Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Max temperature for 6950
Old
  (#1)
cencsor
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Sapphire 6950 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X6 1090T@ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair HX-750W
Default Max temperature for 6950 - 01-07-2011, 06:28 | posts: 39 | Location: New Zealand

Hi guys,

Just got my new rig and a shiny new Gigabyte 6950 to go with it. Was just wondering what temps I should be getting on my card? I was just having a game of Dirt2, closed out, and heard that my fan was really loud. So i checked GPUz quickly and saw my temp at 71C.

As I type right now it's down to 55C, and usually in idle I'm pretty sure it sits around 47C - I will confirm this in a few minutes.

What is the max temperature for my card?

Cheers!

EDIT: Maybe this should be locked as I just saw the thread below mine..

Last edited by cencsor; 01-07-2011 at 06:32.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
robotman
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD7970 1150/6400(R9280X)
Processor: Fx8350@4.8ghz Antec 620
Mainboard: Crosshair 5 formula-Z
Memory: 12gb ripjawsX & Avexir
Soundcard: ac 850 realtek and creati
PSU: Seasonic 660 gold
Default 01-07-2011, 07:33 | posts: 894

71 c is fine, these babys get to 92c on furmark, mines idles also 47c+ on 50% fan speed and gets 70c+ gaming
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
cencsor
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Sapphire 6950 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X6 1090T@ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair HX-750W
Default 01-07-2011, 07:42 | posts: 39 | Location: New Zealand

Quote:
Originally Posted by robotman View Post
71 c is fine, these babys get to 92c on furmark, mines idles also 47c+ on 50% fan speed and gets 70c+ gaming
Oh, good to know. Thanks!

Also found out what was so loud that made me check GPUz. The CPU fan. I'm not sure why but it's spinning over 5000RPM on load compared to <3000RPM in idle.

Problem is that it is really loud and the sound it makes is.. well similar to when a cable touches the fan blades, best way I can describe it.. Maybe I'll upload a video. It's just an OEM fan, I'm planning to get a Corsair H50 soon, so I'm not too worried at this point.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
cencsor
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Sapphire 6950 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X6 1090T@ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair HX-750W
Default 01-07-2011, 08:04 | posts: 39 | Location: New Zealand

Apologies for the double post. I have uploaded a video so you can hear the sound. It is definitely the CPU, when the noise stops, the fan RPM goes down in SpeedFan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiAo1Nn3FKY
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
The Goose
Maha Guru
 
The Goose's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga gtx680sc sli-h2o
Processor: I7 4820@4.6ghz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus rampage formula BF3
Memory: 16g Gskill redZ 2133 ddr3
Soundcard: Recon3D pro series
PSU: Ocz ZX-1250
Default 01-07-2011, 11:33 | posts: 1,529 | Location: shropshire,UK

Sounds like its gonna take off,what make of fan/cooler do you use,cant see much in video
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 01-07-2011, 11:37 | posts: 4,855 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by cencsor View Post
Oh, good to know. Thanks!

Also found out what was so loud that made me check GPUz. The CPU fan. I'm not sure why but it's spinning over 5000RPM on load compared to <3000RPM in idle.

Problem is that it is really loud and the sound it makes is.. well similar to when a cable touches the fan blades, best way I can describe it.. Maybe I'll upload a video. It's just an OEM fan, I'm planning to get a Corsair H50 soon, so I'm not too worried at this point.
you can fine tune the rpms using software and fan profiles ........based on temps .....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
cencsor
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Sapphire 6950 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X6 1090T@ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair HX-750W
Default 01-07-2011, 11:41 | posts: 39 | Location: New Zealand

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Goose View Post
Sounds like its gonna take off,what make of fan/cooler do you use,cant see much in video
Yeah like I said, its just the standard AMD heatsink/fan that comes with the chip. Not normal? It's only when the CPU is stressed, it's pretty much constant when gaming. Oh well, ordered my H50 for pickup tomorrow!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 01-07-2011, 11:42 | posts: 4,855 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by cencsor View Post
Yeah like I said, its just the standard AMD heatsink/fan that comes with the chip. Not normal? It's only when the CPU is stressed, it's pretty much constant when gaming. Oh well, ordered my H50 for pickup tomorrow!
you can use MSI afterburner and fan profiles ...... to fine tune your fan , almost for sure there is no need to stress the fan to 100% and keep good temps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
cencsor
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Sapphire 6950 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X6 1090T@ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair HX-750W
Default 01-07-2011, 12:04 | posts: 39 | Location: New Zealand

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibitato View Post
you can use MSI afterburner and fan profiles ...... to fine tune your fan , almost for sure there is no need to stress the fan to 100% and keep good temps
Cheers, I'll give that a go.

Nice program, although I can only change the GPU fan RPM, which isn't the problem. I'm pretty sure you can adjust the CPU fan speed in the bios.. brb

Last edited by cencsor; 01-07-2011 at 12:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.