Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ATI CrossFire Xtension v1.4 - A way to force crossfire w/ profiles
Old
  (#1)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default ATI CrossFire Xtension v1.4 - A way to force crossfire w/ profiles - 04-18-2009, 00:19 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Code:
ATI CrossFire Xtension v1.4
by AgentGOD
-----------------------------
Home pages: www.epichardware.com & www.ultimate-filez.com
  Donation: www.ultimate-filez.com/?page=donate

Description:
	Ever ran into a problem where you could not use your big, multiple ATI GPU setup on a new game?
	Don't worry, many people have had the same issue, and up until now, the only solution was to
	wait for an updated build of the Catalyst drivers, which usually takes over a month! Now, that
	problem has a solution! ATI CrossFire Xtension allows you to create custom profiles that will
	force CrossFire (ATI multi-GPU solution) support on non-supported, or new, games and applications.

	Remember, this is only a temporary solution for CrossFire problems, as ATI themselves must update
	drivers to have true proper CrossFire support for new games. While you wait the month long period
	(or longer) for ATI to update their drivers, you can use this tool to use CrossFire without waiting,
	right now, on your new games.

	This program also allows you to force video quality settings, and CrossFire mode, such as anti-aliasing,
	anisotropic filtering, and AFR, SPR, ST, SPAA. These settings do not need "Force CrossFire" to be enabled.

Requirements:
	-Microsoft .NET Framework v2.0 (minimum)
	-Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Runtime (usually also required for CCC installation)
	-An non-CrossFire supported Direct3D/OpenGL game (usually)
	-Two or more ATI graphics cards (dual-GPU on single PCB counts)
	-Windows XP/Vista/Seven (32-bit or 64-bit)
	-ATI Catalyst 9.4 or above recommended!

Instructions:
	Extract the program to its own folder, then run the program. Add a game/application to the program
	to create a profile for that game/application. Be sure to select the correct rendering method! If
	you aren't sure which one your game uses, you can always check Google! Then, launch the game by
	selecting, then double-clicking the game, or click the Launch button. Your profile settings will be
	saved upon quitting the program, or you can manually save by hitting the Save button. The profile will
	be saved as "ATI_CF_Xtension.ini" in the same folder.

*Notes:
	- As of v1.1, you can now select which pre-defined CrossFire profile to use! If you aren't sure what to
          do with this drop-down list, leave it at the default name, as it should work fine in most situations.
	- As of v1.2, you can now pass arguments to the target application (optional).
	- If you do not know what you're doing with the "pre-defined profile" option, leave it at default, just
	  select the correct rendering method (Direct3D or OpenGL)!
	- As of v1.3, you can now force anisotropic filtering and anti-aliasing on any specific application.
	- As of v1.4, you can now change CrossFire method!
	

Enjoy!


Credits:
----------
AgentGOD - coding the program
ATI/AMD - for the HD 4870 X2
TricksOfDeath - UI revisions
NickF - bug testing
psolord - testing with HD 4870 X2 on FEAR 2 (Catalyst 9.1)

Copyright  2009 [E]pic [H]ardware & Ultimate Filez
Screen shot:

Note: In the screen-shot, I added a few games (some CF supported, some not) for demonstration (screen-shot) purposes. FEAR 2 official CrossFire support was just added by ATI in Catalyst 9.2. Thanks to psolord for reporting that v1.0 of the program worked flawlessly with FEAR 2 in Catalyst 9.1.

Download link:
http://www.epichardware.com/bin/ATI_CF_Xtension.rar

Changes in v1.4
- Added ability to change CrossFire method (Auto, AFR, SPR, Supertiling, SuperAA)
- Fixed program naming when "Force CrossFire" option is unchecked

This version brings back the ability to change CrossFire method! Some older games operate better with different CrossFire methods other than Alternate Frame Rendering (AFR), for example: America's Army. With America's Army, the latest ATI Catalyst drivers assumes AFR mode, and neglects the heavy flickering that occurs during gaming. With ATI CrossFire Xtension v1.4, you can now force the driver to use another method (such as Split-Frame Rendering, Supertiling, or SuperAA mode).

Enjoy!

