Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
NVIDIA GeForce driver 19x.xx PhysX mod v1.01 (Win7 x86/x64) !
Old
  (#1)
X7007
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire DualX 7970
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.150
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default NVIDIA GeForce driver 19x.xx PhysX mod v1.01 (Win7 x86/x64) ! - 10-03-2009, 16:01 | posts: 785 | Location: ISRAEL

Sorry for double posting on Phsyx forum too but i want ppl to know !

can activate now Phsyx with newest driver 190.

ADDED MORE INFO :

In spite of the fact that Nvidia Corp. once promised to enable processing of physics effects made using PhysX application programming interface (API) on any graphics processing units (GPUs),
the company recently started to disable PhysX support on systems that use non-Nvidia graphics cards for rendering and Ageia PhysX or Nvidia GeForce processors for physics effects computing.
This mod will enable hardware PhysX support for NVIDIA GPU, when non-NVIDIA GPU is used as a primary display device. It is intended only for WDDM 1.1 OS (Windows 7).

A poster on the N**G forums received an email reply from NVIDIA support explaining the issue. NVIDIA says in part that the issue had to do with some ***8220;business reasons***8221; along with quality assurance reasons. This apparently happens with version 186 and newer drivers.


The full email reads:
***8220;Hello JC,

Ill explain why this function was disabled.

Physx is an open software standard any company can freely develop hardware or software that supports it. Nvidia supports GPU accelerated Physx on NVIDIA GPUs while using NVIDIA GPUs for graphics. NVIDIA performs extensive Engineering, Development, and QA work that makes Physx a great experience for customers. For a variety of reasons ***8211; some development expense some quality assurance and some business reasons NVIDIA will not support GPU accelerated Physx with NVIDIA GPUs while GPU rendering is happening on non- NVIDIA GPUs. I***8217;m sorry for any inconvenience caused but I hope you can understand.

Best Regards,
Troy
NVIDIA Customer Care***8221;

Last edited by X7007; 10-03-2009 at 16:11.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Legendary_Agent
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus HD7970 DirectCU II
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820 3.6GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte x79-ud3
Memory: Corsair 1866mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Creative Titanium XFI-HD
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 10-03-2009, 16:03 | posts: 881 | Location: Portugal

awsome, is it modded or official?
you know what would be great? to mod the driver so ati only systems can emulate some sort of fake gfx card detect and not beying forced to buy an nvidia gfx card to use the physx in ati only systems
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 10-03-2009, 17:12 | posts: 9,558 | Location: Sweden

Here's the link again.
http://www.*****.com/graphic-cards/1...resent-30.html

EDIT: And here.
http://www.*****.com/graphic-cards/1...resent-28.html
(Seems the first link I posted was a "lite" version.)

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 10-03-2009 at 17:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
REGENERATI0N
Master Guru
 
Videocard: X1950XTX
Processor: AMD64 FX55
Mainboard: A8N32-SLI
Memory: 2GB Crucial
Soundcard: CL X-Fi
PSU: Antec
Default 10-03-2009, 18:03 | posts: 501 | Location: Under the bridge

N**G? What's up with the censorship?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
ManOwaRR
Newbie
 
Videocard: hd 4870x2
Processor: Intel i7 920
Mainboard: Intel DX58SO
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: STek 800 PSU
Default 10-03-2009, 19:46 | posts: 12 | Location: Lebanon

If I Dont have an nvidia Card can i still use the Physx Mod ?

can anyone tell me what to do

thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 10-03-2009, 20:07 | posts: 4,358 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManOwaRR View Post
If I Dont have an nvidia Card can i still use the Physx Mod ?

can anyone tell me what to do

thanks

nope (i guess) its only for guys who have nvidia cards for physx, lets say a 8800gt and a 4870X2 as main vcard,

nvidia made sumthing so he couldnt run 8800gt as physx card (aka ati detected = bb physx).

This just disables it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
ForgedReality
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD4870x2OC + 9600GT PhysX
Processor: Intel Core i7 920@4ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe OC Palm
Memory: 3gb OCZ DDR3 1333@1600
Soundcard: Onboard SoundMax HD
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 10-03-2009, 23:37 | posts: 216

Awesome! I've been stuck with 181.71's up to this point. I'll do this later today.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 10-03-2009, 23:44 | posts: 14,727 | Location: Glasgow

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen-male@hotm View Post
awsome, is it modded or official?
you know what would be great? to mod the driver so ati only systems can emulate some sort of fake gfx card detect and not beying forced to buy an nvidia gfx card to use the physx in ati only systems
LOL, Don't work like that.

