Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD ATI Radeon HD 4870 1024MB review [Guru3D]
Old
  (#1)
Guru3D News
Ancient Guru
 
Guru3D News's Avatar
 
Videocard:
Processor: HAL 9000
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default AMD ATI Radeon HD 4870 1024MB review [Guru3D] - 09-29-2008, 08:30 | posts: 6,462

Today a test and review on the new AMD ATI Radeon HD 4870 1024MB. Obviously ATI is releasing a 1GB model to compete with the new Core 216 version of that GeForce GTX 260. The 4870 series really diggs...

More...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 09-29-2008, 08:47 | posts: 1,511 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

Thank you for this test. It looks like more RAM will be useful in near future. But I've got 2 questions:
1. It looks like low-power mode isn't working well. Was there any explanation from the manufacturer?
2. Is there any possibility to re-test 4870 512 and 4870X2? It looks like there are driver changes both for overall performance and utilization of greater amount of RAM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
kapu
Ancient Guru
 
kapu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7970 GHz TOP
Processor: Intel i5 750 @ 4.0 /1.38v
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D
Memory: GoodRAM 8GB , 1600 MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer|Siberia V2
PSU: Be Quiet! E9 680W
Default 09-29-2008, 09:12 | posts: 3,642 | Location: Poland

wow they come rly close to each other, however that HD4870 is slightly faster.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Passion Fruit
Ancient Guru
 
Passion Fruit's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 Unlocked 900/1250
Processor: i5 750 @ 4209Mhz on H50
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4x2GB RipJaws @ 2100 CL9
Soundcard: XFI XtremeMusic / Z-5500
PSU: OCZ ModXStream 700W
Default 09-29-2008, 15:51 | posts: 5,999 | Location: Middlesbrough, England

Why does it say in the benchmarks.. "GRAW | GRID when theres no GRID benchmarks?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 09-29-2008, 17:00 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Cyberspace

An impressive card. More video memory is the way to go it seems...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Skiddywinks
Ancient Guru
 
Skiddywinks's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Matrix 285
Processor: i5 750 @ 4GHz 1.32v H0
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth i55
Memory: 4GB OCZ XMP DDR3 1353MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 09-29-2008, 17:48 | posts: 4,628 | Location: North Wales

Quote:
The battle for your money among the graphics chipset manufacturers is fierce and harsh. None the less, it's competitive which brings prices down and makes technology evolve faster.
Should be "competition". I keep forgetting; does Guru3D have editers?

:p only messing. Keep up the (normally) great work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 09-29-2008, 17:52 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Cyberspace

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddywinks View Post
I keep forgetting; does Guru3D have editers?
No. No editers. Just editors.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Passion Fruit
Ancient Guru
 
Passion Fruit's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 Unlocked 900/1250
Processor: i5 750 @ 4209Mhz on H50
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4x2GB RipJaws @ 2100 CL9
Soundcard: XFI XtremeMusic / Z-5500
PSU: OCZ ModXStream 700W
Default 09-29-2008, 22:05 | posts: 5,999 | Location: Middlesbrough, England

haha.

Its true like, the editor that goes through these articles fails to correct any mistakes what so ever it seems. I've kept my mouth shut until now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
morbias
Don Tommasino
 
morbias's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480
Processor: i7 920 D0 @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory: 6GB HyperX @1600 6-7-6-18
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS + CL 6700's
PSU: ePower Tiger 1200W
Default 09-30-2008, 00:56 | posts: 12,690 | Location: Southampton, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Passion Fruit View Post
Why does it say in the benchmarks.. "GRAW | GRID when theres no GRID benchmarks?
Because GRID was removed from the benchmarks due to being too time intensive iirc., just forgot to remove the title.

tbh the extra memory on the card didn't make as much difference as I was expecting, thought it would do more at high resolutions.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Folding@Home - join team Guru3D!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
twtaylor
Ancient Guru
 
twtaylor's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 660 2gb
Processor: i5 3350P on an H60
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
Memory: Corsair 8gb DDR3 DC
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Corsair 500w
Default 09-30-2008, 01:07 | posts: 2,861 | Location: Barrie, ON Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddywinks View Post
Should be "competition". I keep forgetting; does Guru3D have editers?

