Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Catalyst 10.4a Preview
Old
  (#1)
KyleStilkey
Master Guru
 
KyleStilkey's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD SAPPHIRE R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz AM3+
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 16GB 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING-1300w
Default Catalyst 10.4a Preview - 04-21-2010, 19:30 | posts: 327 | Location: Freeport, ME

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...-a-Hotfix.aspx

The ATI Catalyst 10.4a Preview provides resolution for the following issue:
  • Long load times for new maps in Battlefield: Bad Company 2 when using a Windows 7 / Windows Vista based system with an:
  • ATI Radeon HD 5xxx series graphics card
  • ATI Radeon HD 4xxx series graphics card
  • ATI Radeon HD 3xxx series graphics card
  • ATI Radeon HD 2xxx series graphics card
  • The XP driver is provided only as an early look of Catalyst 10.4


Thanks CyberTronics

Last edited by KyleStilkey; 04-22-2010 at 08:20.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
KyleStilkey
Master Guru
 
KyleStilkey's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD SAPPHIRE R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz AM3+
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 16GB 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING-1300w
Default 04-21-2010, 19:47 | posts: 327 | Location: Freeport, ME

Seems like every time I go to install them, the ATI Install Manager crashes...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
CyberTronics
Member Guru
 
CyberTronics's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870 512mb 800/1000
Processor: Q9550 E0 4ghz
Mainboard: P5Q Deluxe
Memory: A-data 2x2gb 1066mhz
Soundcard: onboard Soundmax
PSU: Chieftec CFT-560A-12S
Default 04-21-2010, 20:04 | posts: 95 | Location: EU

installed them successfully. Screenshot on Vista X86 SP2:
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
buddyfriendo
Ancient Guru
 
buddyfriendo's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 480 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T
Memory: Corsair DDR3 1600 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard -_-
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 04-21-2010, 20:12 | posts: 3,419 | Location: New England - M@ss

Works great here, connected to a server and it loaded in 7 seconds compared to 30-40 seconds. Awesome!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
ehsancgfx
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia 560GTX & ATI 6770m
Processor: core i7 2600k @4ghz OC
Mainboard: MSI p67 gd65
Memory: Transcend DDR 3- 8GB
Soundcard: in built and Altec lancin
PSU: Thermaltake TX R2 450watt
Default 04-21-2010, 20:31 | posts: 76 | Location: Bangladesh

This driver got some real issues with 3ds max. the viewport tools gets invisiable. revert back to prior driver and its ok.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
KyleStilkey
Master Guru
 
KyleStilkey's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD SAPPHIRE R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz AM3+
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 16GB 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING-1300w
Default 04-21-2010, 20:51 | posts: 327 | Location: Freeport, ME

Fixed the install manager crash. Apparently a VC++ file was corrupted.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 04-21-2010, 22:47 | posts: 11,388 | Location: England

Driver & CCC version appears newer but others appear to be slightly older!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
sanel
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 6850 Cycl 1gb @ 940, 1200
Processor: PH II 1090T X6 @ 3,8ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair IV
Memory: 8gb 1600
Soundcard: HD onboard
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 650W
Default 04-22-2010, 00:14 | posts: 160 | Location: Holland

any benchmarks to compare them with 10.x?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
wallblow
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Vapor-X 5870
Processor: I7 860 @ 2.8GHz
Mainboard: P7P55D
Memory: 4Go DDR3-1600
Soundcard:
PSU: 750 Watts
Default 04-22-2010, 00:31 | posts: 2

I had random crashes on Bad Company 2 with the 10.4 preview, I could not play an entire game without a grey screen. I think this version fixed it for me, i've just played 3 hours in a row without any crash
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
VERRY
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati HD5850
Processor: Core i3 530 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Biostar TH55XE
Memory: DDR3 Patriot SL 4GB
Soundcard: Xfi extreme gamer pro
PSU: SIlverstone 500watt
Default 04-22-2010, 01:21 | posts: 28

what the difference between this driver and 10.4 preview driver ?

