Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GeForce GTX 280, Windows 98 and VMware
Old
  (#1)
RaMDaY
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac / GTX280AMP/ 1Gig
Processor: Intel QX9650 OC @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 780i SLI
Memory: PC6400 DDR2/800 4GB
Soundcard: Audigy ZS
PSU: XION Supernova 800W
Default GeForce GTX 280, Windows 98 and VMware - 01-18-2009, 22:09 | posts: 107 | Location: NYC

I'm trying to get a virtual machine up and running to play some of my older games in. I know there's no drivers for Windows 98 drivers for a GeForce GTX 280 so does anyone know if there's anything else I can do to get it running.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
mumakil
Member Guru
 
mumakil's Avatar
 
Videocard: evga GeForce 9800 GTX
Processor: Intel Core2Quad 6600 stoc
Mainboard: ASUS P5N-E
Memory: 2x2GB Markvision PC6400 8
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fatality Ex
PSU: Wisecase Steel-power 500W
Default 01-18-2009, 22:38 | posts: 46 | Location: Brazil

It doesn't matter which GPU you have, VMWare emulates a DirectX 9 capable Video Card called "VMWare SVGA II", which right after a Windows 98 installation will be available by installing the 'VMWare tools' within Win98, which can be found on 'VMware Workstation's 'VM|Install VMWare tools' menu.

If it doesn't install the video driver immediately (it happened to me several times) you will need to force the 'unsupported device' on 'device manager' to find the driver which will be located under 'C:\Program Files\VMware\Vmware tools\drivers\video'. Thus, VMWare emulated system will use the emulated GPU through your GeForce; therefore, no Nvidia Card/drivers will be recognized into the virtual machine. I can't tell you if it's good enough for games because I never installed any 3D game on my Win 98 virtual machine so far...

P.S.: That's why if you install Vista or Win7 on a virtual machine, you will never get the 'Aero' feature working, unless you do a 'remote desktop' trick (google it to learn how).

Hope to have helped!

Cheers!

Last edited by mumakil; 01-18-2009 at 23:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
RaMDaY
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac / GTX280AMP/ 1Gig
Processor: Intel QX9650 OC @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 780i SLI
Memory: PC6400 DDR2/800 4GB
Soundcard: Audigy ZS
PSU: XION Supernova 800W
Default 01-18-2009, 23:12 | posts: 107 | Location: NYC

I installed the VMWare tools and have VMWare SVGA II but when I go the DirectX diagnostics tools it say I have no Direct3D Acceleration available. I guess I'll have to install a game and see what's up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
mumakil
Member Guru
 
mumakil's Avatar
 
Videocard: evga GeForce 9800 GTX
Processor: Intel Core2Quad 6600 stoc
Mainboard: ASUS P5N-E
Memory: 2x2GB Markvision PC6400 8
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fatality Ex
PSU: Wisecase Steel-power 500W
Default 01-19-2009, 00:40 | posts: 46 | Location: Brazil

With Win 98 virtual machine powered off, check the display settings and enable Directx 9 acceleration. For me DirectDraw is accelerated, but Direct3D keeps giving me errors every time I test it and is disabled.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
RaMDaY
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac / GTX280AMP/ 1Gig
Processor: Intel QX9650 OC @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 780i SLI
Memory: PC6400 DDR2/800 4GB
Soundcard: Audigy ZS
PSU: XION Supernova 800W
Default 01-19-2009, 04:25 | posts: 107 | Location: NYC

Quote:
Originally Posted by mumakil View Post
With Win 98 virtual machine powered off, check the display settings and enable Directx 9 acceleration. For me DirectDraw is accelerated, but Direct3D keeps giving me errors every time I test it and is disabled.
Pretty much the samething here. I tried to run some a few early 3D games . No go.

Last edited by RaMDaY; 01-19-2009 at 13:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
HaZe303
Maha Guru
 
HaZe303's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6970Xfire & GTX570 SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500k & i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V & P6T DLX v2
Memory: Corsair 4GB & Corsair 6GB
Soundcard: X-FI PCI & X-FI Titanium
PSU: TT 1200W & Corsair TX850W
Default 01-19-2009, 08:26 | posts: 1,938 | Location: Sweden

Virtual machines are not made for gaming purposes, so do not get youre hopes up. Maybe VMWare version 10 will have dx9 accelerated, if even then. You cant even get Aero working on Vista with vmware, that tells me how great the dx9 acceleration is?!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
RaMDaY
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac / GTX280AMP/ 1Gig
Processor: Intel QX9650 OC @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 780i SLI
Memory: PC6400 DDR2/800 4GB
Soundcard: Audigy ZS
PSU: XION Supernova 800W
Default 01-19-2009, 16:57 | posts: 107 | Location: NYC

What does everyone suggest as being the best way to play early Windows games on modern hardware then? I'm guessing virtual machines with glide wrappers are not going to cut it.

Last edited by RaMDaY; 01-19-2009 at 17:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 01-19-2009, 23:35 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Cyberspace

DOSBox: http://www.dosbox.com/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
RaMDaY
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac / GTX280AMP/ 1Gig
Processor: Intel QX9650 OC @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 780i SLI
Memory: PC6400 DDR2/800 4GB
Soundcard: Audigy ZS
PSU: XION Supernova 800W
Default 01-19-2009, 23:46 | posts: 107 | Location: NYC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybermancer View Post
I'm trying to play old Windows games. Some of them run on glide and early version of Direct X. None of them are DOS games, An examples of a game I'm looking to run is "Die Hard Trilogy". When I set the compatibility to Windows 95/98 it gives me an error about not working with 64-bit architecture. Three Dirty Dwarves is another.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 01-19-2009, 23:58 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Cyberspace

Hm. I'd install Windows 98 on a separate partit-i-on and then use some modded drivers for the GTX280.

Maybe use the latest official driver for 9x and then try to get it working with a modded inf in which your card is supported...

Have a look here, also:
http://www.msfn.org/board/NVidia-dri...69-t97140.html

Besides that you need a Glide wrapper to get Glide without a 3dfx card working.
http://dege.f-r-e-e-w-e-b.hu/ (take the - out)
http://www.glidos.net/

Last edited by Cybermancer; 01-20-2009 at 00:00.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
pato
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce 260GTX + 220GT
Processor: Dual Operon 875
Mainboard: Tyan Thunder K8WE
Memory: Kingston DDR ECC reg. 8GB
Soundcard: SB X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: BeQuiet 550W
Default 01-20-2009, 17:10 | posts: 93 | Location: Switzerland

Did you install directx9 at all?
Windows 98 doesn't provide it out of the box
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Syranetic
Master Guru
 
Syranetic's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 980 GTX OC
Processor: Core i7 2600K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Maximus Gene V
Memory: 8GB Gskill Ripjaw @ 2133
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium / Onkyo 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 01-20-2009, 17:54 | posts: 288 | Location: Canada

Buy a $20 dollar computer with Windows 98 preinstalled off Ebay.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
mumakil
Member Guru
 
mumakil's Avatar
 
Videocard: evga GeForce 9800 GTX
Processor: Intel Core2Quad 6600 stoc
Mainboard: ASUS P5N-E
Memory: 2x2GB Markvision PC6400 8
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fatality Ex
PSU: Wisecase Steel-power 500W
Default 01-21-2009, 12:02 | posts: 46 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syranetic View Post
Buy a $20 dollar computer with Windows 98 preinstalled off Ebay.
Yeah, that's the best idea so far! I'm glad I still have my 1998 Compaq Presario with Pentium II 500Mhz and a Riva TNT 32MB GPU, which runs very well every game of that long forgotten era...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.