Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
F___ me Gigabyte GA-EX58-DS4 No SLI?
Old
  (#1)
kvkx71
Member Guru
 
kvkx71's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x BFG Geforce 280GTX
Processor: Intel I7 940@4.57Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB DDR 3 1870
Soundcard: Onboard+headphones
PSU: 2X 700 watt OCZ
Unhappy F___ me Gigabyte GA-EX58-DS4 No SLI? - 01-10-2009, 17:38 | posts: 97 | Location: PA

So I rushed out and bought my core I7 with a GTX 280 the GA-EX58-DS4 thinking later on I'd buy another 280 for SLI, and be able to play ultra high crysis ) so I orderd the next 280 yesterday.

And now I just glance at the GA-EX58-DS4 and it says no SLI support **** me.
I know it's my fault for not reading close enough, but when I orderd it I was just thinking like ''x58 + 3 PCIE slots ok good to go'' and did'nt read closer.


But any way is their any thing I can do?
Can I try and drop in the secound GTX 280 anyway and see what happens?
Flash the bois with the GA-EX58-EXTREME or GA-EX58-UD5 models bois?
Cross some jumpers?

Or put the secound 280 next to my computer and drool over it until I make enough to buy another x58 mainboard with SLI support. Grr


And to make it worse the buy.com 280s at $200 should I but one of them instead of a new mainboard and wait even longer for a new mainboard but then have tri SLI ...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
K.I.T.T.
Banned
 
Videocard: Pending...
Processor: Core2D E6750
Mainboard: Asus P5K-E Wifi AP
Memory: 4GB Kingston DDR2 800
Soundcard: LogitechZ5500 + Onboard
PSU: Asus 550W P-55GA
Default 01-10-2009, 17:44 | posts: 286 | Location: Australia

can't u just exchange the motherboard??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 OC Twin Frozr
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sounblaster Z/DT 990 Pro
PSU: Antec 650 Watt
Default 01-10-2009, 17:50 | posts: 5,048 | Location: Washington State, USA

http://pcmaniacs.com.au/gigabyte-gae...ly-p-4593.html

That says SLI/Crossfire ready, which was one of the big points of the X58's in my opinion, where does it say it doesn't support SLI?

http://forums.slizone.com/index.php?showtopic=31255

They have a forum about it too

They say only crossfire, so i dunno, sounds dumb
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
kvkx71
Member Guru
 
kvkx71's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x BFG Geforce 280GTX
Processor: Intel I7 940@4.57Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB DDR 3 1870
Soundcard: Onboard+headphones
PSU: 2X 700 watt OCZ
Default 01-10-2009, 18:00 | posts: 97 | Location: PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by K.I.T.T. View Post
can't u just exchange the motherboard??
How?

I got it from newegg they will only exchane for the same model.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aura89 View Post
http://pcmaniacs.com.au/gigabyte-gae...ly-p-4593.html

That says SLI/Crossfire ready, which was one of the big points of the X58's in my opinion, where does it say it doesn't support SLI?


http://forums.slizone.com/index.php?showtopic=31255

They have a forum about it too

They say only crossfire, so i dunno, sounds dumb
Ya I know that does say it and a couple of other places did too, I I could have swore newegg did too when I bought it, so I was going to go back and bitch that they said SLI support, but now I went back and looked and newegg does'nt say any thing about SLI any more.

And ya from the forum posts and 2 diffrent reviews it said no SLI support so Idk.

As I said maybe it'll work if I just drop it into the board or maybe if I flash to a diffrent bois? Idk I'm confused as to what to do next.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 OC Twin Frozr
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sounblaster Z/DT 990 Pro
PSU: Antec 650 Watt
Default 01-10-2009, 18:20 | posts: 5,048 | Location: Washington State, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kvkx71 View Post
How?

I got it from newegg they will only exchane for the same model.



Ya I know that does say it and a couple of other places did too, I I could have swore newegg did too when I bought it, so I was going to go back and bitch that they said SLI support, but now I went back and looked and newegg does'nt say any thing about SLI any more.

And ya from the forum posts and 2 diffrent reviews it said no SLI support so Idk.

As I said maybe it'll work if I just drop it into the board or maybe if I flash to a diffrent bois? Idk I'm confused as to what to do next.
You could always return the board and pay a restocking fee, not the best way of doing it, but might be the only way if you want SLI
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
K.I.T.T.
Banned
 
Videocard: Pending...
Processor: Core2D E6750
Mainboard: Asus P5K-E Wifi AP
Memory: 4GB Kingston DDR2 800
Soundcard: LogitechZ5500 + Onboard
PSU: Asus 550W P-55GA
Default 01-10-2009, 19:00 | posts: 286 | Location: Australia

just email newegg and expain ur problem Iam sure the'll understand. or call there customer service hotline or whateva
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 01-10-2009, 19:11 | posts: 11,010 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by kvkx71 View Post
So I rushed out and bought my core I7 with a GTX 280 the GA-EX58-DS4 thinking later on I'd buy another 280 for SLI, and be able to play ultra high crysis ) so I orderd the next 280 yesterday.