Thought this would of been done sooner, but I will try my old 8800GT in my mates 4870 system tomorrow if i get the chance and see if it works ok.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ForgedReality
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD4870x2OC + 9600GT PhysX
Processor: Intel Core i7 920@4ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe OC Palm
Memory: 3gb OCZ DDR3 1333@1600
Soundcard: Onboard SoundMax HD
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 10-04-2009, 03:39 | posts: 216

Sweet! Works great! Whoever made this is a god among men.

Now I'm running the latest cats, geforce drivers, and physx drivers, and I didn't even have to disable the monitor on my ATI card to access the nv control panel. Nice! It even seems to run a lot more stable now. I love this.

Win7 x64 / "Final" 8.660 cats (9.10) / 190.62 geforce / PhysX 9.09.0814
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI -R9-295X2 8GB -4GB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: Creative ZXR + Sen650s
PSU: OCZ ZX 1250w PSU
Default 10-04-2009, 05:05 | posts: 1,082 | Location: Uk

whats the lowest end nvidia card that i can run in a 4x pci 2.0 slot and give me physx to the max in nvidia games that support it to run along side both my 5870 cards.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 10-04-2009, 07:59 | posts: 23,385 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

w00t good times, i used to have major slowdowns with the 181.71, with the new 191.03 installed it seems to be solved.

the hack works flawless so far you dont even have to hook up a second monitor if you create a virtual vga monitor in the screen resolution dialogue of windows.

Last edited by WhiteLightning; 10-04-2009 at 08:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Erai
Member Guru
 
Erai's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V-Pro
Memory: 2x4gb Gskill @2133mhz CL9
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Live 7.1
PSU: LC-Power 1200W
Default 10-04-2009, 15:24 | posts: 46 | Location: Harrisburg / USA

I tried the mod this morning, and i can say it works on 3dmark vantage. But i don't think it works on Batman:Arkham Asylum.

I put a 8600GTS 256mb next to my 4870x2, and installed nvidia 190.62 nfroce drivers, and patched with this mod 1.01.

Here the results on 3dmark vantage. As you can see, there is a remarkable change on the cpu score.

Before



After with 8600 Gts



I also tried Batman:Arkham Asylum, but it is high likely that my 8600gts was not quiet good enough for the physx calculations.


Last edited by Erai; 10-04-2009 at 15:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 10-04-2009, 15:40 | posts: 14,727 | Location: Glasgow

Erai, is that the one with 32 Stream Processors.

Ideally you need 96 and more, so a 8800/9800GT would be more ideal, though good results can be had with a 9600GT.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 (Agua)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 10-04-2009, 15:46 | posts: 7,899 | Location: UK

well my physx attempt was complete fail. seems like a 5870/285 is 2 much for 850w antec psu.

pc wouldnt boot so added a few more gray hairs as i thought had done something very bad.

no pc fiddling for me on sundays.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Erai
Member Guru
 
Erai's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V-Pro
Memory: 2x4gb Gskill @2133mhz CL9
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Live 7.1
PSU: LC-Power 1200W
Default 10-04-2009, 15:53 | posts: 46 | Location: Harrisburg / USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption80 View Post
Erai, is that the one with 32 Stream Processors.

Ideally you need 96 and more, so a 8800/9800GT would be more ideal, though good results can be had with a 9600GT.
Yes thats right, 8600 has only 32 stream processors. I need a better nvidia card to test it, i will search around for a better card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 10-04-2009, 15:58 | posts: 14,727 | Location: Glasgow

8800GT has 112, and would be ideal if you could get it cheap second hand, i personally get away with a 9600GSO though which has 96.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Erai
Member Guru
 
Erai's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V-Pro
Memory: 2x4gb Gskill @2133mhz CL9
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Live 7.1
PSU: LC-Power 1200W
Default 10-04-2009, 16:05 | posts: 46 | Location: Harrisburg / USA

Actually i am not sure that should i spend money just for the physx stuff. It is not a vital important, and it is ok even if physx doesn't work. Besides it is not certain that physx would work complately flawless with ati systems. I think i will wait some more
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 10-04-2009, 16:12 | posts: 14,727 | Location: Glasgow

