Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
Lion[AUT]
Newbie
 
Lion[AUT]'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS ENGTX580 DCII 1536MB
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K @4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Rev 3.0
Memory: 2x Corsair 4096MB DDR3
Soundcard: XFI Fatal1ty
PSU: be quiet SP 680W
Default 06-24-2010, 16:27 | posts: 7 | Location: Graz/Austria

Looks like an 10 year old game...

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
Terje_P
Newbie
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 670
Processor: AMD FX 8120
Mainboard: M5A78L-M/USB3
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: 600W
Default 06-24-2010, 16:44 | posts: 39

http://sadpanda.us/images/154864-0JJ3OF5.jpg
Did they even test the game?

Last edited by Terje_P; 06-24-2010 at 16:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
soviet87
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 5850+5850+5970+GTX470
Processor: Core i7 860 @4.4ghz
Mainboard: EVGA P55 Classified
Memory: Geil 8gb DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 1000hx
Default 06-24-2010, 16:45 | posts: 64 | Location: Va

I thought this game wasn't going to be release until the 25th in EU and the 29th in US? Not trying to offend any one, but these are legit copies?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
Liranan
Maha Guru
 
Liranan's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6870 1000/1200
Processor: 955BE @ 3.5 H70
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: Kingston 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: On-Board Real****
PSU: Antec 650W
Default 06-24-2010, 17:00 | posts: 2,466 | Location: Soviet China. Oh wait...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wanny View Post
So another Activision failure?
Seems like it, well done to Actifail.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
anticitizen013
Ancient Guru
 
anticitizen013's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x R9 280X CrossFire
Processor: Intel I5 4670k 4.7ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-PLUS
Memory: 16GB GSKILL RIPJAW
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair TX850WM
Default 06-24-2010, 17:07 | posts: 3,477 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
who is going to say this supports gamepad on pc?
It does. Or at least it shows gamepad configs in the options... but with the way games are these days that could mean anything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
Sash
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: video
Processor: cpu
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: psu
Default 06-24-2010, 17:13 | posts: 7,004

somehow Activision ****ed up the way UE 3 loads the textures.... In UT3 it does the same but it takes 5 to 10 seconds to fully load the textures after the initial level loading... in Singularity it takes minutes for textures to load...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
Indeo
Maha Guru
 
Indeo's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 5970@950\1200 + GT240
Processor: Core i7 930@4.1 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6TD Deluxe
Memory: 6gb OCZ DDR3-1866Mhz@1T
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium PCIE\Z-5500
PSU: Tsunami Volcano 1050W
Wink 06-24-2010, 17:48 | posts: 1,553

C'mon guys, stop bitching about texture streaming, I got this problem with every UE3 game since GoW... Don't shoot the game devs, shoot the engine It never wasn't that bad, however. It's like if other modern games are blockbusters, Raven games are perfect B-movies straight from 90's, and this one is a very good example. I mean, where else nowadays can you see anything like this?


Last edited by Indeo; 06-24-2010 at 17:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 06-24-2010, 17:53 | posts: 18,428 | Location: Turkey

Mr.Bigtime on the TEST..

Guys, i have no problems, no texture streaming no sound issues runs good yeah low textures there and here some places but no big problem. reminds me BIOSHOCK and better than it for me.

and i can play with GAMEPAD!! when this comes to STEAM??


edit: anticitizen..thanx for the answer..and lol yeah it can mean anything these days
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
UZ7
Ancient Guru
 
UZ7's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 - XL2720T
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: SupremeFX III
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 06-24-2010, 18:14 | posts: 5,233 | Location: Everyday Rain Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
Mr.Bigtime on the TEST..

Guys, i have no problems, no texture streaming no sound issues runs good yeah low textures there and here some places but no big problem. reminds me BIOSHOCK and better than it for me.

and i can play with GAMEPAD!! when this comes to STEAM??


edit: anticitizen..thanx for the answer..and lol yeah it can mean anything these days
Lol yeah it supports gamepad, I said on my post that I was playing it on my 360 controller without even configuring anything
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 06-24-2010, 18:30 | posts: 18,428 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by UZ7 View Post
Lol yeah it supports gamepad, I said on my post that I was playing it on my 360 controller without even configuring anything
lol sorry i didnt see it

if iam not mistaken, when u shoot a specific part on enemy body, u simply destroy it.. i mean SCARS on taht area appears..scars, holes etc..

edit: and here the steam page

http://store.steampowered.com/app/42670/


but no PURCHASE ICON

Last edited by Mr.Bigtime; 06-24-2010 at 18:35.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#86)
Damien_Azreal
Ancient Guru
 
Damien_Azreal's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 750 ti SC 2GB
Processor: AMD Phenom IIX4 965 Black
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR3 1600ghz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Thermaltake Evo-Blu 650w
Default 06-24-2010, 18:34 | posts: 4,479 | Location: Kansas, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terje_P View Post
This is what happens when Activision publishes a game they don't care about. Activision have been crapping over Raven's games for a while now....

