Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
EVGA GPU Voltage Tuner v1.0 - Patch for vendor restriction & voltage limit removal
Old
  (#1)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default EVGA GPU Voltage Tuner v1.0 - Patch for vendor restriction & voltage limit removal - 02-08-2009, 08:12 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Code:
EVGA Voltage Tuner v1.0 Patch
by king-dubs & AgentGOD
------------------------------
 
Requirements:
    - EVGA Voltage Tuner v1.0 (Get a copy off of a friend with EVGA card, or Google, don't ask me for it)
    - 50 KB of hard drive space for the patch
    - 500 KB of system memory free
    - 30 seconds of time to install this patch
 
Description:
    EVGA recently released a nice, user-friendly tool to allow users to adjust their graphic cards' voltages.
    However, as expectedly, they restricted this tool to only work on EVGA-branded graphic cards. They also
    imposed a voltage limit (perfectly understandable) to avoid people adjusting voltages through the roof
    and massively increasing RMA rates. With this patch, you, the user, are able to remove those imposed
    limits, including graphics card manufacturer/model limitations (tested only by GT200/212 users), and
    voltage limitations (now up to 2000 mV = 2.00v).
 
Instruction:
    Run the patch executable file, and browse to the executable of the EVGA Voltage Tuner. Then, simply
    select the file, and patch it. I strongly suggest making a backup of the original executable. Then
    you can simply run the program through the shortcut or the executable file, and enjoy.
 
    EVGA did an excellent job on this utility. Again, keep in mind, this patch is for those who wish to get
    around those mentioned limits, and is willing to take responsibility shall a hardware failure happen.
 
Disclaimer:
    Neither EVGA nor king-dubs, nor AgentGOD shall be responsible for any of your actions taken with this
    patch nor any results from using the patch, including, but not limited to: artifacting card as a result,
    dying card, fried card, fried motherboard, fried power supply, increase in room temperature, or 
    your hair loss as a result of tweaking voltages to the nearest millivolt.
 
Tip:
    Always monitor your live temperatures and voltages with an accurate program like RivaTuner & GPU-Z!

ATTENTION:

OUT OF RESPECT FOR EVGA AND ACTUALLY YOU GUYS, GURU3D FEELS IT IS NOT WISE TO SEE THIS HACK/PATCH DISTRIBUTED (EVEN THOUGH WE HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THE HACK AND THE LINKS ITSELF), WE WILL NOT SUPPORT THIS HACK IN THESE FORUMS.

THE HACK POTENTIALLY COULD SERIOUSLY DAMAGE YOUR GRAPHICS CARD AS IT TAKES AWAY THE BOUNDARIES IN VOLTAGE REGULATION.

WE ARE JUST NOT COMFORTABLE WITH THAT FACT AND AS SUCH WILL NOT ALLOW LINKS TOWARDS THIS PATCH TO BE POSTED.

THANK YOU FOR UNDERSTANDING.






Be warned: By downloading and using this patch, you have agreed to the above disclaimer, and again, agreed to take responsibility yourself should anything go wrong as a result of using this patch, as EVGA will most likely not cover a dead, fried card as result of using a patched tool.

So far, this patch has been tested and successfully worked with:
-XFX GeForce GTX 260 Black Edition
-2x Leadtek GeForce GTX 280 SLI
- EVGA GeForce GTX 295
- Gigabyte GeForce GTX 260
- Galaxy GeForce GTX 260
- Gainward GeForce GTX 280
- Gainward GeForce GTX 260
- BFG GeForce GTX 295 OC
- 2x BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC SLI
- 2x BFG GeForce GTX 260 OC SLI
- XFX GeForce GTX 280
- BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC

Will update this list as necessary.

Please use good overclocking tactics and monitor temperatures and voltages during your tweaking session. Have fun!

