PC Home Theatre set up..

Discussion in 'The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section' started by Powerman, Mar 16, 2009.

1. Powerman

Powerman Master Guru

GPU:
    MSI Geforce 8800gts 320mb
    Hi Guys,

I've got home theatre set up down stairs in my home, and my computer is upstairs, instead of burning dvds all the time.. im planning on hard wiring my computer to the theatre through the roof, this will require video and audio signals from my computer.. im not experienced at this type of work, so just need a little help

Video: my graphics card has dual DVI outputs, one to monitor, and the other im looking at using a converter to VGA, then running a 20m cable to theatre projector..
    Is there going to be any signal degradation??

Audio: At the moment, my sound card has all outputs towards my z5500 computer speakers, so i'm thinking of running the audio from the onboard sound, ( or though i've heard P5B Deluxe onboard audio is useless ) i've got the choice of coax, optical or just the simple L and R channel cable??

Suggestions?
    greatly appreciated thanks

2. Threewheels

Threewheels Master Guru

GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 275, 896mb
    20m is a long way to run a video cable. it may be hard to find a digital cable that is rated for that distance. Most newer DVD players have a memory card or usb slot. I used to just copy my movies onto an SD card, then plug it into my DVD player to watch the movies. No extra cables needed.

If your DVD does not have a usb or memory card slot, I highly recommend upgrading to one (they are like $60 now) instead of trying to run a bunch of cables upstairs to your PC, and then figuring out how to control your pc's video player from downstairs.

3. -[HC]-AceCombat

-[HC]-AceCombat Master Guru

GPU:
    Dual Asus 8600GT silent in SLI
    Just build a cheap HTPC with a wireless card and stream your video from one pc to another or dl your media directly to it. 20meters of cable is gonna cost you about the same anyways LOL

4. SnooSnoo