Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Will a new monitor increase fps?
Old
  (#1)
K.S.
Master Guru
 
K.S.'s Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX Titan SC. SLI
Processor: Core i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79-E WS
Memory: Ripjaws X DDR3-2133 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150, NV HDMI
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200W
Default Will a new monitor increase fps? - 05-11-2010, 02:34 | posts: 763 | Location: Honolulu, Hawaii

I currently am using a 22' widescreen monitor at 1680x1050, will going to a monitor with 1920x1080 increase my fps?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Jae-So
Ancient Guru
 
Jae-So's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460OC SLI
Processor: i5 750 @3.6GHz/ H50
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD4
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-11-2010, 02:36 | posts: 6,724 | Location: Bristol, UK

lol no, higher res will decrease ur frames, more pixels bein rendered n all
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Li4m79
Ancient Guru
 
Li4m79's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xPalit GTX770 Jetstream
Processor: i5 4670k@4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus z87-Pro
Memory: 8Gb - Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: oboard
PSU: Corsair RM 750w
Default 05-11-2010, 02:37 | posts: 4,895 | Location: Scotland

if you get a 640x480 monitor you will see a significant fps increase
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
davetheshrew
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: some green some red
Processor: super secret
Mainboard: super one..SUPER m'kay
Memory: moar ramz than you
Soundcard: logitech x 540 5.1+ x-fi
PSU: seasonic x 1250 :)
Default 05-11-2010, 02:40 | posts: 4,091 | Location: where shrews live

you shouldnt have a problem with those cards mate, the difference will be marginal at best, go for it bud
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
K.S.
Master Guru
 
K.S.'s Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX Titan SC. SLI
Processor: Core i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79-E WS
Memory: Ripjaws X DDR3-2133 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150, NV HDMI
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200W
Default 05-11-2010, 02:48 | posts: 763 | Location: Honolulu, Hawaii

huh, won't higher res put more stress on the video cards?, for instance aren't I more cpu-bound at my current res?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Jae-So
Ancient Guru
 
Jae-So's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460OC SLI
Processor: i5 750 @3.6GHz/ H50
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD4
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-11-2010, 02:51 | posts: 6,724 | Location: Bristol, UK

ur not CPU limited enough at 1680x1050 and even if u were ur frames would stay the same rather than go up after upgrading the screen, also, I think 2x5750s would be more of a bottleneck than the phenom 940 @ 3.6 especially at 1920x1080
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
K.S.
Master Guru
 
K.S.'s Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX Titan SC. SLI
Processor: Core i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79-E WS
Memory: Ripjaws X DDR3-2133 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150, NV HDMI
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200W
Default 05-11-2010, 02:54 | posts: 763 | Location: Honolulu, Hawaii

so......should I be going for a better video card instead of a new monitor? or a new video card and new monitor? (1680x1050 looks nice, but 1080p is tempting...I just don't know what the requirements for higher res entail)


I made some extra cash so I'm thinking bout upgrading, especially since I can always sell my current monitor and video cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Jae-So
Ancient Guru
 
Jae-So's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460OC SLI
Processor: i5 750 @3.6GHz/ H50
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD4
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-11-2010, 02:59 | posts: 6,724 | Location: Bristol, UK

nah 2x5750s will be the bottleneck but u shuld still be able to run games fairly well on 1920x1080 with them, unless your unhappy with the frames you currently get I'd just go ahead and get a monitor for now, maybe 26"+ to make it a worthwhile upgrade
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 05-11-2010, 03:03 | posts: 13,425 | Location: √╥

Quote:
huh, won't higher res put more stress on the video cards?, for instance aren't I more cpu-bound at my current res?
lol not really, you could be cpu bound if you played everything at lowest settings or at reso 12880x1024, otherwise no.


btw

1680x1050 = 1764000 pixels

1920x1080 = 2073600 pixels

the difference isn't that small 309600 pixels.. you will put allot more stress on those 2 gpus.. and in the end you will have to lower some eyecandy like antialiasing or even lower textures to get around the same fps.

edit: ye like jaeso suggested, i typed to slow lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
K.S.
Master Guru
 
K.S.'s Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX Titan SC. SLI
Processor: Core i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79-E WS
Memory: Ripjaws X DDR3-2133 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150, NV HDMI
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200W
Default 05-11-2010, 03:05 | posts: 763 | Location: Honolulu, Hawaii

