Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
RealTek 8168/8111 PCIE NIC
Old
  (#1)
JohnMidnight
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce 260 896
Processor: Intel Core 2 E8500
Mainboard: Gigabyte P45
Memory: DDR2 1066 1x4 Gigs
Soundcard: Audigy 4
PSU: Corsair 520 (80 Cert)
Default RealTek 8168/8111 PCIE NIC - 10-16-2009, 20:47 | posts: 17 | Location: California Valley

Has anyone had any problems with this integrated NIC? I have it on my Gigabyte EP45-DS3L. The Stock Drivers on the Gigabyte CD work great for XP and Vista, and what came in on my Win 7 RTM work great. But if I update the drivers, either by using Windows Update in any of the OS's, or even going to RealTek's website, it effectively breaks the NIC.

What happens is after the update, everything fine, but then it starts acting like a wireless card with iffy 3rd party software. I lose connection, regain it, lose it again, etc. Rebooting the computer, and the router don't fix this for very long. And its also WIRED. And I know the wires good, made it, and tested it before using it, I even retested it again when the updates broke the card.

Now this does happen in all three OS's. Windows XP, Windows Vista, and with Windows 7. Rolling back always fixed the issue.

Anyone had this issue? Any ideas of why this happens?

Last edited by JohnMidnight; 10-16-2009 at 20:50.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Julepalme
Master Guru
 
Julepalme's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX580 OC'ed
Processor: i5-2500K @ 4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: 2x4GB 1600mhz 8-8-8-24
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX + PC350
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 10-17-2009, 14:04 | posts: 386 | Location: Denmark

i have the exact same motherboard atm

Used the onboard nic for ages.. both on vista, xp and win7.. 3+ months on each..

Had no issues with it.. although now im using a killer nic
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mineria
Ancient Guru
 
Mineria's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 32G G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000 G2
Default 10-17-2009, 14:19 | posts: 3,075 | Location: Denmark

Don't update the drivers then, why fix something that works?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
JohnMidnight
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce 260 896
Processor: Intel Core 2 E8500
Mainboard: Gigabyte P45
Memory: DDR2 1066 1x4 Gigs
Soundcard: Audigy 4
PSU: Corsair 520 (80 Cert)
Default 10-19-2009, 18:31 | posts: 17 | Location: California Valley

True but still acts broken. Finished updating the BIOS all the way up, and the NIC never manages to wake up all the way in Hibernation mode. Reboot is the only solution for that, which is why I attempted driver updates.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mineria
Ancient Guru
 
Mineria's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 32G G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000 G2
Default 10-19-2009, 19:56 | posts: 3,075 | Location: Denmark

GigaByte doesn't have a driver on their download page?
Still weird that it doesn't work when you get a driver from RealTek, sure you get correct driver for exact your card?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.