Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Overclocking with MSI Afterburner (At Users Risk)
Old
  (#1)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default Overclocking with MSI Afterburner (At Users Risk) - 08-18-2010, 04:30 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

This is not a MSI Afterburner section. Please visit http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=55 if you have any future questions. Most of us will be happy to assist and you may even have support from the actual Author of MSI Afterburner. He gets spammed with dumb questions daily in his PM box so please post all questions as a thread or a post in a relevant pre-existing thread.

The information provided here has been confirmed accurate by the author of MSI Afterburner - Unwinder.

Download MSI Afterburner

http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/..._download.html

To enable the unofficial overclocking in this version it is necessary to edit the MSIAfterburner.cfg file located in the installation directory of AfterBurner (typically Program Files (x86) MSI Afterburner):


You need to alter the following:

Seek UnofficialOverclockingEULA field and add following text:
I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
Set UnofficialOverclockingMode to 1 to keep PowerPlay active (may not work on old ASICs), 2 to traditionally disable PowerPlay or to 0 to temporary disable unofficial overclocking path

Using the unofficial overclock method opens up more freedom in terms of voltages and clock ranges, it however also can open a can of worms in terms of stability or weird issues.

Unofficial means unsupported -- we grant some extra tweak options to fool around with, but in no way, manner or fashion is it supported by Guru3D.com or MSI.

So asking questions about it in the forums .. is a no-go. Regardless, have fun with this feature and be careful to not push the card over its limitations.



Here is the Basic lock bypass for MSI afterburner:





This has only been confirmed to work with reference cards with no new or exciting non-reference voltage management with exception to MSI custom PCB's. If you have a card that this has worked with and it is non-reference. Please post the card here.

I hope this resolves most of the "I cant overclock or overvolt" threads. Feel free to link this post.

Disabling ULPS for crossfire

Here is how to do it:

Go to registry and disable Ulps:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}]

and change "EnableUlps" to 0 under the 0000 and 0001 or 0003 keys.

If this doesnt work, post it in the forum and I will adjust it.






Q: How can you tell externally if your videocard is reference?
A: By viewing the fan placement on the heatsink.

Example Reference heatsink:


Example revision:


Example 3rd revision with pci express 2.1


Supported video card list deleted as it is too tedious to keep up.

Last edited by Renegade8100; 06-15-2012 at 03:41.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ScaryClown
Master Guru
 
ScaryClown's Avatar
 
Videocard: Ati Radeon Sapphire 5870
Processor: i5-2500k 4.4Ghz on air :)
Mainboard: MSI P67-G45-B3
Memory: KingstonHyperX1600 8Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 700w
Default 08-18-2010, 09:49 | posts: 654 | Location: You wouldnt know anyway

Thanks for posting that.I didnt know i should enable
UnlockVoltageControl = 1
UnlockVoltageMonitoring = 1

even with 0 i could raise voltage.

I have 2 questions:
What is AUX voltage?(new AB feature)
And what are safe limits?
Thanx

Last edited by ScaryClown; 08-18-2010 at 10:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
illdrag0n
Maha Guru
 
illdrag0n's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX680 2GB OC
Processor: Intel I7-3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 16Gb 1600mhz
Soundcard: HRT music streamer 2
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 08-18-2010, 12:19 | posts: 846

Pretty sure my cards are duds. Even at 775/1100 i get instant BSOD on stress testing, and thats with your exact configuration.

hmm, ATI overdrive works ok at 775/1125

Last edited by illdrag0n; 08-18-2010 at 12:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 08-18-2010, 17:43 | posts: 11,410 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by illdrag0n View Post
Pretty sure my cards are duds. Even at 775/1100 i get instant BSOD on stress testing, and thats with your exact configuration.

hmm, ATI overdrive works ok at 775/1125
I get the same issue with my His cards. Its ULPS causing the issues, or so I've been told. It's a bios flash apparently if you want to overclock higher.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 08-18-2010, 18:00 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

I made this post because so many people dont even try this. it works for reference cards only from what i understand. ULPS is only an issue for crossfire I believe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
AbjectBlitz
Ancient Guru
 
AbjectBlitz's Avatar
 
Videocard: R290 PColorPCS+ 1250/1620
Processor: i7 2700k @ 5Ghz H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Gen3
Memory: 8gb RipJaws @ 2133 mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty pro
PSU: Crosair TX 750W
Default 08-18-2010, 18:39 | posts: 3,352 | Location: United Kingdom