:p only messing. Keep up the (normally) great work.
Looks like you need one too, it's editors not editers. lol
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
ottoyu34
Master Guru
 
ottoyu34's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX480 2-way SLI
Processor: Core i7 920|4.2Ghz|H2O
Mainboard: EVGA X58 Classified
Memory: Corsair Dominator GT 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 09-30-2008, 04:34 | posts: 654 | Location: Ontario, Canada

Wow. thats close competition. 1GB is the way to go for new titles
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X & 7950
Processor: 3770K & 2500K
Mainboard: GB Z77X-D3H / GB Z77-D3H
Memory: 16GB & 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Meridian 2G / xf-i fata
PSU: 1000W & 500W silverstone
Default 09-30-2008, 10:40 | posts: 4,144 | Location: Finland

ive been wondering can one xfire 512mb card and 1gb card O_o
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
meatfestival92
Maha Guru
 
meatfestival92's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 9800 GTX @ 815/2078/1180
Processor: Opteron 175 @ 2.6GHz
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum EL PC3200
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700w
Default 09-30-2008, 15:09 | posts: 1,767 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryu5uzaku View Post
ive been wondering can one xfire 512mb card and 1gb card O_o
Yes, but only 512MB will be used.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
D-Cyph3r
Master Guru
 
D-Cyph3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intergrated (for now)
Processor: AMD Phenom II 720BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A78T-E AM3
Memory: 4GB GeIL 1333Mhz DDR3
Soundcard: X-Fi eXtreme Gamer
PSU: CoolerMaster M700
Default 09-30-2008, 22:57 | posts: 518 | Location: Lala Land

This is the single GPU of choice. If I didn't get my GX2 for under 150 I would have 2 of these running.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X & 7950
Processor: 3770K & 2500K
Mainboard: GB Z77X-D3H / GB Z77-D3H
Memory: 16GB & 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Meridian 2G / xf-i fata
PSU: 1000W & 500W silverstone
Default 10-01-2008, 13:43 | posts: 4,144 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by meatfestival92 View Post
Yes, but only 512MB will be used.
so if i had the gig one as "main" if xfire wouldnt work then it would be using whole 1024?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
meatfestival92
Maha Guru
 
meatfestival92's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 9800 GTX @ 815/2078/1180
Processor: Opteron 175 @ 2.6GHz
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum EL PC3200
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700w
Default 10-01-2008, 13:56 | posts: 1,767 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryu5uzaku View Post
so if i had the gig one as "main" if xfire wouldnt work then it would be using whole 1024?
I think if you had crossfire disabled and only one card being used, it would be using the whole 1 gig. But I'm not 100% on that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
MadGizmo
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD7970 CF (2560*1440)
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula
Memory: 32GB 1600CL9 Vengeance LP
Soundcard: SupremeFX IV/Tiamat 7.1
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 10-01-2008, 14:02 | posts: 1,315

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryu5uzaku View Post
so if i had the gig one as "main" if xfire wouldnt work then it would be using whole 1024?
If you use the 1GB as the master and 512MB as slave it will use 512MB max. When you disable CF you will have the single GPU with 1GB back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X & 7950
Processor: 3770K & 2500K
Mainboard: GB Z77X-D3H / GB Z77-D3H
Memory: 16GB & 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Meridian 2G / xf-i fata
PSU: 1000W & 500W silverstone
Default 10-01-2008, 18:16 | posts: 4,144 | Location: Finland

then i might even buy the 1024 one as next card since well some games just wont do xfire
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Chris0101
Newbie
 
Chris0101's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 4890
Processor: q6600
Mainboard: Gigabyte X48-DQ6
Memory: 4 Gb Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX, HD 280
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700 Watt
Default 10-09-2008, 11:48 | posts: 16 | Location: Canada

The truth is, the 512 mb only costs about $30 extra here in Canada, so it may be worth getting the extra RAM.

Guru3d's review is pretty good, but I think what one thing that might have been interesting is looking at the minimum frame rate. You'll likely find that the 1024 Mb makes a difference well worth the 512 Mb.

Advantages:
- Faster frame rates
- More "future proof"

Disadvantages:
- Costs about $30 more (so maybe 15-20 euros more)
- Extra RAM may not be as overclockable (need to find verify this one)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Skiddywinks
Ancient Guru
 
Skiddywinks's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Matrix 285
Processor: i5 750 @ 4GHz 1.32v H0
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth i55
Memory: 4GB OCZ XMP DDR3 1353MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 10-09-2008, 21:40 | posts: 4,628 | Location: North Wales

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybermancer View Post
No. No editers. Just editors.
Good point and well made, but my post was hardly an article :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 10-09-2008, 22:01 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Cyberspace

   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.