Go to their site, you'll find adds for the new DJ Hero, Guitar Hero... Call of Duty... but Singularity isn't even listed.
This is why id Software wanted away from Activision. It really sucks that Raven is owned by Activision. I'd love to see what they could do with a publisher that actually cared about what they were doing.


As for the lack of ini files, that doesn't seem possible. I'm not saying it isn't possible... just hard to really believe.
I can understand no files being in the game's directory... but what about in the documents and settings\"user name"\my documents (or possible "application data")
That's where I've had to go to get ini files for damn near every UE3 game I've played.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
UZ7
Ancient Guru
 
UZ7's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 - XL2720T
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: SupremeFX III
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 06-24-2010, 18:42 | posts: 5,233 | Location: Everyday Rain Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien_Azreal View Post
This is what happens when Activision publishes a game they don't care about. Activision have been crapping over Raven's games for a while now....

Go to their site, you'll find adds for the new DJ Hero, Guitar Hero... Call of Duty... but Singularity isn't even listed.
This is why id Software wanted away from Activision. It really sucks that Raven is owned by Activision. I'd love to see what they could do with a publisher that actually cared about what they were doing.


As for the lack of ini files, that doesn't seem possible. I'm not saying it isn't possible... just hard to really believe.
I can understand no files being in the game's directory... but what about in the documents and settings\"user name"\my documents (or possible "application data")
That's where I've had to go to get ini files for damn near every UE3 game I've played.
I love Ravensoft from when they did Hexen, Jedi Outcast/Academy, Quake 4 and Wolfenstein... but one of my original favorites was Soldier of Fortune. While playing this game, the parts of the body you shoot gets blown off and I was like.. wait that reminds me of Soldier of Fortune lol and loath and behold.. this was by the same company. I like seeing those types of trademarks games do and that they're known for.

Activation is getting so bad that they're making EA look good -_-;
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
Anubis
Ancient Guru
 
Anubis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
Processor: Q6600@3.4Ghz - CM V8
Mainboard: Asus P5Q pro -modded bios
Memory: 8gb Corsair
Soundcard: -
PSU: LC-Power Metatron 8750II
Default 06-24-2010, 19:06 | posts: 2,782 | Location: ∞

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien_Azreal View Post
T
As for the lack of ini files, that doesn't seem possible. I'm not saying it isn't possible... just hard to really believe.
I can understand no files being in the game's directory... but what about in the documents and settings\"user name"\my documents (or possible "application data")
That's where I've had to go to get ini files for damn near every UE3 game I've played.

It's true about the ini files.. I can't find them anywhere either..
Been modifying almost all my ue3 game's ini's.. But this is a hard one, since they're gone lol..

although.. there is a config file.. but.. it's.. in the registry lol...

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Activision\Singularity
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
Damien_Azreal
Ancient Guru
 
Damien_Azreal's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 750 ti SC 2GB
Processor: AMD Phenom IIX4 965 Black
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR3 1600ghz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Thermaltake Evo-Blu 650w
Default 06-24-2010, 19:15 | posts: 4,479 | Location: Kansas, USA

Damn. That is just..... odd. Hopefully something turns up. Raven is usually really good about listening to the community and trying to patch/fix problems that users find.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
Indeo
Maha Guru
 
Indeo's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 5970@950\1200 + GT240
Processor: Core i7 930@4.1 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6TD Deluxe
Memory: 6gb OCZ DDR3-1866Mhz@1T
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium PCIE\Z-5500
PSU: Tsunami Volcano 1050W
Default 06-24-2010, 20:01 | posts: 1,553

Tweaked it... Looks a bit better with composite dynamic lights on (as UE3 games always do, I wonder why devs keep on disabling such a cool lighting feature), but rest of the settings don't seem to affect anything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 06-24-2010, 20:17 | posts: 18,428 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indeo View Post
Tweaked it... Looks a bit better with composite dynamic lights on (as UE3 games always do, I wonder why devs keep on disabling such a cool lighting feature), but rest of the settings don't seem to affect anything.
how do u do that?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
Indeo
Maha Guru
 