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=319760
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
BrainDedd
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS Radeon HD5870
Processor: Intel Core i7-3770k
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V Formula
Memory: Corsair Dominator 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 04-22-2010, 01:28 | posts: 156 | Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Based on the release notes, just that they fixed the Bad Company 2 loading issue for all the rest of the cards, not just HD5xxx.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-22-2010, 01:38 | posts: 1,550

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleStilkey View Post
Seems like every time I go to install them, the ATI Install Manager crashes...
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleStilkey View Post
Fixed the install manager crash. Apparently a VC++ file was corrupted.
Glad you got that worked out. I will make a note of this. What did you do to correct the issue?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Sneakers
Maha Guru
 
Sneakers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 580 GTX DiCII h2o W2600HP
Processor: Xeon W3520@4.5 Ghz HT on
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
Memory: Corsair 6gbDDR3 XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-FI X-trm Gamer
PSU: Corsair HX Modular 1000W
Default 04-22-2010, 02:06 | posts: 2,653 | Location: Sweden

I can't get this driver to install properly either.

First I got a warning message during the install and basically tells me that not everything was installed, but looking in the report there is no further info on what exactly the error was.

Obviously CCC and the driver itself failed to install. So I tried to manually install driver then CCC, I managed to install the driver but I cannot get CCC to install.

Now I cleaned registry files and other remaining files 2-3 times and still it fails to install with a little warning prompt comming up each time. Extremly annoying...and if that wasn't enough now the old drivers cannot install properly either so something has been fed up in the ati registry.

Anyone got any ideas except formating? I had this happend before when driversweeper broke things, maybe 2-3 times and I know I had to formate each time but one after those things happend ( now I can't remb what I did that one time to get it working without a formate, sigh ).


/edit

Oh well this driver properly f'ed my system, that or driversweeper..

How do I install CCC manually without the for me bugged manager?


/edit2

Tested the driver now with BF2 and yes loading is alot quicker about 6-7 seconds from when you press join until you land on the weapons selection. But still I have found no way to get CCC working here, totally bugged out for me.

Last edited by Sneakers; 04-22-2010 at 02:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
VenoMaizeR
Member Guru
 
VenoMaizeR's Avatar
 
Videocard: 470 GTX 875/2125 1.150v
Processor: Core 2 Quad 3.3Mhz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
Memory: KHX8Gb DDr2/971 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: Creative XFi Fatality Pro
PSU: CorsairHX 650w psu
Default 04-22-2010, 04:05 | posts: 122 | Location: Portugal/Lisbon

Got a error in the end of the install but i did a reboot and all install ok. Loadings are fast now and i notice also a boost in performance on my 4890... only report i have on BFBC2 is the click to spawn it a bit laggy or strange..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
dirthurts
Master Guru
 
dirthurts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7870 ghz edition
Processor: AMD fx 8320
Mainboard: ASUS
Memory: 4gb DDR3 1600 Corsair
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 04-22-2010, 04:27 | posts: 694 | Location: Tn.

In my experience driver sweeper causes more problems than it solves...
I recommend installing over top of older drivers. Works best with non beta releases however...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
TwL
Maha Guru
 
TwL's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x5850 2x6950 + 9800GTX
Processor: I7-980 + I5-2500K
Mainboard: UD7+ROG & P8Z68-V Deluxe
Memory: Elpida Hyper
Soundcard: RealTek
PSU: OCZ GXS 850w+1200w
Default 04-22-2010, 06:14 | posts: 1,828 | Location: Finland

hmm, Seems crashing a lot while extra features are enabled.

Last edited by TwL; 04-26-2010 at 17:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga 780 Dual 1202/3305
Processor: I5 3570k @4.5Ghz SA SB-E
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 30nm 2x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X1>Frost Uber>LDMKII>T90
PSU: Cosair 850watt RM850
Default 04-22-2010, 06:33 | posts: 5,437 | Location: Michigan,usa

With me its the other way around, If I dont use driver sweeper and unistall, files doesnt get copy over right when I install over. I tried the install over a copy of times. I always have to uninstall, sweeper and install.

Edit:Hmm THese I cant use 1ghz gpu any more as it doesnt let me set it any more only 960mhz is setable.

