Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !
Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D ! Please join the Folding@Home Research Program, join team Guru3D. Let's rank the charts high and fight disease !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Updates From Guru3D Folders
Old
  (#1)
Svein_Skogen
Maha Guru
 
Svein_Skogen's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: KVR1333D3N9K3, 24GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: Chieftec CFT-1200G-DF
Post Updates From Guru3D Folders - 08-13-2010, 23:45 | posts: 1,231 | Location: Skedsmokorset, Norway

I have merged similar threads into a single one which I have renamed. This new thread can be used by Guru3D Folders to inform us if any expected/unexpected downtimes, upgrades, maintenance,etc. {F@HTL}

I've temporary ceased folding. Just blew one of the aircondition units, and can't really afford the extra heat.

//Svein

Last edited by PantherX; 09-08-2010 at 22:01.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 08-13-2010, 23:53 | posts: 13,425 | Location: √╥²

no excuses, you're fired!!













jk lolz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Svein_Skogen
Maha Guru
 
Svein_Skogen's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: KVR1333D3N9K3, 24GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: Chieftec CFT-1200G-DF
Default 08-13-2010, 23:57 | posts: 1,231 | Location: Skedsmokorset, Norway

I really can't afford to blow the other airconditioner and bring down my entire setup, thus I'm switching off anything I can, until I can get a replacement in some ... 10 hours or so. (it's 00:52 here)

//svein
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 08-14-2010, 00:05 | posts: 13,425 | Location: √╥²

it was a joke, didnt you see the text in white..


idc do what you need to, no one is gonna hate you if you stop..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 08-14-2010, 00:09 | posts: 1,459 | Location: uk

no worry hope to see you up and running soon
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
dcx_badass
Ancient Guru
 
dcx_badass's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
Processor: I5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: 600w OCZ StealthXstream
Default 08-14-2010, 01:00 | posts: 9,861 | Location: Yorkshire [UK]

I don't think you needed to notify of everyone of a ~10 hour break tbh.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Svein_Skogen
Maha Guru
 
Svein_Skogen's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: KVR1333D3N9K3, 24GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: Chieftec CFT-1200G-DF
Default 08-14-2010, 02:22 | posts: 1,231 | Location: Skedsmokorset, Norway

I notified because ... 10hour is "best case" (if I can get some sense into the shop that sold the unit. This is the fourth unit to fail the same way since 26th may, all warranty replacement. Now I want my money back, because the so-called 12 000 BTU/hr unit cannot manage to cope with 2728 btu/hr worth of gear. My other 12 000 BTU/hr unit copes flawlessly, knock on wood, with 4092BTUs worth of gear).

If I can't make them see sense and refund me tomorrow, it means spending another NOK 6000 on cooling equipment elsewhere, and take my claim to the consumer ombudsman for refunding.

The unit in question is a Wilfa WAC12000 (Sorry, norwegian text site), and it's always the same piece that fails. The hot-air-exhaust fan. It's a radial fan, and seems to be made of cheap plastic. When the unit provides hot air (strange, the hot air exhaust is actually hot), the plastic expands a little, the blades on the radial impeller snags on its housing, and the 2000rpm+ radial fan simply disintegrates into a thousand small shards. Makes an awful noise suitable to keep you awake for several hours after waking from it.

I may have to get downright sarcastic with the shop about "expected life" of these units. Especially considering that the third unit failed 0900 yesterday, the fourth (replacing that one) failed 2359 yesterday. If 7 hours is "expected lifetime" for this unit (which carries a 5 year warranty), then SOMEONE ... needs a lot of pain.

Sorry about that, I'm a little grumpy over this.

//Svein
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 08-14-2010, 04:16 | posts: 1,205

Ah, I feel for you. I once had my AC removed for service and had to stop F@H and all other PC usage. Over here, due to climatic conditions, high temps (<50C) are a norm. During that time, my room was like a furnace as its temps rose to ~40C and normally, I try to keep it between 20C and 30C. I had to wait for a week Hopefully, you problem will be sorted within a day.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Svein_Skogen
Maha Guru
 
Svein_Skogen's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: KVR1333D3N9K3, 24GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: Chieftec CFT-1200G-DF
Default 08-14-2010, 06:24 | posts: 1,231 | Location: Skedsmokorset, Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by PantherX View Post
Ah, I feel for you. I once had my AC removed for service and had to stop F@H and all other PC usage. Over here, due to climatic conditions, high temps (<50C) are a norm. During that time, my room was like a furnace as its temps rose to ~40C and normally, I try to keep it between 20C and 30C. I had to wait for a week Hopefully, you problem will be sorted within a day.
I hear ya!

