Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ATI Overvolt Tool??
Old
  (#1)
GamingArena
Member Guru
 
GamingArena's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Titan SC Sig x2 SLi
Processor: Intel i7 3930k @4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage iV Extreme
Memory: G Skill Ripjaw 32Gb
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair 1200AX
Default ATI Overvolt Tool?? - 11-19-2009, 09:07 | posts: 79 | Location: Toronto

Anybody knows where to download the new ATI Overvolt tool?
for the 5970 series?

http://www.tomshardware.com/gallery/...0----jpg-.html
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Chris Chiu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI 5970
Processor: Intel Q9550@3.9GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-D
Memory: 8GB DDR2
Soundcard: SB X-Fi PCIE
PSU: Antech TPQ-1200OC
Default 11-19-2009, 09:08 | posts: 85

Goggle is your friend. and remember run it as administrator.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 11-19-2009, 09:09 | posts: 20,811 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by GamingArena View Post
Anybody knows where to download the new ATI Overvolt tool?
for the 5970 series?

http://www.tomshardware.com/gallery/...0----jpg-.html

Ah we have that, let me place it in the download section. Here you go:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/ATI-Over...load-2434.html


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
GamingArena
Member Guru
 
GamingArena's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Titan SC Sig x2 SLi
Processor: Intel i7 3930k @4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage iV Extreme
Memory: G Skill Ripjaw 32Gb
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair 1200AX
Default 11-19-2009, 09:28 | posts: 79 | Location: Toronto

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Ah we have that, let me place it in the download section. Here you go:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/ATI-Over...load-2434.html
THanks

That's what i need i tried to Google it with no luck.

Now lets see how far can i push this puppy..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Chris Chiu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI 5970
Processor: Intel Q9550@3.9GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-D
Memory: 8GB DDR2
Soundcard: SB X-Fi PCIE
PSU: Antech TPQ-1200OC
Default 11-19-2009, 09:39 | posts: 85

Quote:
Originally Posted by GamingArena View Post
THanks

That's what i need i tried to Google it with no luck.

Now lets see how far can i push this puppy..
Set GPU and Mem Voltage max at tool. I can push it to 900/1200. I wish someone will mod it allow a higher voltage setting like GPU to 1.25 and Mem to 1.2. I feel the card still have OC space.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Passion Fruit
Ancient Guru
 
Passion Fruit's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 Unlocked 900/1250
Processor: i5 750 @ 4209Mhz on H50
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4x2GB RipJaws @ 2100 CL9
Soundcard: XFI XtremeMusic / Z-5500
PSU: OCZ ModXStream 700W
Default 11-19-2009, 10:19 | posts: 5,996 | Location: Middlesbrough, England

Any chance of someone bodging this so it works on the 5870? Wouldn't mind a slight memory volt increase!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
HaZe303
Maha Guru
 
HaZe303's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6970Xfire & GTX570 SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500k & i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V & P6T DLX v2
Memory: Corsair 4GB & Corsair 6GB
Soundcard: X-FI PCI & X-FI Titanium
PSU: TT 1200W & Corsair TX850W
Default 11-19-2009, 10:47 | posts: 1,938 | Location: Sweden

Stupid to have the tool work only for one card?? Smells Nvidian kind of business model?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 11-19-2009, 17:01 | posts: 20,811 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Unfortunately at the request of AMD we had to take the tool offline. As an alternative, please use AfterBurner 1.4 which supports Voltage increments on the GPU as well.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
HaZe303
Maha Guru
 
HaZe303's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6970Xfire & GTX570 SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500k & i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V & P6T DLX v2
Memory: Corsair 4GB & Corsair 6GB
Soundcard: X-FI PCI & X-FI Titanium
PSU: TT 1200W & Corsair TX850W
Default 11-19-2009, 20:09 | posts: 1,938 | Location: Sweden

Well atleast AMD reads these forums, that is good to know.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Luxferro
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG Nvidia 6800GT OC
Processor: Athlon 2600+ Mobile (12.5 x 200)
Mainboard: Abit AN7 - No mods - Original Bios
Memory: 1GB Dual MuskinPC3200 222 LII V2
Soundcard: nForce APU - Soundstorm / Altec Lansing
PSU: Antec Sonata case
Default 11-20-2009, 01:15 | posts: 23 | Location: Long Island

Since AMD made guru3d pull the overclock tool, and said they don't want it distributed, but venders are free to distribute it. I noticed that XFX 5870 Black edition says it comes with a tool for overclocking.