Changes in v1.3
- Added ability to disable/enable forcing of CrossFire support
- Added quick-help button for the add/edit dialog
- Reworked the GUI a bit for user-friendliness
- Added ability to force anisotropic filtering and anti-aliasing
- Added on screen display of current GPU and Catalyst Driver Version
- Enhanced compatibility with Windows XP
- Fixed a bug that caused profile-saving to function incorrectly on Windows XP

Changes in v1.2
- Added ability to pass command-line arguments to the target application
- Optimized file handling efficiency
- Added changelog
- Made some changes to the readme

Changes in v1.1
- Added selectable pre-defined profile list of CrossFire supported Direct3D and OpenGL applications
- Fixed a few GUI glitches
Source: [E]pic [H]ardware
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Soulfly76
Member Guru
 
Soulfly76's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS MATRIX 4850 512Mb CF
Processor: Q9550 @ 3,8 Zalman 9900
Mainboard: ASUS P5Q3 DELUXE WIFI
Memory: OCZ DDR3 1800 @ 7-7-7-18
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty ProTitanium
PSU: Corsair 750W-TX
Default 04-18-2009, 18:16 | posts: 81 | Location: Denmark

I just love this tool. It does what it promises
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
genbrien
Member Guru
 
genbrien's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 290 1050/1400
Processor: I7 2600k@4.8ghz on air
Mainboard: Asus P8p67 deluxe
Memory: 1600Mhz 2x4Gb 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Razer AC-1
PSU: Corsair TX750w
Default 04-18-2009, 22:04 | posts: 124 | Location: Quebec, Canada

-how do you know of a game is using both GPU ????
-can I start the program as usual or I must start it with the application???

btw, nice program

Last edited by genbrien; 04-18-2009 at 22:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 04-18-2009, 23:03 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by genbrien View Post
-how do you know of a game is using both GPU ????
-can I start the program as usual or I must start it with the application???
You can see if the game is using both GPUs with GPU-Z or with the "Enable CrossFire Logo" in CCC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by genbrien View Post
-can I start the program as usual or I must start it with the application???
You must start the game/application through ATI CrossFire Xtension.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
wekktor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX470 SC @ 780/1620
Processor: i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz 1.5hp95
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4
Memory: 2x2gb xms3 @ 1600MHz1.56v
Soundcard: HAF 932
PSU: ANTEC TRUPWR QUATTRO 850W
Default 04-18-2009, 23:24 | posts: 538 | Location: STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN

Hi

Do this tool work on counter-strike source too?

Im cant try it myself right now, but do you think it should work ?

/wekktor
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 04-19-2009, 02:46 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by wekktor View Post
Hi

Do this tool work on counter-strike source too?

Im cant try it myself right now, but do you think it should work ?

/wekktor
It should work with the params:
Code:
-game cstrike -steam
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Iarwain
Banned
 
Videocard: 4890 990//1120
Processor: Phenom II x3 720 3.7ghz
Mainboard: Lanparty DK 790FX-M2RS
Memory: A-Data DDR2 800 6GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 04-19-2009, 03:04 | posts: 3,048

This program makes me wish I still had crossfire.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
PR-0927
Maha Guru
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 SC+
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12GB Patriot DDR3 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Antec TPQ-850
Default 04-19-2009, 14:34 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.

Just wondering - I had Homeworld 2 installed on a quad-core, Vista 64-bit system, with an HD 4870 X2. It would load a game, then crash the moment you started clicking. Is this a CrossFire-related issue, or is this something else entirely?

- PR-0927
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Psychlone
Ancient Guru
 
Psychlone's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon HD5970 Engineering
Processor: i7 3820
Mainboard: ASRock x79 Extreme6/GB
Memory: F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH
Soundcard: Gigaworks S750 7.1ch 700W
PSU: SPH1200
Default 04-19-2009, 16:24 | posts: 3,719 | Location: Searching for more light...

^ Couldn't tell you since I never played Homeworld, but I can tell you that I've followed this since it was just a little Beta boy, and it does indeed fix issues just like that. Mercenaries2, Legendary and Dark Sector required nothing else to work on my machine, where none of them would work right after install. (nothing worse than paying between $30 and $60 for a game, getting it home and installing it, only to have to sideline it because it CTDs or BSODs instantly, or simply just refuses to do anything!!)