I've shut down all non-essential-for-internet-services (webserver, mail, dns, blitzortung-receiver,etc) boxes, and have set my laptop to max power savings (runs colder) to keep the load on my remaining AC as low as possible.

As for the furnace bit, I can ... fully understand. My file server is capable of heating most of the floor its on by it self (that's one non-essential-for-internet box that's down now)

//Svein
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Svein_Skogen
Maha Guru
 
Svein_Skogen's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: KVR1333D3N9K3, 24GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: Chieftec CFT-1200G-DF
Default 08-14-2010, 16:40 | posts: 1,231 | Location: Skedsmokorset, Norway

Well, new AC in house. New type, so I need to poke some extra 127mm holes in the house for the added external hose. Will do that on Monday, so I'll remain un-folding (and without my fileserver carrying all my music) and un-gaming until I'm done mounting everything.

The good part is that the shopkeeper agreed with me on the "enough is enough" and will return all my expenses (and then some) as soon as the banks open Monday.

He asked me for help writing a particularly acidic letter to the manufacturer asking who had the bright idea of sucking air from a 3.5KW heat element (the hot end of a 12000 BTU aircondition) using a plastic (flammable!) fan at 6mm distance. And then neglect to add any kind of overheat sensor, so the fan could go hot enough to deform before disintegrating. (the hub was visibly deformed by heat, and there was charring. I was somewhat close to starting a fire some 50cm away from my most precious files). When we dissected the carcass of the dead AC, we were astonished at what was a poor design to begin with, was complemented by bad material choices, and made critical by having no safeguards at all. Reminds me a little of the NGC series "seconds from disaster" (a disaster isn't a single fail, it's a chain of events, etc).

So ... the 10 hour has become ... 96 hours (optimistically 72, but realistically 96).

Anyways, things are now ... on track, and we can close this thread (or something). I started it to say "hey, I'm not just jumping ship after 24 hours, I'll be back as soon as possible" or something to that effect...

//Svein
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
brazen
Member Guru
 
brazen's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 570 SC SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7-950
Mainboard: EVGA Classified 3 (E770)
Memory: 3x2GB Dominator GT 2000C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Xense
PSU: Corsair AX-1200
Default 08-14-2010, 17:37 | posts: 61 | Location: The Home of Heineken [NL]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svein_Skogen View Post
... sucking air from a 3.5KW heat element (the hot end of a 12000 BTU aircondition) using a plastic (flammable!) fan at 6mm distance.
Makes the whole sensor and whatnot part irrelevant, doesn't it? Can't believe the thought process that went into that.

Anyway, I'm just glad you got it solved in a permanent way.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Svein_Skogen
Maha Guru
 
Svein_Skogen's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: KVR1333D3N9K3, 24GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: Chieftec CFT-1200G-DF
Default 08-16-2010, 08:54 | posts: 1,231 | Location: Skedsmokorset, Norway

Back. In. Business.

And the new AC is frighteningly efficient. Makes me wonder if the old one really WAS its claimed 12 000 BTU. But that might just be the difference between "Made in China, labelled in Sweden" and "Made in Düsseldorf, Germany"...

//Svein
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 08-16-2010, 12:24 | posts: 21,103 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svein_Skogen View Post
Back. In. Business.

And the new AC is frighteningly efficient. Makes me wonder if the old one really WAS its claimed 12 000 BTU. But that might just be the difference between "Made in China, labelled in Sweden" and "Made in Düsseldorf, Germany"...

//Svein
Happens a lot with new technology, it continuesly evolves


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Svein_Skogen
Maha Guru
 
Svein_Skogen's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: KVR1333D3N9K3, 24GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: Chieftec CFT-1200G-DF
Default 08-16-2010, 13:17 | posts: 1,231 | Location: Skedsmokorset, Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Happens a lot with new technology, it continuesly evolves
Nah. This is "same generation", and (on paper) same spec (12 000 BTU/Hr). The main difference between the machines can be summed up as better (yet a little more complex) design.

The fun part, is that the more complex one is actually made so it's easier to service as well.

And to be quite honest, I trust "Quality controlled by <two german signatures with pen here>" infinitely more than a generic (anonymous!) "QC OK" sticker. Especially since the previous ones that failed had the same "QC OK" sticker. Including the one that almost started a fire.

But, the important thing, is that I'm back to "pulling my weight" for the team again.

Or was the important thing "my computers now have adequate cooling"? I don't remember.