I'm not sure if this is just an older tool, or something based on the ATI Tool. But I did some digging and found a link to it on their site. I don't have a 5870, so I can't check it out (Plus I'm still at work), so if anyone wants to try it, here is is:

http://www.xfxsupport.com/download/d...5&cusid=958670

edit: damn the system under my username is old..lol
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
3DWizard
Newbie
 
Videocard: .
Processor: .
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: .
Default 11-20-2009, 10:45 | posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luxferro View Post
Since AMD made guru3d pull the overclock tool, and said they don't want it distributed, but venders are free to distribute it. I noticed that XFX 5870 Black edition says it comes with a tool for overclocking.

I'm not sure if this is just an older tool, or something based on the ATI Tool. But I did some digging and found a link to it on their site. I don't have a 5870, so I can't check it out (Plus I'm still at work), so if anyone wants to try it, here is is:

http://www.xfxsupport.com/download/d...5&cusid=958670

edit: damn the system under my username is old..lol

Hey there

Just tried to download this and its just a zip file with a WMV inside showing how the tool works....has anyone got a working link? Has anyone tried it yet? i heard it will only work with XFX cards anyway......!!! Oh well i will keep looking
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Luxferro
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG Nvidia 6800GT OC
Processor: Athlon 2600+ Mobile (12.5 x 200)
Mainboard: Abit AN7 - No mods - Original Bios
Memory: 1GB Dual MuskinPC3200 222 LII V2
Soundcard: nForce APU - Soundstorm / Altec Lansing
PSU: Antec Sonata case
Default 11-20-2009, 14:46 | posts: 23 | Location: Long Island

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DWizard View Post
Hey there

Just tried to download this and its just a zip file with a WMV inside showing how the tool works....has anyone got a working link? Has anyone tried it yet? i heard it will only work with XFX cards anyway......!!! Oh well i will keep looking
They must have changed the file the link pointed to. Cause I grabbed it before posting. Here it is if you want to play with it. BTW, i meant 5970 in my previous post.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/zm5onk...rVoltSetup.msi

Also, www.techpowerup.com was hosting the AMD tool lastnight/this morning, can't seem to find the link, but it's probably there somewhere.

edit: it was right in front of my face http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...e_Utility.html

Last edited by Luxferro; 11-20-2009 at 14:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
AbjectBlitz
Ancient Guru
 
AbjectBlitz's Avatar
 
Videocard: R290 PColorPCS+ 1250/1620
Processor: i7 2700k @ 5Ghz H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Gen3
Memory: 8gb RipJaws @ 2133 mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty pro
PSU: Crosair TX 750W
Default 11-21-2009, 11:21 | posts: 3,364 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luxferro View Post
They must have changed the file the link pointed to. Cause I grabbed it before posting. Here it is if you want to play with it. BTW, i meant 5970 in my previous post.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/zm5onk...rVoltSetup.msi

Also, www.techpowerup.com was hosting the AMD tool lastnight/this morning, can't seem to find the link, but it's probably there somewhere.

edit: it was right in front of my face http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...e_Utility.html
Tried the XFX volt tool, it wont work. It will only work with the XFX Black Edition. Pointless paying extra just to use that tool

Just a shame the ati tool does not stick after a reboot, hopefully Afterburner or another program will have both core and mem volt adjustments.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Luxferro
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG Nvidia 6800GT OC
Processor: Athlon 2600+ Mobile (12.5 x 200)
Mainboard: Abit AN7 - No mods - Original Bios
Memory: 1GB Dual MuskinPC3200 222 LII V2
Soundcard: nForce APU - Soundstorm / Altec Lansing
PSU: Antec Sonata case
Default 11-23-2009, 15:37 | posts: 23 | Location: Long Island

Quote:
Originally Posted by AbjectBlitz View Post
Tried the XFX volt tool, it wont work. It will only work with the XFX Black Edition. Pointless paying extra just to use that tool

Just a shame the ati tool does not stick after a reboot, hopefully Afterburner or another program will have both core and mem volt adjustments.
Well you can probably get around that a # of ways, since it mostly likely works by VID (Vender ID). Reverse engineer their program so it works with any VID, or edit your bioses VID to an XFX VID. The 2nd option is pretty easy, assuming the same bios editors currently available work for 5900 series.