And now I just glance at the GA-EX58-DS4 and it says no SLI support **** me.
I know it's my fault for not reading close enough, but when I orderd it I was just thinking like ''x58 + 3 PCIE slots ok good to go'' and did'nt read closer.


But any way is their any thing I can do?
Can I try and drop in the secound GTX 280 anyway and see what happens?
Flash the bois with the GA-EX58-EXTREME or GA-EX58-UD5 models bois?
Cross some jumpers?

Or put the secound 280 next to my computer and drool over it until I make enough to buy another x58 mainboard with SLI support. Grr


And to make it worse the buy.com 280s at $200 should I but one of them instead of a new mainboard and wait even longer for a new mainboard but then have tri SLI ...
You need the latest drivers from NVIDIA. 181.20 drivers added SLI support for X58 based boards.
EDIT: It looks like they didn't take the board for NVIDIA for SLI licensing so that means no SLI support for it. Return it if you can.

Last edited by Anarion; 01-10-2009 at 19:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
biggerx
Ancient Guru
 
biggerx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 FTW 4GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.6GHz/1.185v
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6/TB
Memory: 16GB Vengeance @ 1866MHz
Soundcard: Digidesign M-Box Pro/BX5s
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750w
Default 01-10-2009, 19:29 | posts: 3,509 | Location: Los Angeles

lol that will teach you to do more research before you buy huh?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kvkx71
Member Guru
 
kvkx71's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x BFG Geforce 280GTX
Processor: Intel I7 940@4.57Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB DDR 3 1870
Soundcard: Onboard+headphones
PSU: 2X 700 watt OCZ
Default 01-11-2009, 00:47 | posts: 97 | Location: PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by K.I.T.T. View Post
just email newegg and expain ur problem Iam sure the'll understand. or call there customer service hotline or whateva
I'll give it a try but looks like the best I can hope for now is return it with a 15% restocking fee, and pay the diffrence for a new one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggerx View Post
lol that will teach you to do more research before you buy huh?
Yup.


And no one replied about my question about flashing the bois to a diffrent gigabyte model to support SLI?
The GA-EX58-UD5 looks to be almost the same except with SLI support is it worth a try?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
biggerx
Ancient Guru
 
biggerx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 FTW 4GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.6GHz/1.185v
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6/TB
Memory: 16GB Vengeance @ 1866MHz
Soundcard: Digidesign M-Box Pro/BX5s
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750w
Default 01-11-2009, 00:52 | posts: 3,509 | Location: Los Angeles

Quote:
Originally Posted by kvkx71 View Post
I'll give it a try but looks like the best I can hope for now is return it with a 15% restocking fee, and pay the diffrence for a new one.


Yup.


And no one replied about my question about flashing the bois to a diffrent gigabyte model to support SLI?
The GA-EX58-UD5 looks to be almost the same except with SLI support is it worth a try?
Hmmm probably not. I've never heard of anyone flashing a different BIOS to a mobo. The problem I think you'll run into real quick is that BIOS update utility that Gigabyte uses won't even let you install the other BIOS. I know my ASUS board won't let me.

Plus you'll void every warranty the thing has if you brick it.

Here is what I'm doing. (I know you want to do true SLI and all but...) I'm going to step up to GTX 295! If BFG has a step up you should do the same. Bam! You have your SLI on your X58 mobo for a lot cheaper then buying another 280!

Last edited by biggerx; 01-11-2009 at 00:57.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
kvkx71
Member Guru
 
kvkx71's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x BFG Geforce 280GTX
Processor: Intel I7 940@4.57Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB DDR 3 1870
Soundcard: Onboard+headphones
PSU: 2X 700 watt OCZ
Default 01-11-2009, 00:57 | posts: 97 | Location: PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggerx View Post
Hmmm probably not. I've never heard of anyone flashing a different BIOS to a mobo. The problem I think you'll run into real quick is that BIOS update utility that Gigabyte uses won't even let you install the other BIOS. I know my ASUS board won't let me.