Yeah, probably best, it will work with all existing games, but buying a new card is risky as the next game may not work with this hack, or may need a card with more SP.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
vurt
Master Guru
 
vurt's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN
Processor: i7 2600k@4.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS SaberTooth B3 P67
Memory: CORSAIR Dominator 8GB
Soundcard: ESI Juli@, Tannoy Reveal
PSU: Fractal Design Newton R2
Default 10-04-2009, 16:48 | posts: 251 | Location: Sweden

would adding a 9600GT be too much for my PSU you think?

i have 3 ssds and 3 IDE SATA drives, rest is on left side of this post (well most of it.)

Last edited by vurt; 10-04-2009 at 16:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Erai
Member Guru
 
Erai's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V-Pro
Memory: 2x4gb Gskill @2133mhz CL9
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Live 7.1
PSU: LC-Power 1200W
Default 10-04-2009, 18:52 | posts: 46 | Location: Harrisburg / USA

Guys, i made some mistakes. When i was testing the batman arkham asylum, my 8600gts didn't handle the physx stuff, only cpu did. That's becouse the overall fps was low. Now i took care of problems, and made new test, and results are below.

Click here 1
Click here 2
Click here 3
Click here 4
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
ForgedReality
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD4870x2OC + 9600GT PhysX
Processor: Intel Core i7 920@4ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe OC Palm
Memory: 3gb OCZ DDR3 1333@1600
Soundcard: Onboard SoundMax HD
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 10-04-2009, 19:18 | posts: 216

Erai, did you enable the physx via the launcher? That's all you needed to do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Erai
Member Guru
 
Erai's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V-Pro
Memory: 2x4gb Gskill @2133mhz CL9
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Live 7.1
PSU: LC-Power 1200W
Default 10-04-2009, 19:39 | posts: 46 | Location: Harrisburg / USA

I did enable physx via luncher at the first place But, i disabled the second monitor, so becouse of that, second display adaptor which is 8600gts was also disabled. I did notice that much later

And then i activated the second monitor and adaptor, and ta daaa , 8600gts was working as a physx gpu

Batman:Arkham Asylum is beyond playable, it is quiet well to play. My old 8600gts became usefull after all
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
HaZe303
Maha Guru
 
HaZe303's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6970Xfire & GTX570 SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500k & i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V & P6T DLX v2
Memory: Corsair 4GB & Corsair 6GB
Soundcard: X-FI PCI & X-FI Titanium
PSU: TT 1200W & Corsair TX850W
Default 10-04-2009, 20:07 | posts: 1,938 | Location: Sweden

I cant get this to work, if I connect my HDTV to my 8800GTX (physx card) I get a bsod at boot, windows works as long as only my 5870 is connected to a monitor, but then I cant get physx?? Someone got any great ideas??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Erai
Member Guru
 
Erai's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V-Pro
Memory: 2x4gb Gskill @2133mhz CL9
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Live 7.1
PSU: LC-Power 1200W
Default 10-04-2009, 20:18 | posts: 46 | Location: Harrisburg / USA

Don't plug anything to 8800gtx. Plug your monitor to 5870, and make sure it would be the primary adaptor. And then, on display settings, click to detect. Some monitors would appear, and select one and click display devices on: Vga, thats it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
HaZe303
Maha Guru
 
HaZe303's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6970Xfire & GTX570 SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500k & i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V & P6T DLX v2
Memory: Corsair 4GB & Corsair 6GB
Soundcard: X-FI PCI & X-FI Titanium
PSU: TT 1200W & Corsair TX850W
Default 10-04-2009, 22:15 | posts: 1,938 | Location: Sweden

Thx, but something is wrong with my 8800GTX?? I tried to use it as primary, and all text at boot was corrupted and when win7 would start it went to a bsod. So something has happened to the gpu since my last use?? But thx anyways, damn it, it would have been perfect for physx use (and then some). I dont want to buy a new card just for physx. So my hopes rely now on OpenCL and hardware based ati stuff?? Hopefully with dx11 we will se more and better physics. I think havok is a much better and realistic physics engine anyway, so hoping that ATI get it working with OpenCL. Would be perfect to play Red Faction Guerilla with hardware physics!!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.