Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Is speedtest.net fabricating my bandwidth speeds?
Old
  (#1)
Dare365
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 7970
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme4
Memory: DDR3 1333 8GB
Soundcard: HT Omega CLARO halo
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W
Default Is speedtest.net fabricating my bandwidth speeds? - 08-01-2010, 20:01 | posts: 81 | Location: New York

I'm an Optimum Online Boost user and I've been looking at speedtest.net on a daily basis for the past week now, and I consistently get these results.



The thing that is interesting about these results is that I can't seem to replicate them on ANY other speed test site.

http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/


http://www.bandwidthplace.com/


http://reviews.cnet.com/internet-speed-test/


http://testinternetspeed.org/


Another reason I am skeptical is that when I was first reporting slow bandwidth speeds(2 mb/s down, 5 mb/s up when I pay for 30 down, 15 up) they sent a technician over who claimed it was the modem. After replacing the modem, he insisted that we use speedtest.net to test the bandwidth.

Am I just being paranoid, or do I actually have something to be concerned about here?

Last edited by Dare365; 08-01-2010 at 20:07.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 08-01-2010, 21:08 | posts: 11,415 | Location: England

Just compared Speedtest.net against four other providers and got nearly exactly the same results from them all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Zer0K3wL
Banned
 
Videocard: gtx 480 850/1700/2000 h2o
Processor: i7 920 c0 @ 3,8 ghz h2o
Mainboard: P6X58D Premium
Memory: 3x 2gb ddr3 1603 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: tx-nr609+S606 HCS3+sub
PSU: Antec TPQ-850
Default 08-01-2010, 21:23 | posts: 3,088

get a networking gadget

not all nodes are fast on speedtest.net also.
every node is mostly just for advertising anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PhatKat
Banned
 
PhatKat's Avatar
 
Videocard: Hawk 5770 1.02G/1.4G H2O
Processor: Q9550 4.1GHz on H2O
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Memory: HyperX 2x2GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: SilverStone 600W Modular
Default 08-01-2010, 21:23 | posts: 3,808 | Location: In a trashcan

Given how open-source PC's are, I bet you have a software conflict.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Dare365
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 7970
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme4
Memory: DDR3 1333 8GB
Soundcard: HT Omega CLARO halo
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W
Default 08-01-2010, 21:37 | posts: 81 | Location: New York

Quote:
Originally Posted by hallryu View Post
Just compared Speedtest.net against four other providers and got nearly exactly the same results from them all.
My skepticism lies with Optimum Online technicians only paying attention to results from speedtest.net, which also happens to give 300% better results than any other speed test site. I have seen the broadband speed thread, and all of your results seem fine and justifiable, but I can't help but feel a bit paranoid towards Optimum Online. Boost is a service I pay $10 extra for and I would hope that my $10 isn't simply going towards good results on speedtest.net.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0kewl View Post
get a networking gadget

not all nodes are fast on speedtest.net also.
every node is mostly just for advertising anyway.


I'm kind of a networking nub, what exactly is a networking gadget and are there any sites that you guys find more reliable for speed tests? I always felt that the speakeasy site was the most reliable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhatKat View Post
Given how open-source PC's are, I bet you have a software conflict.
In what sense? I've connected directly to my Modem, so I know its not the router, and I've also used my netbook which I don't typically take online, but doesn't have any anti-virus or firewall, in fact, the only software my netbook has on it is Open Office, I use it purely for school.

Last edited by Dare365; 08-01-2010 at 21:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PhatKat
Banned
 
PhatKat's Avatar
 
Videocard: Hawk 5770 1.02G/1.4G H2O
Processor: Q9550 4.1GHz on H2O
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Memory: HyperX 2x2GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: SilverStone 600W Modular
Default 08-01-2010, 21:59 | posts: 3,808 | Location: In a trashcan

Who knows, I kinda made that up. Just guessing. It may be your ISP, some kind of sillyness on their end. Maybe call 'em and ask?

Last edited by PhatKat; 08-01-2010 at 23:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
soddit112
Master Guru
 
soddit112's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 GTX560 Ti
Processor: Intel i5-2500k @4.2GHz
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: X-FI ExtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair HX520
Default 08-02-2010, 11:16 | posts: 243 | Location: Yorkshire, UK

try running the tests again, but monitoring your network speeds in something like Task Manager, to see if it is flat-out lying.

i think some ISPs might give special status to speedtest.net traffic, since so many people use it to judge the quality of their lines. i wonder if running the test through a proxy server would give different results?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
angershark
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 280x Matrix
Processor: Intel i5 3570k
Mainboard: P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: Ripjaws-X F3-14900
Soundcard: STU/HD650
PSU: Seasonic X-750
Default 08-02-2010, 21:17 | posts: 326 | Location: ?

