Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The Guru's Pub
The Guru's Pub Hang out with Guru3D's staff and other visitors, have a nice civilized chat, nothing hardware related though !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Can i bring my xbox 360 on a plane???
Old
  (#1)
theworldisover
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA geforce 9800 GT
Processor: AMD Athlon xp 64 x2 5200+
Mainboard: Biostar TA770 AM2+
Memory: 2x2gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: dont know onboard
PSU: Antec Neopower 650 watts
Default Can i bring my xbox 360 on a plane??? - 06-07-2009, 04:44 | posts: 1,257

I am going to indiana for 2 weeks and i as wondrying if i can bring my xbox 360 on the plane(s)?


If so how would i go about that as to packing it and stuff?

i will be boarding 2 planes along the trip. 1 from syracuse to NY.NY then on another one to indiana.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 06-07-2009, 05:09 | posts: 17,984 | Location: Coldwells,UK

Yeh and in a suitcase with some padding would do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i5-3570K 4.0/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 16GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 06-07-2009, 05:12 | posts: 9,454 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Quote:
Originally Posted by theworldisover View Post
I am going to indiana for 2 weeks and i as wondrying if i can bring my xbox 360 on the plane(s)?


If so how would i go about that as to packing it and stuff?

i will be boarding 2 planes along the trip. 1 from syracuse to NY.NY then on another one to indiana.
Alright...for traveling put your xbox in the main luggage and not the one you are going to be carrying. (That is if you have main luggage). Now the packing is really down to the user. Some people like to go overboard and put the xbox in a box full with foam while others tend to put a lot of clothes in their luggage then wrap the xbox in one of those Fed-ex think sheets and then put it between the clothes so they can save space in their luggage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nm+
Don Cappuccino
 
nm+'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 6800gt (2xDVI) 2x172x
Processor: 2500-M(2.4Ghz@1.72v)
Mainboard: nforce2 ultra 400
Memory: 1GB Mushkin (2-3-3) PC-32
Soundcard: Sndstrm, Promedia U5.1,de
PSU: Shuttle Silentx 250W
Default 06-07-2009, 05:17 | posts: 10,362 | Location: Not Minneapolis

Carry on, unless you want it broken or stolen
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 6870
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 06-07-2009, 05:26 | posts: 19,055 | Location: Toronto, Canada

I actually won't even bring a game console on board an aircraft. I'm not sure if it's allowed as a carryon and if it's not, most likely the console will be mishandled by the cargo loaders... maybe tell the check-in counter people to label it as a fragile material?

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
nm+
Don Cappuccino
 
nm+'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 6800gt (2xDVI) 2x172x
Processor: 2500-M(2.4Ghz@1.72v)
Mainboard: nforce2 ultra 400
Memory: 1GB Mushkin (2-3-3) PC-32
Soundcard: Sndstrm, Promedia U5.1,de
PSU: Shuttle Silentx 250W
Default 06-07-2009, 05:39 | posts: 10,362 | Location: Not Minneapolis

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
I actually won't even bring a game console on board an aircraft. I'm not sure if it's allowed as a carryon and if it's not, most likely the console will be mishandled by the cargo loaders... maybe tell the check-in counter people to label it as a fragile material?

deltatux
Yes, you can carry it on.
It is just a computer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
TroM
Maha Guru
 
TroM's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD6850 OC
Processor: E6750 @ 3.640 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Memory: A-DATA DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtream Gamer
PSU: OCZ GameXstream 700W
Default 06-07-2009, 06:31 | posts: 1,942

Simply put: yes
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ScoobyDooby
Ancient Guru
 
ScoobyDooby's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 670 w/ Twin Turbo
Processor: 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ H100
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 8GB Viper Xtreme @ 1866
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire LE FW
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 06-07-2009, 06:52 | posts: 5,349 | Location: BC, Canada

Sure you can carry it on.. just make sure you remove the bomb that you were going to try hidding inside it and you should have no problems
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 (Agua)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 06-07-2009, 14:13 | posts: 7,862 | Location: UK

have taken my ps3 abroad several times as hand luggage. just need a large rucksack to take it. i put the cables in my suitcase...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 06-07-2009, 14:18 | posts: 9,584 | Location: Ireland

^^same as that, i took my PS3 to denmark in January and back in April, brought it with me as hand luggage and just padded it with clothes. Ive taken PS2's also. Wouldnt recommend putting it as checked in luggage as guaranteed it will be broken
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Skiddywinks
Ancient Guru
 
Skiddywinks's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Matrix 285
Processor: i5 750 @ 4GHz 1.32v H0
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth i55
Memory: 4GB OCZ XMP DDR3 1353MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 06-07-2009, 14:19 | posts: 4,631 | Location: North Wales

I would also suggest bringing it as carry on luggage, purely for the fact only you will be handling it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 (Agua)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 06-07-2009, 14:22 | posts: 7,862 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmimmfn View Post
^^same as that, i took my PS3 to denmark in January and back in April, brought it with me as hand luggage and just padded it with clothes. Ive taken PS2's also. Wouldnt recommend putting it as checked in luggage as guaranteed it will be broken
yep i def wouldnt put into the hold....dont see why people are suggesting it. xbox360 and ps3 fit fine into a backpack/rucksack. and u can pad it with clothes..i use my running tops which are lycra and some socks and wrap it some insulating stuff i got with my monitor..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 06-07-2009, 16:27 | posts: 13,832 | Location: Cyberspace