Plus you'll void every warrenty the thing has if you brick it.
No the Gigabyte Utility won't let me, but I could always get around that and install it manually.

but ya it would void the warintee, but if I'm sending it back to newegg any way as long as it's in the box etc. I doubt they check if a mother board is still functioning+I could provided the diffrent bois does'nt cuase a short and fry the board, always put the old bois back on?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
biggerx
Ancient Guru
 
biggerx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 FTW 4GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.6GHz/1.185v
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6/TB
Memory: 16GB Vengeance @ 1866MHz
Soundcard: Digidesign M-Box Pro/BX5s
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750w
Default 01-11-2009, 01:00 | posts: 3,509 | Location: Los Angeles

Quote:
Originally Posted by kvkx71 View Post
No the Gigabyte Utility won't let me, but I could always get around that and install it manually.

but ya it would void the warintee, but if I'm sending it back to newegg any way as long as it's in the box etc. I doubt they check if a mother board is still functioning+I could provided the diffrent bois does'nt cuase a short and fry the board, always put the old bois back on?
http://www.bfgtech.com/tradeupprogram.aspx

Get a 295!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
kvkx71
Member Guru
 
kvkx71's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x BFG Geforce 280GTX
Processor: Intel I7 940@4.57Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB DDR 3 1870
Soundcard: Onboard+headphones
PSU: 2X 700 watt OCZ
Default 01-11-2009, 01:17 | posts: 97 | Location: PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggerx View Post
Nah lol I'm not a fan of the 295, two 285s Thumbs up! But limited by the 260s memory bus thumbs down.

I'd by it if it was really two 285/280s cores and memory alike.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
kvkx71
Member Guru
 
kvkx71's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x BFG Geforce 280GTX
Processor: Intel I7 940@4.57Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB DDR 3 1870
Soundcard: Onboard+headphones
PSU: 2X 700 watt OCZ
Default 01-11-2009, 02:07 | posts: 97 | Location: PA

Also Nvida lists it one their website wtf
http://www.slizone.com/object/slizone_build_mobo.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 OC Twin Frozr
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sounblaster Z/DT 990 Pro
PSU: Antec 650 Watt
Default 01-11-2009, 03:35 | posts: 5,048 | Location: Washington State, USA

You may be able to get it to work, who knows, like the guy above said:

"You need the latest drivers from NVIDIA. 181.20 drivers added SLI support for X58 based boards."

don't know if it'll work, but who knows
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
chinobino
Master Guru
 
chinobino's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX580 SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty Pro
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-2666
Soundcard: Creative Tactic3D Alpha
PSU: ENERMAX REVO 85+ 1250W
Default 01-11-2009, 05:29 | posts: 737

Did the board come with an SLI bridge or does it say it should in the manual?

If not then I would say it's crossfire only.

The Gigabyte website for the GA-EX58-DS4 says crossfire only.

When you get your 2nd card give it a go with the latest drivers and report back so the world will know for sure!

If you don't have an SLI bridge you might need to borrow one...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
kvkx71
Member Guru
 
kvkx71's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x BFG Geforce 280GTX
Processor: Intel I7 940@4.57Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB DDR 3 1870
Soundcard: Onboard+headphones
PSU: 2X 700 watt OCZ
Default 01-12-2009, 18:02 | posts: 97 | Location: PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinobino View Post
Did the board come with an SLI bridge or does it say it should in the manual?

If not then I would say it's crossfire only.

The Gigabyte website for the GA-EX58-DS4 says crossfire only.

When you get your 2nd card give it a go with the latest drivers and report back so the world will know for sure!

If you don't have an SLI bridge you might need to borrow one...
I do have a old SLI bridge laying around from a A8N-SLI so I could have used that.
But I just contacted newegg support and:

Quote:
Customer----
Initial Question/Comment: Service
23:40:36 SystemSystem
A Customer Service Representative will be with you in a moment.
23:41:06 SystemSystem
Thank you for your patience.
23:43:26 SystemSystem
Jeremy has joined this session!
23:43:26 SystemSystem
Connected with Jeremy
23:43:26 SystemSystem
Hello my name is Jeremy. How may I help you today?
23:44:43 Customer------
Hi I recently bought this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128366 at the time when I bought it from you it was listed as SLI compatible. And I assumed it was as it was a new X58 chipset which all support SLI, as far as I knew.
23:45:26 Customer------------
Also a lot of other sites inlcuding Nvidias Nzone list it as SLI http://www.slizone.com/object/slizone_build_mobo.html but I now found out it is not an SLI board
23:45:34 Customer---------
I called Gigabyte to confirm
23:45:55 Customer-----------
And I would like to return it and exchange for a SLI board
23:46:16 Customer--------
I would be happy to pay the diffrence and the 15% restocking fee but I do want to exchange it
23:46:42 AgentJeremy
Let me look into this for you. One moment please . . .
23:46:46 --------
ok thank you
23:50:41 AgentJeremy
Thanks for holding. I have created an RMA #************ for a refund. You will receive a confirmation email shortly.
23:51:18 Customer-----------
Ok thank very much. So it will be a refund then not an exchange?
23:51:46 AgentJeremy
You may place a new order for the correct item. And we'll refund the original item once we have received it.
23:52:08 Customer---------
Ok sounds good I'll place the order for the new one and send the old one off today
23:52:36 AgentJeremy
You are welcome.
23:52:41 AgentJeremy
Do you have any other questions, or is there anything else I can assist you with today?
23:52:51 Customer------
Nope that is all.
23:53:01 AgentJeremy
Thank you for contacting Newegg. I hope you have an eggcellent day!
23:53:15 Customer----------
I will thank you again
So it seams to be all taken care of (except that I have to wait longer for my system to be up and running blah) I'm supprised how good the customer service was.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 OC Twin Frozr
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sounblaster Z/DT 990 Pro
PSU: Antec 650 Watt
Default 01-13-2009, 03:06 | posts: 5,048 | Location: Washington State, USA