I like http://www.testmy.net/ for testing sustained download speeds.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Dare365
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 7970
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme4
Memory: DDR3 1333 8GB
Soundcard: HT Omega CLARO halo
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W
Default 08-02-2010, 22:09 | posts: 81 | Location: New York

Quote:
Originally Posted by angershark View Post
I like http://www.testmy.net/ for testing sustained download speeds.
Just tried it today, results were somewhat the same.

:::.. Download Stats ..:::
Download Connection is:: 8666 Kbps about 8.7 Mbps (tested with 51195 kB)
Download Speed is:: 1058 kB/s
Tested From:: http://testmy.net/ (Main)
Test Time:: 2010-08-02 20:59:24 GMT
Bottom Line:: 151X faster than 56K 1MB Download in 0.97 sec
Tested from a 51195 kB file and took 48.393 seconds to complete
Download Diagnosis:: May need help : You are only running at 78% of your hosts average (optonline.net)
D-Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/stats/id-9NTVC2Q3A
User Agent:: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.8) Gecko/20100722 Firefox/3.6.8 [!]

Last edited by Dare365; 08-02-2010 at 22:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Dare365
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 7970
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme4
Memory: DDR3 1333 8GB
Soundcard: HT Omega CLARO halo
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W
Default 08-02-2010, 22:35 | posts: 81 | Location: New York

Quote:
Originally Posted by soddit112 View Post
try running the tests again, but monitoring your network speeds in something like Task Manager, to see if it is flat-out lying.

i think some ISPs might give special status to speedtest.net traffic, since so many people use it to judge the quality of their lines. i wonder if running the test through a proxy server would give different results?
Hmm, it looks like its not lying. The graph only rises to 4%-8% when I use any other speed test, connecting to the closest New York connection, but when I go to speedtest.net it jumps to 30%-35%



Could you recommend any proxies, I never really use them. =X
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
bradbb2005
Maha Guru
 
bradbb2005's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD4550
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 240-2.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M4A87TD EVO
Memory: 5GB DDR3
Soundcard: On board/HDMI
PSU: 500W
Default 08-05-2010, 10:59 | posts: 902 | Location: New York

Did you get the same result on other servers? try the montreal server it has always been reliable for me.



My ISP test site speedtest.charter.com says 17.6MBD, 2MBU server is like less than a mile down the road.

Last edited by bradbb2005; 08-05-2010 at 11:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
avivoni
Maha Guru
 
avivoni's Avatar
 
Videocard: 560ti 448 classified
Processor: i7 920 h50 @3.6
Mainboard: evga x58 3x sli
Memory: 12gb ddr3 1600mhz 8-7-7
Soundcard: X-fi
PSU: corsair 1000w
Default 08-05-2010, 11:12 | posts: 2,592 | Location: PR

but what speed u get when downloading stuff? try find a fast server to download something.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 08-05-2010, 15:16 | posts: 16,115 | Location: US East Coast

Speedtest.net is the same as Speakeasy.net. Same testing method. If you get completely different results from the 2 sites, your ISP is doing something questionable. Bandwidthplace.com, I'm rather surprised you got the results you did from. Last time I used the site, it rated my connection at 42k....yet I have a 15mb connection, as reflected by every other site.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 08-05-2010, 17:56 | posts: 1,255 | Location: Iowa

Is it possible that the connection to that site's servers is just that much better?

Are you much closer geographically?

Is there a difference in the method being used by the site that your computer/network/isp just works better with?

Personally, I measure my bandwidth cap by downloading from Microsoft.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Shadowdane
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780Ti SLI
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero
Memory: GSkill 16GB DDR3-2400
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Corsair 850HX
Default 08-05-2010, 21:05 | posts: 791 | Location: Virginia

It looks like you also have Speedboost on your Cable Modem. That basically doubles your download speed for the first 25-50MB of a file download to give the impression your connection is faster.

Speedtest doesn't use a very large file to test the download speed, so it always showing your "Speedboost" speed. Not your actual sustained download speed.

There is a program I have at home that will test your connection... it will show the "burst" speed and the sustained download speeds. I'll edit this post later and add the link to the website.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 08-06-2010, 00:09 | posts: 16,115 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowdane View Post
It looks like you also have Speedboost on your Cable Modem. That basically doubles your download speed for the first 25-50MB of a file download to give the impression your connection is faster.

Speedtest doesn't use a very large file to test the download speed, so it always showing your "Speedboost" speed. Not your actual sustained download speed.

There is a program I have at home that will test your connection... it will show the "burst" speed and the sustained download speeds. I'll edit this post later and add the link to the website.
I love seeing just how far "SpeedBoost" pushes the connection. I'm on a 15/2 connection....my download usually rates between 24mbps and 28mbps. Speedtest.net, Speakeasy.net and several other sites use the Ookla source for determining download sped.

   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.