Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Afterburner 1.5.0 Beta 2 (2009-12-09)
Old
  (#1)
Garrett_Wu
Member Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default Afterburner 1.5.0 Beta 2 (2009-12-09) - 12-09-2009, 04:13 | posts: 135

Due to slight mistake (me!! Sorry), the first Beta of Afterburner 1.5.0 is not suitable for public release, so we remove it as soon as possible. but no worry, here is Afterburner 1.5.0 Beta 2, I'm going to be excited...again!!

Unwinder implement many exciting new features in Afterburner 1.5.0, most of them are suggested by you, so please keep feedback to us, you and we can make Afterburner better and better.

1. Compact Skin: Some people love default big skin, some people like small one, so we include both, everybody is happy.
2. Multi-Language: Starting from this version, Afterburner support multi-language function, please help us translate UI information, your execellent work will be included into final version.
3. GT200 GPU Usage: Now we can monitor NVIDIA GT200 GPU usage in Afterburner, sweet!



Download:http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner...up150Beta2.rar



- Added videomemory usage monitoring for NVIDIA graphics cards under Forceware
185.xx and newer drivers
- Added GPU usage monitoring for NVIDIA GT2xx and newer graphics cards under
Forceware 190.xx and newer drivers
- Added VGA BIOS version detection for AMD graphics cards
- Added optional ability to display hint messages in hardware monitoring window
area. The messages notify the user about runtime profile management activity
(such as profile creation, removal or applying) and other application events
- Minor appearance tweaks in default skins
- Added compact versions of default skins (default green, red and blue editions)
- Now advanced MSI Afterburner properties also support floating tooltip based
context help system similar to the main application window
- Now MSI Afterburner supports RivaTuner's user extendable localization system.
Currently localization system includes English and Russian language packs and
affects the context help system and non-skinned advanced properties interface.
Similar to RivaTuner, you can create your own language packs for your native
language and share your work with MSI Afterburner users community!
- Improved skin format. Now skinned fonts support characters remapping feature.
All skins supplied with MSI Afterburner are using this feature, third party
skin designers may decompile and peek into these skins to see an example of
new feature usage
- Now hardware monitoring window font size can be redefined via the skin, third
party skin designers may decompile and peek into compact versions of default
skins to see an example of new feature usage
- Skin format reference documentation has been updated to v1.1 to reflect the
format improvements mentioned above
- Added shared memory interface allowing any third party applications to access
MSI Afterburner hardware monitoring statistics. The interface is intended for
future MSI Afterburner Vista / Windows 7 sidebar gadgets, however, the shared
memory layout is publicly open so third party developers can use it to access
MSI Afterburner hardware monitoring statistics from their own applications
The SDK (included in MSI Afterburner distributive) contains open source sample
demonstrating the access to shared memory from a third party application
- Added command line switches for forcing MSI Afterburner to be minimized to the
system tray area on startup or during runtime and for opening desired advanced
MSI Afterburner properties tab. The switches are intended for interraction
with future MSI Afterburner Vista / Windows 7 sidebar gadgets. Sample code
included in the SDK also shows you how to detect, start and minimize installed
MSI Afterburner, how to open desired tab in advanced properties and how to use
MSI Afterburner profiles from third party applications
- Reduced runtime skin engine footprint due to dynamic skin storage unloading

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 12-09-2009, 04:19 | posts: 17,984 | Location: Coldwells,UK

Quote:
Added shared memory interface allowing any third party applications to access
MSI Afterburner hardware monitoring statistics. The interface is intended for
future MSI Afterburner Vista / Windows 7 sidebar gadgets, however, the shared
memory layout is publicly open so third party developers can use it to access
MSI Afterburner hardware monitoring statistics from their own applications
The SDK (included in MSI Afterburner distributive) contains open source sample
demonstrating the access to shared memory from a third party application
Wow thats a good improvement
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 12-09-2009, 05:17 | posts: 13,832 | Location: Cyberspace

Could someone create a plugin for Rainmeter? Please?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
steponz
Newbie
 
Videocard: 3 x Diamond 5870's
Processor: Core I7 975
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: X4 1200 Watt
Default 12-09-2009, 07:13 | posts: 11

No voltage change??? I would rather use this than SmartDoctor... Afterburner really puts it to shame.... I just need more voltage........ahhhhhhh.........

