Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Intermittant net connection
Old
  (#1)
Pitman
Master Guru
 
Pitman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 260
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X38-DQ6
Memory: OCZ Reaper 2x1GB PC2-9200
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Gigabyte ODIN GT 550W
Default Intermittant net connection - 04-27-2010, 17:41 | posts: 540 | Location: Down the pits

I've got this really annoying problem at the mo where i cant browse smoothly. File downloads work fine tho no matter how big they are. If i load a browser (IE or FF) it will either load the home page fine or hang. If i load some more, they will either randomly load or hang as well, with the status bar in IE saying "waiting for reply". Then after a minute or so it will time out.

If I enter an address, it will sometimes load up at full pace, but then navigating it can either be smooth for a while then begin to hang, or i simply cant navigate to another page on the site. Sometimes refreshing over and over solves it, but sometime i have to copy the url and open a new browser. If i keep refreshing it somtimes loads a bit more of the page after each few refreshes but its still hard work.

Just done a fresh xp install on a different hdd with no service packs or any updates and browsing works flawlessly.

On my main installation tho ive tried all sorts to no avail:

- deleting temporary internet files
- uninstalling and reinstalling the ethernet drivers
- scanning with HijackThis to look for anything dodgy but it all looks fine
- scanning with AVG and anti root-kit
- repairing the winsock
- clearing the DNS cache
- tried the other RJ45 port, tho it works in either on the fresh install.

I tried to restore the OS to an earlier time, and found an odd install that i didnt know about called Wdf01007. If i try and restore to before this time it wont have it. I cant find much solid info on google about this Wdf01007 and it doesnt even show the in Add/Remove programs and updates list. Not sure if that could be an issue?

Anyone that could help sort this without me having to reinstall xp from fresh wud be a hero! cheers
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pitman
Master Guru
 
Pitman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 260
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X38-DQ6
Memory: OCZ Reaper 2x1GB PC2-9200
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Gigabyte ODIN GT 550W
Default 04-28-2010, 15:33 | posts: 540 | Location: Down the pits

Hmm ive just uninstalled AVG 9 Free and the problem has gone. That Wdf01007 was a thing called Microsoft Kernel-Mode Driver Framework Feature Pack 1.7 and had nothing what so ever to do with the problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
JoReLiTo
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 260 gtx 216 cores
Processor: Intel core i7 920 stock
Mainboard: X58 EVGA 758-TR
Memory: DDR3 1600 MHZ (3X2GIGAS)
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 750 TX
Default 04-29-2010, 15:54 | posts: 19 | Location: Panama

oh great it got solved, did you report about it into AVG Forums?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Pitman
Master Guru
 
Pitman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 260
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X38-DQ6
Memory: OCZ Reaper 2x1GB PC2-9200
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Gigabyte ODIN GT 550W
Default 04-29-2010, 16:26 | posts: 540 | Location: Down the pits

I haven't reported it on the AVG forums, cos i think i may have caused it myself unknowingly. One of the AVG exes was giving the processor a hard time for no reason i could see, so i ended as many of the processes as i could. When i next booted and looked at AVG there were no components shown on the overview page. So i must have corrupted it myself and somehow caused it to knacker the connection.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
JoReLiTo
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 260 gtx 216 cores
Processor: Intel core i7 920 stock
Mainboard: X58 EVGA 758-TR
Memory: DDR3 1600 MHZ (3X2GIGAS)
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 750 TX
Default 04-29-2010, 17:15 | posts: 19 | Location: Panama

oh ok.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.