Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows 7, change mouse polling rate?
Old
  (#1)
Chouji
Ancient Guru
 
Chouji's Avatar
 
Videocard: 19 inch flat screen
Processor: 500 gigabyte cpu, FAST!?
Mainboard: The case is black
Memory: Ram? Male sheep?
Soundcard: Sound card? Like a CD?
PSU: duh, wall socket
Default Windows 7, change mouse polling rate? - 04-30-2009, 03:09 | posts: 5,640 | Location: In a house, on a hill, by a road.

Ok so i decided to get windows 7, so far i like it, That and microsoft is just giving away beta keys.

But i cant seem to change the usb mouse polling rate from 124hz to 500hz.

This is actually important to me, as i'm to lazy and/or cheap to buy a new mouse, but instead i just want to make my old 1200dpi laser mouse better.

This worked in xp, and i found vista tutorials but i cant find any for windows 7.

So could someone send me the file and a quick how to, to change the mouse polling rate to 500hz.

Last edited by Chouji; 05-06-2009 at 18:35.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 04-30-2009, 03:20 | posts: 6,854 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chouji View Post
Ok so i decided to get windows 7, so far i like it, That and microsoft is just giving away beta keys.

But i cant seem to change the usb mouse polling rate from 124mhz to 500mhz.

This is actually important to me, as i'm to lazy and/or cheap to buy a new mouse, but instead i just want to make my old 1200dpi laser mouse better.

This worked in xp, and i found vista tutorials but i cant find any for windows 7.

So could someone send me the file and a quick how to, to change the mouse polling rate to 500mhz.
There was a thread on this a couple months ago - I'm not sure anybody has found a way to do it. I'll try digging up that thread.

Edit: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....t=Polling+rate
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Chouji
Ancient Guru
 
Chouji's Avatar
 
Videocard: 19 inch flat screen
Processor: 500 gigabyte cpu, FAST!?
Mainboard: The case is black
Memory: Ram? Male sheep?
Soundcard: Sound card? Like a CD?
PSU: duh, wall socket
Default 05-06-2009, 18:35 | posts: 5,640 | Location: In a house, on a hill, by a road.

Bump.

I still haven't gotten this to work on a cheapo laser mouse.
Getting it to work is actually fairly important to me.
Even if i were to get a new mouse it wouldn't change the fact i need 500hz polling rate.
Or even 1000hz, but 500 is ideal for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-06-2009, 19:58 | posts: 23,633 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chouji View Post
Ok so i decided to get windows 7, so far i like it, That and microsoft is just giving away beta keys.

But i cant seem to change the usb mouse polling rate from 124hz to 500hz.

This is actually important to me, as i'm to lazy and/or cheap to buy a new mouse, but instead i just want to make my old 1200dpi laser mouse better.

This worked in xp, and i found vista tutorials but i cant find any for windows 7.

So could someone send me the file and a quick how to, to change the mouse polling rate to 500hz.
I changed mine to 1000 with nlite....

There's a reg file you can change it's called mouhid or something. You can alter the polling rate there but I can't remember the exact file name...


EDIT: Sorry I thought you meant XP....

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-06-2009 at 20:02.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
biggerx
Ancient Guru
 
biggerx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 FTW 4GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.6GHz/1.185v
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB Vengance @ 1600MHz
Soundcard: Digidesign M-Box Pro/BX5s
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750w
Default 05-06-2009, 20:04 | posts: 3,437 | Location: Los Angeles

What does the polling rate affect & can someone explain why it's better to change this?

I use an MX518 mouse & I don't have the logitech software installed. It seems to work just fine the way it is. The only thing I've ever had to adjust is the sensitivity.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Chouji
Ancient Guru
 
Chouji's Avatar
 
Videocard: 19 inch flat screen
Processor: 500 gigabyte cpu, FAST!?
Mainboard: The case is black
Memory: Ram? Male sheep?
Soundcard: Sound card? Like a CD?
PSU: duh, wall socket
Default 05-06-2009, 20:48 | posts: 5,640 | Location: In a house, on a hill, by a road.

The higher the rate, the less latency.

124hz is like 7-8ms.
500hz is about 2ms
1000hz is about 1ms.

It's basicly the refresh rate on the mouse, If you want to see a low rate, move the mouse very slowly and it'll jittery very slightly, if you increase the rate, it refreshes alot faster.

The bonus i get with it, is my accuracy in FPS, as well as some art programs, increases.
high dpi + low polling rate is like a fast cpu with low cache.

Pillmonster, it doesn't work for windows 7. I've tried alot of different ways, none seem to work for windows 7 64bit. I'm about to throw an email to microsoft to include such an option.

