Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Uninstalled Creative drivers, used driver cleaner.
Old
  (#1)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default Uninstalled Creative drivers, used driver cleaner. - 01-23-2010, 23:23 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Alright, so the last time I updated Creative drivers, I got some odd Audio hiccups, so I decided this time I'd use Driver Cleaner, like you do with Graphics cards, I mean, it supports the option.

Issue is this:

No matter what drivers I try to install, I can't get the Soundcard working again. Device Manager gave me a Code 19, registry messed up, so I used CCleaner to fix the registry and uninstalled the device, then re-scanned, and not it's listed as PCI Device, with a yellow question mark, and says it's because Drivers are not installed. As I said, I tried updating the drivers normally. They installed un-naturally fast and I rebooted, no go.

So I used the Creative Software Autoupdater and when it tried to install the drivers, it just said "Failed", no error code or anything.

When I try to start the Audio Control Panel or ALChemy it tells me the supported audio device is not installed.

I've followed some Google guides to fixing Error 19, such as Last Know Good Config, but that didn't help. I also tried editing the registry manually & removing Creative entries, but that didn't help either.

I tried using Windows update to download the WDM drivers from it, but they didn't help either.

I am at a loss, please help, thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 01-23-2010, 23:53 | posts: 13,425 | Location: √╥

that's because it removes everything, but lefts some crap behind in registry...

use Ccleaner and use registry clean section to get rid of what sweeper left behind.

You will have to reinstall all stuff, like volume control panel, THX control panel, audio panel, alchemy,etc..

about the drivers well dunno its up to you, i use x-fi auzen uaa 1.0 pack atm so far so good, i had some issue with latest pax (some cracking noises), and they sounded a bit to boomy and had to much mid EQ and mid-low bass in it..

Last edited by TheHunter; 01-23-2010 at 23:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2010, 00:09 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Hutner, did you read my post? I did all that already...I even said CC-cleaner. Regardless, thank you for the help.

Issue still stands.

Last edited by Mkilbride; 01-24-2010 at 00:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2010, 08:13 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Uh, well, I've tried absolutely everything, multiple registry cleaners, uninstalling in Device Manager, Driver Cleaner.net & Driver Sweeper. CC Cleaner.

Tried installing default X-Fi card software, & Daniels packs. I've tried Windows Auto-update and it downloads and tries to install, but then says "No driver"
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
aparicio1
Member Guru
 
aparicio1's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA/GTX480SLI
Processor: i7-930/4ghz
Mainboard: AsRock/X58/Extrme6
Memory: Kingston/KHX1600C9/12Gigs
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Cha & z5500
PSU: KINGWIN/MK1000W
Default 01-24-2010, 08:21 | posts: 102 | Location: Huntington New York

remove the card from your computer and reset the bios
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2010, 08:42 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

I already tried removing the card. I loaded up into my XP Boot and it works in Windows XP.

Odd thing is though, my mic still sounds like **** in XP now.

I'm beginning to think Daniel_k's drivers ****ed my Mic up.


Guess I should just reformat, Windows Repair won't really do anything =/

Last time I use Daniel_K's drivers & a Driver cleaner for Audio. My Mic is busted now, I've got to send this back, hopefully they'll replace it, but it was broken due to modified Drivers...so yeah. =/

Last edited by Mkilbride; 01-24-2010 at 09:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
live4life
Banned
 
Videocard: Asus EnGTX295
Processor: Intel Q9450 / CNPS9700 NT
Mainboard: Asus Stricker II Formula
Memory: 8GB Mushkin 1066Mhz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence ST Deluxe
PSU: Enermax Revolution 850W
Default 01-24-2010, 09:40 | posts: 1,500 | Location: Greece/Athens

DriverCleanerDotNET 3 pro is the best driver cleaner...plus if u wanna some more damage u need to learn some name from the files that stuck in the system32....i remove em manually...so im not let nothing at all....behind!!!!!!!!

then i use some regisrty cleaners and my pc is clean like a dogy....LOL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2010, 09:52 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Life4life, that's what I used to remove them.


And I tried removing em manually, even in safe mode, it won't let me. I used Registry cleaners also. I think my PC is just hating on me. I mean damn, it craps out soundwise & my mic is busted.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
live4life
Banned
 
Videocard: Asus EnGTX295
Processor: Intel Q9450 / CNPS9700 NT
Mainboard: Asus Stricker II Formula
Memory: 8GB Mushkin 1066Mhz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence ST Deluxe
PSU: Enermax Revolution 850W
Default 01-24-2010, 10:01 | posts: 1,500 | Location: Greece/Athens

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkilbride View Post
Life4life, that's what I used to remove them.


And I tried removing em manually, even in safe mode, it won't let me. I used Registry cleaners also. I think my PC is just hating on me. I mean damn, it craps out soundwise & my mic is busted.
there is nothing that wont fix,or repairing i believe it and i do it...
if u have msn,i help you and learn how deep the tricks goes....if you have send me a PM...if u trust me i can use teamviever to make to cleany! your choice m8ty hehe .....but solutions are milions...believe me

Last edited by live4life; 01-24-2010 at 10:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2010, 10:04 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

I've got MSN

_EDITED_ due to adding on MSN

I doubt there isn't very little I've already tried.

