Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Can't get CrossFireX to work. Fed up. Please help.
Old
  (#1)
Wan Nagashi
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 4850 x2
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Mainboard: ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo
Memory: Corsair DDR2 2 GB x2
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Audigy SE
PSU: Corsair 750 Watt PSU
Default Can't get CrossFireX to work. Fed up. Please help. - 11-25-2010, 03:29 | posts: 2 | Location: South Carolina

Long story short, it flat-out doesn't work on any PC game. SURE, MSI Afterburner shows both cards working, HOWEVER, it's not really. I still get the exact same results running two ATI Radeon HD 4850s compared to one. There's zero difference. I have been trying to get the fkr to work for well over a month now and I'm pretty sure I've tried and tested just about every thing except tinkering with the mobo's bios. I recalled reading something about how I'm supposed to enable something through the BIOS to get CrossFireX to work but I cannot remember what. Not sure if that's the prob but who knows. I am sick and tired of this BS and I need help. Also, I have tried using Radeon PRO and all sorts of profile configurations with zero results.

Here is all my PC info:

ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo Motherboard
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit (Build 7600)
Corsair 750 Watt Power Supply
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3 GHz / 1333 FSB
ATI Radeon HD 4850 1 GB VRAM x2 (CrossFireX Enabled)
Corsair 2 GB x 2 (4 GB total) 800 MHz
Seagate 750 GB HDD @ 7200 rpm
DirectX 11
Catalyst Control Center ver. 10.11

BOTH the SFIV and FFXIV benchmarks only shows that one video card is present.

I have been trying to get it to work on the following PC games with no results whatsoever.

Street Fighter IV
Street Fighter IV Benchmark
Call of Duty: Black OPs
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Final Fantasy XIV
Final Fantasy XIV Beta
Final Fantasy XIV Benchmark
Assassin's Creed 2

Last edited by Wan Nagashi; 11-25-2010 at 05:13.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 11-25-2010, 04:20 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Any CPU limited games that utilise less than 50% GPU (max) in crossfire will probably run faster with a single card.
Xfire uses a bit of CPU.

However, those games that arent CPU limited are where Xfire shines.
ATIs drivers arent the best for showing off crossfire though, try TwL or Von Dachs driver mods.
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=322616
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=331759


Benchmarks/games that dont run full screen will only use one GPU.

Last edited by Mufflore; 11-25-2010 at 04:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Sever
Ancient Guru
 
Sever's Avatar
 
Videocard: Galaxy 3GB 660TI
Processor: i7 2600k - XSPC Raystorm
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme9
Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Silverstone Gold 1200w
Default 11-25-2010, 04:24 | posts: 4,826 | Location: Land of the Great Downunder

the final fantasy xiv benchmark only ever showed one of my gpus when i had my 5850x2 setup so i dont think thats an issue.

from what i can see, your cpu is a bottleneck. crossfire setups require more cpu overhead. if you overclock that cpu, you should see more performance at all resolutions.

does msi afterburner show both cards at full load or half load? which driver set are you running? have you got the latest crossfire application profiles?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
amakusashiro
Banned
 
amakusashiro's Avatar
 
Videocard: two HD5770 in crossfire
Processor: Athlon II X4 635 @ 2.9ghz
Mainboard: MSI 790XT-G45
Memory: 3 gigs DDR2 dual channel
Soundcard: plain jane Realtek&ATI HD
PSU: BFG 650 watt
Default 11-25-2010, 06:27 | posts: 354 | Location: Arkansas

Yeah I got to agree, your cpu isn't up to snuff for a crossfire system really these days. You could always try the highest res and maxed out eye candy and see if you notice any kind of difference, but with that cpu, I'm doubtful you will notice much gain even then. Time for a upgrade.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Wan Nagashi
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 4850 x2
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Mainboard: ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo
Memory: Corsair DDR2 2 GB x2
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Audigy SE
PSU: Corsair 750 Watt PSU
Default 11-25-2010, 17:37 | posts: 2 | Location: South Carolina

I see. Well, I was planning to upgrade to an Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @2.83 GHz. That's the best I can do with my current mobo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Ti3Kob
Master Guru
 
Ti3Kob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX680 SLI@1398/7800 H2O
Processor: i7 2700K @ 5.26Ghz HT H2O
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V GENE
Memory: 16GB G-Skill @2.2GHz CAS9
Soundcard: Asus Xonar crap
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 11-25-2010, 18:21 | posts: 635 | Location: France

If I were you I'd overclock the E8400. It's a great chip to overclock, and you'll see quickly if the problem is here or not.

