Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
US Switch From Analogue To Digital TV Delayed By 4 Months
Old
  (#1)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default US Switch From Analogue To Digital TV Delayed By 4 Months - 01-27-2009, 23:02 | posts: 13,832 | Location: Cyberspace



Quote:
WASHINGTON (AP) -- The Senate on Monday voted unanimously to postpone the upcoming transition from analog to digital television broadcasting by four months to June 12 - setting the stage for Congress to pass the proposal as early as Tuesday.

Monday's Senate vote is a big victory for the Obama administration and Democrats in Congress, who have been pushing for a delay amid growing concerns that too many Americans won't be ready for the currently scheduled Feb. 17 changeover.

The Nielsen Co. estimates that more than 6.5 million U.S. households that rely on analog television sets to pick up over-the-air broadcast signals could see their TV sets go dark next month if the transition is not postponed. (...)
Source: http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories...MPLATE=DEFAULT
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
EddieG
Master Guru
 
EddieG's Avatar
 
Videocard: A few
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: MSI GD65
Memory: Dominator 1600 4gigs
Soundcard: on board
PSU: BFG 1200
Default 01-27-2009, 23:12 | posts: 593 | Location: VA, USA

Yeah, and we can't get our phone cords to reach very far when going to the store either
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ST19AG_WGreymon
Ancient Guru
 
ST19AG_WGreymon's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX770
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770K@4.5
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: GSkill 8GB DDR3 2400
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 01-27-2009, 23:58 | posts: 4,674 | Location: Maryland, USA

What the hell...just get on with it already. Bugger.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sava700
Ancient Guru
 
sava700's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 570GTX SC 310.61's
Processor: IntelQuad Q9300
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-E LGA 775
Memory: OCZ ReaperHPC 8GB PC2-640
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 760W
Default 01-28-2009, 01:08 | posts: 4,863 | Location: In a game world

Yeah this is really stupid... to delay it only gives those that are putting it off more time to put it off some more. If you make the switch people have to get off their butts and make the change. Those that won't get the signals when it switches over from location won't really make a difference and this is what those trying to delay it are bringing up. The mountains around here are just really too rolling and high to almost pick up analog signals let alone digital. I'm 50miles from the nearest digital tower output and I have a hell of a time getting a signal cause of the mountains but I've got Dish Network so doesn't matter to me.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative ZxR
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 01-28-2009, 01:16 | posts: 6,628 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

The federal program that hands out the digital converter boxes ran out of money.. how are they supposed to make the switch when they can't?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ST19AG_WGreymon
Ancient Guru
 
ST19AG_WGreymon's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX770
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770K@4.5
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: GSkill 8GB DDR3 2400
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 01-28-2009, 01:21 | posts: 4,674 | Location: Maryland, USA

It's "analog" by the way.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative ZxR
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 01-28-2009, 01:25 | posts: 6,628 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST19AG_WGreymon View Post
It's "analog" by the way.
Analogue is the english spelling. It's the same.

Color/Colour
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Rochin
Maha Guru
 
Rochin's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX460 EE 1GB
Processor: Q6600@3.37Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA 680i SLI
Memory: 8GB Patroit DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: Onboard HD
PSU: CM Real Power Pro 750
Default 01-28-2009, 01:52 | posts: 1,951 | Location: Texas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
The federal program that hands out the digital converter boxes ran out of money.. how are they supposed to make the switch when they can't?

If my 70 year old Grandmother who lives in a town of 500 in the foothills of Cali can figure out to get DirectTV so they do not have to mess with it, anyone can do it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ST19AG_WGreymon
Ancient Guru
 
ST19AG_WGreymon's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX770
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770K@4.5
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: GSkill 8GB DDR3 2400
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 01-28-2009, 01:56 | posts: 4,674 | Location: Maryland, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
Analogue is the english spelling. It's the same.