Only other thing that I can say about the Homeworld2 problem, is faulty install, missing DX or borked driver...failing those, this will fix it.

Psychlone

Last edited by Psychlone; 04-19-2009 at 16:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Sneakers
Maha Guru
 
Sneakers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 580 GTX DiCII h2o W2600HP
Processor: Xeon W3520@4.5 Ghz HT on
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
Memory: Corsair 6gbDDR3 XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-FI X-trm Gamer
PSU: Corsair HX Modular 1000W
Default 04-19-2009, 16:45 | posts: 2,653 | Location: Sweden

Awesome tool.

5/5
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
notyou
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6970
Processor: i7-3770
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45
Memory: 8GB PC-12800
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 04-20-2009, 00:47 | posts: 275

After trying this, GTA IV will not start. It just keeps trying to start & loads up the processes menu with GTA IV.exe's After a short time, there are 15-20 GTA IV exe's I have to close out.

Going to try & reinstall GTA to see if it'll actually work again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
wekktor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX470 SC @ 780/1620
Processor: i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz 1.5hp95
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4
Memory: 2x2gb xms3 @ 1600MHz1.56v
Soundcard: HAF 932
PSU: ANTEC TRUPWR QUATTRO 850W
Default 04-20-2009, 16:24 | posts: 538 | Location: STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN

It's a really nice working tool. I tried Colin mcrae dirt demo, and when I first played the game normal without this tool I got at highest 40FPS and was very unsmooth. Then I tried this tool and get 88FPS at highest and lowest 79, yes over 100% and it was really smooth .

But one game I want you to add if possible is: Counter-strike: source(hl2.exe), now there is only hl.exe

/wekktor
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
damien666
Ancient Guru
 
damien666's Avatar
 
Videocard: gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
Processor: i7 930 stock H2O
Mainboard: asus III gene
Memory: 6gb corsair dominator GT
Soundcard: Auzentech Prelude 7.1
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850W DXX
Default 04-20-2009, 23:16 | posts: 11,674 | Location: nottingham, uk

wow first time ive seen or heard of this app how oild is it and are their any issues with it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
walp
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS 4890 1GB 999\1133
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 E0
Mainboard: Asus P5E x38 (RampageMod)
Memory: OCZ FLEX 9200 4GB
Soundcard: Creative Gigaworks G500
PSU: Zalman ZM1000-HP 1kW
Default 04-21-2009, 18:23 | posts: 2 | Location: Umea,Sweden

Oh my!








Pandoras box or whaaaaaaat!?!


Man I wanna order a second 4890 and overclock the **** out of them both!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
rogue221979
Master Guru
 
rogue221979's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Gigabyte 7990
Processor: I7 920 C0 @ 3.7 GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA X58 UD5
Memory: Corsair 6GB 1600mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair 750 watt
Default 04-23-2009, 01:53 | posts: 482 | Location: Oxford maine

I have a few games with steam.

How do I get it to load them? I'm not sure were to guide the ATI extentsion too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 04-23-2009, 06:16 | posts: 9,802 | Location: Sweden

Start the program and create a new profile, browse to the EXE file and give the profile name the title of the game (Or whatever).

Then decide if you want to attempt forcing AA/AF (Usually not recommended unless title doesn't support AA/AF normally.)

Then select between D3D and OpenGL, it'll decide which profiles you have available to choose from.

After that browse trough a list of "profiles" or game names (EXE file names) for your profile to "load" when the game starts, it'll create a copy of and rename the EXE to this name so make sure you take the correct profile.

Normally you would take a profile close to the game you want to force Crossfire in as taking a random one can introduce artifacts and other problems as the ATI drivers and monitoring services thinks it's running that game instead and will apply profile specific settings via CCC for that game which might not always work.
(IE Last Remnant uses UE3 so best to take a UE3 engine title.)

This is best used for titles were Crossfire doesn't scale well, not all titles will show improvements, depends on other limitations such as GTA IV mainly hitting the CPU.