Not had any issues with ULPS since about 10.3 so always leave it on now. Before I used to disable it as it would sometimes cause the dreaded GSOD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
ScaryClown
Master Guru
 
ScaryClown's Avatar
 
Videocard: Ati Radeon Sapphire 5870
Processor: i5-2500k 4.4Ghz on air :)
Mainboard: MSI P67-G45-B3
Memory: KingstonHyperX1600 8Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 700w
Default 08-18-2010, 20:55 | posts: 654 | Location: You wouldnt know anyway

Turning on those settings enabled me to OC higher and retain Powerplay

Last edited by ScaryClown; 08-20-2010 at 22:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 08-19-2010, 03:56 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScaryClown View Post
Turning on those settings enabled me to OC higher and retain Powerplay
Awesome man, glad to hear this helped.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
demowhc
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 3*HD5850 Tri-CFX 850/1150
Processor: i7 930 @ 4.41HT
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R
Memory: 6GB Gskill DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Antec 1200w
Default 08-19-2010, 04:20 | posts: 189 | Location: Melbourne

Quote:
Originally Posted by hallryu View Post
I get the same issue with my His cards. Its ULPS causing the issues, or so I've been told. It's a bios flash apparently if you want to overclock higher.
You dont need to flash the bios, just disable ULPS in the registry.

If you want to keep ULPS though, then yes you need to flash the BIOS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 08-19-2010, 04:50 | posts: 9,582 | Location: Ireland

@Renegade8100 good work dude, Unwinder gets a hard time from folk of the experienced to the non experienced ilk, however its great to free up his time so others can help sort stuff out and he can concentrate on the important things.

I think Unwinders work is undervalued in peoples experiences as they just seem negative on their own issues without realising the whole picture, and thats that Unwinder + MSI have provided an absolutely fantastic tool to help us all overclock easily( and were not even using MSI cards, so kudos to them too for allowing Afterburner to be used on non MSI cards )

Gotta say it, thanks Unwinder + MSI, you dont get enough credit, and credit where credit is due
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 (Agua)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 08-19-2010, 08:08 | posts: 7,861 | Location: UK

Yeah good skills renegade. Took me awhile to figure this out. Older drivers for me and xfire I find i always need to turn off ulps to get both cards to downclock in 2d mode.

Very helpfull this thread
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
AbjectBlitz
Ancient Guru
 
AbjectBlitz's Avatar
 
Videocard: R290 PColorPCS+ 1250/1620
Processor: i7 2700k @ 5Ghz H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Gen3
Memory: 8gb RipJaws @ 2133 mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty pro
PSU: Crosair TX 750W
Default 08-19-2010, 10:29 | posts: 3,352 | Location: United Kingdom

So you guys manage higher overclocks with ULPS disabled? I thought the only problems with it on idle when the card tried to downclock.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 08-19-2010, 11:08 | posts: 5,381 | Location: Switzerland

No.... this make months i tell to peoples to disable it... after build my CFX setup, i was just not able to OC with MSI afterburner, when i was click "Apply" ( on MSIA ), the pc was freeze ..... Thanks to Eva2000 for bring me the solution as he get same thing with 5970 ....

UPLS disable the second card when you are in 2D mode.. this can cause a lot trouble when you "apply" higher voltage, different clocks on a card who is completely disabled ....

UPLS is a good thing for stock cards, it's decrease the consumption of the system in idle, but when you OC, it give trouble**** ( and in many different ways)

Last edited by Lane; 08-19-2010 at 11:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Atlas
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD5870
Processor: i7 860 @ 4.0 / H50 p/p
Mainboard: P7P55d PRO
Memory: Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Onboard / Phillips
PSU: Corsair TX 650
Default 08-19-2010, 20:41 | posts: 1,329 | Location: The Netherlands

@Renegade, good job. Now maybe add an RBE guide for people to do this on their own Bios.

+1 for a stickie
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 08-20-2010, 02:11 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlas View Post
@Renegade, good job. Now maybe add an RBE guide for people to do this on their own Bios.

+1 for a stickie
Thanks man, appreciate the kudos. I took you up on that RBE. I researched the bejesus out of it, flashed my video bios a few.. dozen times and it was determined that even if you flash your bios, ati drivers lock down fan profiles to pre-determined stock.

