Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
how could i watch hd movies without lag?
Old
  (#1)
quaker3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 6850HD
Processor: AMD 7850 BlackEdition
Mainboard: abit av8
Memory: 2GB ddr
Soundcard:
PSU: 460 WATT
Default how could i watch hd movies without lag? - 12-25-2008, 22:14 | posts: 653

hello..
it was a long time i was here..but so i got problem and i remembered that this forum rulez

as you see i have athlon 3500+ 64bit.. and im on windows xp 32bit version..
movies 1080p lags as hell..
im thinking to install linux but im not sure its worth it ( for internet, movies i would install linux just for movie watching if i could see without lag )

also, if linux would be on 64bit.. does my cpu would gain more benefit?

and about linux, well im thinking that new opensuse 11.. or kubuntu latest..
all i need is cpu not eating os.. but with great drivers for HD movies...

on windows now i tried CoreAVC but still it lags as same..
any guidance would be appreceated
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Finny
Maha Guru
 
Finny's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX260 core 216 soon
Processor: i7 920 @ 4.16GHz w/1.46v
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Micron
Soundcard: Auzentech XPlosion LM4562
PSU: Antec Quattro 850w
Default 12-25-2008, 22:51 | posts: 1,269 | Location: North Dakota, USA

Do you have your videocard drivers updated?

Press ctrl + alt + del to open task manager. Click on the performance tab. Monitor how much memory and CPU are used and report back.

I think you may not have enough memory, but I'm not sure.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
quaker3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 6850HD
Processor: AMD 7850 BlackEdition
Mainboard: abit av8
Memory: 2GB ddr
Soundcard:
PSU: 460 WATT
Default 12-25-2008, 23:01 | posts: 653

without movie
770mb ram is already ate by programs ( firewall and winamp )
while watching movie )) ( watching..lol ) mkv format
100 cpu.. and 850mb ram..
im trying to search for avivo codecs.. im almost sure they are not instaled, only ati ccc ( i think its without avivo stuff.. )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Finny
Maha Guru
 
Finny's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX260 core 216 soon
Processor: i7 920 @ 4.16GHz w/1.46v
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Micron
Soundcard: Auzentech XPlosion LM4562
PSU: Antec Quattro 850w
Default 12-25-2008, 23:14 | posts: 1,269 | Location: North Dakota, USA

Well if you are maxing out your CPU that definitely isn't helping. It may not be the whole problem but its not good.

Are you able to overclock with that board?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:18 | posts: 5,160 | Location: England

dual cores struggle with 1080p stuff let alone the old AMD. You need at least an amazing dual core or a good quad core cpu. Let alone memory, my recommendation from expeirence, would be

cpu = Q6600 +
memory = 4GB +

hope this helps...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Finny
Maha Guru
 
Finny's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX260 core 216 soon
Processor: i7 920 @ 4.16GHz w/1.46v
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Micron
Soundcard: Auzentech XPlosion LM4562
PSU: Antec Quattro 850w
Default 12-25-2008, 23:18 | posts: 1,269 | Location: North Dakota, USA

http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_ca...=xp/radeonx-xp

Install either the driver alone or the suite which I suggest without full knowledge why lol. I don't own an ATI card so I'm not sure. I think the suite will be best because it may have better video passthrough support.

See, you have a good GPU, that is the thing that should take most of the work while playing videos.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:19 | posts: 5,160 | Location: England

best codec you can use, from my experience is the coreavc professional codecs. Simply awesome they support mkv too, best format for HD imo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
quaker3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 6850HD
Processor: AMD 7850 BlackEdition
Mainboard: abit av8
Memory: 2GB ddr
Soundcard:
PSU: 460 WATT
Default 12-25-2008, 23:24 | posts: 653

i have read even in this forum that few guys run 1080p movies without lag with athlon 3000

besides..i have heard rumors that gpu can accelerate movies - so..if only i could use even hald gpu power, it might run movie without lag ( just pure logic )
i will do my best to find answer how to solve this.. also i will keep an eye on this thread, maybe you guys with old pc can run those movies without lag
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Jenova_link
Master Guru
 
Jenova_link's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core Duo Qx6850 3.5
Mainboard: Asus Striker Extreme 680i
Memory: OCZ ddr2 8Gb
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster
PSU: Thermaltake TP 850W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:26 | posts: 288 | Location: Homeless

You need a cord 2 2.0ghz or better for HD movie.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
The Chosen 1
Master Guru
 
The Chosen 1's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 6870 MSI TwinFrozer II
Processor: Q9550 @3.4GHz (Tuniq 120)
Mainboard: Asus P5K-E WIFI/AP
Memory: G.skill PC2-8500 4GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: LC-POWER 700W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:30 | posts: 395

Look, my overclocked e6750 still isn't enough to watch movies on a 42 inch tv ... but the problem is it only uses 20% of the cpu or something like that... in your case it probably is the cpu that causes lag (I don't have much...) .