Yea......I want to switch to NVIDIA because the performance with my 5750s is a bit offset due to lack of good driver support. What's the NVIDIA equivalent for 5750 crossfire? Or is the Fermi a better choice? (I'm willing to buy one if the driver support is sufficient, and the physx is a nice bonus, but not a need)

Last edited by K.S.; 05-11-2010 at 03:07.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 05-11-2010, 03:12 | posts: 13,425 | Location: √╥

check the bench here - its crysis @ 1920x1200 2xaa
http://www.guru3d.com/article/gigaby...-soc-review/17
and you can compare your crossfire here
http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon...-crossfirex/16
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
klambre
Maha Guru
 
klambre's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 5870@ stock
Processor: E8500@ 4.070 Mhz
Mainboard: Nvidia 790I Ultra
Memory: DDR3@ 1333 Mhz 2GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX 1000W
Default 05-11-2010, 03:35 | posts: 1,724 | Location: safe place

1680x1050 = 1764000 pixels

1920x1080 = 2073600 pixels

loss in performance of 17.5%

its not much, test it before buy a new card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
K.S.
Master Guru
 
K.S.'s Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX Titan SC. SLI
Processor: Core i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79-E WS
Memory: Ripjaws X DDR3-2133 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150, NV HDMI
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200W
Default 05-11-2010, 03:35 | posts: 763 | Location: Honolulu, Hawaii

Well checked the reviews....and I'm definitely selling my 5750s for a fermi, BTW: Am I going to have issues with my cpu coupled with a fermi @ 1080p?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Jae-So
Ancient Guru
 
Jae-So's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460OC SLI
Processor: i5 750 @3.6GHz/ H50
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD4
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-11-2010, 03:38 | posts: 6,724 | Location: Bristol, UK

nah u should be okay, CPU bottlenecking is overrated
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
K.S.
Master Guru
 
K.S.'s Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX Titan SC. SLI
Processor: Core i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79-E WS
Memory: Ripjaws X DDR3-2133 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150, NV HDMI
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200W
Default 05-11-2010, 03:40 | posts: 763 | Location: Honolulu, Hawaii

Allrighty......thanks for the responses.

cant wait to get the new hardware
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 05-11-2010, 03:45 | posts: 6,559

If you get a higher res monitor of roughly the same size or only slightly large you'll be able to use less AA to make up for the increased res.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 05-11-2010, 18:00 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Cyberspace

Thread moved to:

General Hardware
http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 05-11-2010, 18:20 | posts: 2,516 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
If you get a higher res monitor of roughly the same size or only slightly large you'll be able to use less AA to make up for the increased res.
Thats a good point, i dont think he really needs to change his GFX setup. Hilberts review of the 5750 showed good returns in crossfire, only crysis warhead had trouble, and still hit 33FPS at 1080p

Im just about to get a 24" BenQ for 1080p im pretty sure my GTX275 will be fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Hammie
Master Guru
 
Hammie's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 560 Ti @900\4920Mhz
Processor: i7 3820 @ Sabertooth X79
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79
Memory: DDR3 1866
Soundcard: Xonar D2/PM & BX8a Deluxe
PSU: Tt Modularized 700w & H2O
Default 05-11-2010, 18:38 | posts: 352 | Location: Glendale, CA

Go all out get a 27" for around 350 to 450 ,,, gl
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Peter Buxu
Maha Guru
 
Peter Buxu's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GeForce GTX 280 OCX
Processor: Q9400 @ 3.39Ghz 1.33V H50
Mainboard: ASUS P5QL PRO
Memory: Corsair+GSKILL 8GB @ 852
Soundcard: Creative T6100 5.1 / 78w
PSU: Tagan Super Rock 780W
Default 05-11-2010, 19:15 | posts: 873 | Location: Malta

No gain in FPS!!!!!!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
naike
Maha Guru
 
naike's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH5870
Processor: Phenom II x4 965BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Memory: 4GB OCZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST & HD555's
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
Default 05-12-2010, 19:09 | posts: 2,021

why would someone play crysis lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 05-12-2010, 19:12 | posts: 2,516 | Location: UK

Perhaps because they enjoy it, duh. No one actually mentioned playing it either, its just a reference for measuring GPU power. If you can hit nice framerates in that game your pretty much good for other games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 05-12-2010, 19:14 | posts: 5,142 | Location: England

lol no, higher res = more pixels = more work for you gpu
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB FTW
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750G2
Default 05-12-2010, 20:23 | posts: 4,988 | Location: Washington DC

Quote:
Originally Posted by naike View Post
why would someone play crysis lol

Why would someone post something so stupid lol
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.