Last edited by Mkilbride; 01-24-2010 at 10:09.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
live4life
Banned
 
Videocard: Asus EnGTX295
Processor: Intel Q9450 / CNPS9700 NT
Mainboard: Asus Stricker II Formula
Memory: 8GB Mushkin 1066Mhz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence ST Deluxe
PSU: Enermax Revolution 850W
Default 01-24-2010, 10:08 | posts: 1,500 | Location: Greece/Athens

i add u delete the reply thats shows ur msn...to not have any problems...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2010, 10:21 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Still require more help, above user's English is broken, not trying to be offensive, we just had massive difficulty understanding each other.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
live4life
Banned
 
Videocard: Asus EnGTX295
Processor: Intel Q9450 / CNPS9700 NT
Mainboard: Asus Stricker II Formula
Memory: 8GB Mushkin 1066Mhz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence ST Deluxe
PSU: Enermax Revolution 850W
Default 01-24-2010, 10:24 | posts: 1,500 | Location: Greece/Athens

be more open mind...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2010, 11:05 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

I decided to change the type to High Definition Audio Device, I'm getting Audio again ,but it's not listed as X-Fi...and I can't install drivers, so I can't use Creative settings.


So I rebooted after managing to get ti to list itself as Creative X-Fi Titanium card, and then it had this:

This device cannot start. (Code 10)

So I clicked Update Driver to try to get it working again...but it just reset to High Definition Audio Device.

Well, I'm on the right track.

Last edited by Mkilbride; 01-24-2010 at 11:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
AnthraxPants
Banned
 
Videocard: XFX 4890HD 1GB
Processor: Intel Q6600@3.2GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R r1
Memory: 2x1GB Corsair PC8500
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Value
PSU: CoolerMaster 650W~
Default 01-24-2010, 11:28 | posts: 1,536 | Location: AUSTRALIA

Try this http://nomoregoatsoup.**************/...tall-problems/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2010, 11:32 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Thanks, already tried everything there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2010, 22:49 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Well, seems no matter what I try, I can only get it recognized as a High Definition Audio Device, trying to select the drivers manually by pointing it towards the config.ini for the drivers makes it thinks it is, until I reboot, the ? goes back up, and it resets to High Definition Audio device.

I wonder why this is happening to me, it didn't happen to others. Maybe it's because I used Drivercleaner instead of Sweeper, when Sweeper is recommended for this process. Well I used DriverSweeper and it got rid of a lot of left over files, so I suppose that helped, but it's still a no go. =/



See? So I restart and it gives me a Code 10 and resets back to default.

Google says Code 10:



http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310123

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310123

So I tried installing proper Creative drivers on top, as it suggests, and no go.

Last edited by Mkilbride; 01-24-2010 at 23:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Rob McClelland
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 280X Black Edition
Processor: AMDX61055T@3220T3795mhz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 890FX UD 5
Memory: AMD 16GIG1600mhzDDR3@1532
Soundcard: TChamp5.1TheaterSolutions
PSU: Enermax 920 Sliver 80+
Default 01-24-2010, 23:12 | posts: 1,552 | Location: NW Ohio

Hi Mate your welcome try my drivers and suite out? You ever try windows one adv one care program from iobit? You can try disable your sound card and installed drivers I find it help that some times.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2010, 23:13 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

I don't think it's a driver issue, at least not the X-Fi drivers, but more of a Systems drivers for it. =/ Seeing as it doesn't recognize it as a X-Fi.


Screw it, I wanted a new Windows 7 Boot anyways, so I guess I'll just do that, this is annoying as hell.

Last edited by Mkilbride; 01-25-2010 at 00:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-25-2010, 09:08 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

To put an end to this issue, it works fine in my Onboard sound.

Which means the Mic jack is burned out, as determined by some people on other sites.


So yeah...guess I'll have to return it...year old. I got it from BestBuy, I hope they'll let me return it after all this time. Newegg says it has a 5 year Warranty, but maybe that's just because it's from Newegg.

Glad it's not the headset, not glad it's the Soundcard. Creative support is ****. If I can't get a refund, maybe I can sell it to my cousin and just tell him the Mic port is broken, ahah.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 01-25-2010, 20:19 | posts: 13,425 | Location: √╥

sorry there i guess i didnt see u mentioned Ccleaner..

if you want to be sure it removes all stuff you need to:

1. go to add/remove programs and remove all creative stuff, including audio control panel, thx, alchemy, etc... everything with creative name in it.

2. Go to device manager select audio and remove audio driver check the appropriate window to confirm removal of this driver and hit ok.

3. Run driver sweeper and check creative and remove all stuff for it, you might also check Realtek onboard sound if you have your old driver installed too (doesn't hurt).. don't restart yet!

4. Go and yea run registry cleaner in ccleaner, now restart.

5. Make 100% sure that onboard soundcard is disabled in bios and front HD also if u have it, because its still realtek.
Now install driver, the one for your soundcard of creative (i think this is yours xfi titanium professional audio right?), you need the rest too, like audio console, volume panel,etc.. install that from your cd, but skip driver..

this fixed my issue once
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-25-2010, 20:40 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Yes, I already tried all that, did not help.

Regardless, it appears my X-Fi is broken as I said above, so I am going to have to get a replacement, hopefully Creative will cover something like this. Custom support is as bad as people say. I'm also not the only problem with this, I googled it and alot of peoples Creative X-Fi have had their Mic Input die. =/

Auzentech looks like where I'll be getting MY next card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 01-26-2010, 00:37 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

For me, to uninstall my drivers cleanly via Windows is to right click the device, and press Uninstall, when the confirmation dialog box pops up, there should be a check mark box for you to select "Remove driver files" or something like that and that usually removes the driver files cleanly.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-26-2010, 04:08 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Again, thanks for the help, but it's not working.

On top of that, ALL the Audio jacks NO LONGER WORK.

According to Creative, the Warranty is only for 1 year...and well...this card is a year and 25 days old. I feel...ripped off.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 01-26-2010, 06:07 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkilbride View Post
According to Creative, the Warranty is only for 1 year...and well...this card is a year and 25 days old. I feel...ripped off.
that sux balls >.<". I hate when that happens.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.