and by buying this beast, it was also my first ATI card I ever used. About one week after I bought it I realised there was this awesome tool named MSI Afterburner. When I started using it i immediately removed CCC because this program simply blows away anything of its kind. Besides that, I'm very happy with this beta 7 release, because now I'll still be able to use Powerplay while overclocking beyond caps. A feature I liked to keep my 2D temps low! Great work.

Edit: Powerplay tested and working flawlessly.

Last edited by Dracozirion; 02-02-2011 at 14:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
TFL Replica
Master Guru
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 570
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Rev 3
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750w
Default 02-02-2011, 14:47 | posts: 369

UnofficialOverclockingEULA is an awesome feature. Still think it probably needs a dialog box that opens on first run and forces the user to type "I shall not post on the forums before I RTFM".
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.