Last edited by GenClaymore; 04-22-2010 at 07:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
KyleStilkey
Master Guru
 
KyleStilkey's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD SAPPHIRE R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz AM3+
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 16GB 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING-1300w
Default 04-22-2010, 08:16 | posts: 327 | Location: Freeport, ME

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastcoasthandle View Post
Glad you got that worked out. I will make a note of this. What did you do to correct the issue?
I download Visual C++ 2005/2008 64bit and 32bit versions with each SP. It worked out fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
KyleStilkey
Master Guru
 
KyleStilkey's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD SAPPHIRE R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz AM3+
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 16GB 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING-1300w
Default 04-22-2010, 08:19 | posts: 327 | Location: Freeport, ME

Quote:
Originally Posted by VenoMaizeR View Post
Got a error in the end of the install but i did a reboot and all install ok. Loadings are fast now and i notice also a boost in performance on my 4890... only report i have on BFBC2 is the click to spawn it a bit laggy or strange..
Was your error something like APPLICATION WAS NOT GIVEN PERMISSION TO INSTALL?

If so I had that too and now anything with ATI slapped onto it gives me this error when trying to install it (only tested ATI Crossfire Profiles)

"The system administrator has set policies to prevent this installation"

Can't seem to get it to stop no matter what "FIX" I try.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Scerate
Maha Guru
 
Scerate's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780Ti 1200/7000 1.1v
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5Ghz 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Veng 1866 8-9-9-24
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 04-22-2010, 10:09 | posts: 976 | Location: Austria

Installed these instead of the normal 10.4 Preview one, even there 2d Artifacts on mass i'm back to 10.3 OPENGL 4 atm.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
shimyns
Maha Guru
 
shimyns's Avatar
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE r9 290x Tri-X OC
Processor: core i7 950 @4HT NH-D14
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2
Memory: RipJaws 3x2GB 1600 Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX850 850W
Default 04-22-2010, 10:46 | posts: 1,635 | Location: Boston

@Sneakers, have you tried restoring your system to before you uninstalled your previous drivers? be sure to merge any deleted registry items if you ran Ccleaner after the uninstallation before you restore.

Then, uninstall w/o driver sweeper and try installing the new ones...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 04-22-2010, 11:31 | posts: 12,154 | Location: England

So these 10.4a preview drivers are newer than the 10.4 previews ones I currently have installed, even though they don't seem to contain any new bug fixes or features?

Might as well try them to see if it fixes the polygon corruption issues I'm experiencing in SBK 09, GRID, DiRT 1, SHIFT and Call of Juarez: BiB with CrossFireX. Strange how it's only those games though, everything else, some 30 odd games work fine. It's not like those games are old either plus I've heard that they *should* work with CrossFireX so god only knows why they don't on my machine!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 04-22-2010, 11:33 | posts: 12,154 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by shimyns View Post
Then, uninstall w/o driver sweeper and try installing the new ones...
Some people, including WhiteLightning, say you shouldn't use Driver Sweeper with ATI graphics card as they can cause problems. There again, we really shouldn't have to use third-party software to clean up problems left by dodgy uninstallers that should be coded better in the first place.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
kitch9
Maha Guru
 
kitch9's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 7990 3GB
Processor: i7 3770K @ 4.8
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme 4 Gen 3
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Thx Trustudio Pro
PSU: Corsair TX950W
Default 04-22-2010, 12:36 | posts: 1,886 | Location: Doncaster, England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Some people, including WhiteLightning, say you shouldn't use Driver Sweeper with ATI graphics card as they can cause problems. There again, we really shouldn't have to use third-party software to clean up problems left by dodgy uninstallers that should be coded better in the first place.
Who's to say ATIs installer is dodgy? Nobody really knows why they use sweepers other than somebody on the internet said they should do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 04-22-2010, 12:51 | posts: 12,154 | Location: England

Well I personally find ATI's installer to be absolutely excellent, much better than NVIDIA's in fact, as it shows which components and drivers you have installed and which need updating so it is very informative. I like that. It also seems to do a very good job of uninstalling drivers so I've never needed to use Driver Sweeper.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.