//Svein
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
PhatKat
Banned
 
PhatKat's Avatar
 
Videocard: Hawk 5770 1.02G/1.4G H2O
Processor: Q9550 4.1GHz on H2O
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Memory: HyperX 2x2GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: SilverStone 600W Modular
Default 08-17-2010, 07:46 | posts: 3,798 | Location: In a trashcan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svein_Skogen View Post
Back. In. Business.

And the new AC is frighteningly efficient. Makes me wonder if the old one really WAS its claimed 12 000 BTU. But that might just be the difference between "Made in China, labelled in Sweden" and "Made in Düsseldorf, Germany"...

//Svein


There's no way that piece of donkey crap was doing even half of its' rated abilities. You are fortunate to not have burned down your house.
   
Reply With Quote
Sorry ...
Old
  (#16)
brazen
Member Guru
 
brazen's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 570 SC SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7-950
Mainboard: EVGA Classified 3 (E770)
Memory: 3x2GB Dominator GT 2000C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Xense
PSU: Corsair AX-1200
Default Sorry ... - 08-28-2010, 10:27 | posts: 61 | Location: The Home of Heineken [NL]

... been off-line for a bit. Installed a new cooler, which wasn't too bad, but right after I fired up my PC again my modem went down. Of course, I thought the two were related at the time since I'm such a big n00b, but they weren't.

All should be well again and I'm back in the game!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 08-28-2010, 11:50 | posts: 1,459 | Location: uk

good good to see you up and running, everbody get down time
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 08-28-2010, 13:20 | posts: 1,205

Glad that everything worked out well for you. Right now, I am loosing ~20K PPD as there appears to be a shortage of bigadv WUs I really hope that they bring the new Server online soon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 08-28-2010, 14:25 | posts: 1,459 | Location: uk

yer hope the come soon i dont want these 6701/2 it killing my ppd
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 08-28-2010, 19:52 | posts: 16,492 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen View Post
... been off-line for a bit. Installed a new cooler, which wasn't too bad, but right after I fired up my PC again my modem went down. Of course, I thought the two were related at the time since I'm such a big n00b, but they weren't.

All should be well again and I'm back in the game!
Don't feel bad.....I'm down right now due to a melted GTX460... Soon as I can get it replaced I'll be back though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
brazen
Member Guru
 
brazen's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 570 SC SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7-950
Mainboard: EVGA Classified 3 (E770)
Memory: 3x2GB Dominator GT 2000C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Xense
PSU: Corsair AX-1200
Default 08-28-2010, 20:09 | posts: 61 | Location: The Home of Heineken [NL]

Man, I've always been on Macs (still am, as I use them at work), but I've been bitten by the PC bug. This is my first serious system, just installed the Noctua NH-D14 and the difference is awesome. I'm really eyeing the 460 at the moment, but will hold off until end of this year since there seems to be a lot of good stuff on the brink of coming out.

I can feel your pain of a lost 460.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 08-29-2010, 13:10 | posts: 16,492 | Location: US East Coast

If you want to run F@H on GPU...nVidia is the way to go until the devs learn how to code for ATI properly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 09-08-2010, 16:08 | posts: 18,443 | Location: Turkey

{Edited}

iam out of my city so my FOLDING PCs r not running..at to notice.

Post edited and moved to a new thread {F@HTL}

Last edited by PantherX; 09-08-2010 at 22:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
PantherX
Folding@Home Team Leader
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 650 & GTX 660 Ti
Processor: i7-860 @ 3800 {1.33125V}
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD5
Memory: Kingstston HyperX 8 GB
Soundcard: What's that?
PSU: Zalman 750 Watts
Default 09-08-2010, 22:10 | posts: 1,205

I appreciate it when users inform us if anyone is having a downtime for F@H. To make this process more easy, I have merged similar threads into one.

Wish you all Happy Folding
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Svein_Skogen
Maha Guru
 
Svein_Skogen's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA
Processor: Intel i7-950
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: KVR1333D3N9K3, 24GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: Chieftec CFT-1200G-DF
Default 09-09-2010, 09:48 | posts: 1,231 | Location: Skedsmokorset, Norway

Ahh, thanks for reminding me.

I've stopped folding on two my my servers (not my prime workstation), since I had some priority issues with the folding processes ... not playing nice with some other (and needed, prime function) of these servers. I'll start investigating how to make folding "play nice" with those servers when I'm done with the current to-new-hardware migration (I'm moving stuff from software iSCSI backends for the VMs to a san solution). This means I'm down from 12 clients to 7 for the time being, but with the prospect of getting up to 15 when I'm done, so all in all it's for the better.

I allowed the now-shut-down clients (as in no longer autostarting) to finish their units before stopping them.

//Svein
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.