Some feedback can be found here (for both previous patches and the current patch):
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=287285

Last edited by king-dubs; 02-08-2009 at 17:34.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
St. bluedrop
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570 TFIII@950MHz
Processor: Intel i5 750@3.8GHz
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4GB DDR3 CL8 1600MHz
Soundcard: Monitor Audio RX6
PSU: Corsair TX 650W
Default 02-08-2009, 08:19 | posts: 99 | Location: Sweden

Thx man good works great with XFX 280
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 02-08-2009, 08:20 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by St. bluedrop View Post
Thx man good works great with XFX 280
Added to list Thanks for feedback.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Just Learnin'
Newbie
 
Just Learnin''s Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX 280 OC
Processor: Q9650 @ 3.87GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Memory: 4GB HyperX DDR2 PC2 8500
Soundcard: Logitech Z-5500, onboard
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 02-08-2009, 08:20 | posts: 14 | Location: Winnipeg

Also works fine with a BFG GTX 280 OC !
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
tofuartist
Newbie
 
tofuartist's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 480
Processor: i5 750 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: eVGA P55 FTW200
Memory: 2x2GB Patriots 'S5'
Soundcard: Realtek + Logitech X-530
PSU: Corsair HX-620w
Default 02-08-2009, 08:38 | posts: 41 | Location: Australia

Hey king-dubs,
Would it be possible to make the tuner startup minimized on startup? Because if you tick the 'apply on startup' box, it pops up everytime you start up Windows.

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 02-08-2009, 09:44 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by tofuartist View Post
Hey king-dubs,
Would it be possible to make the tuner startup minimized on startup? Because if you tick the 'apply on startup' box, it pops up everytime you start up Windows.

Thanks.
I didn't write EVGA GPU Voltage Tuner. EVGA did.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 02-08-2009, 10:07 | posts: 11,993 | Location: new jersey

wtf put the voltage limit back in
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 02-08-2009, 10:12 | posts: 8,110 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
wtf put the voltage limit back in
Agreed!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 02-08-2009, 10:14 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
wtf put the voltage limit back in
Voltage limit removal done for advanced users
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 02-08-2009, 10:19 | posts: 11,993 | Location: new jersey

i'd put a bigger disclaimer on it then,it looks just like the real=safe version no?
well your giving the people what they want anyway
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 02-08-2009, 10:22 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
well your giving the people what they want anyway
No one's forcing people to use EVGA GVT or my patch.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
tofuartist
Newbie
 
tofuartist's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 480
Processor: i5 750 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: eVGA P55 FTW200
Memory: 2x2GB Patriots 'S5'
Soundcard: Realtek + Logitech X-530
PSU: Corsair HX-620w
Default 02-08-2009, 10:23 | posts: 41 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by king-dubs View Post
I didn't write EVGA GPU Voltage Tuner. EVGA did.
Yeh, thought you mighta known how, that's all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 02-08-2009, 10:27 | posts: 11,993 | Location: new jersey

Quote:
Originally Posted by king-dubs View Post
No one's forcing people to use EVGA GVT or my patch.
+

well besides the fact that the real evga volt tool will not hurt your card at max slider,true.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 02-08-2009, 10:29 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
+

well besides the fact that the real evga volt tool will not hurt your card at max slider,true.
The point is, giving people the most control as possible over the voltage (more than the original tool) while preserving its simplicity. I know who would disagree with this ideology though Unwinder
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 02-08-2009, 10:33 | posts: 8,110 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by king-dubs View Post
No one's forcing people to use EVGA GVT or my patch.
The majority of people using your tool will not be advanced users as advanced users can already do so with other tools like rivatuner or hardmods, the main attraction of your patched tool is the easy to use gui which also makes it easy for the less experienced user to apply too high voltage. By limiting it you'll still allow the average user access to this great tool but also reduce the risk of them damaging their hardware, which they most certainly will if the tools allows voltages as high at 2.0v.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 02-08-2009, 10:36 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
The majority of people using your tool will not be advanced users as advanced users can already do so with other tools like rivatuner or hardmods, the main attraction of your patched tool is the easy to use gui which also makes it easy for the less experienced user to apply too high voltage. By limiting it you'll still allow the average user access to this great tool but also reduce the risk of them damaging their hardware, which they most certainly will if the tools allows voltages as high at 2.0v.
Your motherboard BIOS has an option called CPU Voltage that goes to 2.1v easily.