Indeo's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 5970@950\1200 + GT240
Processor: Core i7 930@4.1 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6TD Deluxe
Memory: 6gb OCZ DDR3-1866Mhz@1T
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium PCIE\Z-5500
PSU: Tsunami Volcano 1050W
Default 06-24-2010, 20:34 | posts: 1,553

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
how do u do that?
Through Regedit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Activision\Singularity
There are same settings as in usual UE3 .ini files, best thing you can do is to set CompositeDynamicLights to 1, MaxAnisotropy to 10 (which will result 16x), MaxMultisamples to 8 (doesn't work for me anyway) and MaxShadowResolution to 800 (will result in 2048 Kbytes, some shadows do look better). Don't set AllowD3D10 to 1, otherwise game won't start. To add some additional shadows set bEnableBranchingPCFShadows to 1.

EDIT: You can also set AmbientOcclusion to 1, but it doesn't seem to work.

Last edited by Indeo; 06-24-2010 at 21:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
Damien_Azreal
Ancient Guru
 
Damien_Azreal's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 750 ti SC 2GB
Processor: AMD Phenom IIX4 965 Black
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR3 1600ghz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Thermaltake Evo-Blu 650w
Default 06-24-2010, 20:40 | posts: 4,479 | Location: Kansas, USA

Is there a way to modify the streaming textures that way?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
Kaleid
Maha Guru
 
Kaleid's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD HD7750
Processor: i3 530 @ 4.04
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D-E
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-fi Extrememusic
PSU: Silver Power 750w
Default 06-24-2010, 20:55 | posts: 2,018 | Location: Sweden

I'm stuck, how do I get up there?

http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/5...aritystuck.jpg

Ah, manipulate plant to the right..

Last edited by Kaleid; 06-24-2010 at 21:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ket´s mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 06-24-2010, 21:16 | posts: 3,749 | Location: outside the Box...

THX to Indeo for the tweak tips..
@Damien_Azreal - there is an option about streaming textures but its standart on "0", i dont know what happens when you put it on "1" (on)
here are pics of the reg options...



greetz Beta
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 06-24-2010, 21:20 | posts: 9,994 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaleid View Post
should be a box you can age/deage somewhere nearby
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
NiukNiuk
Maha Guru
 
NiukNiuk's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R6950 twin frozr II
Processor: Intel core 2 quad Q9450
Mainboard: MSI X48C platinum
Memory: 8Go ddr3 PC 10600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2 pci
PSU: Corsair TX 750v2
Default 06-24-2010, 21:27 | posts: 2,057 | Location: France

The unreal 3 engine settings are in the registry?
wow
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 06-24-2010, 21:28 | posts: 18,428 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indeo View Post
Through Regedit.



There are same settings as in usual UE3 .ini files, best thing you can do is to set CompositeDynamicLights to 1, MaxAnisotropy to 10 (which will result 16x), MaxMultisamples to 8 (doesn't work for me anyway) and MaxShadowResolution to 800 (will result in 2048 Kbytes, some shadows do look better). Don't set AllowD3D10 to 1, otherwise game won't start. To add some additional shadows set bEnableBranchingPCFShadows to 1.
thanx for info mate
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 06-24-2010, 22:23 | posts: 13,425 | Location: √╥˛

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indeo View Post
Tweaked it... Looks a bit better with composite dynamic lights on (as UE3 games always do, I wonder why devs keep on disabling such a cool lighting feature), but rest of the settings don't seem to affect anything.
because it merges nearby dynamic lights making it worse that's why.. its best to keep it disabled unless you want higher performance with uglier iq.


edit: wow forcing anti aliasing is a killer, it literally cuts my fps in half.. at the beginning on the island i got avg 110-120 fps, now with forced 2xaa just 40-60fps.. usually around 45fps

i didnt see any streaming yet, im hoping for the best, and the game looks good too,.. although typical unreal3 engine fx; fire, smoke, foliage, characters, etc.. nothing bad though.

Last edited by TheHunter; 06-25-2010 at 00:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 soon
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 06-25-2010, 08:04 | posts: 11,846 | Location: England

Got 8/10 in a good review from Eurogamer here: http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/singularity-review

That definitely got me interested in the game and I've now ordered it. Hopefully it'll come tomorrow morning.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.