Please PM me back....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
JEskandari
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 660M
Processor: Intel Core(TM) i7-3610QM
Mainboard: Lenovo IdeaPad Y580
Memory: Hynix HMT351S6CFR8C-PB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC269
PSU: Lenovo PA-1121-16
Default 12-09-2009, 07:24 | posts: 251 | Location: Iran

thanks that shared memory is really a great Idea.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-09-2009, 07:40 | posts: 11,385 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by steponz View Post
I just need more voltage........ahhhhhhh.........
And we just don't need increased RMA rate, sorry. So voltage adjustment will be limited as it is now.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-09-2009, 11:24 | posts: 11,385 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

As you probably noticed, one of major feature upgrades in v1.5.0 is multilanguage support. I used flexible RivaTuner's multilanguage engine, which means that MSI Afterburner localization system fully user extendable just like in RT (i.e. you can create language packs for your native language yourself and attach it to MSI Afterburner without any problems). I'll be responsible for default (English) and Russian localization packs, MSI will also take care about Chinese localization. However, we'd like to add more languages to the installer. Anyone wish to help with translation to other languages?


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 12-09-2009, 11:57 | posts: 4,854 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
As you probably noticed, one of major feature upgrades in v1.5.0 is multilanguage support. I used flexible RivaTuner's multilanguage engine, which means that MSI Afterburner localization system fully user extendable just like in RT (i.e. you can create language packs for your native language yourself and attach it to MSI Afterburner without any problems). I'll be responsible for default (English) and Russian localization packs, MSI will also take care about Chinese localization. However, we'd like to add more languages to the installer. Anyone wish to help with translation to other languages?
^^ if you want, I can take care of Spanish.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-09-2009, 12:11 | posts: 11,385 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibitato View Post
^^ if you want, I can take care of Spanish.
Sure, any localizations besides English / Russian / Chinese are wanted and welcome. It is really easy to add translations for new languages:

Taking Spanish as example:

1) Add new subfolder for your future translation to .\Localization folder, e.g. add "SPA" folder there.
2) Add new file called "Description" there. It is a plain text file containing this localization description for UI and it contails full language name in English (it is easy just to copy Description file from "RUS" localization pack then edit it).
3) Add "Help" folder to your localization folder (i.e. to .\Localization\Spa). This folder contains translations of all floating tooltips displayed when you're hovering mouse cursor over a control in MSI Afterburner. Just copy original English help files from .\Help subfolder in the applciation root folder and translate them.
4) There can be one more subfolder called "Translation" in each locatization folder. It is used to translate the rest Afterburner GUI items (such as advanced properties, menus etc). Just copy it from RUS locatlzation pack and translate too. Translation files structure is rather simple, it contains the messages to be translated starting with #src prefixes and translated messages starting with #dst prefixes.
Multilanguage system is flexible and both context help and GUI translation are optional, i.e. you can start with context help only.
5) Upload the results here to let others to perform proofreading, then we'll include your pack in Afterburner.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 12-09-2009, 12:16 | posts: 4,854 | Location: Spain

Ok, I'll prepare a "spanish" pack and post back.

Saludos.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-09-2009, 15:24 | posts: 11,385 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibitato View Post
Ok, I'll prepare a "spanish" pack and post back.

Saludos.
Excellent, thanks in advance.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-09-2009, 15:34 | posts: 11,385 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

I'm receiving numerous questions about videomemory monitoring limitation on ATI graphics cards from users seeing some "political" reasons in it. Here are my comments: videomemory is virtualized under Vista and Windows 7 and not so far it was impossible to monitor videomemory usage at all under these OSes from user mode applications, because each process uses his own virtual videomemory aperture and actual videomemory usage was visible only to OS kernel and display driver, handling videomemory management. However, in the recent driver updates NVIDIA finally decided to open access to their internal videomemory manager statistics and provided special API for that. So it became possible only due to NVIDIA driver developers efforts. There are no such things in ATI driver. Once ATI find videomemory usage data useful for third party applications and provide an API for accessing it - it will be possible to monitor it on ATI too.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 12-09-2009, 17:36 | posts: 4,854 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Excellent, thanks in advance.
do I translate the MAP file under help folder ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-09-2009, 17:48 | posts: 11,385 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibitato View Post
do I translate the MAP file under help folder ?
Nope. That's a helper file that map internal .EXE numeric control IDs to help file names. It is not supposed to be transtaled and don't have to be copied to localized help folder.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 12-09-2009, 17:54 | posts: 4,854 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Nope. That's a helper file that map internal .EXE numeric control IDs to help file names. It is not supposed to be transtaled and don't have to be copied to localized help folder.
Just as I hoped
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 12-09-2009, 20:14 | posts: 5,837 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Yay, working great here, thanks unwinder!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780 Gaming OC
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W
Default 12-10-2009, 04:26 | posts: 427 | Location: Israel

