Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GPU Problems, please help!
Old
  (#1)
lenix
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte z87x-ud3h
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2x8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default GPU Problems, please help! - 10-04-2009, 10:28 | posts: 274 | Location: ******

Hello,

I've been having some trouble with my GPU the past couple of days... At first I used to lose video signal while I'm gaming, it was causing a lot of trouble.
So I decided to take out everything out of the case and test the system, the problem seemed to go away.. no more crashing while gaming etc.
But I still face a problem, when I boot the system in the morning, it takes too long for the motherboard to POST ( aka give its first *BEEP* ), takes around 1 minute or so (during the time the monitor is still on stand-by mode), then I'd get kind of weird looking white-dashes all over the screen in bios ( yet i can use the system just fine but it cant enter windows ), after one more reboot everything goes back to normal. This problem doesn't happen on each boot, it sometimes happens, sometimes not.

It's really confusing, now I don't get any problems while I'm gaming, I did 3dmark06 benchmark and it gave me around 17k points.. I played hours of NFS Shift without any problems.. So I'm not sure what's the faulty hardware here, could it be the motherboard or should I blame the 4870x2? ( I'm pretty experienced with computers but my heart tells me that the video card is fine, i feel something is screwed with the mobo, although all the problems I'm getting is video related )

Mind you, no heating issues, everything is running cool here, max temps for the 4870x2 are 85C and I keep monitoring the temps the whole time I'm using the pc.

http://www.******otion.com/video/xap3g2_gpu-problem Here is a video describing the problem, sometimes these blue stripes show, other times white dashes show at POST screen.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ForgedReality
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD4870x2OC + 9600GT PhysX
Processor: Intel Core i7 920@4ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe OC Palm
Memory: 3gb OCZ DDR3 1333@1600
Soundcard: Onboard SoundMax HD
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 10-04-2009, 12:50 | posts: 216

It's definitely a hardware problem. Can you try a different power supply? Are you sure the card is pushed all the way into the slot?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-04-2009, 13:04 | posts: 24,527 | Location: NZ

It's most likely the video card judging by the artifacts on your screen.

Also when your PC bsod, I saw what looked like an ATI.xxxxx file referenced - which also points to your video card..

Have you overclocked it?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 10-04-2009 at 13:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Bodar
Maha Guru
 
Bodar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Lots of Fermi'zzzz
Processor: Intel
Mainboard: Evga/Asus/MSI/Gigabyte
Memory: Corsair / Kingston
Soundcard: 7.1 surround sound
PSU: 3550 watts total
Default 10-04-2009, 13:56 | posts: 2,396 | Location: Austin

It sounds like the card unfortunately.. I dropped a cup of water on a gtx 200 series once and it was'nt happy
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
lenix
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte z87x-ud3h
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2x8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 10-04-2009, 18:51 | posts: 274 | Location: ******

Adding to the thread, the problem I talked about ( with the blue stripes etc on boot ) was while the parts were inside the case, I took out the parts again and put them on a wood piece, No problems so far. Been looping Crysis benchmark at highest for 2 hours.. rebooted many times and it seems to function normally..

Could the case be the reason of the malfunction I used to have? I'm gonna keep the hardware outside the case for 2 days to judge.. but I'd like to know what you guys think.

Also, nothing is oc'd.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-04-2009, 19:10 | posts: 24,527 | Location: NZ

Well normally in that case I'd would say it could be heat related - but - you were getting artifacts during POST, which normally means the problem is NOT heat related because the chips are still cold.

Was it cold, or had it already been running for a long time when you made that video?

If the vram is only partially damaged, then the errors can be intermittent, because they will only show when the bad part of the memory is being addressed.

If you ran the Crysis benchmark it may have used the same undamaged address space the whole time it was running.

A good way to tell is to use an app that will use a lot of ram. Actually you can use OCCT to test vram come to think of it...

Intermittent faults can be a pain to troubleshoot sometimes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
lenix
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte z87x-ud3h
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2x8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 10-04-2009, 19:51 | posts: 274 | Location: ******

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pillmonster View Post
Well normally in that case I'd would say it could be heat related - but - you were getting artifacts during POST, which normally means the problem is NOT heat related because the chips are still cold.

Was it cold, or had it already been running for a long time when you made that video?

If the vram is only partially damaged, then the errors can be intermittent, because they will only show when the bad part of the memory is being addressed.

If you ran the Crysis benchmark it may have used the same undamaged address space the whole time it was running.

A good way to tell is to use an app that will use a lot of ram. Actually you can use OCCT to test vram come to think of it...

Intermittent faults can be a pain to troubleshoot sometimes.
True to all what you said, the machine was pretty cold when I shoot the video, it was shutdown for like 8 hours in a cold room before I booted it but I was expecting what happened that's why I had the camera recording.

I'll give OCCT a go, any other intensive applications that can test the whole VRAM is welcome.

Cheers for the suggestion mate


Edit: I just installed OCCT, GPU Memtest is disabled because my card doesn't support CUDA, but there is another test available called "GPUCCT", will give it a shot, if there any other programs please say

Last edited by lenix; 10-04-2009 at 19:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.