Color/Colour
I know that. XD Just messin' around.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Iarwain
Banned
 
Videocard: 4890 990//1120
Processor: Phenom II x3 720 3.7ghz
Mainboard: Lanparty DK 790FX-M2RS
Memory: A-Data DDR2 800 6GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 01-28-2009, 02:11 | posts: 3,048

If you can't spend 40 bucks on a freaking converter, you don't deserve or use a TV. Absurd sum of tax money to spend just so people can watch TV.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative ZxR
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 01-28-2009, 02:21 | posts: 6,628 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochin View Post
If my 70 year old Grandmother who lives in a town of 500 in the foothills of Cali can figure out to get DirectTV so they do not have to mess with it, anyone can do it.
That's great.

People exist in this country, about ~6.5M left, that have never payed for a TV service. These people have the option of signing up for a coupon, to get a free TV converter box and continue paying nothing for their TV service. The government program that hands out these coupons no longer has the money to hand them out. Thus 6.5M people (funfact: 21% of Minnesota still use analog) will be left without TV.

Do I think it should be delayed this long? No. Do I think it should be delayed at all? I think the numbers are over inflated and most of these people are either A. Confused by the switch, B. Already have a newer TV with a built in digital decoder, C. Don't even care. But to say that it's entirely due to the lazyness of these people is incorrect. I would assume that the majority want their TV service to remain free.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
ST19AG_WGreymon
Ancient Guru
 
ST19AG_WGreymon's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX770
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770K@4.5
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: GSkill 8GB DDR3 2400
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 01-28-2009, 02:26 | posts: 4,674 | Location: Maryland, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iarwain View Post
If you can't spend 40 bucks on a freaking converter, you don't deserve or use a TV. Absurd sum of tax money to spend just so people can watch TV.
Agreed. Essentially if they really want it, it's only $40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
MileHighMilitia
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HIS HD4850 + TT DuOrb 700/1135
Processor: Core 2 duo E6750 2.66 Ghz
Mainboard: ECS P35T-A
Memory: 4 Gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: Built in Realtek HD audio
PSU: Cooler Master 550W
Default 01-28-2009, 02:30 | posts: 603 | Location: Colorado

So thats 2% of the US population... I think our civilization would collapse if those people didnt have TV. I mean seriously this is ridiculous, how long have we KNOWN that the switch was coming, yet people still havent gotten a converter? Those people deserve to be without tv until they get their converter box.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 01-28-2009, 02:39 | posts: 15,598 | Location: US East Coast

Radio Shack here had $40 off coupons in their sales ad a couple weeks ago. But, they started announcing this 2 years ago....that's plenty of time for everyone to prepare...make the switch, screw those that put it off for 2 years.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 01-28-2009, 02:47 | posts: 17,984 | Location: Coldwells,UK

just be lucky ur not in the uk boys.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Norvekh
Maha Guru
 
Norvekh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970
Processor: Core i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 01-28-2009, 07:14 | posts: 2,667 | Location: Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Radio Shack here had $40 off coupons in their sales ad a couple weeks ago. But, they started announcing this 2 years ago....that's plenty of time for everyone to prepare...make the switch, screw those that put it off for 2 years.
Two years ago? More like 15 years ago when it was first decided upon by Congress and has been mentioned in the Congressional record more times than I can recall since then. But, yeah, the gigantic ad campaigns I guess started about then.

All said and done, television is a privilege not a right. Handing out millions of those little converter boxes adds to an already hyper-inflated federal budget. God forbid people might have to read books or listen to radio... Or just go outside.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
sava700
Ancient Guru
 
sava700's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 570GTX SC 310.61's
Processor: IntelQuad Q9300
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-E LGA 775
Memory: OCZ ReaperHPC 8GB PC2-640
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 760W
Default 01-28-2009, 14:26 | posts: 4,863 | Location: In a game world

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
The federal program that hands out the digital converter boxes ran out of money.. how are they supposed to make the switch when they can't?
The coupons have been available for 2years now. I ordered two for grand parents and had them here in less than 2 weeks way back when it first started. To wait now is a waste of resources stations have already put into the change to happen next month vs 5 months from now. If your not ready by now it was your choice not the Governments fault.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.