If people could select their polling rate from the mouse/input device menu, it would be really helpful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
volors
Master Guru
 
volors's Avatar
 
Videocard: nvidia GTX 660M
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 12GB DDR3-1600 SDRAM
Soundcard: Via
PSU: Unknown
Default 05-06-2009, 20:48 | posts: 196 | Location: Toronto, Canada

^^ its about response time of the mouse ,response time @500 is 2ms @1000 is 1 ms @125 is 7ms approx.
and i have a mx518 dont try ultrapool , i tried ,i played and checked on css and it get a bit laggish while playing
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Chouji
Ancient Guru
 
Chouji's Avatar
 
Videocard: 19 inch flat screen
Processor: 500 gigabyte cpu, FAST!?
Mainboard: The case is black
Memory: Ram? Male sheep?
Soundcard: Sound card? Like a CD?
PSU: duh, wall socket
Default 05-06-2009, 21:10 | posts: 5,640 | Location: In a house, on a hill, by a road.

Ya i just contacted MS live chat and had some guy forward the suggestion to the dev department. If enough people do this. We'll probably see an optional update that will allow us to increase mouse pulling without needing 3rd party software or some new trick.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 05-07-2009, 00:37 | posts: 6,854 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

In most cases you'd rather have a driver handle it then editing the polling rate through the usb.sys file. Some devices can be damaged by the higher polling rate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
scandalous
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 670 FTW
Processor: Intel I7 2600K @ 4.4GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3
Memory: 8GB DDR3 Vengeance 1866
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair HX 650W
Default 05-08-2009, 13:11 | posts: 678 | Location: The far side of the moon

Agreed with denial. Everything connected to the usb will have a higher polling rate, keyboard, usb sticks. Simply put: Everything you stick in an usb port. And maybe your mouse can handle it, but it might kill some of your other hardware. Still, shouldn't the vista solution work on windows 7? Try running it in windows vista compatibility mode.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Chouji
Ancient Guru
 
Chouji's Avatar
 
Videocard: 19 inch flat screen
Processor: 500 gigabyte cpu, FAST!?
Mainboard: The case is black
Memory: Ram? Male sheep?
Soundcard: Sound card? Like a CD?
PSU: duh, wall socket
Default 05-08-2009, 19:25 | posts: 5,640 | Location: In a house, on a hill, by a road.

There is no compatibility mode, it replaces a system file, or a driver or something.
And no it doesn't. When i try, and restart the system, the mouse no longer works and i have to use the keyboard to scroll through the device manager to uninstall the mouse, and then reinstall it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-13-2009, 04:57 | posts: 23,633 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chouji View Post
Ok so i decided to get windows 7, so far i like it, That and microsoft is just giving away beta keys.

But i cant seem to change the usb mouse polling rate from 124hz to 500hz.

This is actually important to me, as i'm to lazy and/or cheap to buy a new mouse, but instead i just want to make my old 1200dpi laser mouse better.

This worked in xp, and i found vista tutorials but i cant find any for windows 7.

So could someone send me the file and a quick how to, to change the mouse polling rate to 500hz.
I've found what you were looking for..

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\servic es\i8042prt\Parameters


Class Name: <NO CLASS>
Last Write Time: 10/05/2009 - 1:40 a.m.
Value 0
Name: PollingIterations
Type: REG_DWORD
Data: 0x2ee0

Value 1
Name: PollingIterationsMaximum
Type: REG_DWORD
Data: 0x2ee0

Value 2
Name: ResendIterations
Type: REG_DWORD
Data: 0x3

Value 3
Name: LayerDriver JPN
Type: REG_SZ
Data: kbd101.dll

Value 4
Name: LayerDriver KOR
Type: REG_SZ
Data: kbd101a.dll

Value 5
Name: OverrideKeyboardIdentifier
Type: REG_SZ
Data: PCAT_101KEY

Value 6
Name: OverrideKeyboardType
Type: REG_DWORD
Data: 0x7

Value 7
Name: OverrideKeyboardSubtype
Type: REG_DWORD
Data: 0


Key Name: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\servic es\i8042prt\Parameters
Class Name: <NO CLASS>
Last Write Time: 10/05/2009 - 1:40 a.m.

Value 1
Name: Beep
Type: REG_SZ
Data: No

Value 2
Name: DoubleClickHeight
Type: REG_SZ
Data: 4

Value 3
Name: DoubleClickSpeed
Type: REG_SZ
Data: 500

Value 4
Name: DoubleClickWidth
Type: REG_SZ
Data: 4

Value 5
Name: ExtendedSounds
Type: REG_SZ
Data: No

Value 6
Name: MouseHoverHeight
Type: REG_SZ
Data: 4

Value 7
Name: MouseHoverTime
Type: REG_SZ
Data: 400

Value 8
Name: MouseHoverWidth
Type: REG_SZ
Data: 4

Value 9
Name: MouseSensitivity
Type: REG_SZ
Data: 10

Value 10
Name: MouseSpeed
Type: REG_SZ
Data: 1

Value 11
Name: MouseThreshold1
Type: REG_SZ
Data: 6

Value 12
Name: MouseThreshold2
Type: REG_SZ
Data: : REG_DWORD
Data: 0x2ee0

Value 1
Name: PollingIterationsMaximum
Type: REG_DWORD
Data: 0x2ee0

Value 2
Name: ResendIterations
Type: REG_DWORD
Data: 0x3

Value 3
Name: LayerDriver JPN
Type: REG_SZ
Data: kbd101.dll

Value 4
Name: LayerDriver KOR
Type: REG_SZ
Data: kbd101a.dll

Value 5
Name: OverrideKeyboardIdentifier
Type: REG_SZ
Data: PCAT_101KEY

Value 6
Name: OverrideKeyboardType
Type: REG_DWORD
Data: 0x7

Value 7
Name: OverrideKeyboardSubtype
Type: REG_DWORD
Data: 0




Last edited by Pill Monster; 08-26-2009 at 00:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
ArCElM
Banned
 
Videocard: Gigabyte WF 680 x2 SLi
Processor: Intel 3570K @ 4.5 | H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Crucial Ballistix E
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair AX750W Gold
Default 08-21-2009, 12:36 | posts: 1,434 | Location: The Octagon

common pillmonster have a heart....