I can't believe an E8400 can bottleneck a 4850 Xfire that much. Remember that when 8800GTX came out, many persons did SLi them with some 65nm C2D and gains were absolutely normal (with a bad scaling, but big gains). 8800GTX and HD4850 have ~the same performances, so there's a problem for sure.

Don't play anything in windowed mode and try 3Dmark 2006/Vantage. If you have like ~13000 GPU score in Vantage, crossfire is working.
Oh, and don't disable Catalyst Ai because it will disable Xfire too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Brandon_34
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 690GTX
Processor: 3930K 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS X79 Rampage IV
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16 GB
Soundcard: realtek high def
PSU: Corsair AX 750
Default 11-25-2010, 19:07 | posts: 320 | Location: Basement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wan Nagashi View Post
Long story short, it flat-out doesn't work on any PC game. SURE, MSI Afterburner shows both cards working, HOWEVER, it's not really. I still get the exact same results running two ATI Radeon HD 4850s compared to one. There's zero difference. I have been trying to get the fkr to work for well over a month now and I'm pretty sure I've tried and tested just about every thing except tinkering with the mobo's bios. I recalled reading something about how I'm supposed to enable something through the BIOS to get CrossFireX to work but I cannot remember what. Not sure if that's the prob but who knows. I am sick and tired of this BS and I need help. Also, I have tried using Radeon PRO and all sorts of profile configurations with zero results.

Here is all my PC info:

ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo Motherboard
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit (Build 7600)
Corsair 750 Watt Power Supply
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3 GHz / 1333 FSB
ATI Radeon HD 4850 1 GB VRAM x2 (CrossFireX Enabled)
Corsair 2 GB x 2 (4 GB total) 800 MHz
Seagate 750 GB HDD @ 7200 rpm
DirectX 11
Catalyst Control Center ver. 10.11

BOTH the SFIV and FFXIV benchmarks only shows that one video card is present.

I have been trying to get it to work on the following PC games with no results whatsoever.

Street Fighter IV
Street Fighter IV Benchmark
Call of Duty: Black OPs
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Final Fantasy XIV
Final Fantasy XIV Beta
Final Fantasy XIV Benchmark
Assassin's Creed 2
Just give up crossfire and go with a single high end gpu. ALL benchmarks show big gains in crossfire because they are coded to take advantage of multi gpus while most games are not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
smoothcriminal
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX HD4870 1gb ZALLMAN
Processor: I5-760 @ 3.8 ZALLMAN
Mainboard: Biostar TH-55 HD
Memory: Patriot 1600 4GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Coolermaster 600 Silent
Default 11-27-2010, 20:04 | posts: 59 | Location: Monterey CA

You are CPU bound, Overclock that C2D and see what happens... Although it is still time to start planning an upgrade...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
nexu
Maha Guru
 
nexu's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD4870 512MB (@795/1085)
Processor: Intel E8600 (@4.4GHz|air)
Mainboard: Asus Maximus II Formula
Memory: 2x2GB PC2-6400 GSkill
Soundcard: SupremeFX & Carcharias
PSU: CM Real Power M620
Default 11-27-2010, 20:31 | posts: 1,181 | Location: Amsterdamned

Just wondering ... is your crossfire bridge secured properly?

And no, His E8400 shouldn't be a 'CPU bottleneck' for HD4850 that cause it not working at all. Al tho if he OC it he would see less of that happening in certain games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 11-28-2010, 00:04 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

It used to be the case that high end CPUs were easily fast enough for most games.
I'm seeing more games now that are too much for even my quad at 4.2GHz.
Some games cant even push a single 5770 to the max due to lack of cpu power/bad optimisation.
Bleeding crazy it is!!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
smoothcriminal
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX HD4870 1gb ZALLMAN
Processor: I5-760 @ 3.8 ZALLMAN
Mainboard: Biostar TH-55 HD
Memory: Patriot 1600 4GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Coolermaster 600 Silent
Default 11-28-2010, 02:46 | posts: 59 | Location: Monterey CA

There is no way that a C2D can feed two 1000 Gflop cards, Im sorry even at 4.0 ghz the cards would still have more left in them...

Last edited by smoothcriminal; 11-28-2010 at 02:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.