Example: you set slope for fan at 50% at 15c, you can hear the fan spin up to speed until windows boots and drivers take over. The fan slope is replaced with stock. I will look into this more.

If anyone is interested in my bios http://www.megaupload.com/?d=80PTURCH THIS IS REFERENCE ONLY it is xfx 5850be modded to 800/1150 with a 26%/46c to 100%/89c slope. When not being harrassed by ati drivers, it runs roughly 73-74c peak in a 26c room ambient room temp.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
kevin
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 7970
Processor: AMD vishera x8 8350
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V
Memory: 16gig ram DDR3@2133mhz
Soundcard: on board 7.1
PSU: Coolermaster 850
Default 08-21-2010, 20:01 | posts: 312 | Location: Kolding Denmark

Where do u turn Ulps of then??
sorry if its a silly question.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Atlas
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD5870
Processor: i7 860 @ 4.0 / H50 p/p
Mainboard: P7P55d PRO
Memory: Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Onboard / Phillips
PSU: Corsair TX 650
Default 08-22-2010, 22:17 | posts: 1,329 | Location: The Netherlands

@Renegade, yes it's a sticky

@Kevin it's in the OP:

Go to registry and disable Ulps:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Cl ass\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}]

and change "EnableUlps" to 0 under the 0000 and 0001 or 0003 keys.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 08-31-2010, 01:51 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlas View Post
@Renegade, yes it's a sticky

@Kevin it's in the OP:

Go to registry and disable Ulps:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Cl ass\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}]

and change "EnableUlps" to 0 under the 0000 and 0001 or 0003 keys.
Thanks for the kudos. I recently moved but while moving I spoke with the maker of catalyst modified build and there is no practical way to get around ati drivers for bios level fan control. It really makes flashing the card almost a waste of time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Atlas
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD5870
Processor: i7 860 @ 4.0 / H50 p/p
Mainboard: P7P55d PRO
Memory: Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Onboard / Phillips
PSU: Corsair TX 650
Default 09-02-2010, 00:51 | posts: 1,329 | Location: The Netherlands

So, Ati will have full control over your fan settings trough drivers only? Seems dangerous, look at Nvidia drivers going wild over fan speed policies. The only other thing RBE is good for is voltage and gpu speed settings or so it seems.

Thanks to Unwinder then for a [insert many thanks] good tool
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 09-02-2010, 04:31 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlas View Post
So, Ati will have full control over your fan settings trough drivers only? Seems dangerous, look at Nvidia drivers going wild over fan speed policies. The only other thing RBE is good for is voltage and gpu speed settings or so it seems.

Thanks to Unwinder then for a [insert many thanks] good tool
Indeed. The drivers have a default fan profile for all supported 5x00 cards. The switch actually came recently as 4x00 and below are unaffected. I find bios flashing at this time to be retarded unless you use linux. It was cool that I could set CCC clocks to anything I wanted along with voltages I guess but meh if the basic fan profiles cant handle the heat alone without a 3rd party.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Atlas
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD5870
Processor: i7 860 @ 4.0 / H50 p/p
Mainboard: P7P55d PRO
Memory: Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Onboard / Phillips
PSU: Corsair TX 650
Default 09-02-2010, 16:02 | posts: 1,329 | Location: The Netherlands

I agree. I used RBE to change the default overclocking range so I could overclock in CCC and keep the powersaving modes. Not necessery anymore now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 09-03-2010, 18:08 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Tutorial updated to the latest release including the option to enable video capture in the config. If you still see 1.6.1, clear your cache.

Last edited by Renegade8100; 10-13-2010 at 18:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 09-23-2010, 22:28 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Thread updated to include AMD/ATI voltage control info.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 10-13-2010, 18:43 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Tutorial updated to the latest release including the option to enable video capture in the config. If you still see 2.0.0, clear your cache.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Neveris
Newbie
 
Neveris's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus ATI 5870 V2
Processor: I5 760 4.0 Ghz OC
Mainboard: MSI P55
Memory: PATRIOT DDR3 1600 GHZ
Soundcard: Realtek HD audio
PSU: CORSAIR 850w +80
Default 10-19-2010, 18:55 | posts: 24

I have Asus ATI 5870 , and tried to overlock with msi AfterBurner all versions...but trouble is with Voltage , MSi afterburner dont allow to take voltage...just Asus Smart doctor is working.

Last edited by Neveris; 10-19-2010 at 19:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crossfire, hd 6870, msi afterburner, overclocking, ulps

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.