And again, it's not my tool.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 02-08-2009, 10:37 | posts: 11,993 | Location: new jersey

2.0v? whats kingpin gunna use this lol
people want it,and he gave it so... w/e
you cant compare software to a bios that noobs never see thuo

Last edited by cowie; 02-08-2009 at 10:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 02-08-2009, 10:43 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
2.0v? whats kingpin gunna use this lol
people want it,and he gave it so... w/e
you cant compare software to a bios that noobs never see thuo
"Noobs" don't even know what overclocking is, so they're irrelevant.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 02-08-2009, 10:55 | posts: 8,110 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by king-dubs View Post
Your motherboard BIOS has an option called CPU Voltage that goes to 2.1v easily.

And again, it's not my tool.

The bios doesn't run in a windows environment (which increases the risk of software errors) and it's not a simple gui with sliders, cpu overclocking has also been around for a long time and most people who overclock are more familiar with it and can gain access to alot more information about safe voltage levels from the internet, the same can not be said of gpu voltage tuning.

The ability to raise voltage to 2.0v is you're addition so techically you have modifed the tool from it's original relatively safe specification, making it that much easier if not certain for hardware damage to occur, so calling it your tool isn't that far fetched.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
jststojc
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: gigabyte gtx285
Processor: amd 940be@ 3.4ghz 1.3125v
Mainboard: asus m3a79-t deluxe
Memory: 2x2gb ocz reaper 1066
Soundcard: onboard thingy
PSU: tagan piperock 800w
Default 02-08-2009, 10:57 | posts: 1,293 | Location: Slovenia

too bad its not working with gtx 285 cards
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 02-08-2009, 11:06 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Cyberspace

Thanks for making and sharing this patch with us, king-dubs!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
GaS
Newbie
 
Videocard: eVGA 9800GX2
Processor: E8400@4000
Mainboard: DFI LP DK P45 T2RS Plus
Memory: G.Skill 4GB@500
Soundcard: Creative Live! 1024, Ster
PSU: PC P&C 750W
Default 02-08-2009, 12:20 | posts: 9 | Location: Slovenia

Thanx for the patch, did someone try it on GTX295? I hope I get one in a short time..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Dj Base
Member Guru
 
Dj Base's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 5750 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: 450 Watt
Default 02-08-2009, 12:59 | posts: 45 | Location: Denmark

Well it now works on my 9800gtx, but when it opens it's all the way up to 2000mV

I'm not much into how much wolt a 9800gtx runs at default ? It says NA in default voltage.
So if anyone knows what default is for 9800gtx i would be happy to hear it

Last edited by Dj Base; 02-08-2009 at 13:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 02-08-2009, 13:46 | posts: 4,387 | Location: Spain

dont worry about non-advanced users, the fear about overclocking will keep them outside of here xP, anyways the first thing i learned about OCing was that voltage changes r risky, then i learnt that if you can control it they r not that risky xP.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
HAZ-MAN
Member Guru
 
HAZ-MAN's Avatar
 
Videocard: evga sc GTX 780 ti sli
Processor: intel i7 950
Mainboard: msi big bang x power
Memory: 8 gig corsair mem 1600
Soundcard: sound blaster recon 3D
PSU: 1200 silent pro gold
Default 02-08-2009, 14:45 | posts: 69 | Location: united states west coast

I got 2 bfg gtx oc 280s in sli. I might be dumb but cant get the volt tool using said patch.on the evga sight it say when I try to install said tool must have an evga card.can I get a link and tried 1 above to the non evga crack version or info on a work around to get the evga 1 installed. thank you
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.