Last time I came back from Germany with an external HDD in my backpack they told me that next time I should put it into my main luggage or they could confiscate it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 06-07-2009, 16:31 | posts: 9,584 | Location: Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybermancer View Post
Last time I came back from Germany with an external HDD in my backpack they told me that next time I should put it into my main luggage or they could confiscate it.
they probably said that if it was packed away, you need to be able to take it out of wherever its packed quickly and easily as it must go through the scanners separately, its damn annoying
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 06-07-2009, 16:36 | posts: 13,832 | Location: Cyberspace

I'm not sure if I understood you correctly, lmimmfn, but they (American customs officer) said, if I would take the external HDD with me in my backpack (carry on luggage) again, they could just take it away from me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 (Agua)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 06-07-2009, 16:40 | posts: 7,862 | Location: UK

ahh well in the states they might be more strict..in fact definately. i have taken a ps3 in hand luggage to spain/mallorca around 5 times. not even asked once to take it out of the bag...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 06-07-2009, 16:44 | posts: 4,190 | Location: MI, USA

Yeah, I dont see why you cant carry it on. I brought my laptop one time, all they do is just wipe it with some junk and stick it in a microwave. Pretty sure its a bomb test, but, as long as you dont have any bombs in, I think youre good to go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Anubis
Ancient Guru
 
Anubis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
Processor: Q6600@3.4Ghz - CM V8
Mainboard: Asus P5Q pro -modded bios
Memory: 8gb Corsair
Soundcard: -
PSU: LC-Power Metatron 8750II
Default 06-07-2009, 16:46 | posts: 2,803 | Location: ∞

Best way imo:
If you know on which airport your plane is departing, simply call them and ask..
So you'll avode all the trouble, if there would be any..

off-topic.: how are x-ray scanners affecting electronic components?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 06-07-2009, 16:49 | posts: 9,584 | Location: Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybermancer View Post
I'm not sure if I understood you correctly, lmimmfn, but they (American customs officer) said, if I would take the external HDD with me in my backpack (carry on luggage) again, they could just take it away from me.
ahh sorry i misread( thought you ment customs when leaving germany ), but yeah going intercontinental with electrical stuff can be a bit dodgy, and i guess its more strict in the US which tbh is stupid regarding the harddrive as it effectively means you cant even bring an ipod through.

Also if going intercontinental the definately dont put any electronic stuff in its original box or you'll get done for import tax
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 06-07-2009, 16:58 | posts: 13,832 | Location: Cyberspace

Some of the restrictions for international flights are just ridiculous, imo, but if that's the price we have to pay for security, I'm kind of OK with it, since it's no big deal to just put it into my luggage.

On the other hand though, it's ludicrous to confiscate this kind of stuff. Apparently US customs do have the right to keep laptops, for example, indefinitely, as I read a few articles after that "incident".

Run it through scanners and give it back to me. Everything else is just chicanery, as far as I'm concerned.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Passion Fruit
Ancient Guru
 
Passion Fruit's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 Unlocked 900/1250
Processor: i5 750 @ 4209Mhz on H50
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4x2GB RipJaws @ 2100 CL9
Soundcard: XFI XtremeMusic / Z-5500
PSU: OCZ ModXStream 700W
Default 06-07-2009, 17:02 | posts: 5,983 | Location: Middlesbrough, England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinkhet View Post
Best way imo:
If you know on which airport your plane is departing, simply call them and ask..
So you'll avode all the trouble, if there would be any..

off-topic.: how are x-ray scanners affecting electronic components?
They don't
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
TirolokoRD
Maha Guru
 
TirolokoRD's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY 770 Superclocked
Processor: SB 2500K @ 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 z68
Memory: 16GB Assorted @1600MHZ
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec 850W
Default 06-07-2009, 17:21 | posts: 1,860 | Location: Dominican Republic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybermancer View Post
Some of the restrictions for international flights are just ridiculous, imo, but if that's the price we have to pay for security, I'm kind of OK with it, since it's no big deal to just put it into my luggage.

On the other hand though, it's ludicrous to confiscate this kind of stuff. Apparently US customs do have the right to keep laptops, for example, indefinitely, as I read a few articles after that "incident".

Run it through scanners and give it back to me. Everything else is just chicanery, as far as I'm concerned.
They recently told that all the "storage devices" should be carrying in the main luggage, otherwise will be confiscated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 06-07-2009, 17:25 | posts: 13,832 | Location: Cyberspace

Quote:
Originally Posted by joweyx View Post
They recently told that all the "storage devices" should be carrying in the main luggage, otherwise will be confiscated.
I guess, I was really lucky then.

Thanks for the heads-up, though. I'll fly to Germany in a few weeks again, so this info probably just saved me some gear from being confiscated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Anubis
Ancient Guru
 
Anubis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
Processor: Q6600@3.4Ghz - CM V8
Mainboard: Asus P5Q pro -modded bios
Memory: 8gb Corsair
Soundcard: -
PSU: LC-Power Metatron 8750II
Default 06-07-2009, 18:55 | posts: 2,803 | Location: ∞

Quote:
Originally Posted by Passion Fruit View Post
They don't
But as far as I know there's some radiation involved.. (that's why it's not recomended to make alot of x-rays in a short period)
So is this radiation only a hazard for biological tissue, and for electronics not?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
dB
Maha Guru
 
dB's Avatar
 
Videocard: 88GTS 512M@830/2050/2.2g
Processor: C2D e6300 @ 3.6 w/ CUST0M
Mainboard: Abit IP35PRO + 2x 160gb R
Memory: 4gb reaper hpc 1033mhz 1t
Soundcard: Creative AUDiGY modded to
PSU: TT toughpower 700W modula
Default 06-07-2009, 21:13 | posts: 2,448 | Location: ROCHESTER, NY

i brought my computer (and all other equipment) to Quakecon last year via checked luggage (except for the monitor) and had no issues. Just make sure you take your time packing the xBox with plenty of foam or something.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.