Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Looks like ALL GTX 465's can potentially be unlocked...
Old
  (#1)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default Looks like ALL GTX 465's can potentially be unlocked... - 06-03-2010, 08:28 | posts: 2,373 | Location: 127.0.0.1

This is indeed interesting guys. Looks like ASUS has a few tricks up their sleeves to unlock 465's without flashing to 470 BIOS (and risk bricking cards without the 10 memory chips like the 470).





Unlocking software (from ASUS):









GPU-Z validation:

Before unlock:


After unlock:








Benchmarks:






Source:
Chiphell
(Refered from XtremeSystems)


#EDIT:
Uploaded pics to Imageshack as Chiphell has slow as hell (pun unintended) server.

Last edited by king-dubs; 06-03-2010 at 08:34.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Chouji
Ancient Guru
 
Chouji's Avatar
 
Videocard: 19 inch flat screen
Processor: 500 gigabyte cpu, FAST!?
Mainboard: The case is black
Memory: Ram? Male sheep?
Soundcard: Sound card? Like a CD?
PSU: duh, wall socket
Default 06-03-2010, 08:38 | posts: 5,633 | Location: In a house, on a hill, by a road.

Neat, this is good news for 465's.
I have a feeling it's not a guaranteed success though, but still, if you get lucky, it's a nice card.
But is it still worth the price to take the chance?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 06-03-2010, 08:39 | posts: 23,626 | Location: Netherlands

Asus released a tool ? wow !!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 06-03-2010, 08:40 | posts: 2,373 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chouji View Post
Neat, this is good news for 465's.
I have a feeling it's not a guaranteed success though, but still, if you get lucky, it's a nice card.
But is it still worth the price to take the chance?
Iunno.... according to the article (according to someone on XS's translation anyway), ASUS is BUNDLING this "upgrade" software with their cards.... so the success must be pretty high.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
Asus released a tool ? wow !!
Exactly
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 06-03-2010, 08:44 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

Quote:
Originally Posted by king-dubs View Post
Iunno.... according to the article (according to someone on XS's translation anyway), ASUS is BUNDLING this "upgrade" software with their cards.... so the success must be pretty high.


Exactly
Yup Great news and don't forget if fail it has reset to default feature
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 06-03-2010, 08:54 | posts: 2,373 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Let's hope the reset feature actually works Or there will be tons of RMAs

Oh wait, people might start RMA'ing if it doesn't unlock! (Phenom II X2/X3, anyone? )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
inklimited
Ancient Guru
 
inklimited's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6850 900MHz
Processor: i5 2500K 4.8GHz
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: 4GB XMS3 1600MHz
Soundcard: RealTek HD 7.1
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Default 06-03-2010, 08:54 | posts: 6,139 | Location: NSW Australia

[paranoia]

Do you think Nvidia will keep the prices high because of this?

[/paranoia]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 06-03-2010, 08:58 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

Quote:
Originally Posted by king-dubs View Post
Let's hope the reset feature actually works Or there will be tons of RMAs

Oh wait, people might start RMA'ing if it doesn't unlock! (Phenom II X2/X3, anyone? )
Real question is does it work on all 465 cards all brands with this ASUS tools
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 06-03-2010, 09:12 | posts: 2,373 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gembel View Post
Real question is does it work on all 465 cards all brands with this ASUS tools
NiBiTor -> Change to "ASUS" -> ??? -> Profit!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
StrangeArt
Master Guru
 
StrangeArt's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SC | XL2370
Processor: i7 920 @3.2 | True Black
Mainboard: Asus ROG Gene II
Memory: Corsair 3x2GB CL8
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic | Z-5500
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 06-03-2010, 09:20 | posts: 388 | Location: SA

Good increase. Pity you can't change the bandwidth and RAM
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
inklimited
Ancient Guru
 
inklimited's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6850 900MHz
Processor: i5 2500K 4.8GHz
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: 4GB XMS3 1600MHz
Soundcard: RealTek HD 7.1
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Default 06-03-2010, 09:25 | posts: 6,139 | Location: NSW Australia

[logic]

Asus is rebinning the 465s to find the good ones. Pack it with some unlock software, bump the price $100, profit.

[/logic]

Reasonable?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
NODO-GT
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 660 Windforce 2 OC'd
Processor: Intel Core i7 @ 4.0GHz WC
Mainboard: Foxconn BloodRage
Memory: OCZ 1600MHz CL7
Soundcard:
PSU: 700Watt
Default 06-03-2010, 09:26 | posts: 303 | Location: Georgia

does this tool ship with cards? or what?

is there any download links for that Asus Upgrade Tool?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 06-03-2010, 09:31 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by inklimited View Post
[paranoia]

Do you think Nvidia will keep the prices high because of this?