well i hope everything works out for ya
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Passion Fruit
Ancient Guru
 
Passion Fruit's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 Unlocked 900/1250
Processor: i5 750 @ 4209Mhz on H50
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4x2GB RipJaws @ 2100 CL9
Soundcard: XFI XtremeMusic / Z-5500
PSU: OCZ ModXStream 700W
Default 01-13-2009, 03:50 | posts: 5,993 | Location: Middlesbrough, England

an eggcelent day.. oh please
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
ST19AG_WGreymon
Ancient Guru
 
ST19AG_WGreymon's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX770
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770K@4.5
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: GSkill 16GB DDR3 2400
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 01-13-2009, 04:29 | posts: 4,672 | Location: Maryland, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Passion Fruit View Post
an eggcelent day.. oh please
They always say that. XD MY girlfriend lol'd when she talked to them about buying my PC parts.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 01-13-2009, 04:35 | posts: 16,634 | Location: US East Coast

Unless I misunderstood something....there should be an extra chip for SLI...the nForce200 chip. If I understood that correctly, the lack of SLI would mean that simply flashing the bios or installing any specific driver wouldn't change whether or not SLI works. Hope someone will correct me if I'm wrong....eventually I'm gonna have to know whether I am or not...lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 OC Twin Frozr
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sounblaster Z/DT 990 Pro
PSU: Antec 650 Watt
Default 01-13-2009, 05:41 | posts: 5,048 | Location: Washington State, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Unless I misunderstood something....there should be an extra chip for SLI...the nForce200 chip. If I understood that correctly, the lack of SLI would mean that simply flashing the bios or installing any specific driver wouldn't change whether or not SLI works. Hope someone will correct me if I'm wrong....eventually I'm gonna have to know whether I am or not...lol
i don't think that's true with x58....that was something nvidia did that wasn't highly applauded if i can remember correctly and they don't do that anymore
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
fearsjohn
Maha Guru
 
fearsjohn's Avatar
 
Videocard: evga gtx 560ti
Processor: 990x
Mainboard: msi x58 big bang
Memory: 12gigs viper xtreme 2000
Soundcard: klipsh pro 2.1 speakers
PSU: ultra 1000
Default 01-13-2009, 17:32 | posts: 1,283 | Location: atlanta, ga

the chip is if you want the board to run all three pci slots at x16 instead of x16 and the others at x8. no difference other than that. may i suggest the evga board. lifetime warranty and good customer service.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
LedHed
Banned
 
LedHed's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 295 /BenQ FP241W
Processor: E8500@4.2 1.3V Tuniq 120
Mainboard: BioStar T-Power i45 AA512
Memory: OCZ Reaper 4Gb DDR2@988
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi™ Prelude
PSU: SeaSonic M12 700W 80+ 56A
Default 01-13-2009, 17:40 | posts: 6,828 | Location: North Carolina, USA

Nope SLI is a separately licensed chip which board manufacturers must pay an additional fee to get.

Crossfire on the other hand doesn't need this and that is why most boards are Crossfire supported, but may not be SLI.

Sounds like you are screwed if you expect to run SLI cards in a CF board. You can't just jumper and flash your way out of this, it's a hardware conflict, not software.

Last edited by LedHed; 01-13-2009 at 18:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Freakazoid81
Newbie
 
Freakazoid81's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX480
Processor: q6600 @ 3.2
Mainboard: e680i SLI
Memory: 4 GB OCZ
Soundcard: x-fi xmusic
PSU: ocz z1000
Default 01-13-2009, 18:08 | posts: 43 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedHed View Post
Nope SLI is a separately licensed chip which board manufacturers must pay an additional fee to get.

Crossfire on the other hand doesn't need this and that is why most boards are Crossfire supported, but may not be SLI.
Not on X58. The manufacturers have to pay only for the SLI license, not for a chip, they can, if they want, buy the nForce200 chip, which utilizes x amount of pci-express connections so they can offer 3 true x16 pci-e slots...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.