If it's worth it, I have no clue... since I have a 280 GTX heh
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
AbjectBlitz
Ancient Guru
 
AbjectBlitz's Avatar
 
Videocard: R290 PColorPCS+ 1250/1620
Processor: i7 2700k @ 5Ghz H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Gen3
Memory: 8gb RipJaws @ 2133 mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty pro
PSU: Crosair TX 750W
Default 11-23-2009, 16:48 | posts: 3,364 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luxferro View Post
Well you can probably get around that a # of ways, since it mostly likely works by VID (Vender ID). Reverse engineer their program so it works with any VID, or edit your bioses VID to an XFX VID. The 2nd option is pretty easy, assuming the same bios editors currently available work for 5900 series.

If it's worth it, I have no clue... since I have a 280 GTX heh
Yeah I was thinking that too but I'm sure there will be other tools out soon anyway.

I have a XFX but not the black edition.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Chris Chiu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI 5970
Processor: Intel Q9550@3.9GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-D
Memory: 8GB DDR2
Soundcard: SB X-Fi PCIE
PSU: Antech TPQ-1200OC
Default 11-24-2009, 10:19 | posts: 85

Advantage to use ATI Overvolt tool is the memory voltage setting. For who can't find ATI one, pray for next MSI afterburn OC tool release will support memory voltage setting. MSI afterburn OC tool is much much flexible then ATI one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
AbjectBlitz
Ancient Guru
 
AbjectBlitz's Avatar
 
Videocard: R290 PColorPCS+ 1250/1620
Processor: i7 2700k @ 5Ghz H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Gen3
Memory: 8gb RipJaws @ 2133 mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty pro
PSU: Crosair TX 750W
Default 11-24-2009, 13:08 | posts: 3,364 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Chiu View Post
Advantage to use ATI Overvolt tool is the memory voltage setting. For who can't find ATI one, pray for next MSI afterburn OC tool release will support memory voltage setting. MSI afterburn OC tool is much much flexible then ATI one.
Biggest problem with the ATI overvolt it resets after every reboot so you have to change it back every time you start windows
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Passion Fruit
Ancient Guru
 
Passion Fruit's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 Unlocked 900/1250
Processor: i5 750 @ 4209Mhz on H50
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4x2GB RipJaws @ 2100 CL9
Soundcard: XFI XtremeMusic / Z-5500
PSU: OCZ ModXStream 700W
Default 11-24-2009, 15:06 | posts: 5,996 | Location: Middlesbrough, England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Chiu View Post
Advantage to use ATI Overvolt tool is the memory voltage setting. For who can't find ATI one, pray for next MSI afterburn OC tool release will support memory voltage setting. MSI afterburn OC tool is much much flexible then ATI one.
That's because it's basically just RivaTuner with an MSI sticker on it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 690 @ +135/+128+/+465
Processor: W3300 Xeon @ 4.15Ghz
Mainboard: Asus SaberTooth X58
Memory: G.Skill RipJaws
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Enermax revolution 1020W
Default 11-28-2010, 20:17 | posts: 1,749

Does anyone knows how to mod the memory voltage to get it working with higher voltage then its displayed within the program? which is 1.15v? can I get higher?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
bobdude
Maha Guru
 
bobdude's Avatar
 
Videocard: PS4
Processor: PS4
Mainboard: PS4
Memory: PS4
Soundcard: PS4
PSU: PS4
Default 11-28-2010, 20:22 | posts: 1,864 | Location: AZ

cool a faster way to burn out a card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
kpo6969
Master Guru
 
kpo6969's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 280X DC2T
Processor: i7-4790K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB TridentX 2400mhz cas9
Soundcard: SB XFi Extreme Music
PSU: Seasonic SS-660XP2
Default 11-29-2010, 08:48 | posts: 579

delete
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
AbjectBlitz
Ancient Guru
 
AbjectBlitz's Avatar
 
Videocard: R290 PColorPCS+ 1250/1620
Processor: i7 2700k @ 5Ghz H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Gen3
Memory: 8gb RipJaws @ 2133 mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty pro
PSU: Crosair TX 750W
Default 11-29-2010, 10:33 | posts: 3,364 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by A M D BugBear View Post
Does anyone knows how to mod the memory voltage to get it working with higher voltage then its displayed within the program? which is 1.15v? can I get higher?
You need to edit the bios and flash.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.