For watching mkv files there is no use in using the gpu... it only accelerates blu-ray/hd-dvd movies ...
Memory doesn't matter much too ... while i play the mkv movies it gets far from full... so 4gb isn't going to make a difference...

Correct me if i'm wrong...

I use VLC player. If you know of a better player for mkv files please tell me (really! ... this player reads everything but sucks at mkv so it seems)...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:30 | posts: 816 | Location: Eden, NY

get ffdshow and Haali media spliter. My 5600 runs 1080 really well about 30% CPU usage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Finny
Maha Guru
 
Finny's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX260 core 216 soon
Processor: i7 920 @ 4.16GHz w/1.46v
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Micron
Soundcard: Auzentech XPlosion LM4562
PSU: Antec Quattro 850w
Default 12-25-2008, 23:32 | posts: 1,269 | Location: North Dakota, USA

I'm sure there is a way... I don't have it because I don't really need it...

I did run a 1080p test just now to compare. I use about 50-60% on both of my cores. Which sadly is a lot compared to your CPU. If you did upgrade to dualcore that should just about fix your problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:33 | posts: 5,160 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by quaker3 View Post
i have read even in this forum that few guys run 1080p movies without lag with athlon 3000

besides..i have heard rumors that gpu can accelerate movies - so..if only i could use even hald gpu power, it might run movie without lag ( just pure logic )
i will do my best to find answer how to solve this.. also i will keep an eye on this thread, maybe you guys with old pc can run those movies without lag
they are either talking out of their arses or not watching it true HD. Its abit like saying an old cpu can run cryisis on max settings lol, the amount of raw data that needs to be outputted to the high resoulution requires an extreme amount of processing power.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:36 | posts: 5,160 | Location: England

i run it in media player 11, with coreavc professional codecs ,ffdshow and the Haali media spliter. When i run a mkv file in vlc, the coreavc codec doesnt load which tells me it is being software emulated like therefore not true HD quality, unlike when i run it in media player, i have run them side by side (planet earth mkv 1080p) and the media player is obviously much better quality.

Last edited by allesclar; 12-25-2008 at 23:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
quaker3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 6850HD
Processor: AMD 7850 BlackEdition
Mainboard: abit av8
Memory: 2GB ddr
Soundcard:
PSU: 460 WATT
Default 12-25-2008, 23:41 | posts: 653

actually i see many movies with 1920*1080 resolution are different size..one is 20gb..others are only 5gb... and others bluray 40gb.. but the quality of them all is the same i guess ( because resolution is the same )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:41 | posts: 5,160 | Location: England

ok, just tried out stuff, memory doesnt go above 300mb so i take it back about the memory, even though i think more memory the better in general anyway , but the cpu usage went upto 75% on a quad core too! thats telling me that the cpu is being properly used etc and the movie does not lag at all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:45 | posts: 5,160 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by quaker3 View Post
actually i see many movies with 1920*1080 resolution are different size..one is 20gb..others are only 5gb... and others bluray 40gb.. but the quality of them all is the same i guess ( because resolution is the same )
well some files that are at a 1080p resolution and are around 5gb etc tend to be upscaled dvds or smaller res HD files, therefore are not the best of the best if you get me. They are only upscaled. In general, DVD raw size is around 4gb, HD 720p is around 7-8gb and 1080p is around 25gb, thats from my experience.

Im talking about the movies themselves without all the extras. Thats the guide i go on but i have seen movies of 1080p resolution at only 12gb and they look awesome.

Try things out for yourself is my advice, but im telling you, unless someone corrects me that you need a beefy cpu
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
quaker3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 6850HD
Processor: AMD 7850 BlackEdition
Mainboard: abit av8
Memory: 2GB ddr
Soundcard:
PSU: 460 WATT
Default 12-25-2008, 23:47 | posts: 653

so..clear me once more.. no HDTV movies are accelerated by gpu? only blu-ray?
those mkv files are accelerated at by gpu at all?

Last edited by quaker3; 12-25-2008 at 23:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:51 | posts: 5,160 | Location: England

in my experience, mkv files are NOT accelerated by the GPU. i thought it was only content coming directly from a optical source, ie blu-ray drive etc. Well i dont get any acceleartion with my grahics card and i thought my gpus offer that kind of support.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 12-25-2008, 23:57 | posts: 5,160 | Location: England

well, just to some up, i used to have an AMD 3800 overclocked to like 2.8ghz with an ATI 3850 and performance of HD content was terrible, even most 720p stuff.