! vram usage at last !

also, this is the first time I can monitor GPU usage of my 8800GT, without that annoying NVPerf tool. THANKS!

Last edited by applejack; 12-10-2009 at 04:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
inklimited
Ancient Guru
 
inklimited's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6850 900MHz
Processor: i5 2500K 4.8GHz
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: 4GB XMS3 1600MHz
Soundcard: RealTek HD 7.1
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Default 12-10-2009, 05:38 | posts: 6,140 | Location: NSW Australia

A clock, on screen, ingame!!!!! Massive win!

Thanks a big one!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
solidsteel144
Member Guru
 
solidsteel144's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATi Radeon HD 5970
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965@3.8 Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850 watt
Default 12-10-2009, 06:37 | posts: 71 | Location: Texas

For some reason the fan control doesn't work on my PowerColor 5970.
I have to use Catalyst for that (sadly doesn't have fan profiling).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-10-2009, 06:48 | posts: 11,385 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteel144 View Post
For some reason the fan control doesn't work on my PowerColor 5970.
I have to use Catalyst for that (sadly doesn't have fan profiling).

If it works via CCC, it should work via Afterburner too. Try to switch to different GPU in advanced Afterburner properties. It is really common and typical misunderstanding for 2x GPU card owners, you have 2 GPUs and only ONE fan controller connected to ONE of them and controllable only by it.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
solidsteel144
Member Guru
 
solidsteel144's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATi Radeon HD 5970
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965@3.8 Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850 watt
Default 12-10-2009, 07:45 | posts: 71 | Location: Texas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
If it works via CCC, it should work via Afterburner too. Try to switch to different GPU in advanced Afterburner properties. It is really common and typical misunderstanding for 2x GPU card owners, you have 2 GPUs and only ONE fan controller connected to ONE of them and controllable only by it.
Thank you very much! Switching it to GPU 2 fixed it!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-10-2009, 07:54 | posts: 11,385 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteel144 View Post
Thank you very much! Switching it to GPU 2 fixed it!
Np, glad that you've got it working

All

I'd like to see some statistics on GPU usage monitoring for different GPUs. NVIDIA don't document which GPUs are supported by their new API allowing to display GPU usage, it work for sure on all GT2xx architecture chips like we declared, however I'm not sure about older GPUs support. I know for sure that it doesn't seem to work on G80 and older chips, however I'm not sure about the rest G8x and G9x families. So feedback from G8x and G9x GPU owners is really wanted. Do you see GPU usage in Afterburner?


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
theGryphon
Member Guru
 
theGryphon's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX295 Dual-PCB x 2
Processor: Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.70GHz
Mainboard: EVGA 790i SLI FTW Digital
Memory: 4 x 2GB Mushkin 996625
Soundcard: Some Realtek chip onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev. 85+ 1050W
Default 12-10-2009, 08:08 | posts: 86

I sure can give you some feedback on my new 9800GTX+ arriving on Monday...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
morbias
Don Tommasino
 
morbias's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480
Processor: i7 920 D0 @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory: 6GB HyperX @1600 6-7-6-18
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS + CL 6700's
PSU: ePower Tiger 1200W
Default 12-10-2009, 10:13 | posts: 12,603 | Location: Southampton, UK

compact skin = awesome


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Folding@Home - join team Guru3D!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 12-10-2009, 10:16 | posts: 17,984 | Location: Coldwells,UK

Well i remember my old 8800GS 384 Worked fine for gpu usage just before i sold it.

Same with my 8800GTs 512MB (xfx and inno3d)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.