Thats like u saying, ArCElM, plz could u explain to me how to cook a curry, and me replying with,

THATS EASY... look


I would really love to know how to force 500hz in windows 7 lol


Last edited by ArCElM; 08-21-2009 at 12:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Chouji
Ancient Guru
 
Chouji's Avatar
 
Videocard: 19 inch flat screen
Processor: 500 gigabyte cpu, FAST!?
Mainboard: The case is black
Memory: Ram? Male sheep?
Soundcard: Sound card? Like a CD?
PSU: duh, wall socket
Default 08-21-2009, 12:55 | posts: 5,640 | Location: In a house, on a hill, by a road.

ArCEIM
Actually that curry recipe is pretty easy to follow. Looks delicious.
Except 1 problem, how do i add 1 tablespoon of Lady in Red Dress?

Actually i'm pretty good in regedit. But making an executable .reg key would have been alot easier.

Edit:

Ok it didn't work.
It did make the mouse more sensitive, but it didn't increase the polling rate. It's still 125mhz.
By Sensitive i mean it increase the mouse speed, but i'm not sure if it's any more accurate. It doesn't appear to be from just moving it around.

I don't have any devices that would get negative effects from an increased polling rate so an actual alteration in the rate itself is what i need.

Thanks though it was worth a shot.

Last edited by Chouji; 08-21-2009 at 13:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 08-21-2009, 15:37 | posts: 4,348 | Location: Spain

http://www.gigasize.com/get.php?d=ycyb3c8n7qb


download that and try,

extract hidusbf,

then hidusb64 (this is a modded-driver for win7) overwriting files there.
idk if only works on x64 or in AMD platforms but it works for me.


install hidsubf and restart pc.

check with mouserate.exe


its the only thing i could do.

And it only increases mouse polling rate (not other usb devices)

i downloaded it from somewhere in this forum, one of those long threads, and was the only way i got it working. I have it on my pc bcs its hard to remember where i found it


PD: At win7 x64 you will have to use the dseo.exe to enable test mode and sign the driver(its for signing files) or use the readydriver plus utility (it makes a macro at boot that auto-select the disable signing checks, but boot is like 5seconds slower while it auto-clicks the keys, i use hibernation so np ).

Last edited by Black_ice_Spain; 08-21-2009 at 15:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 08-21-2009, 16:07 | posts: 13,439 | Location: √╥

for example i have razer copperhead and driver has build in pulling rate selector, will it work in win7?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Chouji
Ancient Guru
 
Chouji's Avatar
 
Videocard: 19 inch flat screen
Processor: 500 gigabyte cpu, FAST!?
Mainboard: The case is black
Memory: Ram? Male sheep?
Soundcard: Sound card? Like a CD?
PSU: duh, wall socket
Default 08-21-2009, 16:49 | posts: 5,640 | Location: In a house, on a hill, by a road.

The older mouserate fixes for XP and Vista dont work in Windows 7.
The worse it does is make me have to reinstall my mouse.
Testmode is enabled on my PC.

All the HIDUSBF.sys style hacks dont work in windows 7, at least not for me.
I've tried like 10 different things, so i'll wait until someone else test any others before i bite the bullet. It's just getting annoying having to test them all, have them fail, and have to reinstall my mouse. Reinstalling a mouse using just the keyboard is annoying, trust me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 08-21-2009, 23:33 | posts: 4,348 | Location: Spain

it didnt for my pc too, but after downloading that custom dll it did, but it is the x64 one, so i guess you better try to find a x86 one :E.




if you have to reinstall the mouse and if your are x64 it is working!, just press f8 at boot and say "Disable driver signature checks" (you can make this


for me "Test mode" doesnt work neither in RTM, it did at 7100, but not now :'(, so im using the F8 way

Last edited by Black_ice_Spain; 08-21-2009 at 23:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Prophet
Master Guru
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel Sb@4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68V Progen3
Memory: 12 Gb Kingston
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX|Akg k701
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 11-07-2010, 07:19 | posts: 535 | Location: Heaven

http://www.*****.com/news/15043-how-...vista-7-a.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-08-2010, 15:05 | posts: 23,633 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black_ice_Spain View Post

if you have to reinstall the mouse and if your are x64 it is working!, just press f8 at boot and say "Disable driver signature checks" (you can make this


for me "Test mode" doesnt work neither in RTM, it did at 7100, but not now :'(, so im using the F8 way
bcdedit -set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.