Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Benchmark Mayhem
Benchmark Mayhem This section is for you benchmark freaks. Wanna show off your 3D Mark Vantage scores with your brand new GTX 295 SLI or Radeon HD 4870 X2 Crossfire in that Intel Core 2 rig? Then this is your section!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
LOWER FPS at 133FSB than 124FSB?!?!?!?!
Old
  (#1)
ronny1980
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default LOWER FPS at 133FSB than 124FSB?!?!?!?! - 06-25-2002, 02:53 | posts: 31

alrite...heres my rig

Duron 1.0Gig@1.2GIG
ECS k7s5a - 133fsb
Msi geforce 3 ti-200
Enermax 300Watt
Detonator 23.11

I system iniitally was running at 9x124fsb - 1.13Gig

I was doing some benchmarks...3dmark2001...when i still had my 124fsb...during the NATURE TESTS...my avg fps was about 40...

however..when i OCed it to 9x133 = 1.2gig....my fps in NATURE actualy DROPPED to about 30....

i couldnt really compare 3dmarks...cos at 133fsb...i would suddenly reboot after the end of sprite test.

temps are 38idle/42load



all i have to say is......HUH??????

help me out here pls
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Treblig
Nigeri Guru
 
Treblig's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 9800 Pro 128mb
Processor: AMD XP 2400+
Mainboard: Shuttle A35N - Ultra400
Memory: DDR 2700 1 gig
Soundcard: Santa Cruz 5.1
PSU: Logitech Z-640 5.1 Suround
Default 06-25-2002, 05:54 | posts: 3,265 | Location: Mesa , AZ .

First you didn't have your video OC'd right ? You may be haveing better luck at 124 with the rest of the settings that go along with it . You probably can't adjust all the different settings individualy on that board like CPU , FSB and PCI bus speeds . So when you up to 133 it may be making your PCI bus speed to high and unstable ! What are all the settings when you messed with the BIOS set at . Is it something like 133/133/34 ? You can try to uninstall the drivers for the video and then reinstall and run 3D bench and see what happens . It sounds like your PCI bus speed is out of whack to . You can run Sisoft Sandra and that can tell you a lot too . Good luck .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Gren Master
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-25-2002, 06:30 | posts: n/a

OK Treblig...

Howd u get the blue in yr SIG???

pllllzz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
DiTTO|-|EAD
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-25-2002, 07:08 | posts: n/a

yeah Ive had that happen to me before, upping my fsb but with no 3d mark gain. All I get is better sandra mem scores
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Treblig
Nigeri Guru
 
Treblig's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 9800 Pro 128mb
Processor: AMD XP 2400+
Mainboard: Shuttle A35N - Ultra400
Memory: DDR 2700 1 gig
Soundcard: Santa Cruz 5.1
PSU: Logitech Z-640 5.1 Suround
Default 06-25-2002, 07:13 | posts: 3,265 | Location: Mesa , AZ .

Just learning to use the Codes . Check here ..........http://guru3d.com/forum/misc.php?s=&action=bbcode
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ronny1980
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-25-2002, 08:26 | posts: 31

hmm...but i thought at 110 and 112fsb my pCI bus speed was higher than when it is at 133fsb.


because my system runs fine at 110 and 112fsb so im thinking interms of bus speed wise, it shoud be a OK.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Gren Master
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-25-2002, 09:46 | posts: n/a

thanks Treblig
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Treblig
Nigeri Guru
 
Treblig's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 9800 Pro 128mb
Processor: AMD XP 2400+
Mainboard: Shuttle A35N - Ultra400
Memory: DDR 2700 1 gig
Soundcard: Santa Cruz 5.1
PSU: Logitech Z-640 5.1 Suround
Default 06-25-2002, 23:26 | posts: 3,265 | Location: Mesa , AZ .

It just depends on what adjustments are given . On my previous board it had adjustments like this .... CPU/SDRAM/PCI clock and would go from something like 105/105/33 to 112/112/30 which would be cranking everything up but the PCI clock . It ran real stable like that because the PCI clock was brought down . It all depends on the board and BIOS .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Treblig
Nigeri Guru
 
Treblig's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 9800 Pro 128mb
Processor: AMD XP 2400+
Mainboard: Shuttle A35N - Ultra400
Memory: DDR 2700 1 gig
Soundcard: Santa Cruz 5.1
PSU: Logitech Z-640 5.1 Suround
Default 06-25-2002, 23:27 | posts: 3,265 | Location: Mesa , AZ .

Oh yeah , Good job there Gren . LOL .
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.