[/paranoia]
I assume that's why they launched it at a stupid-high price.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.8GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2134 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 06-03-2010, 09:31 | posts: 11,423 | Location: England

Like the old days! Unlocking features!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Norvekh
Maha Guru
 
Norvekh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970
Processor: Core i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 06-03-2010, 09:37 | posts: 2,665 | Location: Ohio

That's an interesting prospect if you can indeed have it be reversable safely. Otherwise I've just seen unlocking as too much risk and am willing to pay for the next level part. The risk to gain ratio just isn't as appealing as simple overclocking.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.8GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2134 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 06-03-2010, 09:44 | posts: 11,423 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norvekh View Post
That's an interesting prospect if you can indeed have it be reversable safely. Otherwise I've just seen unlocking as too much risk and am willing to pay for the next level part. The risk to gain ratio just isn't as appealing as simple overclocking.
If they are shipping it with the software there has to be a pretty good chance of it working!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 06-03-2010, 10:02 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

Quote:
Originally Posted by inklimited View Post
[logic]

Asus is rebinning the 465s to find the good ones. Pack it with some unlock software, bump the price $100, profit.

[/logic]

Reasonable?
I don't know asus gtx465 price but if its $100 more, i'd rather have gtx470 ... Not reasonable pal At least in Indonesia gtx 465 costs $326 and GTX 470 $380.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 06-03-2010, 10:10 | posts: 3,609 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

This doesn't sound like something ASUS would officially support with a software hack...I might be wrong...but I doubt it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Year
Ancient Guru
 
Year's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: Intel® i7 2600
Mainboard: Asus P67 Evo
Memory: G.Skill Sniper DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Auzentech Bravura 7.1
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850W
Default 06-03-2010, 10:23 | posts: 11,696 | Location: ♫

this looks like an unlock through softmodding to me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
lysaer
Maha Guru
 
lysaer's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4 x 780ti
Processor: I7 3960x @ 5.2ghz
Mainboard: Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Dominator 64gb
Soundcard: On-board
PSU: Strider+Enermax 1500/1250
Default 06-03-2010, 11:33 | posts: 853 | Location: London

My guess is that since Nvidia canceled the 470 there are 470 boards that still need to be used up and they are getting used on the initial 465 releases
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 06-03-2010, 11:37 | posts: 23,626 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Year View Post
this looks like an unlock through softmodding to me.
would you rather use a pencil ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
kapu
Ancient Guru
 
kapu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7970 GHz TOP
Processor: Intel i5 750 @ 4.0 /1.38v
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D
Memory: GoodRAM 8GB , 1600 MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer|Siberia V2
PSU: Be Quiet! E9 680W
Default 06-03-2010, 11:55 | posts: 3,642 | Location: Poland

Damn card unlocking, feels like i just went back time!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
fiika
Master Guru
 
fiika's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX570 810/1620/1980
Processor: Q9400@3.2 (400FSB)
Mainboard: Foxconn P45A
Memory: 2GB DDR2 800
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: Coolermaster Silent Pro 7
Default 06-03-2010, 12:12 | posts: 192 | Location: inabox

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrangeArt View Post
Good increase. Pity you can't change the bandwidth and RAM
Ahhh....we shall see

Full unlocking
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Copey
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 460 1GB
Processor: Phenom II 955 Black
Mainboard: Gigabyte 790X-UD3P
Memory: 4GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: Antec QP 850W
Default 06-03-2010, 12:39 | posts: 10,696 | Location: U.K

Quote:
Originally Posted by lysaer View Post
My guess is that since Nvidia canceled the 470 there are 470 boards that still need to be used up and they are getting used on the initial 465 releases
They havent cancelled the 470, they released a statement about it.

i do like the 465 but the price is just to high, you cvan get a 470 for £30 more over here, the 465 needs to be around the £200 mark.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
philheckler
Master Guru
 
philheckler's Avatar
 
Videocard: gtx470 SLI
Processor: i5 750 @ 3.6ghz
Mainboard: p7p55 pro
Memory: 4GB gskill ripjaws ddr3
Soundcard: asus xonar DX
PSU: Corsair hx850
Default 06-03-2010, 12:43 | posts: 775 | Location: S.WALES UK

Yep - i got a 470 form Aria.co.uk yesterday for 270 quid - much rather pay extra and get a pukka 470 myself .....
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.