Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
LCD Overdrive, what is it?
Old
  (#1)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default LCD Overdrive, what is it? - 08-16-2009, 00:10 | posts: 4,349 | Location: Spain

Well... i googled and found nothing with usefull info...

What it's the effect of activating?

What does the slider there means?

It affects performance?

or anything you want to explain
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 08-16-2009, 02:02 | posts: 13,439 | Location: √╥

well basically it overvolts pixels making them react faster hence giving you less ghosting.


here is more info
http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/articles...ve_at_75hz.htm
lol i can confirm since i have this model, it reacts faster just like described in the article..


edit: lol not sure now, did you meant LCD panels or this overdrive in ati driver >>> this is auto OC similar to intel i9xx turbo mode lol

Last edited by TheHunter; 08-16-2009 at 02:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 08-16-2009, 04:34 | posts: 9,448 | Location: Sweden

I'm not too sure on it's exact functions (ATI LCD Overdrive in the CCC settings panel.) but as the poster above said I believe it'll help with ghosting from TFT/LCD and similar monitors albeit I've no idea how it does this and how it affects monitors like my own Samsung 226CW which already does something similar to achieve it's 2ms response time average.
(Haven't really enabled it aside from a quick test and most google searches gives very different results and opinions about it.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
SickBoy254698
Master Guru
 
SickBoy254698's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 OC
Processor: 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS Sabretooth Z97
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 1866Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000W
Default 08-16-2009, 09:19 | posts: 663 | Location: Someplace very, very hot.

http://www.behardware.com/articles/6...r-226bw-c.html

This should explain more than you wanted to know.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 08-16-2009, 09:38 | posts: 9,448 | Location: Sweden

Interesting article, I'm not that knowledgeable about monitors and their various functions outside of the basics so the article is quite useful although just to be clear the monitor is not a Samsung Syncmaster 226 BW with a "C" screen, it's a Samsung Syncmaster 226 CW with a so called "S" screen.
(Now more or less fully replaced by the T220 and T220HD, not a huge difference as such apart from the HD version but that one looks a bit better - the design that is - and has dynamic contrast values of up to 10.000 - which is mostly marketing talk as I've understood it.)

EDIT: Going back to LCD overdrive here's some info about what it does.

http://74.125.77.132/search?q=cache:...&ct=clnk&gl=uk

http://74.125.77.132/search?q=cache:...&ct=clnk&gl=uk

(Google caches as the main website timed out, Rag3D if that matters but it links to other sites that explains it further - In the future I need to remember to call it ATI LCD Overdrive and not AMD Overdrive as that seems to be a overclocking software.)

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 08-16-2009 at 09:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 08-16-2009, 11:23 | posts: 4,349 | Location: Spain

Ey thanks, and yeah it was about ati lcd override (ati driver section ^_^).

Thanks guys.


MY TFT is pretty old (Benq FP91G+, 19" with 1280x1024 res), with 8ms of response, ill active it anyways, doesnt seem any sideffect _X (i dont notice ghostring unless i put the slider at max xP).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
blinx
Maha Guru
 
blinx's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 680
Processor: 2700k @ 4.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX/Tech AD900
PSU: Corsair HX1050w
Default 08-16-2009, 17:43 | posts: 1,023 | Location: SoCal

I have an ancient LCD with 16ms responce time and using overdrive definitely helped with the ghosting makes it seem like 10ms LOL for me anyway..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
enoch
Banned
 
Videocard: Powercolor HD4870
Processor: Phenom II 710
Mainboard: Biostar TA790XE
Memory: 4GB DDR2 6400
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair 650W TX
Default 08-16-2009, 23:49 | posts: 577

I don't have LCD overdrive in CCC.Is it for vista only or something?I'm on XP.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
MetalFlake
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus HD4870 512mb
Processor: C2D 6750 @ 3,0
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS4
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Dx
PSU: Corsair 620W
Default 08-19-2009, 21:15 | posts: 34 | Location: Sweden

Where can i find lcd overdrive option in latest drivers for win7? using a 8ms lcd so hoping for some improvement.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
blinx
Maha Guru
 
blinx's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 680
Processor: 2700k @ 4.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX/Tech AD900
PSU: Corsair HX1050w
Default 08-20-2009, 00:26 | posts: 1,023 | Location: SoCal

Quote:
Originally Posted by enoch View Post
I don't have LCD overdrive in CCC.Is it for vista only or something?I'm on XP.
My LCD is hooked up with an HDMI and on Windows XP it shows under CCC as "DTV (HDMI) 4" there you should have several options Attributes/Avivo Color/Scaling Options/HDTV Support/"LCD Overdrive"/Pixel format.





Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalFlake View Post
Where can i find lcd overdrive option in latest drivers for win7? using a 8ms lcd so hoping for some improvement.
With the 9.8 drivers it's located under Desktops & Displays> Right click your LCD and then click Configure you should see the setting for Overdrive.

Last edited by blinx; 08-20-2009 at 00:38.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.