Got my rig on the left, ran perfectly first time no stuttering at all, even while playing crysis on another monitor.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
quaker3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 6850HD
Processor: AMD 7850 BlackEdition
Mainboard: abit av8
Memory: 2GB ddr
Soundcard:
PSU: 460 WATT
Default 12-26-2008, 00:00 | posts: 653

yeah.. i guess i will stick to 720p - it can run almost normally
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
}{Alienz}{
Member Guru
 
}{Alienz}{'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800GT 725/1800/1950
Processor: Athlon 64 5200+ X2 @ 2.9
Mainboard: BIOSTAR NF520-A2
Memory: Wintec AMPX 2GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeAudio
PSU: Logysis 575W (26a on 12V)
Default 12-26-2008, 00:15 | posts: 132 | Location: On the intrawebz

Quote:
Originally Posted by allesclar View Post
dual cores struggle with 1080p stuff let alone the old AMD. You need at least an amazing dual core or a good quad core cpu. Let alone memory, my recommendation from expeirence, would be

cpu = Q6600 +
memory = 4GB +

hope this helps...
Very Wrong...

I can watch 1080p movies easily on my old computer which is
Celeron D @ 3.1Ghz
512DDR 1 Ram
Geforce 6600 (Overclocked 48%)

It doesn't lag so I dunno why the hell you wouldn't be able to watch them on a more powerful 3500+. Im thinking your codec/video drivers are at fault here.

PS: I just measured CPU usage on my current computer playing a 1080p movie and usage was 40% cpu with RAM usage @ 90mb. Content played was The Dark Knight in 1080p so its very relevant.

Last edited by }{Alienz}{; 12-26-2008 at 00:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
allesclar
Ancient Guru
 
allesclar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1950XTX
Processor: Intel Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI 680i
Memory: Corsair 8GB PC2-6400 XMS2
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
Default 12-26-2008, 00:21 | posts: 5,160 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by }{Alienz}{ View Post
Very Wrong...

I can watch 1080p movies easily on my old computer which is
Celeron D @ 3.1Ghz
512DDR 1 Ram
Geforce 6600 (Overclocked 48%)

It doesn't lag so I dunno why the hell you wouldn't be able to watch them on a more powerful 3500+. Im thinking your codec/video drivers are at fault here.
Not very wrong from my own experience, you cannot run true HD content in mkv format on a low powered cpu END OF.

I presume you dont use CoreAVC mkv codecs? They are the best on the market.

My point is there are so many threads on the interenet about HD problems etc with low powered rigs, but do you see any with regards to performance on high end rigs? i dont

Ps

i am talking about MKV files here , they require more cpu processing than other HD formats.

By struggling, i mean the first shot of planet earth where the screen fills with 10000's of birds and this caused even my friends e6600 core duo to stutter, thats what i meant by struggling not average fps, im talking about during the most activity on the screen.

How big is the Dark Knight file if you dont mind me asking and is it in MKV format?

edit update,

just play DK myself 10.9Gb backup and it was at 25% usage, 100mb. Try planet earth the first one, all of the intro upto the north pole title

Last edited by allesclar; 12-26-2008 at 00:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-26-2008, 01:06 | posts: 816 | Location: Eden, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finny View Post
I'm sure there is a way... I don't have it because I don't really need it...

I did run a 1080p test just now to compare. I use about 50-60% on both of my cores. Which sadly is a lot compared to your CPU. If you did upgrade to dualcore that should just about fix your problem.
how are u using 60% CPU and I am barely breaking 30% when your CPU is quite a bit faster? Are you using codecs or no codecs?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
}{Alienz}{
Member Guru
 
}{Alienz}{'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800GT 725/1800/1950
Processor: Athlon 64 5200+ X2 @ 2.9
Mainboard: BIOSTAR NF520-A2
Memory: Wintec AMPX 2GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeAudio
PSU: Logysis 575W (26a on 12V)
Default 12-26-2008, 01:59 | posts: 132 | Location: On the intrawebz

Quote:
Originally Posted by allesclar View Post
Not very wrong from my own experience, you cannot run true HD content in mkv format on a low powered cpu END OF.

I presume you dont use CoreAVC mkv codecs? They are the best on the market.

My point is there are so many threads on the interenet about HD problems etc with low powered rigs, but do you see any with regards to performance on high end rigs? i dont

Ps

i am talking about MKV files here , they require more cpu processing than other HD formats.

By struggling, i mean the first shot of planet earth where the screen fills with 10000's of birds and this caused even my friends e6600 core duo to stutter, thats what i meant by struggling not average fps, im talking about during the most activity on the screen.

How big is the Dark Knight file if you dont mind me asking and is it in MKV format?

edit update,

just play DK myself 10.9Gb backup and it was at 25% usage, 100mb. Try planet earth the first one, all of the intro upto the north pole title

I don't have Planet Earth to test but what I was saying is I've seen a fair ammount of HDs and never had an issue with any of them so that sounded weird. Even the old PC is capable of playing the HD movies (which actually suprised me). As for format and codecs, perhaps I'm not using the very best ones but the quality sure does look amazing.
Which would be the best codecs for quality in your opinion then?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.