Lastly choose which mode to scale via, AFR is the most common one as of the latest ATI drivers and means frame 1 is done by GPU 1 and frame 2 by GPU 2 and then frame 3 back to GPU 1 and so on whereas the other modes use other means of Crossfire scaling to divide the workload, might improve performance to use another mode or reduce stuttering (micro-stutter) as frames are handled differently by each GPU.

Hope this explains a bit of it, refer to the readme and use google for terms in the program you're uncertain of (AFR rendering for example and so on.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 04-23-2009, 06:28 | posts: 5,950 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

This just goes to show that ATI can release something like this. I mean this has come from the mod community and it seems to work great already. Heck ATI need not even include this in the actual driver package. Maybe as a separate download which has updates released for it to add more profiles. This would be better. But I have not idea what ATI are playing at.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 04-23-2009, 06:51 | posts: 23,434 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
This just goes to show that ATI can release something like this. I mean this has come from the mod community and it seems to work great already. Heck ATI need not even include this in the actual driver package. Maybe as a separate download which has updates released for it to add more profiles. This would be better. But I have not idea what ATI are playing at.
indeed, it really is one of my reasons to go to the green team when im buying my next cardl wont be sometime until the end of the year or so, but still.
i really miss the profiles, and nhancer
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 04-23-2009, 11:47 | posts: 2,979 | Location: Canada

nhancer is a community mod also. Just took someone in the ATI community to make something like this for X-fire users, the guy should be commended.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
KillerSneak
Banned
 
Videocard: 2x HD 3870's CrossFireX
Processor: AMD FX-60 @ 2.9 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS 32-MVP Deluxe
Memory: 2048 PC3200 patriot
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2ZS
PSU: Crosair 620
Default 04-23-2009, 23:37 | posts: 1,126 | Location: The Netherlands

Or people can be less lazy and find the registry:
MVPUMode
3100 - AFR
3200 - scissor
3300 - super tiling
3400 - super FSAA

and there's AFR_Friendly.exe for renaming

ATi did include this and games get added each month (Catalyst AI) so I really don't see why someone should go GREEN (green indeed as they still need 47395047329085543085032 beta drivers a year and maybe if it's a good year they can release 5/6 WHQL drivers)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 04-24-2009, 00:11 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerSneak View Post
Or people can be less lazy and find the registry:
MVPUMode
3100 - AFR
3200 - scissor
3300 - super tiling
3400 - super FSAA

ATi did include this and games get added each month (Catalyst AI)
Problem is, those things apply globally to everything. This program allows you to control the settings for individual programs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
HaZe303
Maha Guru
 
HaZe303's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6970Xfire & GTX570 SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500k & i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V & P6T DLX v2
Memory: Corsair 4GB & Corsair 6GB
Soundcard: X-FI PCI & X-FI Titanium
PSU: TT 1200W & Corsair TX850W
Default 04-25-2009, 19:47 | posts: 1,938 | Location: Sweden

Great peace of software! Keep up the great work! Hope you continue support and add more and more games each version? Thx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
klexical
Newbie
 
Videocard: Dual Asus 3870x2's
Processor: Intel Q9450 @ 3.6
Mainboard: Asus Ramage Formula x48
Memory: 4gb GSkill DDR2 1066
Soundcard: some cheapo supremefx
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1000w
Default 04-27-2009, 00:45 | posts: 14

anyway to use this with warhammer online?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
PDOstrander
Newbie
 
Videocard: Saphire 4870 X2
Processor: Intel i7 920
Mainboard: EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1
Memory: DDR3 1600 12GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-FI Xtream
PSU: ABS BZ1100
Default 04-28-2009, 19:50 | posts: 1

I'd be interested to know if this can be made to work with Warhamer Online as well. I know the app launches a pather program, which in turn lunches the actual game exe. Anyone have any insight...?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Iarwain
Banned
 
Videocard: 4890 990//1120
Processor: Phenom II x3 720 3.7ghz
Mainboard: Lanparty DK 790FX-M2RS
Memory: A-Data DDR2 800 6GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 04-28-2009, 20:16 | posts: 3,048

You would need to use the actual .exe. So, when you launcher Warhammer, wait for the game itself to come up, minimize it, go to the task manager and find the .exe it is running from. Use that one, not the launcher.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.